Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
103,734 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 7 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Mar 102014


  • 65,087 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the engine cradle was severely corroded and exhibited holes. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 65,087.

- Dayer , IN, USA

problem #37

Oct 052013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 168,000 miles
Started when backing and turning wheel to left a clunk occurred and left wheel felt 'stuck'. thought it may have had something to do with the extremely frigid temperatures of the season. A short time later I felt clunking under my feet when driving over dips or bumps at any speed. For some I thought it was again the idler arms or ball joints as I have had many many suspension repairs. Oddly it was never mentioned by anyone at this chain repair shop that the engine cradle was of any concern. I did bring my car in to a different chain repair shop for a determination of the clunking problem and was shown when putting the transmission into reverse the engine fell way down then was shown the very rusted out engine cradle and given an estimate of $1800 for repair with a used cradle. I then took the car to an independent repair shop to verify the need of the cradle..the charges to be slightly less. I called Chrysler and was told the car had to be taken to a Chrysler dealership repair shop for an estimate but that it was already known that there would be very little to no benefit. However if there was any monetary benefit it would not begin to cover any of the repair cost. By the way, the right rear quarter panel and lift door are rusted also. When I purchased the car 3 1/2 years ago the rust was beginning-I can now stick a finger thru the rust on the quarter panel. Have seen only one other Pacifica with surface rust. It's very embarrassing to me as not many cars on the road have any rust at all. Are my young passengers safe?? I am stuck with this money and possible death trap. I still have 1 1/2 years of payments. Bummer.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #36

Mar 132014


  • 126,422 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the frame was rusted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was confirmed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 126,422.

- Covington, PA, USA

problem #35

Aug 112010


  • 140,450 miles


I was having my vehicle inspected and was informed that my engine cradle was rusting through. I checked out the problem on line and found out that this is a recognized problem with 2004 Pacifica's and that Chrysler has offered an extended warranty due to manufactures defect. However there is only a one month period (in-service date) that applies to the warranty. You can put your fist through the engine cradle. Engine vibrates and we are concerned that it will fall out of the car and kill someone. We wont let our kids drive it anymore and cant afford to replace it. It is apparent that this is a common safety problem that could result in serious injury and Chrysler not only made no attempt to contact buyers, but also fails to accept responsibility for the manufactures defect. Please do your jobs and protect us from this obvious defect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #34

Mar 032014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
Frame member supporting engine has developed sever rust compromising the structural integrity of the vehicle. Chrysler has acknowledged this problem with this part on vehicles produced prior by extending the warranty to 10 years 150,000 miles for this frame member. Chrysler will not provide any assistance with the repair to my vehicle.

- Hammonton, NJ, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #33

Feb 262014


  • 128,000 miles
I have a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica that has failed inspection due to extensive engine cradle rust. This vehicle's body and undercarriage is immaculate except for the engine cradle "K frame". I have contacted Chrysler and they are unwilling fix the problem because it is 20K miles over the power train warranty even though there is no other rust issues on the vehicle. After doing research, I have discovered that I am not alone in this battle! I am within 8 months of the previous recalled vehicles from Chrysler for this same issue and I believe that Chrysler should extend their recall as this is a potential dangerous issue that is growing with this specific model vehicle.

- York, ME, USA

problem #32

Jan 272014


  • 77,100 miles


Our 2005 Chrysler Pacifica touring model did not pass a state vehicle safety inspection because of extensive corrosion holes and frame rust. The engine cradle support has rust holes and is severely weakened, and the areas below the rocker panels underneath the car have rusted through. The vehicle was purchased new by my father, and has always been garaged and well maintained. The car has only 77,100 miles on it, and yet now is considered structurally unsafe to drive. Researching online, I found that Chrysler knew of the unusual corrosion problems with this vehicle. They acknowledged the rust problem by quietly issuing an extraordinary "extended 10 year / 150,000 mile warranty" for Pacifica model years 2004-2005. They subsequently amended this warranty to limit their responsibility to the front engine cradle only (reference: X26, warranty bulletin dated March 16, 2012), and further reduced their exposure by only providing this warranty coverage to vehicles manufactured between February 23, 2004, to March 31, 2004 - an implausibly short time frame given their acknowledged corrosion problem. The Chrysler customer assistance center told me they would not provide any assistance, since the manufacture date for this car was June, 2005. It is inexcusable that a well-maintained 2005 vehicle with only 77,000 miles could be rendered structurally unsafe due to corrosion. It is absurd to suggest that their corrosion problem only affected one part manufactured only within a 36 day window. Having spoken with several mechanics and insurance adjusters, extensive underbody panel rust and frame corrosion are extremely common with this model year. Structural corrosion is a known defect with this car. It's a huge financial loss for us. It also a dangerous safety "time bomb". they know it is. Chrysler should assist in fixing these vehicles quickly, or be forced to recall them.

- Bedford, NH, USA

problem #31

Feb 142014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 89,500 miles the left side sub frame of my vehicle is corroded, making it unsafe to drive. I have contacted my local Chrysler dealer as well as Chrysler customer care about this issue. At this time they say there is nothing they can do for me. When I spoke with the customer service representative from Chrysler he informed me that there have been many other owners reporting the same issue and they are looking into it and that there may possibly be a recall in the future. The repair cost for this issue is around $3000, which I do not feel the many people who are affected by this manufacture?S defect should have to be responsible for. Chrysler has selectively reimbursed people with this same issue, as you can see from the attached link to the nbc news report. As this vehicle is my main mode of transportation my family and myself it is unnerving to think what could happen if this situation is not addressed. Thank you for your time and consideration with this situation.

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #30

Feb 132014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
The front sub frame that holds the engine has a massive rust hole on the passenger side it started off the size of a golf ball and has turned into a 8 by 3 rectangle I have owned the car for two years and this is the result.there was a warranty extension on this vehicle but they only considered it from the date mfg 2/23/04 to 3/31/04 a six week time frame as the vehicles affected by it. I experience vibration while driving. Mine was mfg 10/04.

- Athol, MA, USA

problem #29

Jul 012011

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
My 2005 Chrysler Pacifica's built in July 2004 subframe (engine cradle) is rusting through a lot. I have read numerous complaints about this issue and feel that there should have been a recall on this component. I don't think that this part should fail after being only a few years old and 65000 miles and being driven under normal driving conditions. In my opinion this component could possibly result in an engine falling out of it's seat and possibly cause a crash.

- Arlington Heights, IL, USA

problem #28

Dec 142013


  • 86,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while having the tires changed, the mechanic noticed excessive rust on the sub frame. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the rust and was advised that the vehicle was not under warranty so there was nothing they could do to assist. The contact did not have any repairs performed to the sub frame. The failure mileage was 86,000.

- Chantilly, VA, USA

problem #27

Jul 022012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
Transmount and subframe replacement needed.

- Washington Crossing, PA, USA

problem #26

Nov 132013


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the sub frame was corroded. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Ebensburg, PA, USA

problem #25

Oct 292013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 153,000 miles
Vehicle was submitted to authorized New York inspection station for yearly state-required inspection. Vehicle failed inspection. Inspector cited multiple holes in the "cradle" frame member supporting engine, steering, and suspension parts. "cradle" was completely perforated in several places by corrosion, and showed signs of additional corrosion which would ultimately lead to more holes. Cradle was judged structurally compromised. Inspection station consulted NY dmv and it was determined and reported to me that vehicle is unsafe, and that replacement of cradle would be required to return vehicle to service and to pass New York state inspection. It was explained to me that a minor impact -- such as encountering a pothole at speed, or hitting an object with the frame or body of the vehicle -- could cause collapse of the front end structure of the vehicle, loss of steering control, loss of the engine from the engine compartment, collapse of the suspension system, and potential resultant fire, explosion, and injury or loss of life to occupants of vehicle or others in the vicinity. The consumer stated the vehicle left his wife stranded. She was unable to steer or brake while driving many times, the previous year. On one occasion while driving, the engine light illuminated, and the vehicle just stopped, leaving his wife in the middle of the road. The consumer replaced a faulty sensor. Updated 03/27/14

- Stony Point, NY, USA

problem #24

Oct 212013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 101,869 miles
While in for repairs, our mechanic diagnosed that the engine cradle of our 2005 Chrysler Pacifica touring AWD sports tourer 4-dr has rusted almost completely through and advised that the vehicle is unsafe to drive without immediate repairs. According the mechanic, the engine cradle supports both the engine and the front steering/suspension assembly components, that could cause the driver to lose control upon failure, and cause a crash. After conducting research on various websites, I found that numerous consumers/owners of Pacifica models manufactured between 2004 and 2006 are reporting this issue and Chrysler is aware of this specific problem and listed it as a possible defective part. In response, Chrysler has issued an extended warranty, limited to certain states (which they refer to as 'salt belt states") covering repairs for this problem. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where we purchased it, examined and submitted a request to Chrysler for coverage, which was denied. We were told that our vehicle was not covered because we did not live in one of these defined "salt state zones". despite offering to provide evidence from kydot and local county transportation offices verifying that our area does in fact experience a high volume of roadway salt use, Chrysler continues to deny extending any coverage for the affected vehicle. Given the seriousness of the problem, and the large number of consumers potentially affected, I would ask that NHTSA & ODI conduct an independent investigation and negotiate with Chrysler to broaden the coverage to include any Pacifica exhibiting signs of this defect.

- Florence, KY, USA

problem #23

Oct 042013


  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while having repairs performed to the vehicle at a local mechanic, he was advised that the frame exhibited excessive rust. The contact did not take the vehicle to a dealer or contact the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 103,000. The VIN was not available.

- Elgin, IL, USA

problem #22

Sep 232013


  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the engine cradle, frame and cross member was found to be severely corroded with holes. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 130,000.

- Carteret, NJ, USA

problem #21

Aug 212013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
I recently took my 2005 Chrysler pacficia to the shop to have the pulleys changed on the engine for the serpentine belt, and new tires and alignment. When the car was on the lift, my mechanic pointed out to me that the engine cradle is rusted and will need to be replaced at a cost of $5000. The car only has 94K miles on it. This seems to be a wide spread issue. I am the 2nd owner, the 1st was a lease through Chrysler and I purchased the car from a local Chrysler dealer in 2008. Going to start contacting Chrysler and the attorney generals office in MA to see what can be done since there is no recall on this.

- Stoughton, MA, USA

problem #20

Feb 062010

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
Had my SUV service at the dealer and they told me that the subframe is rusted and has to be replace they are charging me $4,300 I call Chrysler and ask about any recall and they told me that my SUV was not made on the recall year a car should not rust that bad in 8 years.

- Hazleton, PA, USA

problem #19

Jun 082013


  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the engine cradle was rusted. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was confirmed that the engine cradle was rusted. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 113,000.

- Lake Ronkonkoma, NY, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?