Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
90,640 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 5 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #63

Jan 152014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 168,423 miles


I took my car into the local dealership and they told me my front subframe is rusted out and unsafe. They said there was a tsb 13-001-12 that may apply since this a common problem. However due to the mileage it was not covered. This is a safety item that is present in these vehicles which has been documented by the news and all over the internet. This condition can lead to crashes and possible death.I contacted Chrysler and they told me there isn't anything they can do. When I was notified about the issue at around 145K miles, there was only a small pin hole in the center of the cradle. At 168K miles there is a hole you can put your fist in. This is a major suspension component, not something subjected to normal wear like a tie rod. I would fully expect to pay for a tie rod, rack and pinion or ball joints. This is different, a major structural component. My vehicle is in good shape and I plan to keep it for the next 5 years. But with the cost of the subframe and the miles it is worthless. This is an issue that needs to be looked into. Hopefully it doesn't lead to too many deaths before something is done.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #62

Jun 162014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 149,809 miles
Front engine cradle there was a letter sent by Chrysler back in November of 2010 that "we are extending the warranty period on your front engine cradle because some vehicles operated in areas of high road salt usage, may experience engine cradle corrosion resulting in a driveability vibration and or shake. This engine cradle extended warranty coverage applies to Chrysler Pacifica model years 2004-2005." I have called Chrysler twice and was told that my car is not in the serial number range and I just paid over $2450 to have my car repaired.

- Eaton, OH, USA

problem #61

Jun 162014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I took my newly purchased 2005 Chrysler Pacifica to my mechanic to get the brakes serviced, and was told that the engine cradle was completely rusted out and the engine was in danger of falling out! my mechanic was extremely concerned (he is a friend and an honest mechanic who runs a very reputable repair and body shop in ottawa, ks). I called Chrysler before I purchased the car to see if their were any recalls on it, and was told their was not. The car is otherwise in perfect condition, no damage and very little wear inside and out. It was clear to my mechanic that this was due to some defect in the vehicle, and should not happen on a 10 year old car that is in as good of condition as mind is with only 110000 miles on it. To have a new engine cradle put it, it would cost over $4000. I cannot afford that, so we are putting in a reconditioned one, inspected to make sure it has no wear or rust on it, and we are painting and putting additional undercoating on it as to prevent any such recurrences. After looking online, I have since learned this is a widespread problem, and is effecting a large number of owners, and is much more widespread than Chrysler is willing to admit. I called them, and my car is supposedly not one effected in their 3-4 week window of production, yet it was completely rusted to the point of possibly causing a serious and even fatal car accident.

- Ottawa, KS, USA

problem #60

Apr 152014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 122,638 miles


Reference tsb 13.001-12, 2005 Chrysler Pacifica suspension service bulletin, and NHTSA action number 10044109. A letter was sent to some 2004-2005 Chrysler Pacifica owners that the front engine cradle and suspension mount frame was prone to corrosion problems. The warranty was extended to 15 years or 150,000 miles to owners in states that use road salt, cold weather states. We live in Pennsylvania, which is considered a cold weather state. Our Pacifica was inspected in April 2014. We informed the station that we were experiencing some vibration in the front end of the vehicle. We were informed that the cradle assembly and mount was rusted through and because of safety issues they had to be replaced before it would pass inspection. The cost was $2,702.08. The vehicle had 122,638 miles, under the warranty threshold of 150,000. When we learned of this situation we called Chrysler. They informed me that only Pacifica's manufactured between a certain time frame were covered. They could not tell me the time frame, but our vehicle was not covered. To make matters worse, the new cradle assembly is exactly the same as the original part. No corrective actions have been taken to prevent the rusting. There are other cases similar to mine on the internet. State dmv"S are failing these vehicles for safety issues, they are unsafe to drive. How can Chrysler ignore these serious safety issues" I am requesting full reimbursement of $2,702.08, plus request action be taken against Chrysler so that all 2004-2005 Pacifica's are repaired before serious accidents occur, if they haven't already.

- Chambersburg, PA, USA

problem #59

May 302014


  • 110,000 miles
The 2005 Chrysler Pacifica is known for the sub frame rotting causing a un-safe condition where the engine could fall out. I took my car to a local shop and they said my frame is all rotted out. I took my car into Chrysler and it turns out it is not covered under a recall or extended warranty. What worries me is how many others are on the road with the same condition.

- Bloomingotn , MN, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #58

Mar 152014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 147,000 miles
While I have heard some sounds from the suspension (front) for over a year, it was only this month (May 2014) that the problem was diagnosed. The engine cradle on my vehicle is rusted and has holes in it. Per the mechanic, it is unsafe to drive until it is fixed (which he estimated as costing in excess of $1,000). After doing a little research, I contacted Chrysler only to find out that they would not cover this defect since my vehicle was manufactured in May 2004 and they only cover it for 10 yrs/150K miles for vehicles manufactured up through March 2004 (if in the "salt belt"). so while they acknowledge this specific problem, they would not apply the warranty because my manufacture date is two months beyond their cutoff date. Talking to auto mechanics and searching online seems to reveal that this is a significant problem with older Pacificas. Based on this information, I strongly believe that Chrysler should cover a defect like this since it is likely widespread (if not issue an actual recall like Toyota did on their Tacoma for rusted frames a few years ago). I do have a case number with Chrysler now in which they noted my problem. I won't include that number here because this is a public record.

- Sugarcreek, OH, USA

problem #57

May 202014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 92,341 miles


I was driving on the highway going about 55 (mph) when I went over a pothole. After that my car started making a rattling noise. My mechanic checked the car and said it was the rack and pinion but then he discovered that the whole engine cradle was rusted and corroded and told me it was very dangerous for me to drive the vehicle until I made the proper repaired which is replacing the entire engine cradle.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #56

May 162013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
Violent shaking of 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. Took 2005 Chrysler Pacifica in for inspection and was told the engine cradle crossmember was rotted and the bolts that hold the power steering rack and engine up were missing. Mechanic told me he would not release the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica back to me because it was unsafe to drive. Called Chrysler and they told me they would do nothing to repair it.

- Springvale, ME, USA

problem #55

Mar 242014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while driving at speeds over 50 mph, a vibration was present. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who discovered that the engine cradle and the sub frame had rusted. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 113,000. Updated 06/27/14 the tie rods and lower control arms were replaced. Updated 07/08/14

- Wethersfield, CT, USA

problem #54

Apr 232014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 126,206 miles
Vehicle brought in for state safety inspection. During visual inspection of vehicle, obvious hole in frame found due to rust/corrosion. Vehicle is not covered under 6 week window Chrysler corporation currently covers. Vehicle is unsafe, fails state safety inspection and at this time owner will bear cost.

- Londonderry, NH, USA

problem #53

Apr 102014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 122,858 miles


We took our car in to locate a possible leak and while investigating the leak, our repair shop noticed a golf ball size hole and rust on the passenger cradle arm and reccommended us not to drive. After researching I have found we are not the only owners of the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica with this issue.

- Laporte, IN, USA

problem #52

Nov 202013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I wanted to bring to your attention a safety condition with certain years on the Chrysler Pacifica. Many of the Pacificas engine cradles are severely rusted; to the point of if a break occurs the engine will fall out of the vehicle. This issue is mainly on years 2004-2005. (I own a 2005 model with severe rusted engine cradle.) the estimated cost of this repair is between $2,500 and $3,000. I have contacted Chrysler several times about this safety issue, the 1st time was Nov of 2013 with the most recent being 4/1/2014. Chrysler just says "we?re looking into it". (ref case# 24293830) I have contacted the Minnesota attorney general who sent a letter to Chrysler, but they declined coverage on my Pacifica. I have also filed a complaint with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Chrysler has acknowledged this issue by extending the warranty on certain build dates, (see letter below): Checkout an nbc news report on this issue: my vehicle has been diagnosed by two mechanics, one of which is roseville Chrysler-Jeep. And both agree that the engine cradle must be replaced. My vehicle is in perfect condition. The rusted engine cradle would never be noticed by a common person. Someone could have this issue and not know it unless a mechanic would happen to notice it. Luckily mine did! in light of the recent GM issues with ignorance of the power steering issue I would think that Chrysler would try and get ahead of this serious safety issue. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Shoreview, MN, USA

problem #51

Mar 252014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 167,323 miles
I took my 2005 Chrysler Pacifica in for a oil change and safety inspection and was informed that my subframe/ engine cradle has rusted through and is no longer safe to drive the car is less than 10 years old...this is very unsafe as I drive this car everyday with 2 kids any help would be appreciated. The service agent working on my car said we were lucky it has not fallen out yet and had a serious accident.

- Baraboo, WI, USA

problem #50

Dec 132013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Own a 2005chrysler Pacifica limited fully loaded whichwas purchased new. The car was built in August 2004. I took it in for inspection in December 2013 and it was discovered the engine cradle supporting the engine was badly corroded and would need replaced to pass inspection and is a safety issue. Chrysler has acknowledged this defect in cars made in a 6 wk period and awarded an extended warranty to these vehicles but not mine.. this is a design flaw in the cheap material used in production and I should given the extended warranty. My wife and grandchildren were at risk while driving it and didn't know it I am a decorated veteran and will be contacting the president, mrs obama and initiating a class action lawsuit and the local newschannel.. I have no choice but to fix it but seek reimbursement for the extended warranty.Chrysler needs to own up and do the right thing before some lives are lost. Core values: Integrity first, service before self & excellence in all we do! you don't want to end up like GM do you?

- Lewisberry, PA, USA

problem #49

Mar 272014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that there was an excessive rattling noise from the front end of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who replaced the upper and lower tie rods in addition to performing a front-end alignment. The mechanic also stated that the front sub frame was excessively corroded. The manufactured was made aware of the failure. The sub frame was not repaired. The failure mileage was 132,000. Updated 06/10/14 updated 06/13/2014

- Mohamet, IL, USA

problem #48

Mar 122014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
Was having oil changed when tech called my attention to the subframe having holes and corrosion.I live in a salt state (Ohio).

- Steubenville, OH, USA

problem #47

Oct 052013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 168,000 miles
Started when backing and turning wheel to left a clunk occurred and left wheel felt 'stuck'. thought it may have had something to do with the extremely frigid temperatures of the season. A short time later I felt clunking under my feet when driving over dips or bumps at any speed. For some I thought it was again the idler arms or ball joints as I have had many many suspension repairs. Oddly it was never mentioned by anyone at this chain repair shop that the engine cradle was of any concern. I did bring my car in to a different chain repair shop for a determination of the clunking problem and was shown when putting the transmission into reverse the engine fell way down then was shown the very rusted out engine cradle and given an estimate of $1800 for repair with a used cradle. I then took the car to an independent repair shop to verify the need of the cradle..the charges to be slightly less. I called Chrysler and was told the car had to be taken to a Chrysler dealership repair shop for an estimate but that it was already known that there would be very little to no benefit. However if there was any monetary benefit it would not begin to cover any of the repair cost. By the way, the right rear quarter panel and lift door are rusted also. When I purchased the car 3 1/2 years ago the rust was beginning-I can now stick a finger thru the rust on the quarter panel. Have seen only one other Pacifica with surface rust. It's very embarrassing to me as not many cars on the road have any rust at all. Are my young passengers safe?? I am stuck with this money and possible death trap. I still have 1 1/2 years of payments. Bummer.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #46

Mar 122014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
Subframe rusted out completely. My mechanic found it in a routine check. Unsafe to drive.

- Menomonee Falls, WI, USA

problem #45

Jun 282012


  • 72,000 miles
Bought this car used from a dealer owned the car for approx 8 months we were making a right hand turn heard this really loud noise and the car would no longer run. We were told the subframe and motor mounts were broken. Now 1 1/2 years later my car has been acting very strange the transmission is slipping the car wont go if you step on the gas and my mechanic has informed me that once again I have broken motor mounts. I have owned this car for almost 3 years and have only put about 30,000 miles on it this should not be happening.

- Walpole, MA, USA

problem #44

Mar 132014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
Took vehicle to mechanic for routine maintenance. Upon inspecting the underside of the vehicle the subframe of the vehicle is rusting and has holes some as large as three to four inches in diameter.

- Oak Park, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?