10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
110,644 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #56

Jan 072016

Pacifica

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for minor maintenance. The mechanic noticed that the passenger side frame that supported the engine was rusted. The mechanic advised that the frame needed to be repaired or the engine would fall off. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that there were no recalls. The failure was not remedied. The failure mileage was 97,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #55

Dec 312015

Pacifica

  • 99,163 miles
While traveling I had some alignment issues with my car, I brought it to a Chrysler dealership service area to make certain the car was safe to drive home to Connecticut. While I was told it will be fine to make it home, my subframe will need to be replaced due to rust. As I researched this, I see that this has been an issue with the Pacifica 2004-2006 models. Below are the statements from service: 1. sub-frame badly rusted reported 12/31/2015 by Chrysler service easton, md 2. front sub-frame nearly broken 01/02/2016 by town fair tire, hamden, ct.

- Hamden, CT, USA

problem #54

Dec 042015

Pacifica

  • 73,434 miles
On 12/4/15 we took our 2006 Chrysler Pacifica for an oil change. When we picked up the vehicle the mechanic at the dealership explained to us that the subframe that holds the engine of the vehicle in place is rusted and will not pass annual pa inspection without being replaced. We were quoted an amount of $2,009.28 for just the parts to replace the rusted subframe. This did not include any labor. The vehicle only has 73,000 miles on it and has been garage kept since the day it was bought brand new in 2006. After some extensive research, this seems to be a common problem in 2004-2008 Chrysler Pacifica vehicles. I contacted Chrysler concerning this issue due to the safety concern this poses for myself and my family as well as the fact that this should not be happening to a vehicle that is less than 10 years old and garage kept. The contact at chrysle acknowledged that this is a problem, but that our vehicle was not covered under a warranty that Chrysler issued for 2004-2005 Pacificas. I find it completely irresposible of Chrysler to deny fixing this issue when they are well aware that they did not provide enough coating of this part while manufacturing this vehicle. I have a picture of the damage but have been unable to attach it to this form. If we attempt to fix the issue with the vehicle, we will be putting more money into the vehicle than what it is worth and if we try to trade in the vehicle, we will not be given the value of the vehicle due to the required costly repair to pass inspection. Please do something about this as Chrysler needs to be held responsible for their failure to manufacture a safe vehicle.

- Hanover, PA, USA

problem #53

Nov 252015

Pacifica

  • 101,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle was stationary going through an inspection when it was determined that the sub frame, engine cradle is rotted to the point that it is unsafe to drive. The vehicle is less than 10 years old and around 100,000 miles. That is around 10K miles per year. The vehicle looks and runs great otherwise. If they know that it is a problem that places lives at risk, why don't they do the right thing and correct the problem.

- Ithaca, NY, USA

problem #52

Oct 162015

Pacifica

  • 85,237 miles
Original owner of a 2006 Pacifica (85000 miles)...on October 16, 2015, I drove the vehicle to the Chrysler dealer where it was purchased and has been regularly maintained for a routine scheduled oil change and multi-point inspection (no check engine light message triggered the visit.) in the process of returning me the keys and directing me to the cashier, the service advisor mentioned that a part known as a "front cross member" would need to be replaced due to rust/corrosion spotted on the inspection with estimated cost of repair at $1862 for the part and $644 for the labor (estimated time to complete the repair at 5.6 hours). The service advisor made mention that failure to do the repair could result in the engine falling out. Upon returning home, I googled "Pacifica frame rust" and discovered this problem is widespread. I learned there is a class-action lawsuit in Ohio involving this issue with motions and rulings relatively fresh with a judge named "donald C. nugent" hearing the case with the first name of plaintiff named being "holland et al" and the defendant in the suit being named "fca" as in Fiat Chrysler. From information I have gathered online, I have discovered that engine-cradle rot is a serious problem for the Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the engine's sub-frame during assembly, but thus far has only offered to cover under warranty only a very small portion of the vehicles (approx 7000 in a November 9, 2010 technical service bulletin). Later, on March 16, 2012, fiatchrysler issued a new technical service bulletin superceding the previous tsb stating the engine cradle defect and extended warranty applied only to 2004-05 Pacificas in Canada and salt belt states manufactured in a six week window in 2004. This means approx 300000 Pacificas are dangerous and in need of repair mine included.

- Rockton, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #51

Oct 022012

Pacifica

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while the vehicle was being serviced for an unrelated recall, it was discovered that the front subframe was severely corroded. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. On another occasion, the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to have an oil change. It was discovered that the engine was detaching due to the severe corrosion of the front subframe. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 54,000.

- Cassadaga, NY, USA

problem #50

Oct 202015

Pacifica

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine cradle rusted and is unsafe to drive I called Chrysler they said too bad for me I have to pay for all repairs.

- Ellwood City, PA, USA

problem #49

Oct 082015

Pacifica

  • miles
Front sub frame rust through. Was told frame could crack or break causing loss of control of car. Needs $3,100 repair at Chrysler dealer to make safe..

- Mchenry, IL, USA

problem #48

Oct 022015

Pacifica

  • 96,000 miles
Took car in for oil change, mechanic told me that the engine cradle was showing some pretty severe rust issues. Was told that I would have to repair this soon, or risk having the engine drop out of the enclosing compartment. Repair estimated at $4500, which at this point is more than the car is worth. Contacted Chrysler, they said that there is no recall on this problem, so I was responsible for all repairs. Some research on the internet shows that this is a known and pretty widespread problem. Sorry to see that a company that I helped bail out a few years ago, doesn't stand by their product.

- Point Pleasant, NJ, USA

problem #47

Sep 262015

Pacifica

  • 98,802 miles
Took to mechanic to replace links in wheels. Mechanic informed me of the rusted through subframe. I don't wanna be driving down the road then all the sudden my engine falls out. Only transportation I have.

- Rochelle, IL, USA

problem #46

Aug 032015

Pacifica

  • 210,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the service engine warning light flickered and the vehicle overheated. The vehicle was repaired by replacing the hose. The contact also noticed that the engine cradle/subframe was rusted with holes and could fracture. The vehicle was taken to over three independent mechanics who diagnosed that the engine cradle/subframe needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 210,000.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #45

Sep 112015

Pacifica

  • 160,000 miles
Engine cradle has rusted thru. Mechanic has suggested I not drive vehicle for my safety. Spoke with someone at Chrysler who indicated that there was a safety bulletin issued acknowledging and addressing the issue, but that the year of my vehicle was not included in the safety bulletin. Vehicle was purchased used from a Chrysler dealership.

- Fond Du Lac, WI, USA

problem #44

Sep 082015

Pacifica

  • 175,000 miles
Upon regular maintenance, the auto mechanic discovered my 2006 Pacifica engine cradle frame is totally rusted out. He advised me the cost of repair is so high that it is not worth to repair. He further required me to acknowledge that my car is not safe to drive. This is very unusual to have a subframe rusted though the whole metal frame since the car was always kept in Maryland, we hardly have any snow in the last 10 years. From the search on the internet, it turns out that this subframe problem affected was common in many Pacifica on the road. We felt fortunate that the engine has not dropped on the ground and lead to a fatal crash. Why there is not recall on these Pacificas.

- Elkton, MD, USA

problem #43

Sep 032015

Pacifica

  • 95,000 miles
The cradle rusted through on the right side of the vehicle. Was discovered during an oil change.

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #42

Sep 012015

Pacifica

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. While the vehicle was undergoing routine maintenance, the independent mechanic discovered that the entire subframe was corroded and rusted. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not safe to operate. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 76,000.

- Westwood, MA, USA

problem #41

May 282014

Pacifica

  • 140,000 miles
A few weeks before this happened, I noticed my rear tire leaning outward. Took it too the shop a few times wondering what was the cause. It was determined from a dealership it was the struts. I was told the Pacifica was known for it. So I had the struts replaced. It helped but the tire was still leaning, it wasn't perfect like the rest. I was told that there was no other reason because everything looked good underneath and suspension. I looked several times, myself. Not seeing any major rust or anything unsafe. Then driving on the freeway 150 mile's from home, at 70 mph, a hard bang and the rear end lifted up and dropped down. Car uncontrollable. Finally able to stop and realize the subframe dropped right out of the car leaving my rear differential on the ground. It had rusted from the top of the subframe down. Looked on line and seen it was happening to other people. Called Chrysler was told my problem. Hence my first american made car and my last. Pos!!!

- Cadillac, MI, USA

problem #40

Jul 102015

Pacifica

  • 163,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the engine cradle prematurely rusted to the point that it was corroded and may fracture. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic, who inspected and diagnosed that the engine cradle needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 163,000.

- Mayville, NY, USA

problem #39

Aug 192015

Pacifica

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. While the vehicle was at an independent mechanic for a routine oil check, the technician noticed that the front end frame that held the engine was corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 102,000. The VIN was not available.

- Bushkill, PA, USA

problem #38

Aug 172015

Pacifica

  • 133,500 miles
My regular automobile service company recently completed a repair and replacement of the front brake components on my 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. Upon routine inspection of the vehicle's undercarriage, they identified severe corrosion of the "engine cradle". they advised that engine cradle was in very poor condition and that failure was likely in the near future causing the engine to drop out of the vehicle. I immediately contacted the Chrysler/Dodge dealership where I purchased the car. They told me that they were aware of a problem with the engine cradles in that model year Pacifica, but that there currently was no recall to correct the problem. I was quoted $3,000 to replace the engine cradle, which I can not afford. My complaint is that if this is a safety issue, why is there no recall or any other apparent effort to correct the problem" the vehicle is in otherwise good shape and runs well, but I am afraid of driving it, concerned that my family or I could be seriously injured. Can you assist me"

- Peru, NY, USA

problem #37

Aug 062015

Pacifica

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken for routine maintenance, the mechanic at the dealer stated that there was severe rust on the entire sub frame of the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000. Updated 09/18/15

- Ewing, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?