If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

3.0

hardy worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,312 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chrysler Sebring engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chrysler Sebring:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chrysler Sebring Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Oct 012006

Sebring

  • 15,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Sebring convertible. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 to 30 mph the engine failed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where they advised that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 15,500.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #31

Oct 112011

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 80,291 miles
I bought my used touring model Sebring in may of 2011, and since then it has repeatedly jumped or leaped forward when coming to a stop or idling, even with my foot on the brake. I have almost caused a few accidents by ramming the car in front of me at a stop light and such. As well, it stalled out on me when I made a complete stop on 10/11/11. I have seen many, many of the same complaints and wish I knew what the issue was. Will be taking it into the repair shop tomorrow.

- Byron, MN, USA

problem #30

Sep 262011

Sebring

  • 73,737 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked, a popping noise emitted from the engine. The contact inspected the engine and noticed that the radiator overflow tank was punctured and spilling coolant over the engine. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic, where the mechanic replaced the radiator overflow tank and gasket for the upper intake valve. The failure mileage was 73,737.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #29

Mar 092011

Sebring

  • 131,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Sebring. The contact was accelerating from a stop when the vehicle suddenly stalled without warning the contact then coasted to the side of the street and tried to restart the vehicle but to no avail. The vehicle was then towed to a dealer and they advised him that he needed to replace the oil pump, the cam shaft, and additional valves. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was approximately 131,000.

- Staton Island, NY, USA

problem #28

Oct 102010

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 46,988 miles
*what happened" use as much space as you need. We own this 2004 Chrysler sebring as we purchased it new in the fall of 2004 from westborn Chrysler in dearborn. In the spring of 2005 we took a trip to Florida, and as we were getting off the freeway, at the first stop light, the car was jerking to the point that if we did not put it in park it would hit the gar in front, then it stopped. It stopped several times in that trip. We took it to the dealer; they could not diagnose anything wrong with it. We drove the car short distances since, but recently started to drive about 20 miles one way, when it started to have the same symptoms. We experience several cases of sudden stalling, jerking and sudden stops when turning. It happens when have to stop after a highway drive. In one instance it almost hit our house. We took the car to the dealer again and were told that the right downstream O2 sensor, and the harness connector have to be replaced and the fuel injector needs to be serviced. Also the power steering pump is noisy. Chrysler would pay for the parts, but we would have to pick up the labor cost of $1,103, because the car has 47,000 miles, it is so far since the warranty expired. They claim this is not covered by the 70,000 miles or 7 years warranty. It is the engine and/or transmission that are malfunctioning, but they try to find different things to give me the run around and not to cover the expenses. After all, T really thing that this will not fix the problem, this is only the effect of a different cause, that is not even found. 2. another issue is that once it rains, the carpet on the driver side is always wet. 3. a third issue, we had to replace the blower motor resistor. All common problems with these cars, as I read complaints. Why isn't Chrysler stepping up and fixing these problems"

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #27

Jun 232010

Sebring

  • 86,000 miles
My car has cut off on me 4 times in the past 2 months. It seems to happen every 2-3 weeks, when I come to a full stop. Also, when my foot is on the brake, the car will vibrate violently and then lunge forward by a foot or so. I have almost hit cars in front of me because of this. This has happened 4 times as well. I've gotten my catalytic converter checked- no problem, I've gotten radiator and transmission checked- all fine. I've had an A/C flush, transmission flush, and air induction/.fuel system cleaned out. Everyone says that the car is fine, and I've had half a dozen mechanics check everything out. No one can find a problem. And a new thing happened, just the other day, when I had started my car up for the first time in the day, the car didn't want to shift above 30 miles. The rpms were really high, but I was at 30 mph. The mechanics can't find anything wrong with it at all. I saw a posting on another website where someone had the same problems, but no one could find the problem. June 23rd is the first day that these things started happening.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #26

Feb 062010

Sebring

  • 41,355 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car stopped running when stopped at red light. Towed to dealer. Informed it needs new battery and transmission solenoid pack. I authorized the repairs and also requested oil change. Dealer called back stated engine has sludge, engine"very very bad", making knocking noise, "may need new engine." I purchased the car from the same Chrysler dealer 2 yrs ago.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #25

Aug 022009

Sebring

  • 84,000 miles
I purchased a 2004 Chrysler Sebring convertible on December 25, 2008. The first couple of months after I purchased my car the check engine light came on. I took the car back to the dealer and they fixed the problem and everything was fine. After another 1 month or so the check engine light came on again so I took it back to the dealer. Per the dealer I only had 3 months of warranty therefore there was nothing they could do. At the time of the purchased the person who sold the car to me stated I had 1 year of warranty and it turned out I only had 3 months of warranty. I of course complaint because that's not what they said in the beginning at the time of the purchase. After that day I went back home and decided to go back to the dealer the next day and they had closed the dealer per they were already out of business. There was nothing I could do after that. On August 2, 2009 my car started making a knocking noise I took the car to the mechanic and he stated a new engine needed to be installed per the engine was completely gone out of no where. I had 3 other mechanics look at my car and they also stated a new engine needed to be put in. So now im stuck with my car loan in which I still owe about $6000 and I have been unable to drive my car for about 4 months now per it cost too much to replace. What should I do in this case? please help.

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #24

Aug 022009

Sebring

  • 84,000 miles
The car started making a knocking noise I took the car to the mechanic and he stated a new engine needed to be installed per the engine was completely gone. I had 3 other mechanics look ay the car and they also stated a new engine needs to be put in.

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #23

Feb 052004

Sebring

  • 90 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Sebring. While driving approximately 30 mph on normal road conditions proceeding to make a turn; suddenly, the engine stalled without warning. The driver was able to restart the engine and resume operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing; however, the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle also intermittently exhibited unintended acceleration. The contact had concerns of the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 90 and the current mileage was 30,000.

- Fairland , IN, USA

problem #22

Jun 132009

Sebring

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Chrysler Sebring convertible with 2.7L, 6 cyl engine. Engine shut down while driving on highway in Michigan; when I opened the hood, the radiator was steaming/boiling. No warning, no "check engine" lights, no oil pressure or temperature warnings. Had car towed to Michigan dealer, they couldn't get the engine to move; said I needed engine replacement. Chrysler wouldn't honor any warranties because car was just over 70K miles (warranty to 70K). Also, dealer I towed the car to had just lost their Chrysler franchise 3 days earlier as did the dealer I had purchased the car from; Chrysler said they wouldn't even talk to these dealers anymore about the car, I was on my own. I found numerous websites showing complaints about this engine that were exactly like mine. There's been a class action lawsuit filed in NJ regarding this engine failure but I haven't found one that I can participate in yet. I surrendered the car to Chrysler as I wasn't ready to pay over $8000 for a new engine (more than the car was worth).

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #21

Mar 012009

Sebring

  • 103,000 miles
While driving home on the freeway my oil light came on and then within a couple of minutes the car stopped, I did not know what was happening, the battery was fine because the radio and head lights were working, I knew had oil, my husband came out and tried to jump start it but had no luck, had it towed to Chrysler dealership and they said that the engine was seized. I had no warning sign that anything was wrong with my engine, the mechanic said that the oil level was fine and that it look pretty clean as well. They told me a need a new engine at a cost of $5500 for a used one with a 6 mo. Parts only warranty or a factory reconditioned one at a cost of $7200. I can not afford either, and still owe aprox $6500 on my car loan. I found a web site called auto beef and with little surprise there were several complaints of the same problems. I honestly believe that this is a faulty product. Now I have to pay for a car I cannot use or invest almost $7200 plus tax on a car that isn't worth that much to put into it another $7200.

- Monroe, WA, USA

problem #20

Feb 222009

Sebring

  • 87,000 miles
This is my second complaint filed on this website. My car has been placed in the repair shop at least 3 time for the same problem with no resolution. Car stalled again on 2/22/09 and 2/24/09.

- Forestville, MD, USA

problem #19

Oct 152008

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 48,250 miles
Oil sludge in my lower engine. Chrysler 2.7 V6 engine. I am being told I need to pay $8000 for a new engine in my 2004 sebring with only 48, xxx miles on it.

- Aloha, OR, USA

problem #18

Sep 012008

Sebring

  • 75,000 miles
Ticking of the engine, no sludge found as of today. Stalling at lights or sitting in traffic.

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #17

Jul 262008

Sebring

  • 96,000 miles
I have a 2004 Chrysler Sebring. For 1 year beginning in October 2006, I had a check engine light that would come on and off intermittently. I was unable to bring it to the dealer because it was over the warranty mileage. I have had stalling problems, when I would apply the brakes the cra would either stall or jerk forward. On July 26, 2008, I had to have the tie rods replaced. Since I had the vehicle I also had to have a bearing replaced. I do a lot of highway driving, but, have had vehicles in the past that never had these problems. When I had the tie rods replaced (at sts), they also checked on the stalling. The only thing they were able to find was "dirty throttle plates" which did not fix the situation. I have done a lot of research on my vehicle and discovered that these problems are common with my model, year, and VIN number. This is one reference I used: www.lemonlawclaims.com/2004_chrysler_sebring_and_engine%20failure.htm.

- Plainsboro, NJ, USA

problem #16

Feb 012007

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,084 miles
- the contact took the 2004 Chrysler Sebring with current mileage 50,084 to daimler Chrysler dealership in orlando Florida. The manufacturer stated that there was not a problem with the contacts vehicle because the contacts vehicle was not a part of the recall issued for this vehicle. He was having problems with the air bags, horn, front passenger window, and oil light. The contact stated that this problem was first noticed on February 1, 2007. The contact stated that the vehicle was normally driven at 45 mph. The dealership has not repaired the vehicle. The current and failure mileage was 50,084. Updated 05/21/07

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #15

Feb 062007

Sebring 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Engine was leaking some type of red fluid. Turned out to be transmission fluid, paperwork said replaced trans hoses, clamps, and solenoid pack (2/6/07). Blower motor only worked on highest setting, the replaced the bad blower motor for heat/cooling(10/17/06). Replaced resonator pipe and muffler after noticing acceleration was sluggish and loud (3/22/06).

- Westland , MI, USA

problem #14

Oct 062006

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,185 miles
The motor in my 2004 Sebring failed on my way to work one morning almost a month ago. I took it to the dealer who immediately asked me about oil changes. I said that I didn't have any receipts but could find them at home if necessary. 4 days later they wanted the receipts. I faxed them over and they said they were not sufficient and that I would have to pay $7000 for a new motor because they would not fix it under the warranty. They said that there was sludge in the motor and it had to be replaced along with the timing chain. They said that the receipts I had sent them were not in the proper format and they would not accept them. I told them that those were the receipts I was given by a licensed garage in the state of Nevada and they could take it up with them. They called the garage and wanted them to submit new receipts in a different format. According to the garage they were very rude and condescending and the garage agreed to give them new receipts. The new receipts were faxed over and after 4 days when I did not hear from the dealer I called them and they said they never got the new receipts. I asked why they didn't call me and they said that it was not their job to track down my receipts. I called the garage and they faxed them again and this time it took the dealer 3 days to acknowledge receipt of them. They said that everything was in order and someone from Chrysler would be out to look at it. 3 days later they called again and said they would not fix it under warranty because the oil filter in the car did not match the receipts. I now have a 2004 Sebring with 41,000 miles on it (it had 22,000 when I bought it last year) that needs a $7000 motor. The dealer will not give me any satisfaction and I have called Chrysler 4 times and they don't care.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #13

Sep 302006

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
: the contact stated the engine developed sludge causing the engine to die. The service dealer determined the contact must not have changed the oil often enough. The contact stated the oil was changed every 3000 miles.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?