If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

3.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,049 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chrysler Sebring engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chrysler Sebring:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chrysler Sebring Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Mar 012009

Sebring

  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving home on the freeway my oil light came on and then within a couple of minutes the car stopped, I did not know what was happening, the battery was fine because the radio and head lights were working, I knew had oil, my husband came out and tried to jump start it but had no luck, had it towed to Chrysler dealership and they said that the engine was seized. I had no warning sign that anything was wrong with my engine, the mechanic said that the oil level was fine and that it look pretty clean as well. They told me a need a new engine at a cost of $5500 for a used one with a 6 mo. Parts only warranty or a factory reconditioned one at a cost of $7200. I can not afford either, and still owe aprox $6500 on my car loan. I found a web site called auto beef and with little surprise there were several complaints of the same problems. I honestly believe that this is a faulty product. Now I have to pay for a car I cannot use or invest almost $7200 plus tax on a car that isn't worth that much to put into it another $7200.

- Monroe, WA, USA

problem #20

Feb 222009

Sebring

  • 87,000 miles
This is my second complaint filed on this website. My car has been placed in the repair shop at least 3 time for the same problem with no resolution. Car stalled again on 2/22/09 and 2/24/09.

- Forestville, MD, USA

problem #19

Oct 152008

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 48,250 miles
Oil sludge in my lower engine. Chrysler 2.7 V6 engine. I am being told I need to pay $8000 for a new engine in my 2004 sebring with only 48, xxx miles on it.

- Aloha, OR, USA

problem #18

Sep 012008

Sebring

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ticking of the engine, no sludge found as of today. Stalling at lights or sitting in traffic.

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #17

Jul 262008

Sebring

  • 96,000 miles
I have a 2004 Chrysler Sebring. For 1 year beginning in October 2006, I had a check engine light that would come on and off intermittently. I was unable to bring it to the dealer because it was over the warranty mileage. I have had stalling problems, when I would apply the brakes the cra would either stall or jerk forward. On July 26, 2008, I had to have the tie rods replaced. Since I had the vehicle I also had to have a bearing replaced. I do a lot of highway driving, but, have had vehicles in the past that never had these problems. When I had the tie rods replaced (at sts), they also checked on the stalling. The only thing they were able to find was "dirty throttle plates" which did not fix the situation. I have done a lot of research on my vehicle and discovered that these problems are common with my model, year, and VIN number. This is one reference I used: www.lemonlawclaims.com/2004_chrysler_sebring_and_engine%20failure.htm.

- Plainsboro, NJ, USA

problem #16

Feb 012007

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,084 miles
- the contact took the 2004 Chrysler Sebring with current mileage 50,084 to daimler Chrysler dealership in orlando Florida. The manufacturer stated that there was not a problem with the contacts vehicle because the contacts vehicle was not a part of the recall issued for this vehicle. He was having problems with the air bags, horn, front passenger window, and oil light. The contact stated that this problem was first noticed on February 1, 2007. The contact stated that the vehicle was normally driven at 45 mph. The dealership has not repaired the vehicle. The current and failure mileage was 50,084. Updated 05/21/07

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #15

Feb 062007

Sebring 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine was leaking some type of red fluid. Turned out to be transmission fluid, paperwork said replaced trans hoses, clamps, and solenoid pack (2/6/07). Blower motor only worked on highest setting, the replaced the bad blower motor for heat/cooling(10/17/06). Replaced resonator pipe and muffler after noticing acceleration was sluggish and loud (3/22/06).

- Westland , MI, USA

problem #14

Oct 062006

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,185 miles
The motor in my 2004 Sebring failed on my way to work one morning almost a month ago. I took it to the dealer who immediately asked me about oil changes. I said that I didn't have any receipts but could find them at home if necessary. 4 days later they wanted the receipts. I faxed them over and they said they were not sufficient and that I would have to pay $7000 for a new motor because they would not fix it under the warranty. They said that there was sludge in the motor and it had to be replaced along with the timing chain. They said that the receipts I had sent them were not in the proper format and they would not accept them. I told them that those were the receipts I was given by a licensed garage in the state of Nevada and they could take it up with them. They called the garage and wanted them to submit new receipts in a different format. According to the garage they were very rude and condescending and the garage agreed to give them new receipts. The new receipts were faxed over and after 4 days when I did not hear from the dealer I called them and they said they never got the new receipts. I asked why they didn't call me and they said that it was not their job to track down my receipts. I called the garage and they faxed them again and this time it took the dealer 3 days to acknowledge receipt of them. They said that everything was in order and someone from Chrysler would be out to look at it. 3 days later they called again and said they would not fix it under warranty because the oil filter in the car did not match the receipts. I now have a 2004 Sebring with 41,000 miles on it (it had 22,000 when I bought it last year) that needs a $7000 motor. The dealer will not give me any satisfaction and I have called Chrysler 4 times and they don't care.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #13

Sep 302006

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
: the contact stated the engine developed sludge causing the engine to die. The service dealer determined the contact must not have changed the oil often enough. The contact stated the oil was changed every 3000 miles.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #12

May 102006

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,258 miles
I purchased my car in Nov 2005 and on several occasions the car has stalled on me I started the car back up immediately. On other occasions the engine would rev up while sitting at a red light or either in a drive thru lane at a restaurant. The car was not in park it scared me to death. I don't know the reason for this. The car isn't under warranty any longer and I know the wont fix it problem.

- Rockingham, NC, USA

problem #11

Aug 042006

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,432 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I want to get as much information as early as possible. On the way to town, my car stalled at a stop light. Started it, stalled again, restarted and now I can hear a loud knocking(the rod) I eased it in to the local grocery store, where the knocking persisted. I then went towards home, got on to my road and called my father in law and we decided to push it in to the driveway. I called the local Chrysler dealerships (2) and the first words out of their mouths was, "as long as we don't find any sludge, this will be covered under warranty." In researching the engine on the internet, there are something like 1500 or more complaints regarding Chrysler not fixing this car, on cars that are under their warranty. They are denying under the "guise" that the owners are not maintaining their vehicles. This is pure hogwash, because this issue is a manufacturer defect and has been present since models back to 1999. It is embarrassing that a car manufacturer is so cheap that they can not admit their mistake, cover it under the warranty and just be done with it. I had my 4 year old daughter in the car, I am glad that I did not have a total engine failure and end up in the ditch or rear ended like many others I have read about. When it stalled, luckily the people behind me realized that I was having an issue and got over to the other lane quick enough, they only honked their horn at me, as to which my daughter wanted to know why. Chrysler should be forced to take care of these issues. There are several other major car manufacturers, Audi, Toyota, that have had similar sludge issues and they have stepped up and started engine replacement, and/or repair programs to take care of their mistakes. Everyone in the United States needs to hear about this, to avoid buying this terrible engine and the sleepless nights. For the safety of all of us driving a vehicle with a 2.7L engine and for all of our families, please do something about this terrible injustice.

- Clare, MI, USA

problem #10

Jan 262006

Sebring 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,120 miles
The problem begins in this order of occurrence: I can immediately feel a drag like the engine is working really hard. The tachometer goes up to 3 or 3.5. shortly thereafter I feel a strong vibration and I can't pick up speed. The car starts bucking. It just feels like I am braking and accelerating at the same time. The tachometer starts fluctuating from 1 to 3 and sometimes up to 4. the dashboard lights start to flicker. I start losing power and begin to decelerate rapidly and the speedometer drops to about 10 mph within a few seconds. Trying to accelerate does nothing except make it buck even more. There were two times when a was almost rear ended, once when I was doing 55 and suddenly lost power and the car behind me had to avoid hitting me by going off the side of the road and another time while accelerating in the process of making a left turn on a green arrow, the car lost power and 3 cars behind me had to slam on their brakes and swerve out of the way. Everyone was apparently paying attention both times so there were no collisions, or damage to anyone's vehicle. This problem is completely intermittent. Updated

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #9

Oct 232005

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,420 miles
1) parking gear gets stuck in gear and will not come out of gear at times. 2) even when car in park the key will not come out or go into the access key mode. 3) car cuts off at the spare of the moment with no notice and no indication why.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #8

Jul 282005

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,900 miles
Consumer owned a 2004 Chrysler Sebring touring. Vehicle was cutting off without warning. Consumer's vehicle was at cross walk at queens chapel road and ager road when consumer was forced to slam brakes to stop due to the vehicle in front stopping quickly. Vehicle stalled and would not start when trying to start it. Consumer turned hazard lights on to keep from getting hit in the rear, she waited a minute then tried to start vehicle again. Vehicle started and shook real hard, then was able to pull away and drive home. This happened on July 28, 2005 at about 7:40 pm. Vehicle stalled 9 times. Dealer ran a diagnostic check and could not find anything wrong. This was the last time vehicle stalled. Vehicle stalled three times today, and consumer was worried that vehicle was not safe.

- Riverdale, MD, USA

problem #7

Sep 012004

Sebring 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
Dt vehicle has stalled twice, called to make an appointment to bring the vehicle in by that time it had overheated. Took vehicle to the dealer, they said thermostat was bad, and they replaced it. Then it did it again. Called a tow truck, they took vehicle to the dealer. Tthey needed to bleed the line. Got the vehicle back and the engine light came. Currently, was making funny sounds. In the book it said if the light was on it could be engine problems. The vehicle is at dealer.

- Pembroke , GA, USA

problem #6

Jul 012004

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 11,284 miles
2004 Chrysler Sebring has a recurring air bag problem. The air bag light warning light would come on and go off numerous times while driving. A seat belt pre-tensioner was required, but that did not resolve the air bag light problem. The A/C would only blow on the highest setting. The left front window made a creaking noise when going up or down. The thermostat and gasket were replaced due to a coolant leak. The driver side mirror was loose.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #5

May 122004

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 180 miles
Vehicle stalled intermittently. Dealer could not duplicate the problem. Manufacturer contacted dealership about several other vehicles with same year, make, and model, whereby the same problem existed.........vehicle since acknowledged by Chrysler under lemon law, and in process of repurchasing. Two subsequent Chrysler Sebring returne dto dealer for same stalling problem.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #4

Aug 202004

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,819 miles
2002 Chrysler Sebring, the car was found with sludge in the engine. Oil changes were done every 7500 miles with the eception of the first which was at 4800 miles. The dealer changed the first one but was told not to bring the car in until every 7500 miles. The next two oil changes were done at the dealership at 13454 and 20932. The next two was done by the customer at 26532 and 33750. The last one was done at the dealership at 41258 and then the car at 46819 was taken back to the dealer for a knocking sound and car not being able to go past 35 miles an hour.dealer blames customer.after customer investagation he found serveral complaints on the internet with the same "sludge in the engine". this sludge was due to small oil flow passageway causing the oil to heat up to a high enough temperature to form into sludge. This causing no oil in the car with oil light never coming on and the sludge clogging the filter causing oil starvation to the engine.dealer acusing customer of not changing the oil the two times since he only has it written in a calendar book. Customer has two other vehicles with 180,000 miles and 100,000 miles that he changes the oil in and they run perfectly fine. In fact the 180,000 mile car always ran powerfulthan the Sebring with less miles. Warrenty denies claim and blames customer for the sludge in the engine.what is the truth behind the sludge in the engine " is their a defect in the engine? did the dealership change the oil at 41,258 miles".

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #3

Jul 102004

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,100 miles
Car has 5500 miles on it and has stalled three times under different circumstances. It has lunged forward on two separated occasions along with idling rough at times. I am picking it up at dealer this afternoon for the above problems. They have reset the computer. I will keep you posted. After reading this site I am worried about my safety and the safety of others.

- Lusby , MD, USA

problem #2

Apr 122004

Sebring

  • 2,000 miles
When coming to a stop vehicle stalled. Consumer was able to restart the vehicle, and drove it home. The dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem.

- Rolla, MO, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?