Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,731 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Sebring seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Sebring:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Sebring Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Jan 212015


  • miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Sebring convertible. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle was unstable on the road and suddenly spun out of control. The contact crashed into a guardrail and stopped facing in the opposite direction of traffic. None of the air bags deployed. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed by the insurance company. The manufacturer sent an independent investigator who stated that the air bags were not faulty based upon the speed and location of impact. The independent investigator and the manufacturer provided no specific diagnosis on why the air bags did not deploy and sent a letter with a response. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 10E059000 (suspension), 09E056000 (suspension), 04V579000 (steering), and 15V338000 (air bags). The failure mileage was not available.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #27

Dec 312015


  • 123,000 miles
The contact owned a 2005 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 40 mph, the vehicle spun out of control and crashed into a guard rail and caught on fire. The fire department extinguished the fire. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was towed and the vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 123,000...updated 03/22/16

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #26

Feb 012016


  • 150,000 miles
The most recent problem with this car is that it completely turned off....stalled out when I was driving 70 miles an hour on the I-4 thank god that I have quick reflexes or else me and my three children would be dead had camshaft sensor multiple times replaced, bad suspension and horn again it has a lot of problems with the suspension the ball joints wear out a lot especially on the left side for some reason the power windows gets stuck I spend hundreds of dollars probably more than the car is worth quite honestly I've had this damn car I was going to give it to my son now that X is here I was going to lease a new one for safety but I wouldn't even sell this car to anyone I'm going to junk it for parts the manufacturers of this car have a responsibility to keep its public safe!! I don't think its right that as a single mother I had to jeopardize my electric payment to fix a car that should have been placed on the recall list what robbery right now - had I not acted quickly thank god for my cdl training to be in the lane of least resistance... if not I would be here maybe not even my children...if anyone is reading this and you have a Sebring it doesn't seem to matter what model or year especially a 2005 sedan please do not drive over 35 40 miles an hour with that car keep both hands on your steering wheel and pay attention!! no cell phone no radio no talking no distractions your life and the lives of everyone in that vehicle very much depend on it and these companies have a way of getting around these recalls for not adding the vehicles that they no parts or damage to the list it's all about money and big corporation mean well our lives on the deadline be safe stay away from Sebring if you can financially afford to stay away from one I'm drunk in this car it's running I'm just not going to rest my life anymore I'm going to walk and take the metro be safe

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #25

Apr 132015

Sebring 4-cyl

  • miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Sebring. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V338000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 04/04/16 updated 04/06/16.

- Perryton, TX, USA

problem #24

Nov 262015

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 126,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that after the vehicle was started, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 126,000. Updated 2/4/16 the check engine light illuminated. Updated 02/16/16

- Clarksburg, WV, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #23

Nov 082015


  • 63,185 miles
When you push the horn it will not turn off. I pulled the fuse out so that I would not have to deal with the horn having a mind of its own. My fix was to purchase a switch about $4-5 at the auto store and rewire the horn in on my own. It looks a little tacky, I put the switch under the turn signal, but it is far better than being in traffic or at a light and having the horn go off for 5 minutes. Straight. I never took it in but I am guessing it is an issue with the horn switch which is under the airbag. Expensive fix which is why Chrysler will never pay to fix the issue.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #22

Jan 012015


  • miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the horn independently activated. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the driver side air bag and the horn switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was not available. MA 10/22/2015

- Loveland, OH, USA

problem #21

Jun 152015


  • miles
The horn goes off at anytime that it wants. Unable to stop it unless I pull the horn relay. My air bag light stays on all the time. Cruise control does not work. I had the same problem in Chevy Tahoe and I know what the problem is. It is the clock-spring and I have searched and made calls to everyone and I will not pay $700-$1,000 for a small peace of plastic which from most of the complaints on this list is about. From what I under stand from the dealer the part they do not make anymore and the cheapest that I can find it for is$417. That is a joke. Chrysler should do a recall on this because is your airbag is not working and your horn going off with it feels like it it is to dangerous for myself and for other drivers. This is a big issue and should be fixed. They had the same problem on the minivans and Caravan from 98-2000 and they did a recall on those.

- Mesquite, NV, USA

problem #20

Jun 042015

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Sebring. While the vehicle was parked, the driver side air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the driver side air bag was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000. Updated 7/16/15 the consumer stated the left front seat belt tensioner needed to be replaced, which was the reason, the air bag light was on. Updated 08/13/15

- Torrington, CT, USA

problem #19

Nov 152014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Sebring convertible. The contact stated that the horn sounded for an extended period of time and would not stop. The vehicle was taken to more than one repair shop, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who indicated that the air bag malfunctioned, expanded, inflated, and caused the horn to sound as the wires fractured internally in the steering wheel. The dealer replaced the steering wheel to ensure the horn and air bag were replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #18

Dec 012014


  • 81,200 miles


I recently got pulled over because my horn keeps going of uncontrollably! I had to take the fuse out and I've been pulled over twice because the horn goes off and distracts drivers unintentionally. They get mad and call the cops.. then once this fuse is pulled the gas meter goes crazy and dumb. It said once we had half tank and we ran out as soon as we pulled out the driveway! this is a safety hazard!! this need to be recalled!!

- East Wenatchee, WA, USA

problem #17

Nov 052014


  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Sebring. While driving at an unknown speed, the horn activated independently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the driver side air bag was defective. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 64,000. Updated 6/22/15

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #16

Mar 102014


  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns 2005 Chrysler Sebring. The contact stated that the horn malfunctioned and would sound independently with the vehicle on or off. This failure recurred for three months. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who stated that the air bag module or clock spring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 29,000.

- Furlong, PA, USA

problem #15

Nov 012012


  • 72,000 miles
Just as everyone else is complaining about my horn has a mind of its own and goes off on its own and lasts for several minutes. It is embarrassing and dangerous because the remainder of time I have no horn at all. There have been several times when I desperately needed to honk my horn to protect my safety. I have been lucky and uninjured this far. As is well known, to fix the horn I have to replace the whole air bag assembly. My estimate was about $800 which I simply cannot afford. I too think Chrysler should own its responsibility for this common issue and cover the costs of repairs.. it is a significant safety hazard and whose stupid idea was to connect the horn to the air bag anyway? duh!

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #14

Dec 232013

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
The horn on the vehicle starts to randomly go off and will not stop. Horn will blow even while driving at random times. This is a safety concern as there is also a clicking noise that is emitting from underneath the airbag assembly as the horn starts to go off. I am concerned that at some point during driving the airbag may deploy at the same time as the horn is randomly going off. I have contacted Chrysler and they say they are unaware of this issue even though there are multiple complaints about this issue listed with the NHTSA and do not consider this a safety concern. Repair is quoted at $750+. this really needs to be investigated by NHTSA and Chrysler needs to be made aware of this issue and address for me and other customers who are dealing with this particular safety issue.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #13

Oct 272013

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 93,600 miles
Horn starts blowing spontaneously in cold weather and will not stop until car is warmed up. This presents a hazard to other drivers and is a traffic violation. Horn shares a fuse with the fuel pump, so no easy way to disable it and drive the car, and car will not pass inspection if the horn is unplugged. A web search shows that this is a very common problem with this car, but since the horn switch is part of the airbag unit the replacement cost is almost $1000.

- Wilmington, MA, USA

problem #12

Jul 092012


  • 49,682 miles
The horn just randomly goes off. To get it to stop I had to pull the fuse which also disconnects the air bag. After reading about the exact same problem by hundreds of sebring owners, I feel that Chrysler should replace the horn and air bag (Chrysler mechanic told me it was all one unit and to replace it would be over $700). This is a safety issue, not only for me but for others on the road.

- Ordway, CO, USA

problem #11

Feb 122012

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Horn blows for no apparent reason. Usually occurs when using the remote to unlock doors but has happened when just opening the car door. Continues to sound for several minutes. Occasionally will stop if holding horn pad down on steering wheel but then resumes when pressure is released. Service department unable to replicate. States it is probably a faulty horn pad which is connected to air bag assembly so all must be replaced. Very expensive fix! apparently this is a frequent problem with sebrings for this year. Why not a recall?

- Manitowoc, WI, USA

problem #10

Jan 012009

Sebring 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The horn goes off intermittently and eventually the only alternative is to disconnect it, because of poor assembly from Chrysler, they attached the horn to the airbag and the entire system has to be replaced- if the horn does not work, neither does the airbag. A death trap. Poor design of the 2.7 engine by Chrysler..oil light flickers... oil sludge build up which will cause catastrophic engine failure and result in an accident. Chrysler refuses to address these problems.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #9

Jul 152011


  • 36,000 miles
Airbag warning light remains on.

- Medford, OR, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?