Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have caught on fire.

Have we mentioned all the reports of complete engine failure due to oil sludge?

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
110,355 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Durango engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 8 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #149

Jan 022014

Durango

  • 109,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the vehicle rapidly and abnormally accelerated when the accelerator pedal was engaged. The contact inspected the vehicle and found that engine oil was leaking from the vehicle and the tie rod was fractured. In addition, smoke and a small fire erupted from under the hood. The contact was able to contain the fire. The vehicle was inspected by a local mechanic, who advised that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 109,000.

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

problem #148

Dec 312013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 95,978 miles
On 12/30/13, owner started Durango and heard loud pop from engine followed by check engine light. Owner drove Durango to repair shop where he has serviced all his vehicles since moving to area 11 years ago. Shop manager inspected vehicle, noted check-engine still on and recommended engine diagnostic. On 12/31/13, shop called owner stating that engine diagnostic did not identify cause for check-engine light other than issue with cylinder #4. shop recommended an induction service to flush carbon buildup from the engine. Shop manager called later, stating that after engine flush and during test drive, the bottom of the engine blew with holes in both sides. Estimate cost for rebuilt engine and installation is $8500. Shop pointed owner to an edmunds forum where owners were reporting similar and in some cases almost identical instances of blown engines on the Dodge 5.7 hemi engine for model year 2004. Owner researched and found 100S of instances where the Dodge 5.7 hemi engine blew between 70K and 110K for model years 2004 & 2005 under similar conditions (low speeds, little to no warning prior to failure, possible association with heavy rains). Three instances involved highway speeds, one downhill and two which nearly resulted in accidents in trying to stop the vehicle. On 1/8/14, owner called Chrysler at 1-800-247-9753 and spoke with agent for help in covering cost to replace engine. Owner stated his research and what appears to be an obvious design or manufacturing problem as evident by the large number of blown engines. Owner expressed loyalty via ownership of 1984 rampage ([xxx]), 1998 Grand Caravan ([xxx]), and 2004 Durango ([xxx]). Chrysler agent stated that since the vehicle was outside the 8yr/70K mile warranty, they will not provide any compensation of help in covering the cost of the engine and installation. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #147

Oct 142010

Durango 8-cyl

  • 155,125 miles
There is a problem with the Dodge hemi 5.7L engine*** I have maintained my 2004 Dodge Durango immaculately, mechanically and physically. I purchased my Durango in 2006 from a dealer with 36K miles on it. In 2010 with 155,000 miles on it, the push rod broke when I was on my was to the office. The truck was sitting in my driveway from the night before and when I went to start the engine, it made a loud popping noise and engine shutdown. I had the vehicle towed to a shop where it was confirmed the push rod had broken, oil changed on regular basis, etc.. I had the engine replaced in Nov 2010 with another Dodge hemi 5.7 L hemi engine. Over 3 years later guess what"???????" the replaced Dodge hemi engine blew on me in the same driveway 3 years later December 5, 2013. I am posting this note to other owners to steer clear of replacing the engine as it will happen again, it is not a matter of if, but when. As of December 2013 my Dodge has been sitting at the shop I had it towed to and I refuse to buy another engine. One consistent issue which I have read from the other complaints is that the engine would hard idle (act like it would stall) during heavy rain storms. I am pissed because I have a excellent conditioned vehicle appearance and mechanically I am out of a vehicle. Fortunately/unfortunately the vehicle is paid for. I am going to lodge another complaint with the NHTSA. It is unbelievable so many people have the exact same issue with this engine. How can we get chrsyler/Dodge to own this problem and make it's owners of its Dodge Durango's whole for fixing this recurring problem. I am a perfect example of replacing the engine in this vehicle once, and 3 years later the exact issue has occurred again!!!!!!!!!

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #146

Dec 052013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 272,251 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a problem with the Dodge hemi 5.7L engine*** I have maintained my 2004 Dodge Durango immaculately, mechanically and physically. I purchased my Durango in 2006 from a dealer with 36K miles on it. In 2010 with 155,000 miles on it, the push rod broke when I was on my was to the office. The truck was sitting in my driveway from the night before and when I went to start the engine, it made a loud popping noise and engine shutdown. I had the vehicle towed to a shop where it was confirmed the push rod had broken, oil changed on regular basis, etc.. I had the engine replaced in Nov 2010 with another Dodge hemi 5.7 L hemi engine. Over 3 years later guess what"???????" the replaced Dodge hemi engine blew on me in the same driveway 3 years later December 5, 2013. I am posting this note to other owners to steer clear of replacing the engine as it will happen again, it is not a matter of if, but when. As of December 2013 my Dodge has been sitting at the shop I had it towed to and I refuse to buy another engine. One consistent issue which I have read from the other complaints is that the engine would hard idle (act like it would stall) during heavy rain storms. I am pissed because I have a excellent conditioned vehicle appearance and mechanically I am out of a vehicle. Fortunately/unfortunately the vehicle is paid for. I am going to lodge another complaint with the NHTSA. It is unbelievable so many people have the exact same issue with this engine. How can we get chrsyler/Dodge to own this problem and make it's owners of its Dodge Durango's whole for fixing this recurring problem. I am a perfect example of replacing the engine in this vehicle once, and 3 years later the exact issue has occurred again!!!!!!!!!

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #145

Nov 292013

Durango

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that water penetrated the engine and caused a rod to bend. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where the failure was confirmed. The vehicle was being repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Albemare, NC, USA

problem #144

Nov 292013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Water got into cylinder and bent rod. My understanding is this is a common issue with the 2004 Durango hemi due to design issue of water draining around the engine. Required rebuild or new engine. Unacceptable for a well maintained engine to have this occur, much less, repeatedly occur for many vehicles.

- Albemarle , NC, USA

problem #143

Jan 302012

Durango 8-cyl

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Water is getting under the cowl and onto my motor. I have taken my 2004 hemi Durango to several shops/dealers and the water is causing all kinds of problems. The cylinders are misfiring, some of the metal parts under the hood have rusted irreparably (ie. Motor heat guards), the windshield gets ice on the inside of the vehicle, my headlights blink on and off while driving, the heat works only sometimes due to the wires under the passenger side dash getting wet, and this water getting through is also causing my car to stall or almost stall every time it rains or take it through a car wash. This water is causing electrical problems. It is also rusting horribly fast near the wheel wells and on the back trunk hatch. Within only 2 weeks of cold weather I now have a solid hole from the rust. Why can't they recall some parts and fix this? the dealer is no help, they only want to charge me huge amounts of money to repair problems that were factory defects.

- Griffith, IN, USA

problem #142

Jan 062014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 107,886 miles
Driving vehicle around 40 mph heard a banging noise, saw smoke pulled over and saw oil spilling from engine. Had vehicle towed inspected and found #7 connecting rod snapped. No good reason!

- Barberton, OH, USA

problem #141

Dec 302013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 167,000 miles
For the past couple of weeks my wife and I have experienced our 2004 Dodge Durango stalling as we made low speed turns. Fortunately neither of us ended up getting in to an accident when the vehicle stalled each time. I told my wife I'd have the service shop have a look at it when I took it in for its needed oil change next week. On the morning of 12/30/13, I went out to start my Durango to let it warm up some before I left. When I turned the key the engine made a loud clanging sound (like someone put a fork in a garbage disposal and jammed it) and then stopped. It wouldn't turn over at all after several attempts. I had roadside assistance tow it to a local dealer who called me to tell me the diagnostic test said it was the starter and starter relay. They put the new parts on today (12/31/13) and then called me to tell me that it wasn't the starter and that the motor has seized up. The service tech said he would look in to estimates for a re-manufactured motor and a new motor. Knowing how much I have babied our Durango (full synthetic oil changes on a regular basis, other scheduled maintenance and all records to show), I went online to see if this has happened to others..boy oh boy has it!! apparently the cowl does not let water flow away from the engine properly and as the motor ages the intake gaskets flatten and allows water to enter the intake, causing problems to the cylinders and seizing the motor. I realized this is exactly what happened to our Durango. On 12/29/13 we had very heavy rain in the mid-atlantic region and the Durango sat in front of our house all day/night as neither one of us drove it. Needless to say, I like many others am very mad that Dodge/Chrysler has not accepted responsibility. Not only are we facing expenses because of some serious medical issues right now, we now have to pay for a new motor when this could have been corrected years ago.

- Perry Hall, MD, USA

problem #140

Dec 292013

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 78 miles
After it had been raining all night I went to start it this morning and I heard a loud thump then nothing! tried to start it again a couple times and nothing. I sat there in tears trying to figure out how I would get to work tomorrow then tried starting it again and it did start. Now making a loud clicking noise. After reading all of the same complaints I am having it towed to my local repair shop but today is Sunday so I have none to look at it until tomorrow. I checked under the hood and yes there is water leaking through the base of the front windshield! then I looked under the dashboard above the foot pedals and couldn't believe I seen a trickle of water running down behind all the fuses, plugs and wires!! this is ridiculous!! now I have to borrow a car for work and pray that my engine is not shot! this widowed mom of 3 needs a dependable vehicle now!! I think there are enough complaints to warrant an investigation. I need help getting my truck fixed please!!

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #139

Dec 232013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 74,481 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Drove vehicle on 12-22-13 everything running fine went to drive on 12-23-13 and started truck just to hear a loud bang and thump checked out by mechanic and it has a busted connecting rod and engine block is shot and cant even rebuild this is a real problem that needs to be addressed quickly before any more hard working americans have to dump $7K dollars in their vehicle because some one wants to cover up a real problem. Dodge recommended replacing the intake manifold as well when do the repairs. If you know anything about engines the intake manifold shouldn't have to be done because of a rod failure. Upon doing research there seems to be another issue with the windshield cowl that leaks down directly to the manifold that may crack because is faulty which in turn allows water to drain on top of the engine. Well even though there is thousands of complaints on here and with Dodge nothing has been done. A V8 engine should not fail between 60-80,000 miles if properly maintained like ours was. Oil changes religiously and all maintenance done to dealership specs. If this rod would have failed while driving at highway speeds it could have easily caused death or injury. Why hasn't anyone looked at this problem. There is obviously a trend here if thousands of people's engines are failing at such low mileage.

- Essex, MD, USA

problem #138

Dec 032013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 113,674 miles
Backed vehicle into driveway next morning got in to crank and it made a horrible noise. Took to mechanic and motor was shot!! this is not the way I thought Dodge company would be; will not have another. No help from Dodge.

- Clayton, GA, USA

problem #137

Mar 152012

Durango 8-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
One morning, at startup, the engine failed due to broken rod. All maintenance was always kept up and recorded. The vehicle was taken to local Dodge dealership for inspection and all maintenance records were handed to them. Upon inspection of the engine, the local service person told me I had a good case against Dodge since the engine was in great condition and the rod should not have broken. The regional Dodge inspector show up and inspected the engine and determined that the damage was due to lack of maintenance. I attempted to talk to the local service person that I had spoke with before but the dealership manager would not allow me to. The national Dodge representative I was assigned called me and told me that the engine failed due to a water pump failure. The story changed. In either case, I was left with a large bill because of faulty engine parts that Dodge (Chrysler) uses on their vehicles. This has happened to thousands of other Dodge Durango hemi owners.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #136

Nov 042013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 149,739 miles
When starting it made load knocking noise. Had it towed to local auto repair shop they said that the engine had thrown a rod through the block. They found that rain water was coming through the cowl below the windshield onto the engine intake manifold. Water standing on the intake manifold seeped into the engine and allowed cylinder to hydraulically lock.

- Waxahachie, TX, USA

problem #135

Mar 072011

Durango

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when starting the vehicle, an abnormal sound came from the engine and the vehicle would not start. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer where a diagnostic was performed, which determined that the connecting rod was damaged. The dealer replaced the connecting rod however, the repair did not remedy the defect and the failure later recurred. The contact inspected the vehicle and discovered a two-inch hole in the engine block. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer where the dealer indicated that the connecting rod was damaged and caused the two-inch hole in the engine block. The dealer replaced the engine as a repair. The failure mileage was 72,000.

- New Franklin, OH, USA

problem #134

Oct 192013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
After returning from a week long business trip, I went to my Durango that was parked at the airport. The battery was dead for some reason, and used a jump box to start the vehicle. Immediately upon started, the engine started to make a long rattling noise, then shut down. Upon further review, I found oil leaking from under the vehicle, and a piece of metal as well. After having the Durango towed to my home, I checked out the engine to find a whole in the engine block just in front of the starter on the passenger side. It appears that this is a recurring problem with many people for the 2004 5.7L hemi engine. I am surprised that this has not been addressed yet. I am thankful that I was not driving when this happened as it has with some, but I suppose it will take a fatality until it is deemed serious enough for a recall.

- Livonia, NY, USA

problem #133

Nov 012013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Engine failed shortly (10 seconds) after start-up, making a loud knocking noise and then seizing tight. Engine could not be re-started as it could not turn-over. Engine was inspected before removal, and #7 piston was found to not be moving when the crankshaft was rotated in reverse rotation manually. Engine was removed and torn down for inspection. Cylinder #7 connecting rod was found to be broken midway through the I-beam section, and the remaining parts of the connecting rod showed evidence of being bent or bucked previous to the failure by one or more hydrolock events. Root cause was determined to be a defective design in the throttle body to induction resonator joint that allows windshield water runoff to be drawn into the engines induction system. This vehicle had experienced rough running in heavy rain conditions, which was thought to be ignition related per a Chrysler tsb due to a defective cowl design that allows rain water to deposit directly on the ignition coils, and throttle body, in large volumes. Chrysler re-designed the cowl piece but did not mandate its replacement.

- North Fond Du Lac, WI, USA

problem #132

Jul 102012

Durango 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Prior to the engine failure the motor would shut off during any heavy rain storm, then after one rain storm in July of 2012 the next morning went outside to start the truck the motor had locked up. Took it to the garage and was told by the mechanic that Dodge had a major design defect in the 2004-2005 Durango that caused engine failure with rain water getting into the engine. So if that is the case then Chrysler needs to refund everyone that has had these issue due to there mistake and not penalize the customers.

- Colonial Beach, VA, USA

problem #131

Oct 102013

Durango

  • 92,540 miles
Right after I purchased this used vehicle without any service contract, I started to have problems when it rains the truck will start shaking, stalling and then the check engine light will come on, also after taking the truck thru a car wash it will do the same thing, I need help because I paid 11,000 dollars for these pos.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #130

Oct 012012

Durango

  • 75,000 miles
The electrical portion started after I first purchased the vehicle. The issue worsened after someone broke into the vehicle. The car wouldn't stay charged, and I ended up needing a tow every other week. My car insurance went up to $550 a month. I was always stranded. The problem was worse in the rain. Sometimes the car would cut off while driving, it did it once on the highway and I saw a semi coming down the highway and I thought I was dead. I got it started and pulled over to the shoulder because I didn't have enough speed to get out the way. Eventually it couldn't' start anymore. I had it sitting for a year as I kept making loan payments. I fixed one thing after the other...thinking it was the problem...the car would start and die a few days later. This last time I changed the starter for the third time. A rod was thrown and the engine is locked. I wasn't even driving the vehicle, it started after 3rd starter was installed and a crunch noise sounded a few minutes later while trying to give the battery some juice. I towed it into another shop and they confirmed the engine is gone. I had to pay full coverage insurance because it's financed and a car note for a truck that's gone. I've searched online and Dodge knows and hasn't taken responsibility. Involuntary repossession would be futile because after the fee for repo, towing, storage..I will owe more than what I have left to pay, $5000 and still not even scrap metal. I've read so many discussion board post, consumer blogs on this model and 'm floored. I guess the complaints are recent because one you get to like 70,00 mile you are toast. I don't drive to work, only on the weekends and I take good care of my truck and now I have nothing but payments and metal that looks pretty on the outside.

- Oxon Hill, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?