Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,523 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 5 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #59

Jun 062008

Durango 8-cyl

  • 43,000 miles


I was pulling out of work when my car stalled after I stopped and made a left hand turn... immediately upon turning, my car stalled & would not start up. I tried to start the car for about 15 minutes because this event happen a prior time & started up immediately the first time it happened. I had to push my car by myself out of the road (2005 Dodge Durango hemi V8) which is rather heavy and it was a very hot day. After pushing my car to the parking lot again, it started. My car stalled again after I was leaving work at a stop sign 1 block away but started in about 2 minutes.

- Brandon, FM, USA

problem #58

Jan 082008


  • 39,305 miles
Customer relations department: Refer: Manifold gasket ro# 426595 - stock number 2885312 odometer reading at time of service 39,305 miles notice of the defects in my (2005 Dodge Durango slt 4D sport utility 4.7 bright silver), VIN #[xxx] the problems (s) that I have currently with my vehicle are as follow: Manifold gasket cracked terrible "ticking" coming from the engine and transmission the car is constantly cutting off and stalling out the car struggling just to stay on the car now has a very little power the check engine light comes on and goes off after a day or two leaking transmission fluid the manifold gasket cracking began all existing problems that IżM currently having with my vehicle. After intestine research I have found that this kind of a problem should only occur in older vehicles with over 75 thousand miles or more; not in a new model vehicle such as my 2005 Dodge Durango with less than 35 thousand miles on it. The defects in my vehicle remain even after the dealers repeated repair attempts. They gave the car back to me claiming the problems were fixed, but guess what?? the vehicle is still doing the same thing but worse. My car isn't fit for any type of road trips due to engine and transmission problem. I bought a brand new vehicle. I'm in fear every time I drive my car. I'm very dissatisfied that a company as large as carmax / daimler Chrysler would take advantage of single mother with a child in this day in time when gas is $5 a gallon, times are to hard and I can not afford these types of problems with my vehicle. I have read on internet, that daimler Chrysler/carmax, will do everything it can to avoid doing the right thing, also I read that Chrysler pressures dealers to keep warranty costs to a minimum, even for known problems and defects. Chrysler will do everything it can to avoid covering common problems under warranty whenever possible by blaming consumers; information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- La, CA, USA

problem #57

Jun 132008


  • 35,000 miles
2005 Dodge Durango with 5.7 hemi stalled several times causing steering and brakes to fail. It started immediately after. Is sluggish and lurches before stalling.

- Darlington, WI, USA

problem #56

Dec 282006


  • 62,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. When the vehicle reaches 60 mph, it feels as if it will flip over and the wheels are uncontrollable. The contact stated that the vehicle does not need to be aligned; however, they pull the vehicle in the opposite direction. The vehicle also clunks and clinks during acceleration and the engine light remains illuminated. The sensors were changed and the engine light dimmed; however, it illuminated again the following day and still remains lit. The vehicle has new brakes and when the brake pedal is depressed, the vehicle jumps before it stops. The contact must turn the steering wheel in order to avoid a crash. NHTSA campaign id number's 05V460000 (power train:automatic transmission) and 07V092000 (electrical system: Instrument panel) were referenced. The current mileage was 82,000 and failure mileage was 62,000.

- St. Louis , MO, USA

problem #55

May 062008

Durango 8-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
My 2005 Dodge Durango SUV has been experiencing engine stalling while driving for the past 6 months. It always happens while it is being driven in rainy or wet conditions. It happened the first time in November 2007 on regular surface streets while it was raining and my wife was driving straight ahead. The vehicle stalled and she was unable to re-start it for over 2 minutes in normal traffic conditions. The second time on or about 3/11/08 my wife was turning right at an intersection in rainy conditions and the engine stalled mid turn and she was unable to re-start the engine for over 2 minutes in normal traffic conditions. The third time occurred 5/6/08 on regular surface streets driving straight ahead in rainy conditions and the vehicle stalled and was unable to be re-started for at least 2 minutes. All 3 occurrences involved loss of control of the vehicle due to the loss of power steering and power brake controls while our children were present in the vehicle. I took the vehicle in to allan samuels Dodge in alliance Texas after the 2nd incident for warranty covered diagnosis and they informed me after having the vehicle overnight for a full day that they did not find anything wrong with it. I took it back to them after the 3rd incident and after having it for 2 full days they are still advising me that they can not find a problem with the vehicle and are not recommending any course of action to correct it. No parts have been replaced or repaired on the vehicle to my knowledge according to the service receipts given to me. I believe they are simply hooking up the ECM scanner and looking for failure codes, of which both times I took it in I was told there were none present. In my opinion right now, nothing has been done to correct the problem with my vehicle and I am very concerned about the safety of this vehicle and my wife and children inside of it.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #54

Feb 202008

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
Our 2005 Dodge Durango with 5.7 liter hemi has stalled on numerous occasions since purchase. Usually stalls during at slow speeds, or while turning. This has caused several near accidents. Had taken to dealer, after $1,000 of tune ups, etc. No improvement, still stalls. Very unsafe!

- Lusby, MD, USA

problem #53

Jan 202008

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While driving under 10 mph, the vehicle stalled, but was able to be restarted minutes later. The dealer performed a diagnostic and was unable to detect any failures. The manufacturer informed the contact that he would have to pay for future diagnostics because the vehicle exceeded the 36,000 mile factory warranty. The current mileage was 38,000 and failure mileage was 16,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #52

Jan 152008

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Two days in a row now my 2005 Dodge Durango has stalled while on the highway. I did some research and found several complaints on the issue. I am appalled that nothing is being done about this. This is a very serious problem and could be fatal.

- Worthington, OH, USA

problem #51

Sep 182007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I have 2005 Durango bought new. I have had it shut off on me going slow, making turns and going down the interstate. I have had to put the vehicle in neutral while going down the interstate turn the key off and start the vehicle up while moving. I have had it into two different Dodge dealerships once for 2 days the next for two weeks. They did not fix this issue but found many other things that need fixed. My wife will not drive the truck because of the kids. She's afraid of it. It just sits in front of the house.

- Elkview , WV, USA

problem #50

Mar 012006

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While approaching a stop, the check engine light illuminated and the vehicle shut down. The dealer was unable to diagnose or duplicate the failure. The manufacturer stated that because the dealer could not diagnose the failure, they would be unable to assist. The current mileage was 84,000 and failure mileage was 8,000.

- Pittisburg , VA, USA

problem #49

Jan 012006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While driving 10 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact took the vehicle to a mechanic, but the failure was unable to be duplicated. The failure has occurred numerous times and nearly caused a crash. The was a prior investigation regarding the failure, but it has been closed. The current mileage was 27,467 and failure mileage was 9,000.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #48

Sep 192007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,140 miles
Driver airbag warning lamp comes on intermittently, and vehicle stalls. Been back tot he dealer numerous times and all modules reprogrammed over and over with no resolution.

- Rittman, OH, USA

problem #47

Jul 272007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,450 miles
Vehicle was started the morning of 7/27/2007 after sitting approx. 24 hrs. Drove less than 3 miles at 35-45 mph when vehicle stalled as left turn was being made at approx. 22 mph (lost all power, no warning lights etc..). had to put vehicle in neutral and restart (no warning codes appeared upon restarting). On 8/6 vehicle was started in the afternoon and driven less than 5 miles @ approx. 40mph when suddenly instrument cluster lights started to come on, A/C shut down and engine started running rough. Vehicle was taken to dealership on 8/7 and after clearing codes dealer "could not identify" any problems. Dealer stated no flash sw updates available. Vehicle had 2 other instances prior to this in Q207 where all lights came on in instrument cluster and engine ran rough. Dealer could not identify what codes meant, but performed instrument cluster replacement (subject of a dcx recall) and vehicle ran well for about 6 weeks prior to the stalling incident on 7/27.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #46

Jun 102007

Durango 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
I purchased a 2005 Dodge Durango brand new, and since I had this vehicle it has been given me problems. There were recalls on this vehicle. The vehicle idled very hard, and it shut off when it idled hard, while sitting at a traffic light or when turning to go around a ramp. When shutting off the wheel locked, and I could not control the car. Recently, the care shut off on the New Jersey turnpike and a tractor trailer truck was behind me. Luckily, I was in the outer lane and managed to steer the car to the shoulder before the truck could hit me and my family. This was very dangerous. Last incident happened on une 10, 2007. Every time I took the car to the dealer they determined there was no problem.

- Irvington, NJ, USA

problem #45

Jun 102007

Durango 8-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
2005 Dodge Durango (4.7 L V8) stalls in an unexpected manner while driving. Stalls have occured while driving on at least 5 occasions. Stalls have occurred in normal street traffic and on the highway. Had a Dodge dealership look at the vehicle in May 2007. Vehicle has stalled twice since the dealership looked at it. The vehicle most recently stalled today on I-90 (June 10, 2007).

- Lake City, PA, USA

problem #44

May 262007

Durango 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
My 2005 Dodge Durango has stalled without warning several times since purchase two years ago. This has happened while moving and the steering locks up. The dealership has examined the vehicle several times and found "nothing" to be wrong with it. There are several other Durango owners with this problem. This needs to be recalled and fixed before someone gets hurt or killed (if they haven't already).

- Chester, MD, USA

problem #43

May 162007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While driving 35 mph under normal driving conditions, the vehicle suddenly shut off. The contact was able to restart the vehicle in neutral. The dealer was unable to determine the cause of failure. The current and failure mileages were 50,000. The consumer provided repair invoice. The dealer stated replaced door lock actuator. Udpated 06/26/07

- Cayce - West Columbia , SC, USA

problem #42

May 052007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 2,551 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While idle at a red light, the vehicle's engine began to sputter. When the light turned green, the contact attempted to accelerate, but the engine stalled and shut completely off. The vehicle was able to be restarted. The failure occurred on three previous occasions. At 2,845 miles, the wire harness had a failed wire and was repaired. At 2,551 miles, the pedal assembly module was defective and the clutch was replaced. At 6,033 miles, the open circuit and the module transmission control were both reprogrammed. The current mileage is 25,000 and failure mileages were 2,551.

- Absecon, NJ, USA

problem #41

Apr 192007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2005 Dodge Durango stalls while driving & the steering wheel will lock in position. The first time this happened (approx Aug, 2006), I was turning into a shopping center & almost hit a car coming out of the shopping center B/C my truck stalled & the steering wheel locked & would not allow me to turn in any direction anymore! the second time this happened (just this week, April 2007), I had just backed out of a parking spot, put it in drive & started to go forward while turning (both times this happened I was turning to the right)... I moved forward slightly & then it stalled out... again, the steering wheel locked up. When the vehicle stalls, everything shuts off... all electronics, everything... and the steering wheel will lock in place. The local dealership wants me to pay $100! just to tell me what is wrong, if they can find anything on the trucks computer! I purchased the truck in Feb, 2006 in pittsburgh, pa. I drove it down to key West & had a problem with an oil sensor during the trip. My biggest concern is the fact that when it stalls, everything turns off & the steering wheel locks up. I have to hope other drivers are as cautious as I am & that my brakes don't fail on me too!

- Key West, FL, USA

problem #40

Apr 092007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
Vehicle stalled in traffic while making a right hand turn. No warning just died.

- Madison, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?