Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,523 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #39

Dec 082005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when the vehicle stopped the motor shook, and the vehicle shut off. The failure began six months after the vehicle was purchased. The contact took the vehicle to get repaired on three occasions, but the problem recurred. The current mileage was 30,000, and failure mileage was 5,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #38

Feb 092007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Dodge Durango with the 5.7L hemi stalls (completely shuts off) when turning left or right. This has happened numerous times and is a serious safety issue. My family and I have been stranded in the middle of 55 mph highways as well as numerous intersections while making a left or right turn.

- Warrensburg, NY, USA

problem #37

Feb 052007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,063 miles
Have a 2005 Dodge Durango with the 4.7L engine. It has stalled 3 times in the past 2 days. Has happened when it is cold. Start to come to a stop, then the engine will die.

- Merriam, KS, USA

problem #36

Feb 042007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,500 miles


Multiple chronic issues with 2005 Durango. Air bag warning lamp comes on at startup and remains for multiple restarts, engine stalling, vent system whistling at 50 mph.

- Rittman, OH, USA

problem #35

Oct 252005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,206 miles
Bought 2005 Dodge Durango slt on 10/21/05. On 10/25/05 it idled down and cut off but no service light came on took to dealer and they said couldn't find anything. I have called or been to the dealer 46 times from 10/05 -11/06. No panel lights came on so they stated they couldn't fix it, but the Durango will idle down and cut off in park or at low speeds. October 2006 dealer changed the cluster and problem stopped for a week. Then started again either at idle or in park. 12/06 I took back due to it started to cut off while driving. But still no panel lights and nothing showing on computer. In January 2007 was driving and cut off in the middle of crossing traffic and another car had to swerve around took back to dealer. The dealer added 1 qt of transmission fluid and problem stopped for 3 days. Then idle down and cutting off again. Then did a transmission flush due to technical support recommendations. Drove for 4 days and it cut off when turning and lost power had to slam brakes to miss a pole. Next day driving down rd and cut off had to hit brakes to stay out of the ditch because I was on a curve. I have children and this is a safety issue. First incident date was 10/25/05-present(1/21/07)

- Whiteville, NC, USA

problem #34

Jan 082007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,800 miles
The truck shuts off when backing out of the driveway. Especially when it is cold outside. Then it will not restart for about five minutes.

- Union, NJ, USA

problem #33

Sep 082006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles


: the contact stated while driving at low speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was maneuvered off the road and restarted. Although the problem had occurred several times, the dealer could not duplicate the problem.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #32

Sep 192006

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles
Ongoing stalling problem with Dodge 5.7L hemi in 2005 Durango. See NHTSA action number EA05018. Vehicle has been into dealer several times with no resolution for problem. Dodge has a service bulletin for this problem and all of the fixes for the problem(mostly software upgrades) have been implemented, however the vehicle still continues to stall. Problem occurs mostly when the vehicle has been initially started. Issue has not caused an accident yet, but has created several close calls because it has stalled when pulling out into traffic from a stop sign.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #31

Sep 132006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
The vehicle started, but stalled before placing it in gear. Restarting was attempted numerous times before the vehicle would start and remain running. This is reminiscent of past situations where the vehicle has stalled, and would not restart. These previous situations where reported under ODI# 10147495 on January 9th, 2006. This stalling situation is extremely hazardous to the driver and passengers. Chrysler"?S response has been to re-flash the PCM. However, fault codes have not been identified. Eventually, this stalling/non-restarting condition will be fatal to either my family or to someone else?"S family. At which time, I will actively retrieve these NHTSA submittal as documentation of a known problem that was not addressed by the manufacturer. Note: Previous submission under ODI# 10147495 the engine has quit twice now while accelerating away from a stop. Once the engine stalls, it cannot be re-started. In fact, the engine will not crank. The first time this occurred in November of 2005, the vehicle was towed back to the dealership where the PCM was re-programmed. Now during the second incident, the dealership is claiming that there is nothing wrong with the vehicle.

- Menomonee Falls, WI, USA

problem #30

Aug 032006

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,500 miles
Mr mullens wife was driving on a busy local street at dusk. Passing through a traffic intersection the engine in her car just stalled/died/stopped running. The car was difficult to stop and turn. Once the vehicle was stopped the engine restarted with the first turn of the key. She is not sure if this is related but she thinks its possible that the engine stalled when she turned the headlights on.

- Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

problem #29

Apr 202005

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles


We purchased a 2005 Dodge Durango hemi in April of 2005. Since then the engine has stalled in a variety of situations at least 15 times. We have had it to the dealer on a couple of occasions and they say they cannot diagnose or fix the problem if they can't either duplicate it (they couldn't) or find a fault code (they didn't). Now they want me to leave it for an extended period, which isn't possible. The most common time for it to stall is turning at slower speeds, though it has stalled at idle as well (I.e. stopping at a stop light, coasting). The two worse times for me were turning left across oncoming traffic and nearly getting slammed by a school bus, and another time near the same school where the engine stalled as I rolled at 20 mph and didn't realize it until I almost ran up on a sidewalk with kids going to school. This is absolutely the truth. Other times haven't caused immediate danger but the next time could be much more serious. Someone will be hurt or worse if Chrysler doesn't do something about this!!! I understand the need to duplicate an isolated incident, but when so many hundreds of people have publicly voiced their own experiences, and who knows how many more either not saying anything or going through the ringer at the dealership, something more should be acknowledged by Chrysler and their dealers. It's unbelievable that you give them so much money for the car, then go in time after time and pay them to service it, only to have them get stone cold with you over this. Unreal! I will never buy another Chrysler product again. Ever.

- Auburn, WA, USA

problem #28

Jan 242006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,800 miles
I purchased a 2005 Dodge Durango from delamaker Dodge, watertown, NY, in Dec of 2005. The vehicle had 218 miles on it. A few weeks later I was involved in an accident and hit a tree and telephone pole. Dealmaker and the insurance company determined that the vehicle would not be totaled, but rather repaired. I have had nothing but problems with the vehicle. My biggest comcern is that the vehicle shuts off on me while operating. I have contacted Chrysler and I am told that they can do nothing because it is a repair issue. Dealmaker states that it is manufacture defect. Most recently dealmaker drove my vehicle for 3 weeks and put 500 miles on it, but found no trouble. Two hours after I picked the vehicle up it shut off on me and the check engine light came on. Both are issues that have been ongoing and both were the reason they had my vehicle. The main computer shorted out and was replaced a few months ago. I was told that was a manufacturer defect as well.

- Cape Vincent, NY, USA

problem #27

Jun 302006

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
I have 2 2005 Dodge Durango's one was in a head on collision and was totaled it help save my life. So I purchased the same auto again but red, the problem with this one is that it will stall out for no reason. It will start again but it continues to do the same thing I have had it at the dealership more than 4 times for the same thing this time twice in one week and they had to keep it over the holiday weekend. You buy a new auto and expect it to be safe and run.

- Waco, KY, USA

problem #26

May 272006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2005 Dodge Durango slt (4.7L). On three separate occasions, my vehicle has stalled. The first occurrence was on a busy intersection as I was turning into a gas station. The second time I was pulling into my driveway, and the third time, happened 5/27/2006, I was backing up into my driveway. I am a petite female and I frequently drive long distances alone. This vehicle is a complete safety hazard. I've taken my vehicle to a certified Chrysler service center three times and each time I was told that they can not find anything wrong with my vehicle. I am not happy with this vehicle at all, it hasn't been a year yet. At this point, I am considering breaking my lease and signing a contract with another company.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #25

May 312006

Durango 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,100 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle suddenly stalled in traffic on four occasions. Speed does not appear to play a role, as it was different each time. This is the fourth incident within one year. There was no warring prior to each incident. The vehicle restarted immediately. The dealership has been unable to duplicate the problem.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #24

Mar 132006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,974 miles
While making a turn in my 2005 hemi Durango, the engine shut off in the middle of the road. Luckily nobody was coming otherwise I would have been hit, as I had to restart the vehicle.

- Portage , IN, USA

problem #23

Apr 212006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
Vehicle shuts off while driving, causing the steering wheel to lock up creating a very serious and dangerous situation. Has happened more than 10 times over a 4 or 5 month period. First time it occurred I went to the dealership (garber auto mall - green cove springs fl) and told them of the problem. I was told that Dodge was aware of the problem and were researching a fix, but did not have one at the current time. It happened again a few weeks later, at which point I took it to the dealership to have it looked at. Learned that a co-worker's 2005 Dodge Durango had the same problem a week earlier. This time I was told that Dodge had never heard of the problem before. I also called the main Dodge 1-800 number and filed a complaint with them and was instructed to give the complaint number to the dealership and tell them to call Dodge while the truck was in the shop. Not sure if they called or not. Garber Dodge told me they serviced the transmission and replaced some gaskets that failed causing air to be sucked into the system and potentially causing the computer to fail, but they weren't sure if it would fix the problem since they couldn't duplicate it. My co-workers dealership found some loose wiring going to the main computer which they adjusted and told him this may not fix the problem. On 20 Apr 2006 the problem occurred again to my vehicle. I took it to the dealership the very next morning. Garber Dodge kept the vehicle that day and part of the following day. The next day we were given the vehicle back and told they could not find anything wrong with it and didn't do anything to fix the problem. Advised us if it happened again to just bring it back in and they would look at it again. I have already filed a second complaint with Dodge, this time doing it through their email contact portion. This is a very serious and potentially fatal problem that it seems Dodge and their dealerships are not too concerned with.

- Green Cove Springs, FL, USA

problem #22

Apr 202006

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
Coming to quick stop at a traffic light my 2005 Dodge Durango stalled. It restarted without any problem.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #21

Mar 142006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
I purchased my 2005 Dodge Durango last March and in June it started stalling while I was driving! it would happen while driving in town and I noticed it a lot when I made right turns. There was no warning...didn't make any sounds, no lights came on...I would just try to push the gas and there was nothing. It was all I could do to get it pulled off the road and avoid getting hit! this happened about 5 times within a two week period before I thought it was fixed. The first time it occurred I took it straight to the dealership and they could find nothing wrong. The computer did not pick up any errors and there was nothing they could do for me. Then after it happened a few more times I took it straight there again and they found a software update. This seemed to have fixed it. So I thought until now. Last week it started again...1 time while making a right turn. I came very close to getting hit and now I have a 3 month old baby riding in the car to worry about also. So, I thought great here we go again. I waited for it to happen once more before I took it back to the dealership and a few days later it happened again while making a right turn in town. Again, they are saying there are no errors in the computer and they have no idea how to fix the problem or that it is even "really" happening! so in other words I am making this up! this time I was not taking my car back until I could be absolutely sure that it is safe to drive. It took me an hour of going round and round with them before they broke down and gave me a rental. They are going to have one of their mechanics test it for a few days and try to get it to happen while he is driving it. In the mean time, I am filing for the lemon law which could take up to four weeks and I know they are not going to let me keep a rental for that long! so I have no idea what I am going to do for now. Hopefully it happens while the mechanic is driving it and they can come up with a solution.

- Titusville, FL, USA

problem #20

Jan 092006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,600 miles
The engine has quit twice now while accelerating away from a stop. Once the engine stalls, it cannot be re-started. In fact, the engine will not crank. The first time this occurred in November of 2005, the vehicle was towed back to the dealership where the PCM was re-programmed. Now during the second incident, the dealership is claiming that there is nothing wrong with the vehicle.

- Menomonee Falls, WI, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?