Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
87,077 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Feb 072011

Durango 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This vehicle on numerous occasions shuts off while moving down the road. Started out only during slow speeds, but has started to do it while actually cruising down the road. No warning, just total loss off steering, brakes and engine. Luckily it has cranked back up and able to get out of the road. I also have had on several occasions the temperature gauge indicate that the engine was overheating and the car will just rev up and lose power. I have had everything checked (fluids, oil pump, radiator, plugs and wires etc) and find nothing wrong. Of course nothing will be wrong until the engine blows, which then can be fixed at my expense. Another problem to add to the list is the liftgate acuator stopped working which has made it impossible to open the rear hatch. The plastic gear in the motor is broke but you have to buy the whole part to fix it.

- Temple, GA, USA

problem #11

Aug 052009

Durango

  • 45,000 miles
On 4 occasions my vehicle has shut off while trying to turn on a intersection at a low speed. All fluids are in the correct levels and no fault lights appear. The vehicle does start normally after a second. The incidents are sporadic however are concerning because it could cause an accident. This appears to be a common issue with this type of vehicle an many have complained. The dealer can't do anything because they cannot recreate the problem and computer does not show fault code. I tried contacting Dodge customer service about it but they are not willing to help.

- Newman, CA, USA

problem #10

Apr 082010

Durango 8-cyl

  • 66,433 miles
2005 Dodge Durango stalling while slowing down or accelerating from a stop. January 2010 dealer said they could not find anything wrong. Happened again 4/8/2010. Dealer replaced egr valve but could not guarantee that would fix the problem and to come back if it happens again. Hopefully it does not happen again in traffic and I get killed or kill someone. I am afraid to drive this car.

- Southington, CT, USA

problem #9

Aug 202009

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recently, Toyota has had problems with spontaneous acceleration. It appears that both foot pedal and electronics are at fault. I believe the problem may be more widespread. I own a 2005 Dodge Durango which suffered from spontaneous acceleration. The "brain" had to be replaced twice. Once when I got the SUV and last year. It would be interesting if the electronic computer part or parts were made by the same manufacturer. In both of my cases it could have been deadly. Please pass this on so it will not get lost in the "shuffle".

- Fort Bragg, CA, USA

problem #8

Mar 052009

Durango

  • 19,716 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While making a left turn with without warning the vehicle stalled. He was able to restart the vehicle. A technician from the dealer concluded that the throttle body increased the levels of carbon which caused low air flow at idle. The PCM was reset. The failure resurfaced, so she contacted the dealer. The technician stated that the ais was slow, so they repaired the idle and the ais control motor. She brought the vehicle back to the dealer 5 weeks later. The technicians discovered that the minimum air steering was too low. They adjusted the sir setting and replaced the idle arm motor. However at relatively low speeds the vehicle would continue to stall. The failure mileage was 19716. The current mileage was 48000.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #7

May 052008

Durango

  • 58,856 miles
My 05 Dodge Durango is surging real bad while at a stopped position. After a couple minutes of surging it will shut itself off. I have taken it back to the dealership where I purchased it and the dealership has put it into the shop 3 times. The bodyshop told me they cleaned out something and that should fix it but it didn't. it is currently in the shop again and I just bought it on May 1st 2008.

- West Monroe, LA, USA

problem #6

Mar 012008

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,970 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle surged to approximately 60 mph. The acceleration lasted for approximately 30 seconds. The contact had to depress the brake pedal with both feet and turn off the vehicle. The failure occurred two additional times before the vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. NHTSA campaign id number 02V020000 was referenced for the 2004 model as having the exact same failure. There were no injuries. The current mileage was 12,980 and failure mileage was 12,970.

- Orion, MI, USA

problem #5

May 172007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,506 miles
2/27/07 purchases: 2/27/07 problem: Engine light serviced: 3/06/07 repaired: Egr valve, 3/09/07 problem: Engine light serviced: 3/12/07 repaired: Ignition coil. 4/06/07 problem: Engine light/vehicle cut off/ serviced: 4/17/07 repaired: Short out cam and crankshaft sensor. Due to vehicle having rough idle, needle jumping/vehicle shaking, vehicle shut down at stop lights. (5/01/07) returned vehicle to service due to shutting down when backing up/rough idle. (5/17/07) vehicle shut down on the expressway in front of a semi-truck, I didn't know if had shut down until the wheel became difficult to control. I coasted up the exit ramp and the vehicle start right up. Dealership requested to take the vehicle to another service center for repairs. (5/18/07) took vehicle a Dodge dealership, in which, they stated that the vehicle has intermittent problems which were hard to detect. Diagnoses of the problem would be difficult. Also, stated this was the second vehicle in their service department with the same problems. To no avail they found nothing.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #4

Aug 012006

Durango 4WD

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
I own an 05 Dodge Durango purchased in Jan 06. Since Aug 06 I have had intermittent problems with it cutting off while I am driving. It seems to occur when I am slowing down to make a turn. It's happened 5 times since then. No lights come on on the dashboard and I lose my power steering. I have to come to a complete stop, put the car in park and then it will restart. I've had it at the dealer twice and since they can't "duplicate" the problem, they can't fix it. The first time I took it in, they said my throttle body needed cleaning, of course, this was not something my warranty covered, but, I paid for it in the hopes of fixing the problem. I am concerned that next time it stalls, I will either rear end someone or someone will hit me.

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #3

Nov 062006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,655 miles
: the contact stated while driving 50 mph, the speedometer reading rose from zero to 80 mph, however the actual vehicle speed remained constant. The vehicle jerked, then stalled completely. The contact was able to shift into neutral and let the vehicle drift backwards to avoid a collision with another vehicle. It was taken to a service dealer, where the ignition switch was replaced, however the problems persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the service dealer where the dealer was unable to determine the problem until it became worse.

- Robertsdale, AL, USA

problem #2

Jul 212006

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle stalled suddenly without warning at 25-35 mph on five occasion. After pulling off of the road and waiting a few minutes, the vehicle restarted on each occasion. There were no lights illuminated on the dash prior to each incident. The first four times the dealership could not duplicate the problem. The fifth time the dealership determined the throttle needed adjusting.

- Wheeling, WV, USA

problem #1

Mar 102006

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,500 miles
Engine surge causes vehicle to lurch. First instance was on March 10th 2006. The vehicle was running, I entered the vehicle put it into reverse and the tachometer jumped to almost 2000 rpms and vehicle lurched backwards then stopped. The second instance was on March 28th 2006 my wife was entering a parking space facing a store and reported stepping on the brake and the vehicle lurched forward jumping the concrete parking block with all 4 wheels, hitting the building then stopping. I believe this really is a problem as I now realize that during the first incident I needed to have the brake depressed to move the gear lever from park to reverse. Maybe related to NHTSA ODI id#S 10112496,10125643, 10141521, and 10152704.

- Clearfield, UT, USA

Not what you are looking for?