Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The third generation Durango is plagued by a defective TIPM, particularily in the 2011 and 2012 model years.

TIPM, which stands for Totally Integrated Power Modules, is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when your TIPM goes haywire, bad things start happening. Things like your water pump can stop working, your engine can stall out and your airbags can randomly deploy.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,158 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Durango brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Nov 282014

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I could not get any of the recalls fixed! 2 Dodge dealerships in my area would only look and not correct my brake issue. One dealership told me I was at the bottom of the list because I did not purchase my Durango there!

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #35

Sep 102014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic ) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Montrose, PA, USA

problem #34

Sep 012014

Durango 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 01/09/15 updated 06/3/2015

- Alma, MI, USA

problem #33

Oct 152014

Durango

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated while driving approximately 20 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The contact merged over to an emergency lane and restarted the vehicle. When the vehicle was restarted, the engine, ABS and brake warning lights were continuously illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnosis. The technician diagnosed that the totally integrated power module had failed. In addition, the contact received notifications for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V530000 (fuel system), 14V391000 (electrical system) and 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the parts needed were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available. The manufacturer had been notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Cuba, MO, USA

problem #32

May 012014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes) was received in may of 2014. The dealer was contacted on numerous occasions and stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #31

Apr 012014

Durango

  • 41,089 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer stated that the part was not available. Also, the dealer advised that recall NHTSA campaign number 14V391000 (sun visor) did not need to be repaired in a hurry. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle was exhibiting difficulties to start up and the alternator was not responding on a timely manner. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 41,089.

- Ringgold , GA, USA

problem #30

Sep 252014

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer informed the contact that the part was not available to service the vehicle under the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact did not experience a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #29

Oct 152014

Durango 8-cyl

  • miles
The hasn't been an "incident" yet. I have a recall and was told by the dealership that they are only receiving 4 parts each week and have a waiting list of over 100 people. This is unacceptable! by the time I am able to get my vehicle fixed, I could have a serious accident by then.

- Grand Island, NE, USA

problem #28

Jun 052014

Durango

  • miles
Received recall P14/NHTSA 14V-154 late may/ early June of this year. Called dealer 6/5/2014 and was told parts not yet available. Called again 8/7/2014 and was told when parts come in I will be contacted. 9/17/2014 called dealer to check status and he had no more information or even a guess on when parts will be available. I then contacted Chrysler group via the 800 number on the web site and was told that the brake parts are being sent in "controlled quantities"" the person I spoke with answered my questions from a script and could not explain to me why a recall concerning brakes is being handled on a one to one basis. He told me when the dealer verifies that the recall has been satisfied on one vehicle another part is then sent to the dealer for the next affected vehicle. My question/complaint is why are the parts being rationed for such a vital part of safe vehicle operation and now that this recall is well into its fourth month when should I expect the repairs to be completed" this vehicle is used in a four season environment with very harsh winters. It is also the primary vehicle that my wife and children use everyday. I would like Chrysler to be compelled to act quickly on this recall and not put profit over public and personal safety.

- Hankins, NY, USA

problem #27

Jul 102014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and stated that the part was not available for the repair. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Williamsport, PA, USA

problem #26

Jul 082014

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Freeland, PA, USA

problem #25

Apr 022014

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/23/14

- Michigan City, IN, USA

problem #24

Apr 162014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rogers, AZ, USA

problem #23

Jul 152014

Durango

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and failed to respond immediately. The vehicle resumed normal operation shortly after. The failure recurred twice. The contact was aware of recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Queen Creek , AZ, USA

problem #22

Jun 092014

Durango 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
You sent out a recall on my vehicle. I called and made an appt., with dealership for June 2014. When I showed for my appt., I was informed that they did not have parts needed to fix my vehicle. I was told to call them in August because that's when the parts would be in. I called in August and was told they are only getting a few parts at a time and for me to check back periodically. I just called them and they now have put me on a waiting list stating they still do not have parts and that several are in front of me on list. Your letter states that I need to file a complaint if the problem is not fixed without charge and in a timely manner.

- Beckley, WV, USA

problem #21

Apr 302014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The part was ordered multiple times. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Monroeville, PA, USA

problem #20

Sep 032014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Lenox, IL, USA

problem #19

Jun 272014

Durango

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. When the brakes were engaged, the stopping distance increased and made it difficult to stop the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 59,000.

- Warsaw, IN, USA

problem #18

Aug 132014

Durango

  • 56,100 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that after having the vehicle repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and having the brake booster replaced, the "push to start" button malfunctioned. The contact mentioned that the brake pedal did not have to be depressed in order to start the vehicle. In addition, the brake lights were constantly illuminated, as if the brakes were engaged, and the forward collision warning alert system was disabled. Also, the ABS would activate continuously, but only on the front driver side wheel. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, but the cause of the failures could not be diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 56,100.

- Stillwater, MN, USA

problem #17

Jun 042014

Durango 8-cyl

  • miles
2011 Dodge Durango. Attorney representing consumer writes in regards to brake booster recall notice. The consumer took the vehicle to two different dealerships in June pursuant to a recall notice he received in the mail. Each dealership informed the consumer, they had heard nothing from Chrysler about the recall, and they did not have the necessary parts for the recall.

- Plainfield, IN, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?