Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The third generation Durango is plagued by a defective TIPM, particularily in the 2011 and 2012 model years.

TIPM, which stands for Totally Integrated Power Modules, is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when your TIPM goes haywire, bad things start happening. Things like your water pump can stop working, your engine can stall out and your airbags can randomly deploy.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,967 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Nov 012013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles


Vehicle would not start, would start then it would shut off within a few seconds of being on, this would be repeated several times before the vehicle would stay on and we could drive it. Sometimes it would be fine for the rest of the day, other times it would be a continued problem throughout the same day. This has been ongoing since the first incident back in November of 013, and we did take it to the dealership where we purchased it new and they said it was only the computers needing to be calibrated or reset. We notified the dealer the problem still existed, but they did not find a solution. We informed the dealer of problems with the tipm module and that we felt this was the problem, the dealer denied this was the problem. It is now March, 2014 and in recent days we have experienced the vehicle's fuel line relay staying engaged after we have turned off and removed the key from the vehicle. This new problem will stay ongoing until we remove the M20 fuse. We have contacted the dealership and will bring it in. We physically went to the dealer and spoke with a sales rep. Who was giving us the impression he had no idea what the problem was and said that no one there could come out to hear the sound of the fuel line remaining engage, we would have to come back when a service personal can hear it and advise on it. We are extremely concerned that the fuel line relay remains active and engaged while the vehicle is standing, this could be potentially life threatening if it were to be rear ended or hit by a moving vehicle. We are concerned that our children, anyone in the vehicle could be seriously injured or killed if this were to happen. With hundreds of complaints from consumers with Chrysler/Dodge vehicles experiencing the very same problem and with a national back order on the very part that needs fixing, we find it unconscionable that there hasn't been a recall!!

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 162013


  • 34,000 miles
Tried to start vehicle and it would not start and the smell of burn wiring this happen several times. I seen the check engine appear and disappear I thought maybe oxygen sensor, or loose wire. So during the holidays November the vehicle cease to start and the vehicle radio and air bag light continue to operate off and on. I contacted a dealer who stated that they would work on the vehicle after the holiday January 9 2014 but change it to the 21 of January so I contacted Chrysler Dodge Corp and they gave me a case number and I stated that others had the same problem and was there a recall. They sent me to the stealership to get it check out. They stated that it would take them a while to check it out one day and they said they fixed the problem (tip module) and that I should pay for it and if not they will charge me 45 dollars a day if I did not pick it up. I stated that I am waiting for the Dodge Corp to help with the bill. They then stated they are not going to help and if I don't pay they will enforce their extra monies for having it there. I thought they wanted customers not chase them away. Go Fiat.

- Hillside, NJ, USA

problem #12

Nov 272013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Vehicle having issues cranking, takes awhile to get it started, stalls out while driving.

- Alachua, FL, USA

problem #11

Sep 302013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


The past 2 months, my vehicle has been given me problems starting engine- I turn key to start and it just cranks! in October, I brought to Dodge dealership and they told me it needed a "software update"- that didn't do anything. It randomly starts when it wants! then the past week it got really bad- not starting at all! black Friday left to shop early in morning- wouldn't start, so took husband's truck- got back at noon- tried again car started- so me and my little girl went into town- stop at traffic red light- then light turned green- pressed gas to go and nothing happened!!!! my car randomly just turned off at light! as cars honked for me to go I hurried and put car in park and prayed for it to crank- it did- and drove straight to dealership- again they said it was an software update! well its Sunday and my vehicle is at my mom's because it won't start at all! I'm reading a lot of complaints of ticm- that is backordered- I will call dealer tomorrow - I really love my Durango and hope it can be fixed.

- New Iberia, LA, USA

problem #10

Nov 112013


  • miles
I am having problems with the 2011 car starting up. I tried to start it at least 5 times before starting. Then eventually, it would not start at all. I went to the dealership and they could not find problem after completing a diagnostic. Letter they told me I would have to pay 100 dollars per hour in order for them to look at the fuel pump. If that was not the problem, I would still have to pay for it. I took it to another mechanic. They told me it was the fuel box of the integrated power control module. I have not had my car long, and I ready to sell it. No more Dodge for me.

- Baker, LA, USA

problem #9

Sep 282013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
I took my vehicle to the Dodge dealer and was told that my car could not crank because of a bad tipm module. Well that was a month ago, as I was told the part was on back order and would be here October 20th. Well that date came and passed and now I am told the part will not be available until November 19th. As I am a customer who is supported Dodge I am beginning to have second thoughts and will keep this in mind when I purchase another vehicle. I cannot believe that there is not a national recall because of the numerous customers that are awaiting this particular part. We need help from someone as my car will sit for at least 2 months.

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

problem #8

Oct 212013


  • 47,460 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated the vehicle would stall sporadically due to lack of fuel reaching the engine when first started. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The dealer stated that the tipm that powered the fuel pump to the engine was defective. The vehicle was not repaired because the part needed to complete the repairs was on backorder. The contact did not call the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 47,460.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #7

Sep 202013

Durango 6-cyl Diesel

  • 36,963 miles
I have a 2011 Dodge Durango that has been in the dealership's shop since Sept 20th. The fuel pumps failed because of a known issue with the totally integrated power module. This item has been on backorder and if that's not enough...dealerships nationwide are restricted to ordering one module per week. I believe this item should be on recall because apparently others are waiting for this part...some over a period of months. I need my vehicle. I've been in touch with customer service/corporate who has been giving me the run around and even promising me a rental car...but not making good on their promise. I'm to the point where I'm calling them daily and getting the same response. I've been assigned a case manager...but the case manager never called me. Dodge doesn't have the courtesy of calling me back to let me know what's going on. What kind of business is that? tomorrow I will have been without my vehicle for two weeks without any other means of transportation. I wasn't given an estimate on when the part would be in or a rental car. This really sucks! I have young kids and pray that there isn't an emergency where I need to jump in my vehicle and go because I won't be able to.

- West Orange, NJ, USA

problem #6

Sep 152012

Durango 6-cyl

  • 49,996 miles
I attempted to start my vehicle and it would not start if I stepped on the gas very hard and several time it would then start. I was then sitting at a red light and the car stalled in the middle of an intersection. I made an appointment with a local Dodge dealership at motorwold. My appointment wasn't for several days and I continued to have problems starting my vehicle in which I would attempt to start the ignition and it wouldn't turn on and I would have to step on the gas very hard until it started. I then had my appointment with the Dodge dealer at motorworld. I was told 2 days later that my vehicle had been diagnosed with a total tipm(total integrated power module) failure and that my car was unsafe to drive. I would told that the tipm was on an intergalactic back order and that there were no parts in usa and that over 1000 people throughout the us were awaiting this part. I was told that motorwold would not be able to get the tipm until approximately some time in November 2013. I was told that my warranty company fidelity whom I had an extended warranty through would only cover 1 day of rental. I was told that I needed to contact Chrysler regarding a rental vehicle. I spend hours calling and on hold with Chrysler with phone calls. I also have lodged a complaint with the department of consumer protection. At this time I am paying for vehicle that I can not drive. I am currently in a rental vehicle and it is unknown when my vehicle will be fixed. I fear that the tipm will be replaced with another faulty part. I fear someone will be seriously injured or killed due to this faulty vehicle. I am currently paying for a care that I can not drive bc it is unsafe. Dodge/Chrysler needs to do something for their customers who were sold a faulty unsafe vehicle.

- Wilkes Barre, PA, USA

problem #5

Sep 152013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 85,251 miles
Vehicle difficult to start up and will shut off at any time while driving...luckily I coasted to side of road without losing control.

- Clinton, NC, USA

problem #4

Sep 142013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles


My express Dodge Durango (purchased in February 2011 with 4 miles on it) began experiencing problem starting about 4 weeks ago August 2013. It started taking multiple attempts to actually get the engine to catch. Then last Saturday, I went to turn the car on and it would not start at all. I had to have the vehicle towed to a Dodge dealership in auburn, wa. I just received a report that problem is due to a broken fuel pump. However, after reading all the complaints on the vehicle this probably sounds very similar to the other owners of this vehicle. The fuel pump is on back order for 2 weeks!

- Federal Way , WA, USA

problem #3

Jul 212013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 50,145 miles
We started having issues with the car wanting to start or start for a few seconds and slowly die until we hear a knocking sound. After quite a few attempts the car would finally start. 2011 Dodge Durango, was then taken to the dealership where it was identified as a faulty tipm (totally integrated power module) that was not sending signal correctly to fuel pump. Dealership made us pay $900 plus for the part and let us drive it off the lot. Issue still occurred for a little over a week before the vehicle completely shut off while going 60 mph down the road. Luckily we were able to get the vehicle to the shoulder before being in an accident. The vehicle started back up and continued to behave the same until one day the vehicle would not start any more at all. Now what happen was the tipm was causing the fuel pump to stay on all the time and thus drained the battery, and now the vehicle will not start at all. The vehicle is just over two years old. Today we contacted the corporate office and were told, they were not even suppose to let us drive the vehicle off the lot with the tipm being bad. We have waited over 10 weeks for a replacement part after they have already taken the money and were told today by corporate that over +1000 of the tipms are on back order with no expected date of delivery. This is absolutely ridiculous that a part like this would go out on a two year old vehicle. This definitely needs to be made a mandatory recall and reimbursement by the Chrysler corporation.

- Meridianville, AL, USA

problem #2

Aug 012013


  • 55,000 miles
My vehicle would not start after multiple attempts. Dodge dealership diagnosed the problem at the tipm. There are over 800 tipms on back order to date with an estimated 4-6 weeks on expected delivery. The Dodge talk forum has over 900 blogs with other Dodge vehicle owners having similar issues with the tipm. The tipm on my car is causing the fuel system to malfunction but since the tipm is the fuse box it controls multiple components on the vehicle. Other Dodge owners have had problems with headlights, electric windows, batteries, and the list goes on. Dodge customer service is only willing to offer assistance if the part is ordered through the dealership and then the assistance is limited to expediting the part order. At the very least Dodge should offer extended warranty on the part itself which costs $800 alone and with installation at the dealership runs over $1300.

- Waxahachie, TX, USA

problem #1

Jul 182013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 42,108 miles
My vehicle has push button start. The battery in the remote that controls the vehicle started to die and the vehicle became hard to start. Took the remotes to the dealership to get the batteries changed. They managed to damage the programming to the vehicle. Two days after changing the battery, the vehicle would not start at all. It was no longer stalling. Had the vehicle towed to the dealership and they stated the programming was off and the tip module was gone and needed replacement. They could not offer further details.

- Mobile, AL, USA

Not what you are looking for?