Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The third generation Durango is plagued by a defective TIPM, particularily in the 2011 and 2012 model years.

TIPM, which stands for Totally Integrated Power Modules, is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when your TIPM goes haywire, bad things start happening. Things like your water pump can stop working, your engine can stall out and your airbags can randomly deploy.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,967 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #74

Jun 252016


  • miles


Radio started going off and on once the car was parked started smoking under hood and then would not start at all had to have it towed to a garage. Garage alternator caught on fire order new alternator also it ruined the battery new battery put in still would not start had to take it to a Dodge dealer now I have a bill for $1500 I have trying to pay as much as I could afford each week but not getting far I need something, I really need my car back

- Dallas, PA, USA

problem #73

Aug 092016


  • 90,000 miles
While driving on a main road and slowing to turn, my car has stalled on me 3 different times, the last time being today 8/9/16.

- Moosup, CT, USA

problem #72

Apr 182016


  • miles
My vehicle push to start system sticks and the vehicle takes long attempting to start. My vehicle while driving has gone dead on me although the dash is still lite radio playing. The steering wheel stiffens and the brakes get hard. I have to struggle to pull over and stop in order to place the car back in neutral or park in order to start it again. It has stalled while in motion, while slowing down for a red light, while making a turn. I have had several near misses of other cars, curbs, and ditches. I use this car every day to Transport myself and my children. I have had this car to the dealership numerous times, have had the tipm bypass and the car still hard starts and stalls despite the recalls. I am totally disappointed with this situation that is a definite hazard. Most recent complaint, my car has be idling high and now finally it overheat and the water pump has to be replaced. I am totally disappointed.

- Frederiksted, VI, USA

problem #71

Apr 152016


  • 38,364 miles


On an intermittent, but regular basis, the vehicle (2011 Dodge Durango) stalls when slowing into a turn or approaching a stoplight. Once the vehicle stalls, the steering column locks making it difficult to turn the vehicle. This has resulted in several close calls with other vehicles and even objects (curbs, light poles, etc.) I use this vehicle to Transport my children on a daily basis and am concerned for their safety as well as my own. We have taken the vehicle in to the dealership that it was purchased from (arrigo Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep Ram) in West palm beach fl. Eight (8) times for this same problem. They have replaced various parts, and even been able to recreate the problem once, however, every time we get the vehicle back, within a few days or weeks it stalls again. There have been several recalls on this particular vehicle, including one for the fuel pump relay within the tipm-7 and one for the 160 amp alternator, both of which can cause the vehicle to stall. I have included as many of the applicable service reports as the upload will allow. The dealership stated that they contacted Chrysler at one point, but did not receive any answers as to how to fix the problem.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #70

Nov 172015


  • 59,687 miles
Vehicle stalled while driving approx. 30 mph on 2-way road while approaching a turn. All power stopped. Was able to brake and turn just enough to avoid collision. At stop had to put into park in order to restart vehicle. Coincidentally, just rec'd info in mail re: Tipm safety recall.

- Sayville, NY, USA

problem #69

Sep 242015


  • 46,000 miles
The car will crank but will not start. When pressing the push to start button it turns over like its going to start but will not start. After taking it to the dealership for recall work it has the same re-occuring issue. Dodge says that it was fixed but I now have to take it to an independant repair shop to pay out of pocket for a known issue with this vehicle. This is a common problem with this make and model and should be paid for and fixed by mopar and not the customer!

- Phenix City, AL, USA

problem #68

Sep 032012


  • 7,481 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that all four rims of the tires were replaced on three separate occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The dealer stated the rims were not completely made of aluminum, which possibly was causing the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The contact also smelled a strong odor of fuel emitting after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 7,481.

- Dorado, PR, USA

problem #67

Jul 292015


  • miles
My vehicle is subject to recall number 14V-530 dated September 3, 2014. I was never notified despite having my vehicle serviced at the dealership on multiple occasions. I recently contacted both the dealership and manufacturer and have been informed the part is not available despite the manufacturers recall website stating it is. I am concerned to be driving in a vehicle with a potentially life threatening defect.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #66

Nov 282014


  • 39,000 miles
I tried for 7 months to get the brake recall done on my truck. The AWD did not work as it should during a snow storm.. then the recall was recieved and none of the dealers wanted to repair the recall. They kept telling me they hadnt received the parts. Then there was a fuel type recall, a recall that the engine could shut off and some electrical issue that could cause a fire.. again I couldnt get any of these repaired. Then on the night before thanksgiving 2014 my heat went. On Friday 11/28/14 I tried 3 Chrysler dealer ships to get the heat fixed and schedule time for the recall. One dealership told me I was at the bottom of the list because I didnt purchase the truck from them. I ended up trading in the truck for a Nissan pathfinder on that day. And almost a month later I received a bill from a Chrysler dealer ship who had finally completed the recall work expecting $165 from me. I am so financially ruined from this.

- Wanaque, NJ, USA

problem #65

Jul 152015


  • 52,000 miles
While driving, the car will abruptly speed up and slow down without any pressure or change in movement on the gas pedal. This has happened numerous times since about early 2012. I had a repair done on the car by the dealership as part of my warranty now these problems have made a reappearance. Along side sudden speed changes without me touching anything, I have had two previous incidents of the car (while driving!) turning on all error indicators (check engine light, high beam, hazard lights, tire pressure etc) and wiper blades simultaneously. These were very scary incidents, too scared to drive to the dealership I returned to my house (went to drop my son off to get a hair cut) and called the dealership in which my vehicle was towed the next day. I have also had problems with the fob technology in the keyless start of the car where I would put my purse in the back seat of the car, close the door and all doors lock and will not unlock, then I have to once again call the dealership and wait for them to assist me. One of the main reason I bought this car is because I was assured keys locked in the car would never happen, however I have had it happen to me more than all my other cars in the past. Now I have a small child with me and along side these recent reoccurrence of serious issues with my car and big recall by fca, no longer do I feel safe driving.

- Grayson, GA, USA

problem #64

Jul 042015


  • 82,557 miles


I drove approximately 45 miles from my home to visit relatives for the 4th of July. Two hours after arriving I went to drive my Durango and it wouldn't start. When pushing the ignition button it would just make a loud noise similar to the alternator going out and wouldn't start. My Durango had to be towed to a local dealership that following Monday since they closed early for the 4th of July. Diagnostics were ran and it was concluded the fuel pump was out. This happened less than 1 year from having the tipm fuel pump relay repaired on 7/25/14, which Chrysler later issued a recall for. I'm in the process of seeking reimbursement for those repairs. I strongly believe there is a direct correlation to the faulty tipm fuel pump relay causing the actual fuel pump to fail and should be covered by Chrysler. Repairs were in excess of over 1K to have fixed.

- Krugerville, TX, USA

problem #63

Oct 062014


  • miles
Received 2 recall notices for problem with fuel pump relay. Engine could quit at any time. Went to bob lamphere's newberg Dodge after receiving notices. Was told parts would be in after 2 weeks. This info was provided on July 21, 2014. I would be notified when to bring in the car for warranty work. On May 5, 2015 I was informed that the parts are in and need an appointment. Nothing happened until I called chrsyler in Michigan and they were at a loss as to why the warranty hasn't done. My opinion, newberg Dodge just forgot the warranty work until chrysled called them. I am waiting for some one from chrsyler to call and work out a schedule to repair the fuel pump relay. Safety recall P54 / NHTSA 14V-530. Terry will woodburn, Oregon 503-981-1724

- Woodburn, OR, USA

problem #62

Apr 152014

Durango 8-cyl

  • 31,500 miles
2011 Dodge Durango w/5.7 liter engine stalled as I was turning onto the freeway on ramp. Pulled over and started right back up. Thought it was a fluke or I hit something. Stalling occurred again several times while slowing down and making turns. Happen once while my wife and daughter were going to store. She will not drive the car anymore. Went in for repairs several times with no real conclusion or repair being done. Finally went in after one of the stalls and by then the recall was coming out and the tipm and some wiring was replaced. Thought it was repaired when over the weekend it happened again as I was slowing for a stop sign with my wife & granddaughter in the car, then to me again 2 days later. We happen to live in a rural area so there is not a lot of traffic, thankfully. It is in dealership now (second week) and they are saying it needs new sparkplugs (which it does) but there is no way a engine should stall due to old sparkplugs. It's a disaster waiting to happen to anyone driving one of these. Everything up till this tune-up has been covered under warranty. It has stalled a total of around 8 times and all while slowing down and has been in dealership on and off for about a month total.

- Ludington, MI, USA

problem #61

Jun 102014

Durango 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice for my fuel pump relay. I took it in to the dealer in may/June 2014. I was told the part is on back order and they will get back to me. I called the dealership in November and December and someone was suppose to call me back about the part. It is February 2, 2015 and I have not gotten a call back. I left a message today and rep said he will call me back. I took my vehicle in prior because it kept stalling in June 2013. It would stall and would not start.

- Grayson, GA, USA

problem #60

Jan 152015

Durango 6-cyl

  • 44,750 miles
I was driving the SUV in about 30 degree weather attempting to enter the highway when I lost almost all engine power simultaneously the check engine light tripped. Luckily there were no vehicles behind me, I was able to make it to the next exit. The code tripped was : po6dd mod $00 engine oil pressure control circuit performance/stuck off. Is this safe" and do the electrical issues with the other modules have any effect on this"

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #59

Dec 252014


  • 51,000 miles
I have received 3 recalls notifications and only one its taken care off iaw dealer - ferman Dodge in SR54, tampa fl. I received a P60, P45 and P50 or P54 don't have the recall doc with me. The dealer is stalling on getting the parts according to them. But, I bet its a paying customer that comes with same problem and the parts I bet it will appear very quick. On 12.25.2014, I was going at 45 mph and suddenly and the speed slowed down and had to pull to the side, turn off the car and start it again, a verify scary moment with family in the car. Its been now 2 months since I mentioned to them the car is suffering of long cranks. Have to play with ignition to get it to start. The car only have 51+K miles and should not have this happen. Need to get this issue resolved or I will keep pushing to the top to get my car fixed.

- Tampa , FL, USA

problem #58

Sep 152014


  • 38,000 miles
I initially bought the 2011 Dodge Durango from gillman Nissan of rosenberg tx. Three months after buying it all of the electrical on the vehicle went haywire while driving on the interstate and stalled out. My husband looked at it and had it towed to gillman Nissan where they determined it was a powertrain issue where it was sent to Dodge. After it was sent to Dodge they stated that it wasn't a warranty issue and forced my husband to pay the towing and an additional fee of $100 to look at it. Later they stated they could diagnose it until they put an alternator in it for $1200, my husband being a mechanic put a alternator in it and they refused to diagnose it nor fix it without paying more. My husband filed complaints with Chrysler customer care where they did nothing and keep stating they set up appointments that we didn't show up on even though that wasn't the case, no appointments were ever made. Now a month later my car started acting crazy again, my husband looked at it and diagnosed it as the tipm but when I called Dodge they stated that there's a recall on the tipm but they don't have them in stock and it will be months before they ever get them. I am needing help here with they're default defect vehicles they're selling.

- Rosenberg, TX, USA

problem #57

Jan 042015

Durango 6-cyl

  • 50,403 miles
Driving through town, every warning light came on and wipers starting going uncontrollably. RPM starting diving to 0 and then back up to appropriate RPM for speed. Other dials and nav/media screen also starting flashing. Tones and lights kept flashing on and off and I immediately proceeded the few miles down the street to drop it off at the Dodge dealership. Vehicle was up to date on all service and recalls, except the fuel pump recall which we were told we were in line for based on parts and capacity issues. I spent $1300 to replace the tipm to fix 37 out of the 38 codes, and then another $1300 for a new headlight power module (for the last code) which shorted out and, per the mechanic, shorted out the original tipm (since they are in series with no protection between). The tipm houses all of these power modules internally, so one bad short on a subcomponent can ruin your entire tipm. The recall on the fuel pump power module adds an external component for this subsystem to protect it from these tipm failures, but does not address the major tipm safety issue! from researching other owners' experiences I was lucky the entire vehicle didn't shut down on me while driving. This is a major safety issue! I can't believe that I had to pay for these costly repairs, and all this does is replace these flawed components with the same flawed components again. I have to get rid of this car and soak up a huge financial loss to do so because this car is a ticking time bomb and I can't allow my family to ride around in it safely.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #56

Nov 292014


  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled and would not restart. The failure recurred on a daily basis. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the fuel pump relay needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 74,000.

- Laport, IN, USA

problem #55

Aug 282014


  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that tipm fuel pump relay needed to be repaired. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?