Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Dodge Intrepid, Stratus & other Chrysler sedans are infamous for oil sludge problems with the 2.7L V6 engine. If someone offers to sell you a 2.7L V6 model, it's only worth the price of the scrap metal it's going to shortly turn into.

NOTE: Only the 2.7L V6 has the oil sludge problem. Our "Avoid like the Plague" designation is ONLY for models with the 2.7L V6 engine. All other available engines are very reliable with no major problems.

Even with regular maintenance, the oil sludge defect eventually destroys the 2.7L engine typically around 80,000-100,000 miles. The only true fix we know about is to put in the larger 3.2L engine, which has a great reputation.

This issue was never deemed a safety defect by the Feds, so there was no recall. In the end, Chrysler got away with FOUR YEARS worth of defective 2.7L V6 engines in their sedans.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,658 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Dodge Intrepid transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Dodge Intrepid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Dodge Intrepid Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Apr 112008

Intrepid

  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Intrepid. While sitting in the vehicle with the engine turned off, the contact's daughter was able to switch the gear indicator from park into drive without depressing the brake pedal. Prior to the failure, the contact noticed that he was able to remove the key from the ignition while the vehicle was running. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The current mileage was 151,000 and failure mileage was 99,000.

- Sooste.Marie, MI, USA

problem #23

Mar 122007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2001 Dodge Intrepid. While driving the vehicle lost power when stopping at a light. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop. The failure mileage was 85,000. The contact stated that for approximately 3-6 months prior the vehicle felt as though the transmission was slipping. There were no warning indicators. The mechanic diagnosed the vehicle as needing a new engine. Updated 04/12/07.

- West Newton, PA, USA

problem #22

Nov 022006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle accelerated on its own to a higher speed, causing the vehicle to lose control. The contact was unsure of the speeds before and after acceleration, but this caused the engine and transmission to die. The contact was able to prevent the vehicle from being involved in an accident. The service dealer determined the vehicle needed a new engine and transmission and were unaware of what could have caused this.

- Harrison Township, MI, USA

problem #21

Aug 082006

Intrepid

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while traveling 75 mph the transmission failed and the engine stalled. The vehicle would not restart and was towed to an independent repair shop where the transmission was rebuilt. Later, without warning the engine squealed and stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealership and it was determined the problem was due to the air conditioner. Updated 9/11/2006 -

- Butte, MT, USA

problem #20

Dec 012002

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
: the contact stated the engine blew while driving on the freeway. This occurred twice. The first incident occurred at 50,000 miles, and the second at 97000 miles. Also, the transmission blew at 45000 miles. The engine issue was not oil related. The contact expressed the defect was related the engine. The oil had turned yellow. The contact also expressed that the transmission problems were probably related to the engine problems. There were also some computer problems; the computer was not allowing the RPM's increase properly. The vehicle's computer was repaired by the contact. Updated 11/9/2006 -

- Huntington Park, CA, USA

problem #19

Nov 152005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 6 0mph the vehicle temporally stalled. The vehicle was driven to an independent repair shop were the transmission computer chip was replaced. The intermittent stalling continued while driving 35 mph and the vehicle was towed to another independent repair shop. The mechanic determined there was sludge build up in the engine and the engine needed to be replaced. There was a coolant leak which had contaminated the oil. Updated 04/17/06.

- Cleveland Heights, OH, USA

problem #18

Nov 052005

Intrepid

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Dodge Intrepid. Transmission has failed at 75000 miles. I still owe 1 and a half year car payment. Cannot afford to get it fixed had a extended warranty and it expired.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #17

Oct 232005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Contact stated the engine failed while driving the vehicle. He contacted the dealer, and they claimed it happened due to the contact's error on oil changes. The transmission failed as well. There were no prior warnings concerning the failures. The vehicle was serviced on a regular basis. The contact provided documentation for oil changes. The transmission was replaced under warrant. However, the engine will not be repaired due to the excessive expense.

- Montaque , NJ, USA

problem #16

Oct 032005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,509 miles
Contact owns a 2001 Dodge Intrepid. He stated that his wife complained that the car was hard to shift into park and in to he other gears. The mechanic that checked vehicle said it was the shift cable that connects the shift lever to the transmission. The mechanic said this was a very common problem with Intrepids. On 10-03-05 he had the cable replaced at a cost of $207.19. Had to wait four days before the parts came in to get vehicle fixed. The contact wanted to file a complaint because this frightened him because if this was a major problem with the Intrepids as the mechanic stated, why has this never fallen under a recall?

- Westminster, SC, USA

problem #15

Oct 042005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Can pull gear shift out of place without it being started or keys in the ignition. Grandson pulled gear shift out of drive and it rolled down a hill and hit a tree with him in it. Nothing has been done about it yet.

- Salem, MO, USA

problem #14

Sep 022005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Oil light blinking erratically, going into reverse when in drive-not once, but twice.

- Beverly, MA, USA

problem #13

Aug 102005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Intrepid. The engine shut off in traffic on August 10, 2005 at about 7:30 am while driving at 45 mph. The vehicle restarted once, and almost immediately stalled again. The first time the vehicle restarted in less than a minute, and took less than a minute for it to stall again shortly after. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop. They said that engine block was cracked and the engine would have to be replaced.

- Angier, NC, USA

problem #12

Jun 082005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles
Transmission went out about month ago. Just had transmission redone, however, vehicle overheated. Took to a mechanic and was informed 2 fans were working properly. Next day was stuck in rush hour traffic when the car overheated. Tried to maneuver through traffic and engine started knocking. Parked car in parking lot, and steam began to pour out. Did not open hood. Called mechanic and tow truck, and was informed that, engine was totally shot. It was poorly designed. Called Dodge with no success, they offered no remedy.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #11

May 062005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
Consumer states: Engine malfunctioned. Called Chrysler and replaced transmission 9 months ago. The engine just shut down, the timing chain broke. No lights came on when the engine shut down. Acted like it wanted to cut off, it started shaking, and just died and wouldn't start back. It acted like it wanted to turn over, making a noise. Mechanic said internal engine damage caused by timing chain, and fluids got mixed in with the oil. Just had oil changed week prior to this.

- Highland Springs , VA, USA

problem #10

Feb 102005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles
Oil light came on for about 15 seconds then the engine started knocking and seized up.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #9

Feb 012005

Intrepid

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
While driving at highway speed the oil warning light illuminated. Vehicle stalled. Consumer managed to pull over, and had the vehicle towed. Dealership repaired the pistons.

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #8

Feb 102005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
A few days after I bought the car the engine light came on, and I took it back to the dealer. He said it was the fuel cap making the engine light come on, he put a new one on, and said that should solve it. The engine light came back on, and a month later, the car wouldn't start. I had it towed to a shop, and they said it needed a new fuel pump. I called the dealer, and he said it was nothing he could do because the warranty was only for a month. I just started driving it again, the car would take a minute before it picked up speed, like it was stalling. I drove it until just recently it just stopped while I was driving. I had the car towed and it was put on a machine and the transmission is out. I have had the car a year. One day the car wouldn't go in reverse, and I checked the transmission fluid, and it was fine. Then, it drove fine a couple days then completely stopped. I haven't done anything yet because I don't have the money for another transmission or car, and need a car because I have a daughter with cerebral palsy, and she has a lot of doctor appointments out of town and in town. So if I could get some help I would greatly appreciate it.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #7

Aug 202003

Intrepid 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving the check engine light appeared on the dashboard. Vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection, and mechanic could not duplicate the problem. While driving 40 mph the vehicle stalled. Driver tried to restart the vehicle and was not able to do so. Vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection, and mechanic determined that the transmission needed to be replaced.

- Berwick, PA, USA

problem #6

Jan 232005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles
The trans axle went out on my 2001 Dodge intrepide. This is going to set me back about $2000 and I am a 1 job customer with my husband on disability and a fixed income and this will make it really hard on me and my family.

- Eloy, AZ, USA

problem #5

Nov 042004

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
Vehicle was parked in a driveway and it jumped out of gear and hit a tree. Consumer had the vehicle towed to the dealer for inspection, but dealer was unable to resolve the problem. The consumers 4 year old daughters hand grabbed the shifting lever while being moved from the front seat to the child seat in the back. The vehicle began to roll forward. The keys were still in the consumers hand. The consumer was thrown to the ground. *

- Sebago, ME, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?