Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Say what you will about the styling of the Ford Edge, but the bottom line is owners seem to love this vehicle. That is, of course, except in the case of it's dangerous, worrisome and unexplained issues with random engine stalling.

Our data suggests an early defect trend, as owners of the 2007-2008 models have started posting their accounts of what happens when you're driving down the road and the engine just stops. Some at high speed, some at low speed but always a random shutdown of the engine, electrical and power steering.

Time will tell if this becomes a widespread issue, but there's no drying the seriousness of the problem. With that in mind, we're flagging the Edge with our "Beware of the Clunker" rating until the situation improves.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,568 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Edge drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Edge Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Dec 102012

Edge

  • 119,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When we drove our Edge at about 40 mph it would make a growling sound, just put on new tires so thought they were the problem, decided that wasn't it, looked in the owners manual saw that it had a power transfer unit that held fluid checked that, it was empty, filled it, the noise didn't go away, it got worse. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where we bought it new. They called said the ptu was worn out needed replaced. Said it will cost over $1000. When I found the problem I did an online search and found many reports on ptu failures. In your data base I've found a great number also. Who determines what is bad enough for a recall.

- Goodland , KS, USA

problem #24

Oct 282011

Edge 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
The wrench light came and I could not accelerate. I called a dealership and they told me that it was possibly a problem with transmission and that I should turn the car off and turn it on again which I did. I was able to drive it to the dealership. They replaced a sensor it approximately, 1 year after this incidence, the wrench light came on while I was driving around 55-60 mph. I stopped at a light and could not accelerate. Other cars were bearing down on me as the light turned green. Finally got the car to move and drove it home, but every light I got to it was harder to accelerate. Finally reached home, and put it in reverse, it felt like I had been rear ended by a truck. So needless to say, Ford only authorized the dealer to replace the same sensor. I will pick up my car today, they replaced the same sensor with a guarantee that it will last for 12 months or 12, 000 miles. I fear for my safety and my family while driving this vehicle.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #23

Oct 222012

Edge

  • 62,300 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Edge. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25-30 mph, she would hear a loud noise as the vehicle would become hesitant when trying to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis. The dealer advised that the power transfer unit failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired for the power transfer unit. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileages were approximately 62,300. The VIN was not available.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #22

Jul 042012

Edge

  • 72,315 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at 55 slowed to 35 felt hard shift in transmission, drove for several miles, pulled into driveway, stopped put Edge into reverse and back to drive, wrench light lit up. Engine only revved no movement forward. Put vehicle in park then back to drive, engine only revved. Shut vehicle off, turned back on wrench lit was out vehicle worked normally when in drive. Took vehicle for drive not problems, on why home noticed RPM and heard engine rev high when in first and second gear. Approximately 2 months later vehicle was at 35mph slowed to turn, hard shift down wrench light lit up, engine would only rev. Took to shop got two goods for sensors however sensors showed they were fine. 3 weeks later exiting highway ramp vehicle again does shifted hard, wrench lit came on and engine revved did not move. Was able to pull car to side turn off wrench lit out and car went into drive. Went to shop again told turbine speed sensor was bad. I see they are numerous complaints about this and Ford does not see this as a problem would like to see something done about this.

- Eastpointe, MI, USA

problem #21

Oct 152007

Edge 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
If I accelerate more than 15 mph the car would what I call "slam" into the next gear. When I am accelerating onto the highway or accelerate and then back off the gas and go again or if I accelerate into the passing lane the car doesn't drive. I have had the car to bethlehem Ford, kelly Ford in emmaus and gilboy Ford in whitehall for the problem two times at each location. No one can find out what is wrong. Contacted Ford directly and they say take it to the dealership for repair, I told them I did numerous times and they told me this."the car learns how you drive, so when you drive out of character the car basically reacts by telling you now wait a minute I don't know what you're doing and the car reacts in a confused manner". they also told me that because I'm not an aggressive driver that when I do drive aggressive "the car doesn't understand". I drive highway every day to and from work, I have to be aggressive most of the time to survive on the highway and keep up with traffic. I have asked the dealership to come down the block so I can show them what the car does since it does it every day when I leave work but they tell me they can't because it is a liability issue for them to drive in the car with me. They have had the car and can't make it repeat the situation; I have gone on test rides with a mechanic and can't make it repeat the problem. I was taking one of our employees to go pick up one of the company vehicles at gilboy and I said do you want me to show you what my car does and he said yes. So I made the car do the slamming into gear and he said that isn't right he tried to fight for me at gilboy but they said again no code and they couldn't repeat the situation. Now my car is almost out of warranty and still no fix. I don't have money to make major repairs to a car that is why I bought new and I don't have money to buy a new car.

- Macungie, PA, USA

problem #20

Aug 152012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
When I accelerate from a stop my transmissions violent shifts between 1st to 2nd and sometimes from 2nd to 3rd. It does not do this all the time only 2 or 3 times per week for as long as I am driving it. I have taken my vehicle to lumberton Ford concerning this and they stated it did not throw any codes. Tech could not replicate the problem (duh) so hey advised me to bring it back when it was actively doing it. Most of the times its after hours or while I am in route in the opposite direction or going somewhere. Most people just don't cruise around during the week. I took my truck into today when I found Ford tsb 7 5 2 and provided it to the dealership but they swear that is not the problem. First when I spoke to the guy couple days ago he couldn't even pull it up on his system then he said the tech adamantly denied this was the problem. This is what tsb 7 5 2 states - dtc P0771, P0774 and / or starts in 4th gear from a stop, harsh 4-1 downshift on drive away at 3 mph. 6F50 transaxle built prior to 01-10-07. It sounds just like it to me. He is expecting it throw a code but it clearly states that and/or. I am fairley mechanically inclined and I know that I have read numerous complaints regarding this and I don't understand what the deal is with Ford or the nhtsb in not demanding a recall. My power train was assembled in 11/06 and I feel Ford is trying to Dodge a bullet. Shame on you.

- Red Springs, NC, USA

problem #19

Sep 202012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my Ford Edge in for the first time in January 2012 with these issues: While driving the vehicle it would shift extremely hard, it felt as if my car had been rear ended, numerous times the wrench light would come on and the vehicle would become sluggish, when I pressed on the gas the vehicle would not move forward. There was also a high pitched whine when the car was in reverse. I took the vehicle to my local Ford dealership, they said they could not find the problem, after researching myself on the internet I told them about the many other complaints I read on the Edge transmission and to check the turbine shaft speed sensor. They then replaced it at no charge because I was still under factory warranty. For 8 months I went without incident until September 2012, same problem only worse, I managed to inch my way off the highway. When in drive and pressing on the gas the car would hardly move, when shifting into park/drive the transmission would make a horrendous clunking sound. So here I am back at the dealership no longer under factory warranty and having the exact same problem they supposedly fixed. I am fortunate I was not rear ended when my car came to a halt in traffic and I am grateful I was able to get to safety. I am furious to read page after page of complaints on the very topic and yet Ford looks at me like they have never heard of the transmission problems plaguing their customers! why this is not a Ford recall I do not know, but I feel thoroughly duped by Ford motors.

- Bernalillo, NM, USA

problem #18

Dec 062011

Edge 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The ptu (power take off unit) on my AWD Ford Edge is leaking and needs to be replaced- per the dealership- it smells and the transmission clunks/ makes noise. These are all known issues to Ford and they refuse to fix the issues. The foam seal between my windshield and dash board is coming out of the gap and causing visibility issues as it is distracting- another Ford known issue with multiple tsb's and they refuse to help without me paying out of pocket for their issues.

- Unionville , CT, USA

problem #17

Nov 302011

Edge 6-cyl

  • 16,645 miles
My 2007 Ford Edge, began having problems with the transmission November 2011. While driving, pulling onto very busy highway, Edge slipped into neutral. Numerous vehicles had to suddenly stop to prevent from crashing into me. Needless to say I was extremely upset, but also very thankful no one was injured. Now the problem begins. Notified chapman Ford about this problem was told to bring in Edge. Explained to service Edge slipped into neutral, engine light came on along with wrench light. After pulling off to side of road still could not get car to move. I then turned car off for a minute or so, started up the car and it was fine. After a few days I received a call telling me it was the throttle body and would cost $674 dollars since this was not covered under warranty. So, throttle body was replaced. Now my Edge began having the exact same problem 1 month ago, was told now it was the transmission! problem is warranty expired 1 month ago. Tired to explain had the problem been corrected the first time, transmission would have still been under warranty. Spoke with numerous people including Ford, to be told the same thing "we can't help sorry your warranty expired". I am now driving my Edge with fear this can happen at any time. It gives no warning what so ever, by the way my Edge only has 28,000 miles and is very well maintained. I have seen many complaints about this problem, and Ford does not seen to want to address the problem. Hopefully, no one will get seriously hurt and Ford will stand by there Edge! thank you for your time, I hope this is helpful for others and this safety problem can be resolved.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #16

Aug 092012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
When starting to pull into traffic vehicle transmission engages hard and slips between 1st 2nd & 3rd. Vehicle does not do this continuously. Dropped it off @ dealership on 08/20/2012 and they could not replicate the problem and stated that computer did not show a code. Dealership advised that I bring it back when transmission was slipping or engaging hard.

- Red Springs, NC, USA

problem #15

Apr 292010

Edge 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Approximately 6 weeks ago I found out that I had a big problem with my car. I was told I was not to drive it because if the pto unit went out my rear wheels would not function because it is all wheel drive and it would be dangerous to drive the vehicle. Well Ford Motor Company was to ship parts out in 2 weeks, well that didn't happen. Then again I was told the parts would be here last week and they took me off back order and said my parts would be here by Monday June 4th. Well guess what my part didn't make it. The list of back orders according to [xxx] at Ford Motor Company is 1700 as of yesterday. So how many orders have they already filled? they only used this transmission in 2 vehicles for either 1 or 2 years. I know that some people have been waiting for months. At least 3 to 4 already. I know this is a safety problem and would appreciate if you could look into this for me and all the 1700+ consumers. Thank you, information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Crawfordsville, IN, USA

problem #14

May 232012

Edge

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Edge. The contact stated while driving 20 mph, the vehicle lost power. The contact stated that it felt as if she was driving in neutral. While shifting gears, she heard a loud noise coming for under the hood. In addition, all of the warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact was able to drive the vehicle home and once the vehicle was shut off and restarted, the vehicle resumed normal operation. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the dealer advised that they could not diagnose a failure with the vehicle. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 35,000 and the current mileage was 36,000.

- Seymour , WI, USA

problem #13

May 022012

Edge

  • 66,000 miles
The vehicle started performing badly and having trouble shifting, which affected acceleration and deceration in traffic. Drove vehicle directly to Ford dealer for service. They stated the vehicle needed to have the ptu seal replaced. I was originally told this item was backordered 2 weeks, but they can no longer give me an estimated date. They stated it could be 2 days, 2 weeks, or 2 months.

- Sagamore Hills, OH, USA

problem #12

May 022012

Edge

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Edge. The contact noticed black spots on the ground under the vehicle due to fluid leaking from an unknown source. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic stated that the transfer case was fractured from overheating. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised that the replacement for the transfer case was not available because the part was on a national backorder. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #11

Aug 092011

Edge

  • 42,500 miles
There are three main issues with my 2007 Ford Edge. First the brakes make noises and sometimes work and sometimes don't. the tires kept going flat. I have replaced all 4 four tires and one front and one back tire twice now. The transmission slips frequently.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #10

May 162011

Edge 6-cyl

  • miles
Ok, enough is enough. I have a 2007 Ford Edge and it is having hard engagement issues when shifting gears. Also, a couple of times I have been ready to pull out into traffic and it's as if my car is sitting in neutral. I have to put the car in park, turn it off, start and put back into drive for it to start going again. Very unsafe and worries me driving my kids around in the car with these problems. I have taken my car to the dealership on a couple of occasions with these problems and was told that the diagnostic test was not "throwing a code" so basically there is not a fix. They do however acknowledge that there are a lot of these complaints and a definite issue but they could do nothing unless a recall was done. It's getting worse and the other day I took somewhere else and was told Ford has an update now to help some of the issues PCM update to the computer. Guess what...it didn't help mine and they said I for sure now have some transmission problems due to the hard shifting problems I have been experiencing. Well, no kidding! ok, when you have your dealerships telling you they know there is a problem but they can't do anything about it, that's just crazy. We need for there to be some awareness and action to these problems.

- Cleveland, TN, USA

problem #9

May 102011

Edge 6-cyl

  • 51,748 miles
Own a 2007 Edge SE, purchased new on August 2008. Last year I took the car to dealer for transmission issue and they recommend to replace the transmission fluid as a regular maintenance, but just recently noticed that the 4th gear have strong engage issue."sheehy Ford" dealership in springfield va is not doing anything to fix this problem. Now my warranty expired and the dealer wants to charge me $150-200 to diagnostic the problem.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #8

Oct 032008

Edge

  • 25,000 miles
I have a 2007 Ford Edge. I have had brake problems ever since I bought it. By brake problems, I mean they sometimes grind and sometimes feel like I can't stop as well as I should be able to. I had them checked several times and was told they were fine. I finally had them replaced but they still grind at times. I've learned to deal with this problem. I've also experienced a loud roaring noise. I'm not sure what this is but I've also learned to deal with it as well. Everytime someone rides with me they ask what the noise is and tell me it sounds like my car has not shifted into the right gear. The major problem I have dealt with is the jerking transmission. It started this about a year after buying it. It started doing it a few times here and there until it got to where it did it all the time. I had mentioned it when I took my car to get the oil changed but they always told me they didn't find anything wrong. I finally told them they had to do something. They kept it for a few days and finally called and said the valve body needed to be replaced. Luckily it was still under warranty. They replaced it and it was fine up until several months ago. It started the jerking all over again. It started out slow but now does it all the time. I can't afford to have it fixed again as it's not under warranty any longer. It's still only 4 years old and should not be having all of these problems. I am really surprised there have been no recalls as I've read of other people having the same problems. I am very upset as I still owe on this vehicle but really wish I could get rid of it. I have never had so many problems with a vehicle....even a car I bought that was four years old.....it was a Toyota....guess I should have never went to a Ford!

- Bronson, FL, USA

problem #7

Feb 092011

Edge

  • 58,995 miles
The speedometer went to zero and all the mileage information went blank. The front airbag light, service wrench and shortly there after the tire pressure monitor light came on. I exited the freeway and after stopping for the traffic light the vehicle would not accelerate, but moved slowly apparently stuck in the high gears. The vehicle would not shift up or down. The next stop light the same problem. I parked in a parking lot and recycled the ignition and the mileage information returned. However when I put the vehicle into reverse the transmission began to clunk violently! I then switched to drive and again it clunked violently! I recycled the ignition again and put it into reverse again clunking violently. I again recycled the ignition and put into reverse the vehicle trans clunked moving backwards. I then pulled forward shifting to drive again with a clunk the vehicle moved forward as if still in higher gears. I drove across the parking lot to about 30 mph and braked to a stop it down shifted hard. After that the trans worked to get us home, however the cruise control would not light up on the dash or would not function period. I have taken it to hemborg Ford in norco, ca to check with 59,175 miles on the vehicle. Just two weeks earlier the right rear axle bearing was wining and Ford replaced the bearing

- Norco, CA, USA

problem #6

Jan 282009

Edge

  • 14,017 miles
Ptu seals leaking a total of seven different times.

- Canton, MI, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?