Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Say what you will about the styling of the Ford Edge, but the bottom line is owners seem to love this vehicle. That is, of course, except in the case of it's dangerous, worrisome and unexplained issues with random engine stalling.

Our data suggests an early defect trend, as owners of the 2007-2008 models have started posting their accounts of what happens when you're driving down the road and the engine just stops. Some at high speed, some at low speed but always a random shutdown of the engine, electrical and power steering.

Time will tell if this becomes a widespread issue, but there's no drying the seriousness of the problem. With that in mind, we're flagging the Edge with our "Beware of the Clunker" rating until the situation improves.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,585 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Edge transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Edge Owner Comments

problem #17

Nov 052012

Edge 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Edge. The contact stated that she started the ignition and shifted into drive however, the vehicle did not respond. After several attempts, the vehicle operated normally. Later in the day while the contact was attempting to accelerate, the vehicle was extremely hesitant to respond. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic however, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the problem. The vehicle was then taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing but to no avail. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem and informed the contact that there was not a recall related to the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 12/31/12 updated 01/03/13

- Taos , NM, USA

problem #16

Mar 222012

Edge 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
2007 Ford Edge. Consumer states ptu unit broke at 85, 0000 miles the consumer stated there was a grinding noise emitting from the vehicle and it barely made it into the garage. The consumer was informed that Ford didn't have a supplier to make the part. On April 25, 2012, the consumer received a call stating the part would be manufactured in late May.

- Lakeport, CA, USA

problem #15

May 152011

Edge 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
2007 Ford Edge will roll backward when on the slightest incline while vehicle is in drive. The vehicle will not stop rolling until the brake is depressed or it settles on flat ground. It also does this in reverse and you are pointed downhill. I recently was parked in a downhill position, released the park brake, placed the vehicle in reverse and had to slam on the brakes to stop the Edge from slamming into a car in front of me. The Edge started to quickly go downhill and I had to accelerate quickly to go in reverse and miss the other vehicle. This problems seems to getting worse as the mileage builds. I currently have 72,000 miles on the Edge. I took this vehicle to greenwood Ford in bowling green, ky and was told that this was normal and that there was nothing they could do. Their service manager took me for a drive in a 2010 Edge and it did the same thing. I called Ford customer relations and was told that they had never heard this complaint before. This is a severe safety issue and needs to be corrected.

- Morgantown, KY, USA

problem #14

Feb 192011

Edge

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2007 Ford Edge one month ago. The car has been in the shop 3 out of 4 weekends.the car was in drive and was stopped at a stop sign after trying to take off the car wouldn't move. I brought the car to the Ford dealership in maitland and was told that nothing was wrong with the car. The same thing happened 1 week later and I am now being told that it is an engine sensor that is the problem. Looks like Ford in maitland likes to make things up.

- Winter Park, FL, USA

problem #13

Sep 142010

Edge

  • 40,000 miles
Transmission violently shifts. Sometimes, it does not shift into first or second gear.

- Oak Brook, IL, USA

problem #12

Mar 302010

Edge

  • 63,000 miles
My 2007 Ford Edge transmission failed and needed to be completely replaced at under 63,000 miles. The transmission that North county Ford in vista California installed to replace the original transmission, also failed the same day they delivered the vehicle to my home. Now I am in the process of having a 3rd transmission installed at a different Ford dealer in san diego. Thus far, I have received excellent customer service at mossy Ford.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #11

Jun 152008

Edge

  • 16,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Ford Edge that will some times bang, (very hard!) when shifting from first to second gear all on its own. I have herd of others with the same problems. All were told, "we couldn't find a problem. Is Ford trying to Dodge a bullet? nothing was done.

- Mount Kisco, NY, USA

problem #10

Nov 042008

Edge

  • 15,000 miles
I have a 2007 Ford Edge AWD. Around 15,000 miles, it began to have a "burned rubber" smell waft into the passenger compartment whenever I came to a stop after driving for awhile. Sometimes I could see smoke sift up through the hood near the windshield. The dealer found the ptu valve (power transfer unit) to be leaking, and I think they changed it. It worked for awhile, but within 4 months, it began to smell again. It was not too bad because it was spring and summer and the problem is only really bad during the winter when the heater is on. It's now October 2009, and I'm using the heater again. The smell was bad, so I took it to the dealer again. They said grease was packed into the valve, and the grease had overflowed. They did not replace the ptu valve. They only steam cleaned my car. It still smells, although not as bad. I have 35,000 miles on the car and I've owned it for 1.5 years brand new. The internet has revealed that many fordedge owners are experiencing the same thing, but Ford can't seem to fix it. It is only on AWD models because the fluid that is leaking involves the transfer of power to the back tires. There is a website dedicated solely to this problem: Stinkinedge.com please help us convince Ford this is a defect involving a noxious smell and potentially dangerous chemical exposure. It is also annoying and uncomfortable. There seems to be no fix.

- Caldwell, ID, USA

problem #9

Sep 012009

Edge

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Edge. The contact stated that when driving up an incline the transmission began making a ticking sound. Transmission failure while driving increased the risk of a crash. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and a technician concluded that the ptu seal was leaking, which can cause transmission failure. The current mileage was 49,533 and the failure mileage was 48,000.

- Berwick, ME, USA

problem #8

Dec 012008

Edge

  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Edge. The contact stated that there was a leak in the vehicle and all of the transmission fluid leaked out. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they replaced the oil seal on the transmission. A few days later, he smelled transmission fluid burning. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer and they replaced the seal once again; however, the burning odor is still present. He believes that this is a health hazard and that a recall should be issued. The failure mileage was 34,000 and current mileage was 47,000.

- Tiverton, RI, USA

problem #7

Mar 152009

Edge

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I am on an incline and I take my foot off of the gas my car will roll backwards. I took it to the dealership to be fixed because I heard there was a tsa for it. They said it was normal to roll backwards and that I needed to keep my foot on the brake. I have almost hit another vehicle because of it rolling backwards. This should not be doing this in an automatic.

- Carnesville, GA, USA

problem #6

Feb 242009

Edge

  • 15,347 miles
My 2007 Ford Edge is now in the process of having a transmission leak repaired due to faulty axle seals (so I'm told) for the fourth time in 18 months. I was informed by a service manager that my Edge is not the first he has seen to have this problem. Also Ford has stopped shipping replacement seals because they are no better than the originals. Ford's stance seems to be that there is no major problem, the vehicle was just repaired in January of this year for the same problem. The problem first appeared in December of 07, I took delivery in August of 07. The vehicle was also repaired in 08 for this problem.

- Oneida, NY, USA

problem #5

Dec 082008

Edge

  • 12,000 miles
Power transfer unit leaking onto exhaust causing a burning rubber smell into the cabin when stopped. Occurs after driving vehicle for 10-15min. Took vehicle to dealership seals replaced approximately 2 weeks ago(12-8-08). Smell resolved. Yesterday smell returned (12-22-08). Believe smell is from leaking seals again. Leaking onto exhaust giving off burning rubber smell/fumes into the cabin area. Somewhat of a noxious smell, very putrid.

- Wadsworth, OH, USA

problem #4

Jul 182008

Edge

  • 0 miles
Automatic transmission will not hold vehicle in place on even slight incline. I.e. vehicle in drive facing uphill when stopped and brake released vehicle will roll backward down hill. Vehicle facing downhill with transmission in reverse will roll forward when brake is released.

- Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #3

Apr 182008

Edge 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
When the Edge is in drive and stopped on an incline it will roll backward when you release the brake. It doesn't just roll back a little....it will continue to roll back until you give it some gas or step on the brake. The first time it happened I almost rolled back into the car behind me. I have never experienced this rollback in an automatic vehicle. I read on the internet that there was a tsb for this and took my Edge in to have it "reflashed" (as recommended on a Ford Edge forum) but was told by the dealer that there was no fix (and no such tsb) for it and that this is normal. I feel it is a danger and should be corrected or at the very least mentioned in the owners manual.

- Washington Crossing, PA, USA

problem #2

Jul 202007

Edge 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Power train: Transmission. I have a Ford Edge built on 01/04/07. Purchased on April 01,2007 about 30 days after that about once a week after sitting all night upon leaving the house the transmission starts out smoothly but as I step on the gas the transmission has a sudden surge and makes a loud 'bang" and down shifts causing a sudden down turn in speed. Then it just goes away and is fine for several days. Lately this occurring more and more(about every four days at the moment. Unusual thing is it only occurs in the morning start up. When I took into the dealer they found a notice put out by Ford stating that cars built in between December 15,2006 and January 10,2007 have a problem of shifting from fouth to first in start up. But Ford states that without the computer noting this one specific code they will not replace the transmission. I am in great fear that if this starts more often in the regular daytime driving I will never know if I can moderately pick up speed anytime or will the car downshift in common traffic and the possibilities of being struck from behind or broadsided. This is a very serious defect that needs immediate attention. When this occurs the noise alone is frightening. Even though you have it in your mind it could happen it always scares you.

- Sylvania, OH, USA

problem #1

Jun 292007

Edge 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,600 miles
I own a 2007 Ford Edge, purchased in May 2007. The transmission seems to "shudder" when upshifting or downshifting at speeds between 35-55 mph. It is apparent when taking your foot off the gas to slow and then applying gas to speed back up. I have taken the vehicle back to the dealership to be checked and was told it was probably "flat spots" on the tires and the problen would go away after 3000 or so miles to give the tires an opportunity to round out. The vehicle was taken in a second time and taken to another dealership for their transmission mechanic to look at. They had the vehicle for over 10 hours and couldn't seem to find anything wrong or get the vehicle to duplicate the problem we brought it in for. The vehicle now has 5600 miles on it and the problem seems to be getting worse. I am going to take it back to the dealer to have it checked again. This time, I'm going to demand to take a drive in another Edge to see if it has the same shifting problems I am currently having.

- Walls, MS, USA

Not what you are looking for?