Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Say what you will about the styling of the Ford Edge, but the bottom line is owners seem to love this vehicle. That is, of course, except in the case of it's dangerous, worrisome and unexplained issues with random engine stalling.

Our data suggests an early defect trend, as owners of the 2007-2008 models have started posting their accounts of what happens when you're driving down the road and the engine just stops. Some at high speed, some at low speed but always a random shutdown of the engine, electrical and power steering.

Time will tell if this becomes a widespread issue, but there's no drying the seriousness of the problem. With that in mind, we're flagging the Edge with our "Beware of the Clunker" rating until the situation improves.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,777 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Edge wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Edge Owner Comments

problem #13

Jun 232016


  • 58,000 miles


1. rear wheel bearings hub assembly, failures.. right failed at nearly 58K miles. Of course after warranty ! left failed at nearly 73K miles. Howling sound being produced. It is costing lot of money to replace these parts. Not good. I have never had a car in the last 40 years where the wheel bearing assemblies have failed. Defective parts Ford is aware of this problem, since they have issued a tech ser.. bulletin on 2/5/10. Here is an excerpt: Drivetrain - growl/howl from rear hub area tsb 10-2-9 02/15/10 noise from rear wheel hub bearing - built on or before 12/4/2008 Ford: 2007-2009 Edge Lincoln: 2007-2009 mkx this article supersedes tsb 09-26-5 to update the parts list. Issue some 2007-2009 Edge and mkx vehicles built on or before 12/4/2008 may exhibit a growl or howl type noise coming from the left and/or right rear wheel area. This could be the result of a faulty rear wheel hub bearing assembly. Action follow the service procedure steps to correct the condition. Service procedure 1. if workshop manual (wsm) diagnostics identify a faulty rear wheel hub bearing, it will be necessary to replace the rear suspension trailing arm/knuckle assembly along with a new rear wheel hub assembly. 2. refer to wsm, section 204-02, for rear wheel hub bearing and trailing arm/knuckle replacement. Only replace the rear suspension trailing arm/knuckle assembly and rear bearing hub on the side with the concern. Failing to install a new rear suspension trailing arm/knuckle assembly when installing a new rear bearing hub assembly will result in premature bearing noise/wear. Ford needs to be responsive, on defective parts. I contacted them, 11/14 when the right failed, and their response was: Sorry, you are out of warranty. They should have issued a recall in 2010. When we were not out of warranty. Potentially, wheels can freeze up.

- Commerce Twsp, MI, USA

problem #12

Mar 152015


  • 95,000 miles
Sometimes the transmission will not drive the car after a stop or if changing from drive to reverse or reverse to drive. RPM will go very high and only move the car very slowly. At other times there will be a bad shift or a strange sound. This can happen any time, when first starting out for the day, after running for a time, after a long drive or after stopping for a turn, red light, stop sign or just slowing down. The dealer says there is nothing wrong. Also noise coming from the rear while in motion. I believe the sensors are intermittent as I had a similar problem with my Dodge Caravan which went away after I replaced the sensors myself because the repair station told me there was nothing wrong after 3 attempts to have the problem rectified. You are all supposed to be professional experts so fix the problem.

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #11

Jun 012015


  • 60,000 miles
About 3 months ago the drivers side front door ajar light was staying on and would not go away even the door was closed. We have been all kinds of other problems related to this problem such as door chimes going off randomly all the time the dome lights will not turn off when car is parked and shut off. The noise and lights are a major distraction. The other problem we have experienced with the vehicle but have had fixed is the two rear wheel bearings have been replaced. The first when the vehicle had only 36,000 plus or minus a thousand or two and the other when we only had 60,000 miles on vehicle. This is expensive and should not go bad in that short of time. We do not pull anything with the vehicle or drive it rough.

- Esko, MN, USA

problem #10

Oct 132014


  • 62,000 miles


I have a 2008 Ford Edge that I bought in may of 2013. I have been hearing loud growling noises from the rear wheels in the past month (Oct 2014) also the steering seemed to be effected by the problem. Took it to my mechanic and he found both rear wheel bearing are shot at 62000 miles. They need to be replaced of course because the car is not safe to drive. After hearing this I looked up other complaints from other Ford Edge owners. This is not an isolated incident and most of the failures have occurred around the 55000 - 64000 miles. Ford knows there is a problem and is doing nothing about this dangerous condition. Shame on Ford! so it is costing me $1200 and some change which I cannot afford, to fix my car. There should be a recall, I am lucky that this didn't happen when I was driving with my children and a wheel fell off doing 65 on the highway.

- Lafayette, NY, USA

problem #9

Aug 222014


  • 81,850 miles
Had been noticing loud roaring sound from right rear of vehicle. Drove from Ohio to Florida (1,000 miles) & got worse/louder... took it to local Ford mechanic who informed known issue in these cars is the rear wheel hub assembly fails, once replaced just fails again. Noise is incredibly noticeable and not just annoying but scary to me & any passengers. Obviously a manufacturer's defect, ticked Ford's not covering it.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #8

Mar 302013


  • 66,000 miles
While driving my 2008 Ford Edge, a roaring type noise comes from the rear of the unit. As you accelerate to noise grows in volume. At first it appeared to me as "road noise" I changed pressures in the tires and rotated the front to the rear. Nothing changes. After researching the problem, it appears that it is the rear wheel bearings. According to Ford the bearing hub and the rear suspension trailing arm/knuckle assembly must also be changed on the affected side. The trailing arm causes to much pressure on the bearings and wipes them out. Also the wheels have to be re-aligned due to the installation of the new trailing arm. Ford states that just changing only the bearing hub will cause the problem to happen again. If the bearing fails this could cause a serious accident with the potential of serious injury or worse to the occupants of this vehicle and anyone else as a result of this failure.this appears to be a possible problem with the design of the suspension system and not normal wear and tear. I purchased this vehicle used in late November 2012. As I drove it longer the noise in the rear has gotten louder and louder.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #7

Mar 252013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 78,838 miles


During a uturn the rear passenger wheel felt like it would fall off. The right rear toe link broke at the weld.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #6

Jul 022012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
When I start driving I hear a roaring sound coming from the rear of the car and it gets louder the faster I go. It also is louder when making a left hand corner and less when making a right hand corner. I have not taken it into the dealer yet but am planning within the next week. I thought at first it was my tires but I just purchased new ones about 2 months ago and it did not stop the problem.

- Benton, AR, USA

problem #5

Mar 012012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Rear wheel bearing failure, have to replace bearing and trailing arm.

- Taylors, SC, USA

problem #4

Jun 102009


  • miles
Wheel issue: Ford Edge, all years (2007-8-9) twenty inch chrome clad. These wheels have low profile tires. Avoiding a stop sign runner we swerved and brushed the curb. These wheels have a plastic cover that can not be removed. There is no way to inspect the cast wheel behind the cover. Although only minor impact, the plastic cover was damaged by the curb. Replacing the wheel may cost $800 or more. Repeated incidents over the years could cause wheel failure. These wheels should be recalled to avoid problems in the future.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #3

Jun 102009


  • 4,500 miles


Wheel issue: Ford Edge, all years (2007-8-9) twenty inch chrome clad. These wheels have low profile tires. Avoiding a stop sign runner we swerved and brushed the curb. These wheels have a plastic cover that can not be removed. There is no way to inspect the cast wheel behind the cover. Although only minor impact, the plastic cover was damaged by the curb. Replacing the wheel may cost $800 or more. Repeated incidents over the years could cause wheel failure. These wheels should be recalled to avoid problems in the future.

- Bexley, OH, USA

problem #2

Mar 162009


  • 10,908 miles
Events leading up to failure: Was driving car at a very slow rate of speed (less than 5 mph) making a right hand turn into a commercial shopping center. Failure: Upon making turn, I heard a "pop" noise. After trying to accelerate the vehicle, it would not move. I got out of the car and noticed that the wheel had become detached from the axle and was only attached to the vehicle by the strut. Bearings had fallen out of the related components and the wheel was at approximately a 60% angle with the pavement (other wheel was fine and was perpendicular to pavement). Correction of failure: Towing truck responded and the vehicle is currently being serviced under the manufacturers warranty. Initial report from the service team is that it is most likely manufacturer defect. I have been told that all parts related in accident will be replaced or refurbished to maintain 100% working order.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #1

May 192008

Edge 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The vehicle has 20 inch wheels. The contact stated that the wheel assembly makes a loud noise. The failure was repaired, but the noise still persists. The failure mileage was 1,000 and current mileage was 9,200. Updated 12/30/08 updated 12/30/08.

- Louieville, KY, USA

Not what you are looking for?