10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,620 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Edge electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Edge Owner Comments (Page 4 of 27)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #478

Sep 052016

Edge

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Door ajar warning despite door being closed. Doors remain unlocked and interior lights remain on.

- Urbana, IL, USA

problem #477

Oct 082016

Edge

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Edge. The contact stated that the door ajar sensor warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was serviced per a warranty, but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The indicator illuminated after the warranty expired a year later. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 42,000.

- Laguna Beach, CA, USA

problem #476

Oct 112016

Edge 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Edge. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle experienced a complete loss of power. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but was unable to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 72,000. Updated 12/20/16 updated 12/22/16.

- Raymore, MO, USA

problem #475

Oct 012016

Edge

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Low oil engine pressure at all times indicated, olmost since purchase 2 yaers ago.when vehicle is in motion on a city or highway.

- San Ysidro, CA, USA

problem #474

Sep 302016

Edge

  • 37,600 miles
Door ajar indicator stays on even though door is correctly closed. My 2013 Edge has less than 38000 miles. But Ford will not fix without owner paying for it. This is not the first 2013 Edge with this problem and Ford should fix without owner's cost

- Oakdale, MN, USA

problem #473

Sep 102016

Edge

  • 50,799 miles
Passenger front door ajar warning light staying on causing interior lights to stay on.

- Avilla, IN, USA

problem #472

Sep 282016

Edge

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2013 Ford Edge has a mechanical/electric door jar switch which fails thus you end up with a 'door ajar' warning on your dash. Thus you can't lock your doors and the light and radio remain on after to exit the vehicle.

- Brownton, MN, USA

problem #471

Oct 032016

Edge

  • 103,000 miles
After approximately 60,000 miles the drivers side door will not lock and the "door ajar' warning light and alarm will sound continually. The vehicle can be driven, but only in an unlocked condition while listening to the warning chimes and flashing dash lights. The condition often lasts a week or so, goes away for some time and then returns.

- Valrico, FL, USA

problem #470

Jun 212016

Edge

  • 68,530 miles
Door ajar sensor failure. System would indicate door was ajar even thought door was closed. Lights would remain on, and door indicator would chime everytime the car came to a complete stop. Door sensor needed to be replaced at a cost of $585.

- Spokane Valley, WA, USA

problem #469

Oct 092016

Edge

  • 44,000 miles
While driving car has complete loss of power.

- Woodbridge, NJ, USA

problem #468

Aug 062016

Edge

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Two problems:1) door ajar light stays on - door has to be slammed several times before light goes out, sometimes light stays on for entire 15 mile drive to work. Problem 2) shift to park light comes on- car is in park, must jam shifter forward to get light to go off. Sometime must put car into drive, move forward few feet and back to park. Both problems are intermittent but happens 8 of 10 times we drive the vehicle.

- Clear Spring, MD, USA

problem #467

Aug 202016

Edge

  • 73,085 miles
Car dorr ajar message ad dome light on at all times, low electrical power, caused the battery to go bad, latch on door problem, car would not lock, car stationary and you could not lock the door to start car

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #466

May 152016

Edge

  • 59,000 miles
The driver side door is always reported as ajar. The doors cannot be locked while driving, if you manually lock them they are immediately unlocked. The interior lights will sometimes stay on which makes driving at night difficult. If you leave the key in the ignition after parking, like in the garage, it will run down the battery.

- Durango, CO, USA

problem #465

Sep 022016

Edge

  • 29,700 miles
Door ajar sensor is defective. The drivers door continues to tell me it is open even after repeatedly opening and firmly closing the door. The inside lights stay on, which is a safety issue at night, and the doors won't lock. I spoke to Ford and they want to charge me 500 for the part.

- Kennewick, WA, USA

problem #464

Jan 012016

Edge

  • 27,000 miles
Door ajar warning light stays on even after door is closed. Interior lights stay on even after door is closed. Door sensor issue. Almost wrecked when interior lights came on while driving-the door sensor light came on without the door being opened. We took the vehicle to the Ford dealer and they said they could not find the issue.

- Enola, PA, USA

problem #463

Sep 302016

Edge

  • 47,000 miles
In April 2014 at 20,000 miles door ajar light remained on while driving vehicle. Was repaired by dealer under warranty in April 2014. In September 2016 at 47,000 miles the door ajar light is back on again. Dealer says it is not covered under warranty and wants to charge for diagnostic and repair. Obviously the original repair performed under warranty did not fix the issue and this car is defective. I have safety concerns whether door is actually closed while driving.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #462

Sep 302016

Edge

  • 47,000 miles
In April 2014 at 20,000 miles a shift to park notice was beeping when engine was shut off and vehicle put in park. Had to keep foot on break and jiggle shifter to get shift to part notice to stop to ensure vehicle was in park and would not roll away and to prevent battery from draining. Was repaired by dealer under warranty in June 2014. In September 2016 at 47,000 miles the shift to park notices are happening again. Dealer says it is not covered under warranty and wants to charge for diagnostic and repair. Obviously the repair peformed under warranty did not fix the issue and this car is defective. I have safety concerns that the shift to park issue could result in car rolling away after driver believes they have parked car.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #461

Jun 192015

Edge

  • 48,897 miles
For the second time in less than two years my car is indicating that the driver's side door is open when it is closed. It notifies me constantly using lights and dinging which is very distracting while driving. Every time you turn on the car or step on the accelerator from a stop or slow speed it starts dinging. When backing up it is dinging making it hard to distinguish whether there is an object in the path. It also keeps the dome light from going off which caused the battery to fail which cost $162 to replace. Additionally, the first time I paid $120 to have it fixed at the dealer. 'when the problem recurred I searched the internet and found that it is a very common problem which should be recalled by Ford. A small inexpensive plastic piece which an experienced mechanic should be able to replace in 15 minutes. "when did this happen" and "how fast were you going" does not fit into a single date or speed; this has been ongoing for a couple of years and occurs at all speeds.

- Stanwood, WA, USA

problem #460

Oct 032016

Edge

  • 65,000 miles
I have been dealing with this door latch sensor issue for the duration of my ownership on my Ford Edge. I don't see how it is possible that our vehicles meet NHTSA standard Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) no. 206, door locks and door retention components. The testing for that standard would have been done in a laboratory, and it is apparent that contaminants out in the field are making their way into the door lock assembly and compromising the sensor - it is not a stretch to consider the latch itself may be deteriorating as well. There is no way to know if the door is fully shut. The interior lights coming on while driving at nighttime from the unpredictable sensor. I just replaced a battery 10/3/16, failed from the sensor draining it repeatedly, bought the largest capacity oem replacement I could get for it from from the dealer. While parked, even for hours and days on end untouched, the car will periodically sense the door is opened and closed (though it hasn't been), and the parking/convenience lighting will come on and go back off again.

- Redford, MI, USA

problem #459

Sep 222016

Edge

  • miles
Door ajar light stays on, faulty sensor does not read when the door is shut. Lights stay on and warning prompt appears on dash while driving with alarm. Vehicle mileage 51,000.

- Bucyrus, KS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?