Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,280 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Edge engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Edge Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #37

Feb 112015


  • 12,200 miles


This is a 2013 Ford Edge limited w/V6 engine. While driving, there is a sudden loss of engine power, the engine goes to a rough idle, all the warning lights come on and there is no throttle response. After shutting everything down, the engine will finally restart after several attempts and run normally. This has happened multiple times, the last time while driving on the interstate. The vehicle has been into the dealership 6 times for repair. So far, the throttle body was replaced, a sensor was replaced, the accelerator pedal was replaced and some wiring was replaced. The last time the problem occurred, the vehicle was returned to me after the dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. I subsequently returned the vehicle to the dealership because as far as I am concerned, it is totally unsafe to drive. I then contacted the Ford customer relationship center and was assigned a case number. The Ford regional service manager assigned to the case finally told me that because the dealer was unable to duplicate the problem there was nothing further they could do and I should come and pick up the vehicle.

- Lincoln, CA, USA

problem #36

Sep 142015


  • 45,000 miles
Driving Ford Edge 2013 approx. 40 mph on highway when the vehicle came to almost a dead stop. It seemed as if the brakes became fully engaged or the transmission seized. A truck behind us swerved and braked and almost crashed into us. My 2 children and I would have been killed. The vehicle shook violently as it moved about 2 mph. I barely was able to get it over to the right, off the highway. It would not go any further. A red wrench icon lit on the dash. I towed it to midway Ford. Service manager stated the throttle body part is defective and recalled, but resets itself if vehicle is turned off for a while, so if I did not turn off the vehicle, Ford would fix it for free. Since I turned off the vehicle and it reset, I had to pay him $900 to replace it. Since I did not have $900, he advised me to drive the vehicle very slowly on the right side of the road from now on, as a precaution so my children or I do not get injured or killed the next time it happens. If this is Ford's criteria for replacing this life threatening defective part, that it must be in active defect status when arriving at the dealer, then not only has Ford has found a way to beat paying for the 1.6 million vehicles they agreed to recall with this defect, since you can't drive the vehicle at 900 RPM to the dealer, or tow it while running, but Ford is getting rich off the recall (the part is about $185 and takes 15 minutes to replace), and 1.6 million people must pay Ford $900 to fix a recalled defective part.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #35

Sep 202015


  • 23,000 miles
I was driving to walmart when the vehicle suddenly dropped from 45mph to less than 3mph and no matter what input was given to the gas pedal the vehicle would not react. The tack was under 900 and on the left side of the dash a warning came up looking like a wrench. Once I pulled over tried to do a vehicle report and the vehicle was unable to do a maintenance check. Shut off engine and restarted the vehicle; no problems restarting the vehicle and no memories of why the engine did what it did (called "limp home status"). there is also no memory within the PCM about the vehicle going into this mode or why.this could be very dangerous if I was on a high way. A quick google search reveals hundreds of complaints of this happening; all with same resolution. The vehicle has no idea why it went into limp home and no memory of that status after restart.

- Long Beach, MS, USA

problem #34

Sep 082015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 27,000 miles


I purchased a 2013 Ford Edge in April 2013, driving for two years with no problems. On September 8, 2015 driving at a speed of 65 mph the wrench symbol appeared on the dash board, a second later, the vehicle decreased from 65 mph to 0 mph, sitting on the interstate with heavy traffic in the middle lane for about five minutes with vehicle still running very low, I was able to coast to the side of the interstate and turn the vehicle off for about 2 minutes. After restarting the vehicle I was able to take it to the nearest Ford dealership for service, was asked to leave the vehicle there. As of September 12th the vehicle is still at the dealership, waiting to see what the problem is. This situation is a safety concern for me and others who may have the same problem. Thank god I did not get rear ended on the interstate or cause an accident. Thank you

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #33

Aug 082015


  • 27,085 miles
On August 8th, 2015 at about 4:45 pm, I was making a right hand turn and my vehicle stopped and lost all power. Message I received was "no oil to engine". I tried to start my 2013 Edge but had no luck. I called road assistance for a tow truck and the vehicle went to the mankato Ford dealership. I got the vehicle back on August 11th and was told that the vehicle checked out and no problems were found. There is something wrong with the vehicle and I do wish Ford would do a recall of the Edge and escapes. It's only a matter of time and a vehicle will stop and get hit by a semi and someone will be killed as a result.

- Chaska, MN, USA

problem #32

Jul 012015


  • 43,000 miles
This incident has happened 4 times in the past month and a half. My car completely shuts off and I have no control over the steering or speed. When I restart my car, it turns on. There haven't been any check engine lights or other notifications until today when it happened for the fourth time and the low oil pressure indicator came on and in the indicator box a wrench is now displayed. The first incident I was pulling out of a parking lot into traffic when it happened. The second incident I was pulling into a parking lot. The third incident I was sitting at a red light attempting to accelerate and the car just shut down and this final incident I was driving approximately 5 mph and in traffic, the car just shut down. In all instances the car started back up but if this had happened in any instance that I was going faster or crossing an intersection, I fear I would be killed or injured. I have seen that there are other owners having the same complaint and I just fear that someone will die from this.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #31

Aug 032015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles


Experienced a loss of engine power, the wrench icon illuminated, no throttle response, engine was running, air conditioning and power steering remained active. Turned onto a side road and coasted to a stop. Once stopped, shifted to park, tried to rev the engine, no response. Shifted to park. Turned the ignition off, restarted, drove normally for the rest of the day.... very dangerous if this happens in traffic....updated 09/22/15

- Ocean Springs, MS, USA

problem #30

Jul 202015


  • 39,338 miles
7/20/15-while traveling in uptown charlotte, nc, my car completely shut off causing me to engage my hazard lights and coast in neutral (in a very high traffic area) to a no parking zone. No diagnostic code appeared but the wrench icon appeared. I ran an onboard system diagnostics and it was clear. Car restarted when put in neutral and I then drove it the rest of the day. 7/21/15- approximately 110+ miles since the prior days problem, the car ran fine until the evening when I was driving 45 mph and climbing a grade around a curve and the car jerked and shut off showing the wrench icon again. There was no shoulder to coast onto and turned on the hazard lights, and prayed no one was behind me causing a collision. After 3 attempts the car restarted in the park position just as a van swerved to miss me in the no passing zone where the car failed. It was after hours for the dealership service department and the car is a certified pre owned vehicle with additional warranty. I filled out the description of the problem and left the car with them until 7/28/15 and authorized allowing a mechanic to drive it home if needed as no diagnostic code was generated. No repairs were made and the car was then drove less than 40 miles when it stopped running again 7/29/15 without warning the third time. Ford corporate has refused to make repairs without a code and the dealership did as well, however, since having a frustrating conversation 7/29/15 with Ford, the dealership told my husband that they will replace the throttle body as I requested last week as this has resolved the issue for other consumers.. this is a problem that is noted many times by other consumers. Please have Ford stand behind the safety of their vehicle before people lose their lives. This gives no warning and can happen anywhere at anytime and Ford's stance is dangerous. Thank you! updated 9/21/15...updated 10/01/15

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #29

Jul 212015


  • 31,000 miles
While coming off an on ramp from one highway to another doing approximately 60 mph my 2013 Ford Edge jerked, a wrench popped up on my dash, and it lost power. The accelerator did not work but the car was still idling. Luckily I was in the far left lane and there was an emergency lane on the left so I was able to coast to a stop. When I put my car in park, turned it off and turned it back on it was like nothing was wrong. The accelerator worked and the wrench was gone. However, this have since happened to be two more times and lower speeds. Both times luckily no one was behind me and when I turned the car back on everything worked. I have seen many other drivers who have had this same issue. It appears to be an issue with the throttle body. There should be a recall. This is extremely dangerous!

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #28

Jul 162015


  • 48,540 miles
I was on the freeway and the vehicle shut off, I was in the middle lane with cars flying by. I put hazards on and slowly moved to the right side and completely shut off the car. I was very scared being stuck on the Florida turnpike with vehicles going past me at 70 miles an hour and I could have been in a deadly accident. I was able to turn the car back on and was able to drive and get off the freeway and slowly drive to the dealership at 30 miles an hour. The dffective part the dealer said was the throttle body, which is a part that was recalled on the Ford escape 2009-2013 and on the 2009 - 2013 Ford Fusion 2009-2013 Mercury mariner 2009 -2013 Mercury Milan. My car is Ford Edge 2013, the throttle body part is an obvious extensive issue with Ford.

- Greenacres, FL, USA

problem #27

Jul 062015


  • 43,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Edge. While driving at 45 mph, the vehicle stalled and the electronic control module indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was able to restart after several attempts. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 43,000.

- Dickinson, TX, USA

problem #26

Jun 222015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 71,340 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Edge. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle's rpms decreased and the wrench warning indicator displayed with the message "check owners manual for more information". the contact turned off the vehicle and restarted it. The warning indicators no longer illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure was unable to be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 71,340. Updated 8/21/15

- Vidor, TX, USA

problem #25

Aug 182014


  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Edge. The contact stated that the vehicle had an oil leak and there was an abnormal odor coming from the engine. The failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The oil pan was replaced and the oil was replenished, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 3,000.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #24

Apr 222015


  • 55,000 miles
This is now the second time I've lost all power while driving. The car completely shuts down, steering becomes uncontrollable and the oil pressure light comes on. Car is at the dealership as I type and I'm being told the car has no codes of what happened. I'm not sure how a computer doesn't register a low oil pressure light or how it's not hard coded somewhere in the computer system that the car just cut out at 5mph. The first time I was okay as no one was in from of me. This time I almost wiped out 2 cars in a parking structure while on a down hill ramp.

- Gilroy, CA, USA

problem #23

Mar 212015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 39,405 miles
Vehicle is stalling at red light and on the freeway and the check engine light came on. The vehicle diagnostics systems suggests the throttle body is not working properly. Several people have the same issue but Ford refuses to issue a recall.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #22

Feb 272015

Edge 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
While driving my 2013 Ford Edge lost all power in a turn. The engine shut down, the low oil light came on and I had a hard time steering the car due to the lost of power and the car still in drive. Fortunately no one was behind me or in front of me at the time. Upon reading several forums on this problem I find that I'm not the only one who has experienced this problem as it appears this problem has been happening for years. What does it take to get a recall on this problem, a fatal accident? I'll be taking my car to the dealer since I drive in traffic every day and I can't afford this to happen in that condition, but it sounds like the dealer won't do anything about the problem as per previous posts indicate such.

- Gilroy, CA, USA

problem #21

Jan 162015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 49,559 miles
There were two incidents involving loss of engine power while accelerating in traffic. I do not have the date of the first occurrence, but it was approximately one month before the second occurrence. Both times, as I was accelerating from a stop light, the engine was still running, but had no power and I drifted to a stop. The warning message light was a picture of a wrench. The first occurrence was on a two-lane road with deep ditches on both sides, and there was no other place to stop but in the middle of the road. Fortunately, cars behind me stopped in time. The second time, I was accelerating up a hill on a four-lane road with middle turn lane. I was able to drift to the turn lane and stop there. When I restarted the car both times, power was restored. The first time this happened, we took the car to a repair shop the following day. There were no codes, but from the warning light, they thought it was the throttle body. On the second occurrence, my husband and I immediately drove to an auto parts store. They were able to read a code and it was trouble code P2111, throttle actuator "a" control system - stuck open. The Ford dealer indicated there were no recalls on this problem and they were not aware of any issues. Both times, it was a frightening and dangerous situation that could have involved injuries, if the car(s) following rear-ended the vehicle.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #20

May 122014

Edge 4-cyl

  • 9,400 miles
At least five separate times, while driving at high rates of speed, my 2013 Ford Edge will begin to hesitate and shudder. The check engine light begins to flash and then the vehicle suddenly loses power. I can barely keep the vehicle going at about 20 miles an hour. I can generally coast to the side of the road or freeway. I have to turn off the vehicle and let it sit for several minutes before I can turn it back on and restore power to drive it. It is still under warranty. I have had the vehicle into the Ford dealer service three times for this problem. They cannot diagnose and replicate the problem. Despite the check engine light being on, the computer is throwing no error messages. This is a very unsafe and scary situation. I refuse to drive the vehicle again. To do so would put myself in danger, my passengers and other drivers in danger. I have applied to Ford Motor Company for a buy back under their "reacquisition program" but was told on January 8, 2015 that the vehicle does not qualify under California lemon law. I was given no explanation or opportunity to discuss this decision with Ford. My problem sounds very similar to what is described in this article, although my Edge is a 4-cylinder with an eco-boost engine.

- Folsom, CA, USA

problem #19

Nov 012014


  • 18,000 miles
Drivers door is closed but the door ajar light and the interior lights stay on. Some time turns on while driving.

- Ponce, PR, USA

problem #18

Nov 102014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 39,500 miles
This has now happened to me three times and all three times were during rush hour traffic and I was lucky to not be hit from behind. I will be driving and I suddenly get a wrench light on my dash board and then lose the ability to accelerate my car and it basically coasts to a stop and I can feel a shaking/rumbling from the engine. When I put the car in park and turn it off, I can turn it back on and it is like nothing happened and the light goes away and I can continue driving home. I called the dealer and they said they can only fix it if they see the wrench light on so they can pull the code, meaning I have to have my car towed to the dealer while still on. Only problem is every time it has happened has been after work at night when the dealers are already closed. I am now nervous every time I drive the car and am afraid to get on highways.

- Miami, FL, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?