Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,642 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Edge steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Edge Owner Comments

problem #14

May 262016

Edge

  • 40,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have two major problems and safety issues with this car. First is the power booster, which is covered under extended warranty. Symptoms of booster issue are spongy brakes that then went hard with little resistance accompanied by hissing sound coming from brakes. The second issue is a defective throttle body. Three times in as many days when food is on brake, the brake pushes back essentially having lost power brakes and requiring both feet firmly pressed on brake to even remotely slow car down, unable to completely stop vehicle, at the same time I lose power steering and cannot control direction of car, the warning light "low oil pressure" illuminates on the dash. This does not send car into so called "limp home" mode it renders the car essentially inoperable. If I turn the car off and then back on again it returns to normal driving function....until it happens again. I've been lucky that this happened backing out of my driveway and in straight lane stop and go traffic on city streets. Had this happened when I was driving along a curvy mountain road, along the coast or on a los angeles freeway moving 65 mph..I doubt I would have been so lucky. I cannot believe the throttle issue in the Edge is not covered under the extended warranty given to other Ford model cars or even more that this isn't a sweeping safety recall. I am risking life and limb of myself and my two young children driving this car. This is my first Ford and will probably be my last. Ford should be ashamed of themselves.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #13

Mar 312016

Edge

  • 43,000 miles
When turning into a drive way at low speeds the power steering gave out and the breaks and gas pedal were not responding and the low oil pressure to engine message came on the dash. I turned the car off and gave it a few minutes, and when I turned it back on and had it towed to a dealer they couldn't find any code nor could they replicate the problem after having for 3 days. I am worried if this happens again and at higher speeds like when on the highway. I have researched that Ford had similar issues with the throttle body on other models and years but not the 2013 Edge. This needs to be addressed.

- Tolland, CT, USA

problem #12

Jan 132016

Edge

  • miles
Purchased a 2013 Ford Edge on 12/04/2015. Collision warning sensors and advanced track sensor off warnings kept coming on. The dealership says that they replaced them, and things seemed to be okay with the exception of a few other unrelated issues. However, on 02-25-2016 after picking up my car from the dealership again, the accessory power is active sensor came on. Nothing was powered on or plugged in, and it was not mentioned in the manual. I called the dealership again, only I have not had the best overall experience with the service department since buying this car. Online reviews from other Ford Edge owners complain of the engine shutting down and losing power! the collision warning and advance track sensors have come on while driving on the freeway, but the accessory power warning first came on just as I was pulling into a parking spot. It remained on for several hours, then went out. Then the collision warnings and advance track warnings flashed on again for about 10 seconds or so, then went back out. I should add that the dealership supposedly reset the collision warning and advance track sensors and performed ccm alignment procedures. As of yet, I have not lost power, but I am greatly concerned that this could happen! this is the only vehicle I own, and I need to know what can legally be done?

- Clinton, IA, USA

problem #11

Apr 052013

Edge 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,137 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Edge. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle veered to the right independently. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 3,137. Updated 04/22/16

- Franklin, MA, USA

problem #10

Jul 012015

Edge

  • 43,000 miles
This incident has happened 4 times in the past month and a half. My car completely shuts off and I have no control over the steering or speed. When I restart my car, it turns on. There haven't been any check engine lights or other notifications until today when it happened for the fourth time and the low oil pressure indicator came on and in the indicator box a wrench is now displayed. The first incident I was pulling out of a parking lot into traffic when it happened. The second incident I was pulling into a parking lot. The third incident I was sitting at a red light attempting to accelerate and the car just shut down and this final incident I was driving approximately 5 mph and in traffic, the car just shut down. In all instances the car started back up but if this had happened in any instance that I was going faster or crossing an intersection, I fear I would be killed or injured. I have seen that there are other owners having the same complaint and I just fear that someone will die from this.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #9

Apr 222015

Edge

  • 55,000 miles
This is now the second time I've lost all power while driving. The car completely shuts down, steering becomes uncontrollable and the oil pressure light comes on. Car is at the dealership as I type and I'm being told the car has no codes of what happened. I'm not sure how a computer doesn't register a low oil pressure light or how it's not hard coded somewhere in the computer system that the car just cut out at 5mph. The first time I was okay as no one was in from of me. This time I almost wiped out 2 cars in a parking structure while on a down hill ramp.

- Gilroy, CA, USA

problem #8

Feb 272015

Edge 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my 2013 Ford Edge lost all power in a turn. The engine shut down, the low oil light came on and I had a hard time steering the car due to the lost of power and the car still in drive. Fortunately no one was behind me or in front of me at the time. Upon reading several forums on this problem I find that I'm not the only one who has experienced this problem as it appears this problem has been happening for years. What does it take to get a recall on this problem, a fatal accident? I'll be taking my car to the dealer since I drive in traffic every day and I can't afford this to happen in that condition, but it sounds like the dealer won't do anything about the problem as per previous posts indicate such.

- Gilroy, CA, USA

problem #7

Oct 142014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 8,957 miles
I was driving on the city streets and without any warning, the power steering kicked out. I didn't realize this and was already committed to making a right turn. I had to use all my strength to make the turn and stay on the road. After clearing the intersection I noticed the car was not accelerating, instead it was decelerating. The car came to a complete stop on the main road. I quickly put on my blinkers. The car then gave a "low engine oil pressure" error message. I put the car in park, waited a minute, and restarted w. I would have had a big problem if the car stalled out in the left turn or if I couldn't overpower the steering components and went off the road.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #6

Oct 012014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
Was driving down the road and the fixing to turn and the engine shut down and lost all power to steering and brakes and the engine low oil pressure light displayed on dash. Vehicle started back up after a while but had the car towed in anyway to dealer. The dealer said they couldn't duplicate the problem and gave us the car back. The computer should have stored the problem you would think. This is the 3rd time we have had this car for different problems at 24000 miles. This will probably happen again and somebody will probably get hurt and then Ford is going to have a big problem on their hands. Scared to even drive this lemon now.

- Collinsville, OK, USA

problem #5

Feb 212014

Edge

  • miles
I took my car into the don davidson Ford dealership in arlington Texas because it has been breaking weird, smelling funny, shaking hard & losing speed on the freeway(all at once) which it does sporadically. The said they can't reproduce the problem so there's nothing wrong & gave it back to me on Friday. I went straight to the mall & it did it again so I took it back immediately. They kept it for a few hours & tried to give it back again, saying that I drove with the ebrake on (which it wasn't). Now I left my car there, they haven't done anything & I'm paying for a rental for the fourth day because I'm afraid to drive my own car. Ford corporate office told me it was my decision to drive it or not & they can't help. On the trip to the mall I heard a loud noise when I brake & now the rotors are messed up too. I don't know what to do, I still owe $34,000 on my 2013 Ford Edge and it has been recalled for brake issues but they won't help.

- Bedford , TX, USA

problem #4

Aug 092012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 30,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased 2013 Ford Edge with 27600 miles on it, when taken in for first oil change at 30600 miles I noted power steering fluid level 1/2 inch below minimum mark and marked reservoir tank at this low level to track it, with oil change my local service station filled it up TO1/2 way between max and min line in August 2012. After driving vehicle another 5000 miles noted fluid level again at minimum line, set up appt at local Ford garage 2-3-14 and voiced my concern about a leak, and showed service manager level at min mark and explained I prior noted low level as indicated by previous line I marked to show how low fluid actually was and that I had it filled as mentioned above. On 2-3-14 appointment they checked vehicle for leak and said there was none. Took vehicle in to my local service garage (not my local Ford garage) on 2-12-14 with 35750 miles in it and they found leak of high pressure hose and possible leak of banjo fitting. Will take in to Ford garage again Saturday 2-15-14 as had already set up appointment last week because have heard high pitch squeal on occasion when turn steering wheel left or right and wanted power steering checked again, with bumper to bumper warranty about to expire in 250 miles, wonder if I'll get the run around again or if they will see the leak now and service this vehicle right.

- New York Mills, MN, USA

problem #3

Sep 042013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I was driving on the city streets and without any warning, the power steering kicked out. I didn't realize this and was already committed to making a left turn. I had to use all my strength to make the turn and stay on the road. After clearing the intersection I noticed the car was not accelerating, instead it was decelerating. The car came to a complete stop on the main road. I quickly put on my blinkers. The car then gave a "low engine oil pressure" error message. I put the car in park, waited a minute, and restarted with no further issue. I would have had a big problem if the car stalled out in the left turn or if I couldn't overpower the steering components and went off the road.

- Paradise Valley, AZ, USA

problem #2

Apr 092013

Edge 4-cyl

  • 4,500 miles
Ford customer service reference # [xxx] 2013 Ford Edge VIN [xxx] on the morning of April 9, 2013 my wife ([xxx]) was driving to work at an elementary school. She was approaching the school at about 20 mph on level street when she noticed that the vehicle was difficult to control. She soon realized that the engine had stalled. Luckily there were no children present and she was able to bring the vehicle to a stop without incident. She started the vehicle and pulled into the school parking lot. I reported the problem to the dealer (town and country Ford of evansville Indiana) and was told to bring it in so that they could find the cause of the problem. They could not find the cause and told me to bring it back in the next time that the problem occurred. I also informed them of a problem with the seat moving for no known reason and about getting much less than the stated gas mileage on pure highway driving. I was told that they could not do anything about these problems either. I requested the number of someone that I could call to complain about these issues. I was given the number of the customer service department. Because of the seriousness of the problem the initial contact referred me to a manager. Initially the manager offered no more that the dealership, that is to bring it in after it fails again. I explained my concerns about the safety issues of losing control at a high rate of speed or in a school zone. He stated that there were no other reports of this problem. (I wonder how many people have to be killed before they get concerned about a safety issue.) after an extensive heated discussion he agreed to have the vehicle further evaluated at the dealership. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fort Branch , IN, USA

problem #1

Aug 082012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 600 miles
Purchased 2013 Ford Edge sport on July 14th. I've had possession of the car for three weeks as of this complaint. The car required service every single week since I've had the car. The last incident was on August 8th. I started the car, and multiple warning lights appeared on the dashboard. As the lights appeared, the car violently shuddered, and the brake pedal was stiff and difficult to press down. The steering column also shuddered, and the wheel was difficult to maneuver. This occurred at a supermarket parking lot less than three blocks away from my home. I called my husband, who remained on the phone line via speakerphone as I slowly coasted the car home. I drove the car, coasting the way back home with the hazard lights on, so as not to have to use the brake pedal. The car was towed to the dealership, where they replaced major sections of the steering column. The service manager informed us of this repair, saying that he's never seen such a major manufacturer defect in a brand new car. They made the repair, but I am very concerned that this may not be a unique situation. I am also concerned that because this make of car is so new, that other problems may be occurring that haven't been logged yet...

- Sleepy Hollow, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?