Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
132,511 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Ford F-150 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #65

Jan 262010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 154,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front fuel tank strap corroded. Fuel tank dropped to roadway at 55 mph. Required emergency flatbed tow to repair shop. Lucky there was no fire or other damage involved. Fuel tank straps and vent hose replaced. Old parts not available.

- Mount Prospect, IL, USA

problem #64

May 142011

F-150

  • 91,000 miles
Straps on gas tank broke, dropped front of gas tank on road while we were driving. Front of gas tank had hole when we pulled over spilling out 3/4 tank of gas, which almost went into drain at gas station we pulled over at, gas station attendant contained spill for us. Tow truck driver said we were lucky we didn't have a fire from dragging tank. I have 7 photos documenting scene at gas station and tank.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #63

Nov 252009

F-150 8-cyl

  • 128,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the fuel tank detached the vehicle, as one of the fuel tank straps corroded and broke. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop who replaced the fuel tank and the strap. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The current mileage was approximately 135,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 128,000. Updated 07/08/11

- Millbury, MA, USA

problem #62

Apr 302011

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 212,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the fuel tank straps fractured and the fuel tank detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop who diagnosed that the straps were corroded and as a result of the failure the fuel tank, fuel pump and straps needed to be replace. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 212,000. Updated 10/18/11 updated 11/07/11

- North Canton , OH, USA

problem #61

Jan 152011

F-150

  • 115,000 miles
Noticed fuel tank hanging low, straps had rusted and tank broke free and dropped down.

- Lee, ME, USA

problem #60

Nov 202010

F-150

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F150. The contact stated that the fuel tank strap was loose and the contact was concerned of the possibility of the fuel tank detaching from the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The failure mileage was 160,000 and current mileage was 163,000.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #59

Mar 092011

F-150

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was at gas pump getting gas, when gas started to pour out of tank by filler tube. Took to repair shop and was told gas strap was rotted away had to replace both gas straps and tank. Because it broke off tank by filler tube.

- Arcade, NY, USA

problem #58

Sep 282010

F-150 6-cyl

  • 189,256 miles
Fuel tank strap broke on my truck. Had Ford fix the problem after I noticed it.

- Brookings, SD, USA

problem #57

May 052011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F150. The contact stated that the vehicle fuel tank straps were corroded. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 160,000. Updated 06/13/11 the manufacturer informed the consumer they were aaware of the problem and it was being investigated. The consumer replaced both fuel straps. Updated 06/21/11

- Marysville , OH, USA

problem #56

Apr 182010

F-150

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. The contact stated that both straps that held the fuel tank in place fractured while the vehicle was in motion. The contact used hauling straps to secure the fuel tank to the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop where the failure was repaired. The VIN was unknown. The failure was 95,000 and the current mileage was 102,000.

- Cambell, OH, USA

problem #55

Jun 152010

F-150

  • 178,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the fuel tank straps were rusted and caused the fuel tank to detach from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who repaired the fuel tank straps at a cost of $210 to the contact. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 178,000. The VIN was not available.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #54

Jun 122010

F-150

  • 88,054 miles
On June 12,2010, the front fuel tank strap broke. The fuel tank did not leak or catch on fire. After purchasing new straps and installing them. The vehicle is back on the highway. Note: This vehicle passed a Pennsylvania state safety inspection on 05/24/2010 by a Ford dealer. Component # 2 gasoline storage component # 3 tank assembly mounting (straps)

- Centre Hall, PA, USA

problem #53

Nov 192010

F-150 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 178,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F150. The contact stated that the fuel tank straps were rusted and causing fuel to spill from the fuel tank. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who repaired the fuel tank straps at a cost of $210 to the contact. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 178,000. Updated 06/16/11 the consumer stated only one of the straps rusted through which caused it to separate and fuel began to leak on to the ground whenever he filled the tank. Updated 06/21/11

- Jacksonville, IL, USA

problem #52

May 112011

F-150 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
While driving home on 5/11/2011 I pulled into a gas station when the strap on my 1998 Ford F-50 broke sending the fuel tank to the ground. Although the tank is dented, it did not leak yet. I was able to rope tie it up and drive it carefully back home. Thank god I did not enter the freeway. The VIN # is [xxx]. I notified the dealer brighton Ford and they told me there is no recall as of yet. No words of encouragement to say the least. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mi, MI, USA

problem #51

Apr 012011

F-150

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. The contact was driving 10 mph when the front straps fractured from the fuel tank. The contact secured the fuel tank to the vehicle with rope and drove the vehicle to a local mechanic where it was discovered that the fuel tank caused a brake line to fracture as well. The mechanic repaired the two front straps to the fuel tank and the brake line. The contact was concerned that the failure could have caused a crash and even a fire. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Spirit Lake, IA, USA

problem #50

May 192005

F-150 8-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
I have an 1998 Ford F-150 that has broken one of the fuel tank straps that support the tank due to corrosion of the strap.

- West Babylon, NY, USA

problem #49

Feb 042011

F-150 6-cyl

  • 220,000 miles
The straps broke off gas tank and fell to the highway leaking out 17 gal. Of gas and sparks were flying like crazy and I started to slow down and pull off to the side of road and I jumped out of truck and ran from it not knowing what would happen next......6 weeks earlier the universal joints had been changed and all looked fine., new(not used) gas tank and straps and new gas line were all replaced.......

- Jefferson, OH, USA

problem #48

Apr 072009

F-150

  • 229,779 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. The contact was driving 40 mph when the fuel tank fractured from under the vehicle. The contact stated that all of the gasoline spilled out when the tank fell. The contact had the vehicle towed to a repair shop and was informed that the straps that held the fuel tank was rusted and caused the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 229,779 and the current mileage was unknown.

- Byron, MI, USA

problem #47

May 072011

F-150

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F150. The contact was driving 55 mph when the fuel tank partially fractured from the vehicle and as the contact continnued driving, the fuel tank was dragging the ground and causing it to spark. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop but was not repaired. The failure mileage was 84,000.

- Renoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #46

May 072011

F-150

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F150. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact heard a metallic bang from under the vehicle. The contact noticed through the passenger side mirror that there were sparks coming from under the vehicle. The contact stopped the vehicle and once he exited, he noticed a trail of fuel on the ground and a hole in the fuel tank where fuel was leaking. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technicians stated that the fuel tank and the attaching straps would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. There was an open investigation under NHTSA action number EA11006 (fuel system, other:storage:tank assembly fuel system, other:storage:tank assembly:mounting fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:mounting) for the failure but the investigation was still ongoing. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000.

- Rockford, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?