Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
132,511 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Ford F-150 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 6 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Jun 112006

F-150

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 35 mph the front side of the gasoline tank fell down towards the front of the vehicle. The contact was able to continue driving the vehicle home. The dealer was contacted and a replacement strap for the fuel tank was ordered. The contact repaired the vehicle. There was an open investigation under NHTSA action number EA11006 (fuel system, other:storage:tank assembly fuel system, other:storage:tank assembly:mounting fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:mounting). While driving approximately 35 mph the contact also heard a banging noise. When the contact inspected the vehicle he noticed the rear spring shackle was broken and severely corroded. The contact replaced the rear spring shackle. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- West Seneca, NY, USA

problem #44

May 042011

F-150 6-cyl

  • 186,000 miles
1998 Ford F-150, both fuel straps broke just as I entered a parking lot at work. I had 24 gallons of gas in the tank at the time. No leaks or injuries but I had just exited state route 21 moments before. Could have been a serious incident, just saw the investigation update today. Updated 08/05/11 the consumer stated both straps on the drivers side broke and the vehicle had a considerable amount of rust. Updated 08/15/11

- Uniontown, OH, USA

problem #43

May 092011

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 129,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. The contact noticed the fuel strap which held the fuel tank in place was rusted and corroded. An authorized dealer was notified of the failure but did not provide any assistance. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the contact was advised to replace the straps in order to prevent the tank from potentially detaching from the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 129,000. Updated 06/03/11

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #42

May 012011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel tank straps rusted out. The tank fell to ground while I was driving. No fire had to have truck towed I replaced fuel tank, fuel sensor, gas hoses, and straps, total cost was $642. Updated 08/04/11 the consumer stated both straps broke in the middle. Updated 08/15/11

- Wellington, OH, USA

problem #41

May 182010

F-150

  • 163,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. The contact stated while driving 35 mph the fuel tank detached and fell from underneath the vehicle. The contact also stated the fuel tank straps were rusted through and fractured. After the failure, the fuel tank was only being held onto the vehicle by one of the fuel lines. The failure mileage 163,000 and the current mileage was 178,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Koon Rapids , MN, USA

problem #40

Oct 072010

F-150

  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. The contact was driving approximately 40 to 45 mph when he heard a loud dragging noise from the vehicle. When he moved to the side of the road, he discovered that the fuel tank had fractured from the vehicle. He repaired the fuel tank at that time. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer or a mechanic and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 127,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #39

Sep 012010

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. The contact stated the vehicle was parked when he could smell a strong odor of gasoline. The contact also noticed gasoline was leaking underneath the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where they informed the fuel tank was corroded and leaking. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 37,000 and the current mileage was 40,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 06/06/11 updated 1/24/2012

- North Billerica, MA, USA

problem #38

Apr 012011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 228,600 miles
Fuel tank straps rusted out and fuel tank fell on ground while I was driving.

- Tipp City, OH, USA

problem #37

Jul 152010

F-150 6-cyl

  • 200,000 miles
I was driving home from work on a residential street when the fuel tank fell out of my truck. I had to drive about 2 blocks to get out of the street. The tank was dragging on the street and by the time I was able to pull over it was leakin fuel. I lost about a half a tank on the ground. No fire, no injuries. I was very lucky.

- Cottage Grove, MN, USA

problem #36

May 052011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
I just looked out at my 1998 Ford F150 in the driveway and my gas tank is on the ground. Thank god is was not out driving when this happened.

- Lancaster, KY, USA

problem #35

Apr 202011

F-150

  • 163,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Gas tank strap rusted away; noticed it in my driveway; no damage, but potentially dangerous

- Freeport, NY, USA

problem #34

Apr 212011

F-150

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the fuel tank fractured from the vehicle as a result of the bracket being corroded. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was contacted to report the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 140,000.

- West Chester , OH, USA

problem #33

Nov 102009

F-150

  • 140,000 miles
1998 Ford F150 fuel tank strap failure: The fuel pump failed and I was preparing to drop the fuel tank to perform the necessary repairs when I realized the only thing holding the tank up was the brush guard; the straps were rusted/rotted off and the flex hoses from the fill tube to the tank were stretched out. I'm lucky I had the off road package with the brush guard to support the tank. I have no idea how long it was like this so the date on this report is somewhat misleading. I am not aware of any recalls for this problem I will be very careful not to drive behind any other F 150S like mine.

- Brown Deer, WI, USA

problem #32

Mar 182011

F-150

  • 116,000 miles
Gas tank front strap broke. Tank fell and ruptured, spilling 20 gallons of gasoline. Updated 08/04/11 updated 2/02/2012

- Mattydale, NY, USA

problem #31

Mar 112011

F-150

  • 259,000 miles
Rear gas tank strap rusted through leaving tank hanging.

- Fenton, MO, USA

problem #30

Feb 152011

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 15 mph, the fuel tank fractured from the vehicle and onto the ground. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic shop where the local mechanic replaced the defective fuel tank. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000 and the current mileage was 121,000. Updated 03/31/11 the gas tank straps rusted, which caused the tank to drop and the filler neck broke off.. updated 04/25/11

- Oak Creek, WI, USA

problem #29

Feb 262011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
Noticed poor fuel economy and about a month later noticed the smell of gas but not constant, only after gas fill-up. Looked for issues but didn't see anything obvious when under the vehicle with a light. While parked in a garage, found a drip and noticed that it smelled as if it was gas. Looked the truck over again and found that the straps holding the gas tank in had rusted badly and caused the tank to rust and leak. Why is there not insulating rubber between the tank and the straps like other manufactures have which would prevent this dangerous event from happening? purchasing new straps and a new gas tank to fix the problem.

- Powell, OH, USA

problem #28

Jun 132005

F-150 8-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
Beginning around 150,000 miles, my 1998 Ford F150 4.6 L Triton engine plugs begin to loosen or even come out. This problem occurs about every 50,000 to 75,000 miles thereafter.

- Simpsonville, SC, USA

problem #27

Jan 052011

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 152,300 miles
Gas tank dropped onto roadway spilling fuel. F150 pickup 1998 with V6 engine & full length bed. Corrosion of the forward tank strap resulted in a failure that could have been very serious with fuel dumping into roadway. Updated 08/01/11 the forward strap broke, allowing the front of the tank to grind into the pavement. The formed end of the rear strap pulled out of the frame well. The tank stayed with the vehicle as the consumer pulled to the side of the road, but only the hoses and having the rear of the tank jammed against the frame kept it with the vehicle. The tank was about 3/4 full about 22 gallons leaked onto the roadway. Updated 08/02/11

- Monroe, CT, USA

problem #26

Dec 292010

F-150

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F150. While driving approximately 40 mph, the contact heard a loud noise, when he noticed that the straps holding the gasoline tank were covered with rust, causing the fuel tank to fall off of the vehicle leaving a whole in the front right side of the fuel tank. The dealer was notified and informed the contact that there were no related recalls. The contact did not inform the manufacturer. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 150,000.

- Mariner Air Force Base, ND, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?