Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
117,546 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford F-150 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

Jun 102011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The front strap that holds the gas tank on my 2001 F-150 has rusted off. I read where you are investigating this failure. Is there a current recall? updated 09/14/11 the strap rusted away and broke at a place where the strap was bolted to the frame on the left side. The rest of the strap was very rusty and corroded and also appeared to be ready to fail. The tank did not drop. The back strap showed signs of heavy rust. Updated 09/21/11

- Winchester, TN, USA

problem #51

Jun 102011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 94,600 miles
On 6/10/2011. My 18 year old son had borrowed my 2001 Ford F-150. He had stopped to fill the fuel tank and continue on his errand when the gas tank straps suddenly failed, dropping the fuel tank onto the ground while in motion. No injuries or fire resulted from the incident but a full tank of fuel was spilled onto the ground creating a hazardous material situation, closing down the road for a significant period of time to allow for cleanup. I don't have the final cost for repairs or cleanup and I don't know if and how insurance would cover the cost. I was surprised to learn that this has happened to other similar year Ford trucks yet no informational warnings were issued.

- East Falmouth, MA, USA

problem #50

Jun 012011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 146,996 miles
The gas tank strap on my 2001 Ford F150 lariat supercrew has rusted completely through and broke, making the gas tank loose and unstable. If I would not have heard the squeak of the loose tank that I thought was my spare tire, I would have eventually lost my tank which could have resulted in a fire or injury. I think the strap should be made of a material that is not so susceptible to the elements.

- Port Huron, MI, USA

problem #49

Jun 072011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 203,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford F150 supercrew 4X4 - fuel tank strap broke. Tank just hanging. Luclily noticed it and have ordered new straps.

- Brights Grove, 00, USA

problem #48

Jun 062011

F-150

  • 240,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving, the fuel tank dropped from its housing as a result of one of the straps fracturing. The fuel tank was dragged and caused a hole, which caused fuel to leak from the tank. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop who advised that the fuel straps had failed because of corrosion and that both the fuel straps and the fuel tank would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 240,000.

- Yucon , OK, USA

problem #47

May 062011

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 218,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 70 mph, there was a loud noise and immediately the vehicle was maneuvered to side of the road. The contact noticed the fuel tank detached from the vehicle and both fuel tank straps were completely rusted. The failure caused damage to the fuel tank as a result to an extensive amount of fuel leakage on the ground. The vehicle was temporarily repaired and driven to the residence. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer stated there was not a recall and provided no further assistance. There was an open investigation under NHTSA action number EA11006 (fuel system, other: Storage: Tank assembly). The failure mileage was 218,000. Updated 07/21/11 the gas tank strap broke, causing the tank to fall while driving. Updated 07/25/11

- Redford Township , MI, USA

problem #46

May 132011

F-150

  • 210,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150.the contact stated that one of the fuel tank straps was fractured and caused the fuel tank to detach from the vehicle. The failure did not cause a fuel spill. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnosis or repairs. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 210,000.

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #45

May 192011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 343,000 miles
Gas tank straps failed allowing gas tank to drop onto road.

- Gilman, WI, USA

problem #44

May 182011

F-150

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, he heard a loud thud and metal scraping against the ground. When he pulled over, he realized that the fuel tank was dragging the ground as a result of the front fuel tank strap rusting and breaking. A local mechanic replaced both straps. The contact called the manufacturer who advised that there were no related recalls and for the failure. The current and failure mileages were approximately 150,000.

- Frewsburg, NY, USA

problem #43

May 122011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 67,896 miles
After hearing about a possible failure of the fuel tank straps, I inspected my straps and found one of the straps corroded to the point of failure, it is split and separated. I am no longer driving this truck. I was going to wait a few weeks to see if there is a recall on this problem. Luckily this info was published to warn others.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #42

May 082011

F-150 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford F150 pickup truck. The contact stated that there was fuel leaking from the fuel tank onto the ground. The vehicle was inspected and abnormal rust spots and holes were found in the fuel tank. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who replaced the fuel tank, straps and the fuel sensor assembly at a cost of $864. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 61,000. Updated 10/12/11

- Horseheads, NY, USA

problem #41

Apr 112011

F-150

  • 111,042 miles
Just got off a highway traveling at 60 M.P.H. and stopped into a lowes. Upon returning to truck to leave and backing from parking spot the full gas tank hit the ground. No lines were broken. Both straps were rusted through.

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #40

May 102011

F-150

  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the fuel tank was filled and while driving, the contact was informed that the fuel tank had fractured from the vehicle and gasoline fuel was spilling onto the highway. The fire department arrived to assist and advised that the straps of the fuel tank were rusted and fractured, causing the fuel tank to fall. The contact had the vehicle towed to a local auto repair shop. The failure and current mileage was 138,000.

- Cole Valley, IL, USA

problem #39

Apr 192011

F-150 6-cyl

  • 151,516 miles
Both straps holding the fuel tank on my 2001 F-150 broke allowing the gas tank to fall to the ground and be dragged down the mass turnpike(route 90) I was able to exit the highway and pull into a gas station. Upon exiting the vehicle I saw the tank on the ground and gas leaking from it. The truck was towed to a service station for repair. They installed a new gas tank, straps and all the lines.

- East Granby, CT, USA

problem #38

Jun 302010

F-150

  • 106,708 miles
I pulled away from a stop sign and heard a strange sound. I stopped the vehicle and looked underneath and saw the gas tank on the ground.

- Beach Park, IL, USA

problem #37

Dec 102010

F-150

  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. While the contact inspected the vehicle, he detected that the fuel tank strap fractured. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the fuel tank strap was replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The failure mileage was approximately 170,000.

- Geoeretown, IL, USA

problem #36

Dec 012010

F-150

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. The vehicle was parked when the contact noticed the fuel tank was hanging underneath the vehicle. The contact ordered the necessary parts from the manufacturer and repaired the vehicle. While repairing the vehicle the contact also noticed the straps which held the fuel tank in place were corroded. The failure mileage was 160,000 and the current mileage was 180,000.

- Glen Ellyn, IL, USA

problem #35

May 102011

F-150

  • 127,997 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 20 mph, the contact heard a loud noise outside of the vehicle. The contact pulled over to the side of the road to inspect the vehicle and noticed that the fuel tank partially disengaged. The vehicle had not been towed. The manufacturer nor the dealer were made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 127,997.

- Queensbury, NY, USA

problem #34

May 052011

F-150 6-cyl

  • 131,000 miles
2001 Ford F-150 fuel tank straps failed and dropped tank on road. I was in parking lot backing out and it fell to ground. Had to be strapped up and towed to a shop and the straps replaced. Updated 08/04/11 the consumer stated both straps broke. The tank went completely to the ground on the front. The tank was at a 45 degree angle with the front on the ground. Updated 08/11/11

- Zionsville, IN, USA

problem #33

Apr 282011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 172,000 miles
My gas tank strap was hanging below vehicle... dealer said it happens all the time and estimate was over $250 to replace 2 straps... unbelievable... dealer also said 2nd strap was in bad shape and ready to break.

- Cortland, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?