Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
117,546 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford F-150 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Oct 212010


  • 178,000 miles


I have a 2001 Ford F150 crewcab truck. On my way home from work, my vehicle started making an awful noise and the truck instantly started working rough. I pulled over and turned off the truck. My husband came to check on me and when we popped the hood and when I turned on the truck he saw the spark plug coming out of the cylinder. I have yet to have the mechanic look at it. After reading up on this, I see this is a recurrent problem on Ford trucks. I do not understand why nothing has been done regarding this matter. I simply do not have the funds available to pay for this if it is a major repair job nor do I have the means to purchase another vehicle due to the current economic state and were barely getting by as it is. I want something to be done and this issue with Ford investigated further. It is a design flaw and this is getting ridiculous. Do someone have to die in order for something to be done. Thank god I did not pick my kids up yet. Thank god I was just starting off from a light and hadn't even got back up to 20 mph. Thank god it happens to me and not my husband that drove out to orlando today and was going to use my truck. He would have been severely hurt or worse if this occurred at 70+mph. I have read that this could cost in the thousands and when I get an estimate I will update this matter further. Something has to be done, there are no more excuses.

- Rockledge, FL, USA

problem #11

Oct 072010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 111,492 miles
While driving my 2001 F-150 at approx 35 mph, the gas tank suddenly fell off when both tank straps failed. Hoses and filler neck kept tank from totally separating from truck. Towed to garage and had both straps replaced. $272.91. Looks like a frequent problem after looking up on line. Updated 08/01/11 both straps were broken when the consumer checked after pulling over. They appeared to have failed where they were made to bend to go around the tank edge. There was minor rusting mostly at the bends. The tank did impact the road, but was only slightly dented with no compromise to the tank itself. Updated 08/02/11

- Natick, MA, USA

problem #10

Oct 112010


  • 123,000 miles
The rear fuel tank strap has rusted and broke in two.

- South Portland, ME, USA

problem #9

Oct 022010

F-150 6-cyl

  • 109,000 miles


I found one of the gas tank retaining straps broken on my 2001 Ford F-150. I am currently checking with suppliers for replacement fuel tank straps and found that these straps are being investigated as a vehicle defect. Updated 08/01/11 the consumer stated one of the tanks straps broke and it broke at the bend of the strap where it wraps around one of the bottom corners of the tank. There was no spill, since the remaining tank strap and what remained of the broken strap supported the tank. Aside from the break, the tank straps appeared normal. Updated 08/02/11

- Walton, WV, USA

problem #8

Sep 172010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 131,000 miles
On Friday, September 17, 2010 the fuel tank on my 2001 Ford F-150 truck broke free of the undercarriage and was dragged approximately 200 meters before I could safely stop the vehicle. At the time of the incident, I was traveling 60 mph. Upon exiting the vehicle, I smelled strong gasoline fumes and observed gasoline running from underneath the truck. I moved away from the vehicle and called the fire department and a tow service. From a distance (approximately 150 feet) the gasoline tank was clearly resting on the road surface. Once help was on the scene, granular absorbent material was added to the gasoline which had spilled onto the road. The now empty gas tank was secured by rope to the truck undercarriage, revealing a large hole in the gas tank. Upon further investigation, it was noted that the straps holding the tank had broke. The truck was removed from the scene on a flat-bed truck. The total cost associated with the gas tank straps breaking is $841. Updated 08/01/11 the strap failed where it attached to the truck frame. The strap ends appeared to be more worn than the strap body. Approximately, 22-34 gallons of fuel was spilled. Updated 08/02/11

- Bellville, OH, USA

problem #7

Sep 112010


  • 142,000 miles
2001 F-150 fuel tank strap broke last week. Luckily noticed the tank sitting low when I pulled into the drive with my other vehicle. 141,000 miles. Neighbor told me of the investigation he read in the paper the next day. Updated 08/01/11 the consumer stated one strap failed and the second was bound to fail very soon. The straps rusted and flaked in layers in the middle where the plastic sleeve was. The straps were not in good shape. They were flaky. Updated 08/02/11

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #6

Jun 102010


  • 132,000 miles


I have a 2001 Ford 150 pickup and while driving home from work on the beltway my gas tank straps broke and my gas tank was dragging on the road. I didn't know this until I pulled over because I heard a weird noise under the truck. After inspecting on the shoulder of the road I noticed the gas tank was laying on the ground, both straps had broke due to rust. I had to strap up the tank with two tie downs and then order new straps from the dealer and replace.

- Nottingham, MD, USA

problem #5

May 152010


  • 95,000 miles
The gas tank strap on my 2001 F-150 rusted completely through. The tank has 2 straps holding the tank up inside the frame. The front one was intact and the rear strap rusted completely in two. My friend noticed my gas tank was hanging down slightly and I was shocked to see the condition of the rear strap. I drove home slow avoiding potholes, etc. And called an auto parts store to order a new strap. I wanted to go with a Ford part but they only came as a set and cost much more than the auto parts store. I'm concerned someone may not notice this condition until their gas tank goes rolling down the highway.

- Monticello, IL, USA

problem #4

Jul 242010


  • 116,000 miles
While driving on the freeway, I heard a loud pop from the engine compartment followed by the engine running roughly and accompanied by popping sounds. Within 10 seconds, the smell of gasoline was noticed. I pulled off at the next exit, approximately 30 seconds later, and came to a stop. As I came to a stop, flames erupted from the hood and the entire engine compartment was engulfed in flames. A fire truck arrived within a few minutes and extinguished the fire, but not before the fire had burned through the firewall into the passenger compartment. The vehicle was a total loss. Upon further inspection, it was discovered that the #8 cylinder spark plug had ejected from the cylinder (the initial pop sound) with such force that it ruptured the rubber fuel line immediately above it and aft of the stainless fuel injector bar. With fuel spraying from the hose, it was then ignited by the coil which was still attached to the engine and emitting sparks. It has been documented that the cylinder head design in this vehicle has had a history of problems with ejecting spark plugs due to a lack of adequate threads in the spark plug holes. I believe this defect contributed directly to this fire and is a safety hazard.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #3

Dec 052008


  • 85,000 miles
Throttle sticks after steady driving in cold/snow because of Ford's poor design, they even state it in Ford article no. 01-21-5. has happened may times to me. I just finally got an answer to the problem. The fix is over $500, and I don't have the money. It is their poor design, this just does not seem fair. I have had several close calls due to this problem, there really should be a recall on this.

- Wanamingo, MN, USA

problem #2

Jul 212004


  • 10,000 miles
Fire in engine compartment CNG vehicle. The problem was due to the bi-fuel CNG and gasoline vehicle in the consumers government fleet. The vehicle was parked and when the consumer returned he found smoke. The fire spread through the engine compartment and caused the vehicle to be a total loss.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #1

Mar 242003


  • miles
While driving the consumer noticed that the fuel gauge indicated the vehicle had a half tank of gas yet the vehicle ran out of gasoline.

- Rancho Mirage, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?