Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,579 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Ford F-150 body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Jun 252012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 54,360 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In late-June 2012 a loud clunk/thud/pop/small explosion occurred in the passenger-side door of my 2004 Ford F-150 regular cab truck, while the vehicle was stopped and idling, and the window dropped into the door frame. When I returned home I removed the door panel and discovered that a small piece of molded plastic, 1 1/8" X 1 7/8" (probable cost to Ford about 39 cents) on the window regulator had disintegrated/failed, allowing the regulator cable to release the window. I have found a replacement window regulator on the internet for $70 (Ford charges $175 for the part) and will repair the defective item myself. I notified Ford of the failure of a less-than-quality plastic piece on the regulator and asked for reimbursement. Ford responded: "there are no factory warranties or programs in effect on your vehicle that would provide financial assistance for your current vehicle concern." However, they did add: "recommend that you keep your repair receipts in case Ford initiates a recall or customer satisfaction program in the future based on customer feedback or further engineering review of similar complaints." I see from the large number of complaints on this website by Ford truck owners that I am but one of hundreds who have been affected, and obviously, there will be hundreds more; the odds are very high that the majority of the plastic pieces on Ford truck window regulators will fail sooner or later, and I seriously doubt that the 2004 Ford F-150 truck is the only model year that contains plastic parts in the window regulators. $70 to replace a failed piece of plastic that initially probably cost Ford about 39 cents to produce is a sad commentary on quality.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #16

Jun 202012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Is anybody doing anything about the Ford window regulator problem. Over the years all of my sons windows have all fallen down. At times leaving the kids with exposure to whoever passes by...this is not safe. Two windows failed on the same day. Tried to call Ford and got no reasonable response...

- Ponca City, OK, USA

problem #15

Dec 252011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
I am the owner of a 2004 F-150. This is my fifth Ford product on a row, two of them purchased new. Recently the passenger side rear window regulator failed, causing the window to slide down into the door. In December. I purchased a replacement regulator/motor assembly and just finished the installation. When I examined the old unit I found the operating cable incorrectly spooled onto the primary pulley. When the cable overlapped itself the end pulled out of the lifting block. When I was searching for information about the replacement procedure, I came across numerous websites detailing complaints about the failure of F150 window regulators. This leads me to believe that the problem is due to a faulty design and should be addressed by Ford with a redesigned part and a recall to replace existing units. I will be contacting my congressman, about this expensive and annoying defect.websites detailing the issue are listed below: www.jerebeasleyreport.com/2011/08/problems-with-Ford-F-150-window-regulators/ www.carcomplaints.com/Ford/F-150/2005/windows_windshield/power_window_regulator_failure.shtml information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Clearlake, CA, USA

problem #14

Jul 282011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was traveling on a main boulevard when all of a sudden the drivers side window slid down with a loud sounding bang. The window did not break. However, what seems to be a spring loaded mechanism, must have broken causing the window to collapse down inside the door. The sound was so loud, it caused a nervous reaction in me which resulted in pulling on the steering wheel to one side. Thankfully, there were no vehicles to that side and I was able to correct my steering to get back into my lane. As if one experience was not sufficient, it happened again 9/1/11. This time on the passenger side door. The same exact experience repeated except that this time I was driving at 75mph on I-25. I expected to find a recall to this dis-functional mechanism. What are the chances of this happening almost back to back within a 6 week period?

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #13

May 202011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 90,370 miles
Door power window regulator fails (broken plastic piece) and door window glass falls into the door. This usually occurs while driving - see thousands of internet reports. This is a dangerous defect in the regulator that Ford knows about and refuses to recall. Repair part and labor cost approx $400 per window. I have had 2 window regulators fail so far! Ford should be responsible for this.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #12

Sep 102010

F-150

  • 108,000 miles
3rd power window regulator failure in 1.5 yrs on 2004 Ford F-150 supercrew truck. When regulator fails, it sounds as though someone struck or shot the window causing me to jump and take my eyes off the road to see what had happened and if any passengers were injured almost causing me to collide with an on-coming vehicle. I have had two of the regulators replaced by a local paint and body shop where I was told that it is a known problem with the regulators. My cost to date has been in excess of $350 and I now have two suction cups holding one window up until I can afford to have it repaired.

- Niceville, FL, USA

problem #11

Sep 082010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 66,020 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Ford F150 window regulator failures...multiple times..several months apart. The window comes crashing down and is totally open. I have dogs that ride with me. This has got to be fixed by Ford.

- Indian Trail , NC, USA

problem #10

Sep 072010

F-150

  • 106,755 miles
While driving at highway speed the rear passenger window droped, at that time my grandson (3) taught it would be ok to throw his socker ball out. The ball bounced of a car behind me but no damage but scared the driver almost causing an accident. This is a big problem, windows should not drop like that good thing weather was good, I can only imagine if it had been raining the other car would have not been able to stop causing a major accident and I would be getting seud. This issue needs fixing by Ford because is not an isoleted problem thousands are having the same problem. Window not fixed yet still researching for parts.

- Camden, NC, USA

problem #9

Mar 212010

F-150

  • miles
There are factory made square holes under the sides of the truck. When it rains, the wheels splash water into these holes. The water comes up into the floor of the truck. Inside the truck there is a plastic panel along the edges of the door that pops out. It is the square holes that it pops out of that the water comes in through. I can stick my finger from the under outside if the truck and see them thru the holes that hold the plastic paneling on the inside. The water collects along where all the electrical wires are running and soaks up into the carpet.

- Winnipeg, 00, USA

problem #8

Nov 242009

F-150

  • 80,000 miles
2004 Ford F-150 supercrew window regulator failure. Driving safety hazard, distractions during driving at highway speeds. Could lead to possible severe injury or deaths. Second time in 10,000 miles. Poor design and flimsy parts used by Ford. Expensive repair.

- Yucaipa, CA, USA

problem #7

Sep 042009

F-150 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a Ford F150 V8 5.4 tritan about a month ago my passengers side window fell down in the door while I was driving down the road. It scared me and caused me to swerve while driving. This is definitely an issue. About a week ago my drivers side E window did the same thing while driving on a two lane winding road. It crashed down into the door scaring me and almost causing an accident. After doing some research I realized that this is problem many other Ford owners are having and not just a fluke. Something needs to be done about this before it causes an accident resulting in someone's death.

- Paradise Valley, NV, USA

problem #6

Jun 172009

F-150

  • 60,000 miles
The paint on my 2004 Ford F150 is bubbling and rusting on the rear quarter panel and Ford refuses to fix it despite the fact that its a known issue.

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #5

Mar 272009

F-150

  • 96,000 miles
I was driving down I-35 in the rain when a loud bang startled me. I noticed right away that my 2 year old girl was crying and her window was down with rain pouring in. I had to pull over in traffic on the interstate in the rain to try and fix the problem. The bang had scared her and she was getting wet. We moved the carseat over to the other side and I was able to pull the window up. My wife had to hold it up with her hand all the way home. From the sound of that bang I am suprised the window didn't shatter. If it would have my little girl could have lost an eye or been cut badly. I was able to look at it today and it seems that the little cable that pulls the window up has broken loose from the plastic pulley it winds up on. I have done a bit of research tonight and this is a very common problem. Ford knows about the problem since they tend to keep plenty of these window regulators in stock. Many of the people on these websites have had multiple failures. One had replaced all four window regulators on his F-150. The problems started when they changed from a solid metal scissors type to this mouse trap looking thing with plastic pulleys. The engineer that designed this thing should have his P.E. license revoked. It is a terrible piece of engineering. Ford should fix this problem and do a recall on this problem before one of these windows shatters at highway speed and throws glass into the face of a small child.

- Kyle, TX, USA

problem #4

Apr 122008

F-150

  • miles
A rust and panel perforation on the right box outer of 2004 Ford F-150's. rust develops under the paint on the right box outer panel behind the right rear wheel opening and about at the center for height of the panel. This has happened on several trucks of friends as well as my truck. The dealers are saying it is because there is a brace welded to the panel during production and the weld id the root of the rust. Ford is saying that they have no responsibility and won't help to cover the cost of repair. As a retired engineer from another manufacturer and also having worked for the other of the big three, I know that welding destroys the rust preventable on the sheet metal. The weld process flows galvanize away from the weld area and then helps to precipitate the rust to form. The trucks have all had no paint damage or accidents in the area of the rust forming. Bubbles appear under what looks like good solid paint and then breaks through and shows rusted metal. With the number of trucks having the same issue it looks to be a systemic issue from the manufacturing process. The other two domestic manufacturers will not weld on what is known as a class a outer panel surface. A customer?S line of sight walking up to a vehicle is considered to be class a surface. There should not any be welds on it and little or no metal finish. That, metal finishing, also would remove the rust protecting galvanize. Another concern is that some states have annual inspections that would cause this to have to be repaired. The owner would be stuck with this cost through no fault of his or her own.

- Oakland, MI, USA

problem #3

Feb 272006

F-150

  • 62,000 miles
Noted that drivers door did not line up correctly as before. Body shop noted that door had evidence of a weld failing in area where the hinges insert into the door. That was 2/27/06 and truck had approx. 62,000 miles on it. Then this spring (2008) I began to notice that the door began to fit even worse than before and put my camera between door and door post to take photos as my head would not fit in that area to get a good view. Photos showed numerous cracks had developed in area of hinge insertions on the door and the entire door end had warped out of shape in area of hinge attachments. Now truck has 113,000 miles and when my dealer spoke to corporate Ford, they were told that the warranty for body defects had expired at 36,000 miles. I spoke to customer assistance and was told they would do nothing as there was no recall issued. That was sometime in May 2008. My contention is that this is a safety issue not a body defect and puts me in danger should there be a crash. This door will not protect me in a side impact as it is not properly attached to the vehicle.

- Carthage, NC, USA

problem #2

Jun 272007

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
I was driving a 2004 Ford 150 pickup South on interstate 29 near glenwood Iowa when the steering wheel began to vibrate. I tried to pull to the right to see what was causing it when the right front tire seemed to explode. I was able to pull off the highway to the right without losing control of the truck and got out to see what had happened. I found the right front passenger tire still inflated but without any tread on the tire. I also found half the running board was missing, and a small dent in the door just above where the running board used to be. I called a tow truck and had the vehicle towed to tincher Ford in glenwood Iowa and had the tire replaced. This cost wa S$157. I still did not know what it was going to cost to replace the running board. The mechanic mentioned he had never seen the tread on a tire separate the way this one did. I kept the old tire and replaced it with the exact same brand, a general ameritrac TR P255/70 R17. I am nervous about driving on these tires now with the fear of this reoccuring. I just heard there has been a series of accidents and even deaths caused by this tire. I would also like to recover the cost of the repairs to my pickup and tires.

- Glenwood, IA, USA

problem #1

May 182004

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles
The consumer owns a new 2004 Ford F-150. The consumer noticed that the odometer, tripometer, outside temperature gauge and compass were moved to a small panel inside the speedometer window. On the previous model the gauges were visible. On this model the gauges can only be seen at night or on dark days. On bright days it's very difficult to read the displays. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem.

- Rosharon, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?