Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

8.2

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$317.00
Average Mileage:
66,996 miles
Total Complaints:
613 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace window regulator (299 reports)
  2. not sure (223 reports)
  3. fixed it myself so I don't have to be ripped off by Ford (24 reports)
  4. replace window regulator with 2006 and newer regulator (16 reports)
  5. replace elevator cable (15 reports)
  6. Ford paid for most of the fix (10 reports)
2004 Ford F-150 windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 8 of 31)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #473

Nov 102010

F-150 Lariat 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is my 2nd cable that has broken and hate to replace regulator with another bad one. I spent $800 on plug change last year and now windows are dropping and the darn truck isn't even paid foe yet. Been a Ford guy for a long time, over 40 years but now ready to start looking to other makes. Read where one guy had all 4 windows break within 8 weeks so something needs to be done and before we bail to a chevy!!!!!

- , Evansville, IN, USA

problem #472

Nov 242010

F-150 Lariat 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles

This is the third window regulator I've paid to replace and it is really pissing me off.I called FoMoCo and got the usual bs about no complaints.We need to find an attorney that will file a class action suit and stop this crap.Also just learned that it is a minimum of $500 plus $100 for each broken plug just to change the spark plugs.I should have bought a bughatti I think it woulda been cheaper.

- , Kaufman, TX, USA

problem #471

Nov 292010

F-150 Super Crew 5.4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

I own a 2004 f 150 4 door supercrew and all 4 windows regulators have failed on their own. I had three fail within days of each other about a year ago. Now, today the fourth one failed. Each time one failed I was driving down the highway at 65 mph and the window slams down scaring the hell out of me. The problem is always the steel cable gets kinked up on its own and snaps or kinks up so bad it can not be reused. Each time its a 300 dollar fix So when I replace this last one I'll be about 1200 dollars out. I finally looked on the internet and found out that this problem is common and Ford will not own up to their responsibility. I dont know it this is a design flaw by Ford or the supplier to Ford that makes the window regulator but I do know there has been no recall and that you cannot buy the parts you need except at ford parts dealers only. Since Ford doesn't seem to care to fix this problem I am never buying another ford.

- , San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #470

Aug 142010

F-150 Lariat 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,198 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ok I'm very pissed off. I don't know why this problem hasn't been fixed. My truck has 65,000 miles. This is the third time a window regulator has gone out. I have spent 606.00 dollars already on the first two regulators. I haven't fixed the third one, due to financial. I can't afford it. This a common problem for ford trucks. My friend has had these same problems on two windows. The company truck we have at work is always getting the regulators replaced. There are a lot of complaints on the internet on this issue. Ford says, This isn't too common. There should be a recall on these window regulators.

- , Kettleman City, CA, USA

problem #469

Jun 102007

F-150 Lariat 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,102 miles

I payed for a 2004 f-150 lariat. Just think. My truck's engine is just braking in and all of a sudden you here a loud pop. My truck is well taking care of. I purchased this truck brand spanking new. As I'm driving my truck, the window all of a sudden drops down quick. I couldn't raise the window anymore.. I had to take my truck to the dealership. I live thirty five miles away from the nearest dealership. I didn't pay for a Chevy.

- , Kettleman City, CA, USA

problem #468

Aug 132008

F-150 Lariat 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,132 miles

I'm getting off work, and all of a sudden I noticed my left rear window all the ways down. I think maybe I left the window down. I start my truck and try to raise my window, and the window does not raise. I think to my self not again. My first window regulator took a dump at 40,000 miles. The repair cost me 303.00 dollars. My truck has 44,000 miles and now I have to take the truck back to the dealership. I'm not happy, and very upset. I have a new truck with two window regulators replaced. This has cost me 606.00 dollars.

- , Kettleman City, CA, USA

problem #467

Sep 302010

F-150 Supercrew 5.4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Left Toyota after three different trucks... never been to a shop for any repairs whatsoever. Decided to try a 2004 Ford F150.....This complaint is for defective window regulators.. I will file other complaints for the rest.

When I had transmission failure at 75,000 on the dot I began researching and found hundreds of complaints about broken window regulators.. Sure enough 5,000 miles later my first window fell into the door...6 days later a second window fell.

I found on the NHTSA (national Highway Traffic Safety Administration) website there are nearly 900 complaints filed for a 2004 f150 window regulator problem... Some even say that they almost caused an accident from swerving across the road... many even had there windows shatter from falling so hard.. If this is not a safety concern I do not know what is... Apparently someone has to die and ford sued before a recall is done. Why is there the NHTSA if they are not forcing recalls of this nature?

If you go to the dealer you can count on $500 per door for repair... I currently have suction mounts holding up my two rear windows as I refuse to pay for this problem. Leaving Toyota was the biggest mistake I could have made.. If ford owned up to their defects I would not be like many other people in never buying another ford... As said by many also I will be sure none of my family or friends ever make the mistake I did of buying from a company that could care a less about it's customers!

Ford is making a big mistake, I read dozens of posts of lifelong ford owners saying they will never buy another ford.

- , Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #466

Nov 282008

F-150 Lariat 5.4L Triton

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,990 miles

On November 28, 2009 I parked the truck on a suburban street and took my niece's kids on a train to Los Angeles. When we got back that afternoon the driver's side window was open. At first I thought someone had broken in, but there was no glass. This was the Friday after Thanksgiving and I was fortunate to find an auto glass repair shop open. They knew exactly what the problem was, the window regulator, and were able to fix it immediately, getting the part from a Ford dealer. I had no problem with weather there, but I was very concerned about security and the thought of driving over 200 miles home with an open window into a colder area. It cost over $285 to get it fixed.

On November 2, 2010 I went out to the driveway and the passenger window was open. Knowing now what the problem was and not having quite the urgency I made an appointment at a local auto glass shop. They fixed it the next day for $187. They also told me the cost of a passenger window regulator is considerably less than for the driver's window. This wasn't a labor issue, but just the cost of the regulator for some strange reason.

I'm now very concerned about this happening again, primarily for security reasons. In both cases I wasn't in the truck when it happened and the only possibility would be closing the door which would jar something. This definitely seems like something Ford should be replacing on a recall basis. I only saved the last one and it doesn't appear to be the pulleys, but some other little plastic piece. For them to deny that this is a problem is CYA at best. My local dealer's parts department said they have improved them, so maybe these two won't break again, but it is unnerving to think the truck I so carefully parked is sitting there wide open.

- , Pahrump, NV, USA

problem #465

Nov 302008

F-150 XLT 4.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles

Drivers side rear regulator cable tangled up. second regulator in a few months. I disconnected the glass and hed it up with a block of wood screwed into the door. I told the dealer about it but they laughed.

- , Yuma, AZ, USA

problem #464

Feb 222009

F-150 XLT 4.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,500 miles

This is the 4th regulator in 6 months--rt front. I fixed it myself with a ford part because no one sells aftermarket parts. At least they did upgrade to the improved model. I can't believe they haven't sent out a recall on this crappy part. They know it is bad because they upgraded or repaired ot for later models.

- , Yuma, AZ, USA

problem #463

Jul 062010

F-150

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The same as everybody else. 3 out of the 4 windows have dropped over the past year. Waiting for the 4th to drop soon. Based on the same number of complaints for should issue a recall. $250 for each window or $400 if you take it to the dealer is a good chunk of change for the average person.

- , Breinigsville, PA, USA

problem #462

Oct 252010

F-150 Lariat V-8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,819 miles

New to the website. I have had all of the window regulators in this crew cab truck replaced! This is the second one that was not covered by the extended warranty. "Built Ford Tough" my @$$! I wouldn't be so pissed if it had not been every freak'n window in the truck and I hadn't just paid the mothertrucker out. Oh well, at least I can get rid of it and whoever gets it has 4 new window regulators. Why don't the Big 3 make better $h!t? I have a 1967 GMC and just replaced the weatherstripping. Now that's a truck. No sissy regulators in that old goat.

- , Jackson, MS, USA

problem #461

Jul 012010

F-150 FX4 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

Rolled the window down as usual. When I went to roll it up, it make a strange clunking sound, as though the window had "fallen off it's track". Dealer diagnosed the problem as the regulator. Cost was about $350 parts and labor.

- , South Jordan, UT, USA

problem #460

Sep 062010

F-150 Supercrew

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,399 miles

Sep 13, 2010 Rear drivers passenger window fell down while parked. The third window down in the last 15 months. Cost $400 to fix first one, 3 months later the 2nd. Local dealership said there was a defective part and fixed under warranty. Almost exactly 12 months and the 3rd fell. Only 41,399 miles on truck. Maybe used window 10 times!!!! Now local dealership says will cost $400 to fix and no warranty, no but wait, manager says will give me a 10%discount and bring it right in!!!! If i broke your window it would be illegal. But Ford knowingly can break all four and charge $400+ each and its legal. Heck of a scam. I don't have $400 and have to drive around with an open window whick isn"t too safe. Last Ford after 40 years. PS #4 should be soon so won't need air conditioning.

Update from Apr 20, 2011: used vice grips to hold #3 window up and ordered new window regulator @139.00 to instal ourself. Day after receiving the part in mail sure enough #4 fell as I was driving home. Just 100 miles after #3!!!!!!!How can Ford get away with this without any responsibility?????No moreFords!!!!!

- , St.George, UT, USA

problem #459

Sep 062010

F-150 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

I am the original owner. Had to replace the Left Front (Driver's Door) window regulator in May 2008. Ford did the repair and it was $350.00. My son bought the truck from me in Nov 2009. The Left Rear regulator broke March 2010. Cost $250.00 to fix via third party. Right Front window regulator broke Sep 6, 2010. $200 to fix via third party. Right Rear window regulator broke Sep 10, 2010. $200 to fix via third party.

What is amazing to me is how little use all but the driver's window had before they broke. My son and I seldom rolled up or down the other 3 windows. There was no apparent reason for their failure.

Let's throw in the Sunroof too. That broke Mar 2010. Was able to get it closed and sealed up. Estimated repair cost $650.00. (My son was going to get the sunroof repaired last week until the both right side window regulators gave out.) My son was told by the mechanic who will repair the sunroof, the retract arms are made of cheap materials, poorly designed and he has replaced quite a few of them (Toyota uses the same parts/roof.) If you have this issue I would recommend spending a few dollars more and get BOTH arms replaced at the same time. It take several hours of labor to remove the header etc... and get at the sunroof, which is why the repair is so costly.

And finally the electric sliding rear window motor is just about to go out. It barely moves the window. Have not got a cost for this repair yet! I did see there is also an issue with the motors overheating and failing.

I recently found this site and am not surprised to see the number of complaints. However, being a die-hard Ford guy I am disappointed with Ford's response and support for crappy equipment. Ford is testing my loyalty on this one!

FYI... I have been told to keep all receipts. Should Ford actually do a recall, My son and I could get reimbursed for all the repair costs we have incurred.

- , Navarre, FL, USA

problem #458

Jun 022010

F-150 XLT 4.6L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

it started with the passenger window luckily it was still under warrenty. then soon after the warrenty went out the 2 back windows went out. and now the driver side window is out. and that last one that got fixed wont go dont on its side you have to hit the button from the drivers cotroll to do anything with. this is extremely annoying. I am still paying on the vehicle and each window would be a minimum of 300 to fix

- , Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #457

Aug 182010

F-150 XLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

My husband owns a 2004 F150 which now has had ALL 4 WINDOWS DROP INTO THE DOOR due to faulty automatic window regulators. They did it one at a time, but it costs around $250 to get it fixed each time. WHEN IS FORD GOING TO PULL THEIR HEADS OUT AND ISSUE A RECALL?

- , Norman, OK, USA

problem #456

Sep 092010

F-150 V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,500 miles

PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE A REGULAR OCCURRENCE FOR 2004 F150 TRUCKS. I CALLED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEIR ONLY SUGGESTION WAS TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR AN INSPECTION AND DIAGNOSIS AND PAY FOR THE DIAGNOSIS. THEN FORD MIGHT CONSIDER SOME TYPE OF FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE (BUT SHE COULD NOT MAKE ANY PROMISES).

SINCE THE CAR ONLY HAD 22,500 MILES ON IT, I IMAGINE THE WINDOW HAD BEEN LOWERED NO MORE THAN 250 TIMES.

THE DEALERSHIP WAS CHARGING $380 TO FIX THE PROBLEM, WHILE I RECEIVED A QUOTE FROM ABRA AUTO GLASS (A NATIONAL COMPANY) TO COME TO MY HOUSE AND FIX THE PROBLEM FOR $253 + TAX. I DECIDED TO FOREGO THE POSSIBLE ASSISTANCE AND HAVE ABRA FIX THE PROBLEM.

- , Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #455

Dec 052005

F-150 V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

I bought my 2004 ford f-150 in november 2005, within 8 months 3 windows fell into the door...I'm waiting for some type of recall...because this has to be a defect, ford tells me it could cost up to a thousand dollars per window..YIKes...I think its there fault...what can I do?

- , Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #454

Jun 242010

F-150 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

My passenger window decided it was going to roll itself down during a thunder and lightening storm. When I tool it to Ford, they told me that the motors in the window and the clips for the placement of the window needed to be replaced. I took it and had it fixed. Today, 9-6-10, my driver's rear window decided to do the same thing. THis is definately getting old and with all the same problems I see on this site, one would thing Ford would put out a recall on this problem.

- , Ekizabethtown, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?