Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,186 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford F-150 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #54

Apr 042016

F-150

  • 190,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. While driving 40 mph, the driver side air bag light remained illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 190,000.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #53

Apr 102016

F-150

  • 114,000 miles
Fuse 14 controlling ABS module, dtr sensor, reverse lights, PCV heater, air conditioner compressor, cruise control deactivator switch and daytime headlights was repeatedly blowing. Truck was serviced by dealer on 3-23-16, replacing the A/C compressor. Replacing the A/C compressor did not resolve any issues. The truck was returned to the dealer on 4-6-16 for the same issue with the same fuse. The dealership replaced the fuse and performed diagnostic tests on the truck, then informing me that they could not diagnose or locate the short. The dealership informed me that I would have to drive the truck until the fuse started blowing more frequently. The first time the truck was driven after work was performed the cruise control was not functioning properly. The truck engine would surge as the truck went down the road with the cruise control on. The issue with the cruise control happened on 4-9-16. On the morning of 4-10-16 the truck was driven approximately 4 miles and parked in the drive of my home. After entering the house the alarm was heard sounding on the vehicle, at which time I stepped outside to find the truck on fire. The fire seemed to have started on the inside of the truck.

- Sylacauga, AL, USA

problem #52

Dec 012015

F-150

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. While driving and making a right turn, the vehicle lost power and stalled. The contact heard a beep sound prior to the failure. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to duplicate the failure or retrieve a fault code. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Bedford, VA, USA

problem #51

Jul 042015

F-150

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A number of wires leading from the body into the driver's side door have been cut/worn possibly due to contact with the inside of the door. The rubber and plastic parts meant to protect the wires were also cut/worn. This has led to complete failure of all electronics in the door including power lock, power windows, automatic shutoff of radio, door chime, keypad, and mirrors. Discussion with Ford dealer indicated that they have seen this problem in the past.

- Iowa City, IA, USA

problem #50

Mar 052015

F-150

  • 175,000 miles
On the morning of March 5th 2015 I started my truck to warm the inside and also melt the snow off my windshield. I got in the truck and backed out away from house. Due to having snow on the driveway I turned on the 4 wheel drive in high. My four wheel drive would not work so I tried to swicth to 2 wheel drive back to four wheel drive but the 4 wheel drive would not turn on. I grabbed the gear shift to put the truck back in park when I noticed my gear shift could float to park to 1st gear freely and would not shift. At this time I noticed smoke starting to come inside cab from under dash and thru the vents. I jumped out and opened the hood. A 1 foot section of a wiring harnes mounted to the firewall had caught fire. I made attempts to put out the fire but within a few seconds the engine compartment was engulfed. In 2 to 3 minutes the entire inside of the cab was also completely on fire. My wife who was watching me immediatly called 911 to get the fire department. After 3 minutes the truck was already a total lose. Due to the truck being only 60' from my house and burning so hot I was concerned about my house catching fire. Two gentleman from the rescue squad arrived but it was too late for anything to be done. I was able to get a backhoe and put the fire out with snow. Unfortunately I had liability insurance only which meant a total lose. I never dreamed that the truck would burn up sitting in my driveway!!!! I know there have been some recalls for F150 due to fire hazards with the cruise control for other year model close to 2005. A vehicle catching fire while its sitting in a driveway running is totally unacceptable. The truck was in excellent shape and had no after market parts or work performed. I have no ideal why the wiring harness caught fire.

- Cadiz, KY, USA

problem #49

Apr 222015

F-150 8-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
I started the truck and then turned on the rear defrost, which I rarely use. It was about 55 degrees outside. After about 2 minutes I heard a hissing noise that lasted for about 5 seconds and then a heard loud pop and then the windshield shattered. Many other articles on the web indicate that this is a known defect with the rear defrost. I called Ford and they will not offer and compensation to have it fixed even though it is a known issue. My daughter was in the back seat and got glass in her hair.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #48

Feb 102015

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have had our 2005 F-150 king ranch for about 10 years now. Today (Feb 10,2015), my wife and our one year babe were heading to the post office the truck displayed a message reading "engine failsafe mode". the truck lost all power, no steering, and it stall on the highway going about 65 mph. Luckily, she said there were vehicles behind her and she pulled it over with no steering and the engine dead. My wife then sat on the highway for about 10 minutes and tried to start the vehicle, which started and there were no "engine failsafe mode" on display anymore. Know with-in the last year our truck has had the check engine light and the ABS light has come on and off every other month. I have checked the fuses and had replace a few but at time it is not the fuse. I've had the interior dim in and out and at times it does not work at all. By reading the F150.net forum found out the a wire that splits into two wires was corroded on the passenger side floor board, it seems that condensation or water come in and stays in that pocket were that wiring harness goes thru. I am now terrified that truck will shut off on the highway again with my family and I in it. This seems to be a life threatening problem. I have read thru some forums and it seems that people have called the Ford dealership and the service department claimed they have never heard of this problem, but can work on it if they bring it in. But that Ford claim that they fix the problem and the people says that the problem still exist. Hope some one can help or assist us in fixing this issue not just for our family but for others too. Sincerely [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sanford, NC, USA

problem #47

Mar 142011

F-150

  • 65,000 miles
2005 F150 goes into "fail safe mode" and shuts down while driving. It only occurred once per year starting at 65,000 miles, but now happens every 3-4 weeks at 114,000 miles. Once the engine shuts down, I put the transmission into neutral while coasting and it restarts easily. The engine light illuminates for 3-4 days and then turns off. In researching the issue, it seems to be a rather common problem with this vehicle and is usually caused by a faulty throttle body. Ford states that they are aware of the problem.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #46

Nov 032014

F-150

  • 111,000 miles
Over the past 5 years I have had my truck go into fail safe mode. My truck will flash fail safe and I will lose all power to the vehicle. I'm able to coast to a stop. I have been able to re start my vehicle and continue driving.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #45

Jun 152012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
After the recall to prevent a short between horn and air bag was completed in 2011 a short time thereafter in the middle of the night the horn came on by itself in the locked vehicle with no one in it. After trying everything I could think of like starting the engine and pushing the horn button numerous times. I was about ready to disconnect the battery when in anger I hit the center of the steering wheel very hard with my hand and the horn stopped blowing. From that day on the airbag warning light stays on when the engine runs. And the horn blows half as loud as it originally did when activated. Ford says its my problem because the recall was already completed. Only problem here is that their was no problem at all until after the recall work.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #44

Oct 012014

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford F-150. Consumer writes in regards to spark plugs and coils problem. The consumer stated the vehicle stalled, upon acceleration. The consumer also stated the check engine light illuminated and flashed when a spark plus misfired.

- Park Falls, WI, USA

problem #43

Jun 022014

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2005 Ford F-150. Consumer writes in regards to engine fail safe mode malfunctions causes vehicle to lose all power, brakes and steering. Consumer has different vehicle complaint in artemis. The dealer investigated the complaint, but was unable to identify the cause.

- Linden, NJ, USA

problem #42

Sep 092013

F-150

  • 74,800 miles
I started the truck and the all the initial before engine starts lights came on, tachometer went to zero and there was a warning buzzer. I rapped the top of the dash after trying three restarts where nothing changed. The truck normalized and I drove it. I do not often drive the truck, so about three weeks later I was headed to Pennsylvania and was about to enter the hrbt tunnel when the instrument cluster went to key on status (no tachometer or speedometer function, multitude of warning lights and warning buzzer). So at 55mph I hit the top of the dash and the instrument cluster briefly came back on then shut off again. I repeated the blow on the top of the dash and the problem went away for about five hours and then came back again. It's quite disconcerting to have the speedometer shut down while driving and the rest of the instrument cluster not function. This continues to happen and Ford's fix is for me to have to spend approximately $900 to completely replace the cluster.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #41

Jan 072014

F-150

  • 175,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. The contact stated that whenever he came to stop, the gears would engage independently and make a loud noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times where the technician diagnosed that the alternator was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The contact mentioned that he had to replace the alternator a total of four times. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 175,000 and the current mileage was 190,000.

- Pardeeville, WI, USA

problem #40

Feb 282014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
I purchases a used 2005 Ford F150 about 5 months ago. Today, Feb 28, 2014, I was leaving my neighborhood and my trucks display flashed an message reading "engine failsafe mode". my truck lost all power, no steering and died. Luckily I was on surface streets and pulled it over with no power steering and engine dead. The mechanics cannot find the cause and the engine will start but continues to turn off and the vehicle's computer shuts down. Online I read of this happening on the freeway at 65 mph. Iam now terrified that my truck will shut off on the freeway with my children in the truck with me. This seems to be a life threatening problem. I called a Ford dealership and the service dept claimed they never heard of this but can work on it if I bring it in. What is my recourse? thank you.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #39

Feb 012013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Dash electrical relay issue, paint peeling tailgate, transmission shutter going into overdrive 45 mph.

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #38

Sep 162010

F-150

  • 83,490 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, all of the gauges and lights on the instrument panel began to malfunction. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileage was 83,490.

- Westfield, PA, USA

problem #37

Aug 132013

F-150

  • 145,875 miles
Ok so we bought a Ford F150 2005 on Friday of last week which would be 08/09/2013. The man assured us this was a safe and reliable vehicle. So we start our trip across the country to look at a new house in eastern North Carolina. We stopped in Arizona to see my girlfriends mom. Sur enough the truck would not start the next day. We take it to a mechanic and he says its the fuel pump so he changes it out we drive it 2 blocks down the street back to her parents house turn off the truck load it up with our stuff and it will not start again. So the mechanic comes back over says ok it must be the fuel modulator. So he changes out the fuel modulator and sure enough it worked we drove it two blocks turned it off, reloaded the truck again. Again it would not start back up, apparently the new modulator killed the brand new fuel pump we just paid $500 for so now we have to get another fuel pump as well. I am not happy after doing research there is thousands of people having the same problem and if anything like us we now have paid nearly $1000 to fix a problem that could easily be changed by Ford mounting the fuel modulate under the hood near the engine like the rest of the modulators. Would you please look into this as soon as you can this is so uncalled for a lot of us work to hard for our money and our vehicles to have them break down with the same problem every time we stop. Included is a link to video where the guy explains the problem and all the people who have had the problem as well. www.youtube.com/watch?V=_2E9kmf1_kg.

- Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #36

May 262013

F-150

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph and depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that he replaced the battery prior to the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000.

- Hyde Park, MA, USA

problem #35

May 112013

F-150

  • 86,500 miles
Rear passenger window regulator stopped working and window fell into door. Had my daughter done this while driving she would have been scared by the loud popping noise and potentially crashed into object injuring herself and or others. This is a common problem and Ford needs to recall the trucks with the plastic parts and falty mechanism. Search the web and there are hundreds of vehicles with the same issue. Years 2004-2006. Ford needs to recall!!

- Moraga, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?