Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,607 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford F-150 Owner Comments

problem #20

Jul 082006

F-150 8-cyl

  • 111,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Truck ran rough with have smoke from exhaust. Took truck in at 41,000 to fix a bad coil assembly, then at 99,000 to fix a bad coil assembly, injector and O2 sensor. At 111,000 miles two more injectors went bad causing two rods to be bent along with another bad O2 sensor. Same problem as the 2005 Ford that had a recall, but not the 2006. Total estimate to fix truck $7500 plus tax! Ford knows about problem but wont recall.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #19

Jun 302011

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the spark plugs fractured when a mechanic attempted to remove and replace them. An authorized dealer was notified and informed the contact that he would have to pay additional costs to have the vehicle repaired due to the spark plugs breaking. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 93,000...updated 09/15/11 updated 09/26/11

- Summerland Key, FL, USA

problem #18

Mar 262011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 59,014 miles
I have a 2006 Ford F-150 and upon removing the spark plugs at 60,00 miles, which aren't due to be done until 100,00 miles, the spark plugs broke off in the head. I have been a certified mechanic in the past so I know how to remove spark plugs. Ford should be issuing a recall on this problem. The problem is discussed a lot on internet sites and well documented to be a problem.

- Stewartstown, PA, USA

problem #17

Mar 032011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 68,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down the road the threads in the right rear cylinder head of my 2006 Ford F150 5.4L Triton V8 failed causing spark plug ejection and coil damage. It is currently being towed to the repair shop and, according to the dealership, the whole cylinder head will have to be replaced. It is unknown, at this time, what the dealership will cover and what my expenses will be.

- Bartlesville, OK, USA

problem #16

Nov 222010

F-150

  • 157,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F150. While driving approximately 55 mph the engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the oxygen sensors needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. After the vehicle was repaired, the check engine light illuminated again. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the failure was caused by the oxygen sensors, which needed to be replaced a second time. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 157,000.

- Marshalltown, IA, USA

problem #15

Feb 012010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F150. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph the vehicle stalled. She was able to restart it and two attempts. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they were unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 52,000 and current mileage was 95,429. Updated 03/16/11 updated 04/25/11

- Wimberley, TX, USA

problem #14

Dec 202010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 99,464 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a Ford F150 2006 truck. I took the truck in for the 100K service per the factory specs for a tune up/changing of the spark plugs. The spark plugs are defective and build carbon around the bottom and when they are removed, the ceramic bottoms break off into the cylinder of the engine.

- Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

problem #13

Oct 222010

F-150

  • 98,000 miles
I have a 2006 F-150 with 99,000 miles. The engine developed a miss when under heavy load. Checking the scheduled maintenance recommend by Ford, the spark plugs need to be changed at 100,000 miles. I tried to change the plugs myself and broke the first one. I stopped at that point and had it towed to the dealer. They broke five additional plugs and the vehicle was down over night. Ford has issued technical service bulletins on changing the spark plugs. This is a known issue to Ford. When I contacted Ford they said there was nothing they can due since its out of warranty. I was stuck with a $300 labor bill which did not include $75 for spark plugs and $98 for the tow. Ford needs to be held accountable for there engineering mistake.

- Canonsburg, PA, USA

problem #12

Aug 032010

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F150. The contact stated there was an abnormal noise coming from the vehicle rear when performing a turn. The vehicle was taken to a local repair facility where repairs were made to the vehicle. The failure recurred within two weeks. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 12/01/10. The consumer stated there was still a noise coming from the vehicle. Also, the vehicle would not start on several occasions. Updated 12/14/10

- Johnstown, OH, USA

problem #11

Jun 042010

F-150

  • 68,000 miles
During routine maintenance spark plug change six of the oem installed sparkplugs broke off in the cylinder head of the engine. Ford dealer admits to having problems with this design engine and states this occurs often. Ford dealer stated that Ford admits an issue with this design sparkplug and has a tsb detailing the procedure for broken plug removal but has issued no formal recall. Dealer advised that Ford also has a "special tool" designed for this 5.4 3 valve series motor that is engine specific to remove the broken piece of the sparkplug because this happens so often. All but one of the broken plugs was able to be removed using a specialty tool purchased at an automotive parts store. Ford dealer was unable to get the last broken plug extracted from cylinder head with their "special tool". engine needed to be dissembled and cylinder head removed so that the broken piece could be extracted. This repair cost $1708 to complete. Along with $85 diagnostic fee to tell me they could not get the broken piece out. The repair took two weeks to have completed. I feel that Ford should issue a recall for this issue and they should reimburse me for my costs due to their faulty design flaw.

- Cheshire, MA, USA

problem #10

Jun 252010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. While attempting to replace the spark plugs in the engine, the contact noticed that four of the spark plugs were wedged into the head gasket and could not be removed. The vehicle was not diagnosed and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages was 46,000. Updated 11/08/10 * bf updated 11/10/10

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #9

Feb 192010

F-150

  • 59,339 miles
My 2006 F-150 with the 4.6L motor ejected a spark plug from the cylinder without warning. I went to crank the vehicle on 2/19/10, and there was a horrendous knocking or tapping sound. I was on my way out of town, so I did not have time to do a thorough check of what could be wrong. I shut the vehicle off and left it sitting until I returned on 2/21/2010. Upon looking, I noticed that the second cylinder in from the firewall on the passenger side had ejected the plug from the cylinder well. When I went to try to put the plug back in, it would not tighten. I jiggled the plug and ratchet extension and noticed that the threaded area to accept the plug was much larger than the stock plug. I understand that Ford has used many excuses as to why this happens, but I assure you that I have purchased no new parts. This vehicle is now unusable, and is my primary transportation to and from work. There is obviously an issue with these motors and ejecting plugs, so my question is why has Ford not stepped up to address this issue?

- Lumberton, TX, USA

problem #8

Nov 022009

F-150

  • 69,000 miles
I purchased a Ford F150 truck with 65,000 miles from a Ford dealer. After monitoring the engine oil over the first 3 months I took it to the Ford dealer 2 times for an engine oil consumption test. This truck uses 1 quart of oil per thousand miles being driven. It does not leak oil, it burns it. After contacting my local Ford dealer as well as Ford Motor Company, they stated that this is "normal." This is not normal for a 2006 vehicle. In a time when the United States is concerned with global warming, this vehicle is producing emissions that are way out of the ordinary. I will be stuck with a vehicle that cannot pass emissions tests when they become mandatory in this area. If you are not the Agency to contact, please refer me to said Agency.

- Subury, PA, USA

problem #7

Apr 062009

F-150

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle began to shake. The contact exited the highway and noticed that the check engine indicator was illuminated. The contact pulled over to check the fluids and tires, but there was no evidence as to what caused the failure. The vehicle was restarted and began shaking again. The vehicle was taken to a Ford dealer and they stated that a spark plug blew out and ejected itself from the engine, which damaged the cylinder head. The dealer inserted a helical coil to the head of the cylinder, but it was not a full repair. The vehicle was taken to another dealer and they are waiting for her to decide whether or not to break down the engine for further diagnosis. The contact has a warranty that can be used for this repair, but the warranty department is denying this repair. The failure and current mileages were 67,000.

- El Paso , TX, USA

problem #6

Sep 242007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F150. The contact stated that the air bag light continues to illuminate, the vehicle shuts off and has to be restarted, the fuel gauge displays incorrect readings, and the headlights illuminate and dim without warning. The current mileage was 31,112 and failure mileage was 20,000.

- Rockdale, TX, USA

problem #5

Oct 202006

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Vehicles misfiring and stubbling during moderate accelerations and cruising when a load is put on motor. ( going up a hill, slight incline and passing).

- Heidelberg, MS, USA

problem #4

May 232007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,258 miles
While on interstate entrance ramp, 3 second delay in engine response and nearly rear ended by a semi tractor trailer. Months earlier, Ford dealership upgraded PCM to latest software due to hesitation in throttling (Ford was aware). Engine hard to start at times and it hesitated worst at hard throttle, while attempting to pass or enter highway speeds.

- Lenexa, KS, USA

problem #3

Jun 082006

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,032 miles
: the contact stated while traveling at various speeds, or while at a stop the vehicle stalls. The vehicle restarts each time. The dealership is unable to determine the problem, no codes are stored in the computer.

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #2

Mar 162006

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1 miles
When we purchased our new Ford truck it was making a rattling noise in the engine and we were informed that it was no major problem. Come to find out the engine needed to be replaced so the dealership keep the new truck and put in a new engine. When they delivered the truck a few weeks later it was making the same noise. So we had it taken back to the dealership and they had to get another engine to put in the truck because the second engine was not any good either. We bought the truck in March and did not even get to drive it until the end of April. It was in the shop for over 30 days and it had around 8 to 9 hundred miles put on it by the dealership.

- Three Rivers, TX, USA

problem #1

Feb 252006

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 536 miles
: the contact stated while driving 25 mph the engine stalled without warning. The dealership inspected the vehicle and was unable to duplicate the problem. The manufacturer was alerted however no repairs were made.

- Pomona, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?