Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,454 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford F-150 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Sep 142011


  • 48,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the steering shaft exhibited excessive rust, making the vehicle difficult to steer at all speeds. The contact cleaned and lubricated the steering shaft but the service only remedied the issue temporarily. The contact did not take the vehicle to a dealer. The contact called the manufacturer and offered the contact a new part to purchase. The contact did not purchase the part. The failure mileage was 48,000.

- Dickson City, PA, USA

problem #24

Jul 112012


  • 60,000 miles
My 2006 Ford F150 has the positraction rear end. Its went out around 25000 to 30000 miles, while the truck was still under warranty and the dealer fixed it no charge. Now the truck has a little over 62000 miles and the rear end has gone out again. Almost exactly the same amount of miles on the rear end. Warranty was up at 60000 miles so its no longer covered. I think this should be looked into as a recall because this is the second time its happened on the same truck.

- Campbell, MN, USA

problem #23

Jan 242012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 64,900 miles
While approaching an intersection, about to make a right at the light, (I was driving about 20mph) on 12/24/12 (with my two children and husband in the truck) the vehicle beeps and it displays "engine safe mode...low oil pressure" then the power steering cuts off and the whole vehicle shut down! I am frantic at this point because I have no clue what is going on! I was in the middle of traffic and had to cut the car off and crank it up again. Luckily I didn't get rear ended or in an accident. That same day I went and got my oil change because it was over due. Well on 1/4/13 the same thing happens as I am turning into the parking lot of mcdonald's. I get the same error message as before, the steering wheel locks up, and truck cuts off! this so extremely dangerous. I looked this issue up online and see that it appears to be a common issue with the 2006 F-150 and the Expedition. My bother-in-law, who also has a similar F-150 to ours, said the same thing has happened to him twice.

- Sumter, SC, USA

problem #22

Mar 132010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


Steering became very hard to turn. Would not center after turning, would lock on wet roads. I had to turn the steering wheel by hand to get it back to center. I checked to find the U joints on steering shaft where rusted so I lubed with oil. Steering became much better. I went to a local Ford dealer they said there was no recalls and knew of no problems with the steering on the F150's. the Ford dealer wanted me to let them take everything apart but said it could run into a lot of money depending on what they find. So for over three years I've been oiling the joints on the shaft and living with the problem. Waiting for total failure to sue Ford for poor design of the steering column shaft joints.

- Hampton, NJ, USA

problem #21

Mar 232011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns 2006 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, the power steering failed and seized. The contact then drove to his residence and added power steering fluid but the fluid leaked out of the vehicle. The vehicle was then taken to an authorized dealer where they could not duplicate the failure. The dealer stated that the power steering was repaired. After several months, the power steering failed again. The vehicle was not completely repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 87,000. Updated 07/06/12 the consumer took the vehicle to a repair a shop and a diagnosis revealed the rack and pinion needed to be replaced. Also, the power steering hose was replaced twice, the O-ring, power steering pump and power steering line were replaced. Updated 08/08/12

- Glasgow, KY, USA

problem #20

Sep 152011


  • 25,148 miles
The steering shaft is siezihg causing the wheel not to center it self and steers hard. It does not self center after cornering. You can't tell if your wheel is turned on slippery roads. I called Ford Motor Company and they told me it's not a safety issue. I'm a licensed mechanic and this hard steering would not pass a motor vehicle safety inspection in our shop.I think fomoco should fix this. As far as I'm aware it is only the 2004-2008 model trucks.

- Moore's Mills, ME, USA

problem #19

May 032010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles


When driving vehicle at all different speeds, steering becomes difficult and wheel resists turning. After turn is made wheel does not return by itself but needs to be forced back with great resistance. Condition went away for a month but then returned in October of 2011, and has been difficult since. Very dangerous.

- East Moriches, NY, USA

problem #18

Apr 282011


  • 0 miles
This is the same thing that happens to mine as someone else had already posted.. power steering becomes 'hard'. steering wheel suddenly becomes stiff and difficult to handle. Hard to turn. Choppy while turning and snaps back in increments instead of a smooth, easy return to center. Feels like manual steering then returns to power steering. Occurs at any speed, very dangerous at higher speeds. Makes the vehicle steer 'choppy' and unpredictable. Have stopped using the vehicle, causes a dangerous situation while driving and trying to maintain control of the truck.

- Lowell, MI, USA

problem #17

Nov 012011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Power steering becomes 'hard'. steering wheel suddenly becomes stiff and difficult to handle. Hard to turn. Choppy while turning and snaps back in increments instead of a smooth, easy return to center. Feels like manual steering then returns to power steering. Occurs at any speed, very dangerous at higher speeds. Makes the vehicle steer 'choppy' and unpredictable. Have stopped using the vehicle, causes a dangerous situation while driving and trying to maintain control of the truck.

- Honesdale, PA, USA

problem #16

Jul 262011


  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. The contact stated while driving approximately 60 mph, the steering wheel began to shake excessively. The contact also stated that there was smoke coming from under the hood. The vehicle was safely driven home, where it was inspected by an independent mechanic. The mechanic stated that the steering shaft, center caps and the calipers needed to be replaced. The mechanic also stated that the center hub cap burnt due to the calipers fracturing and detaching from the vehicle.the vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000.

- Woonsocket, RI, USA

problem #15

Jul 152011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 62,000 miles


Power steering failure, steering became hard at 10 and 2, replaced the ps pump, problem still exists but at 9 and 3 now, steering so hard while turning that it could cause a wreck. After reading online thinking now that it is in the steering shaft. Many people have had the same trouble and says they lubricated the part and it got better. I just don't want to wreck while driving with my 4 children. Would take it to Ford but afraid they will say things are wrong that are not...don't want it to turn into a money gimmick. Extremely hard to turn from dead stop. Still trying to figure the problem out one part at a time....62,000 approx.

- Jonben, WV, USA

problem #14

May 012011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Steering shaft assembly binding causing serious safety issue. Vehicle has 37,000 miles currently. I paid Ford dealer to inspect the vehicle and they state the steering shaft assembly was "binding". it was reported that the part was on a "national backorder". when I contacted Ford they would not assist with the repair, only make a note in "my file". serious safety issue and the need for a recall needs to be investigated.

- Elmore, OH, USA

problem #13

Feb 012011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Sometime in February 2011 I noticed the steering in my 2006 Ford F-150 to be getting very tight and extremely hard to steer. Sometimes it would get better others it was worse. When making a turn the steering wheel would never return on its own. I took the truck to the dealer I purchased vehicle for a new control module and explained my steering problem they flushed the fluid the vehicle seemed better for a week and gradually got worse. On 05/31/2011 I again took the truck to the dealer. A couple days later they said it was the something to do with steering shaft binding and the part would be in on Friday 06/04/2011. When I spoke with them again they said the part was now on backorder and they also had 3 other trucks at the dealer with the same problem. Could it be that this is a widespread problem and that is why the parts are backordered or worse Ford knows there is a problem and is trying to figure it out while I sit home with no vehicle. Serious safety issue.

- Middletown, NY, USA

problem #12

May 102006


  • 15,000 miles
Steering wheel shimmies at 50-70mph. Have had tires rotated, tires replaced, front end aligned, brake rotors replaced still the shimmy is there and have been told that the big tires 18"rims 235/75 may partially been the problem. What" why would Ford use a tire that is too big" and cause the steering wheel to shake and shimmy. Have had an independent shop look at truck and can find nothing wrong, but I have never had a vehicle have such a noticeable shimmy in the steering wheel. Very unsettling feeling.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #11

Oct 302010


  • 58,345 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F150. While driving approximately 10-15 mph the steering wheel became very difficult to turn and the vehicle was also difficult to drive. The failure had occurred for approximately 2 weeks. The vehicle was not taken to an authorized dealer or a local mechanic. He called the manufacturer and was advised that there were no recalls and that the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 58,345 and the current mileage was 58,622.

- Wilkes Berry, PA, USA

problem #10

Jul 152010


  • 47,052 miles
TL. the contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. The contact stated the power steering malfunctioned causing damage to the rack and pinion. The contact stated while driving at 15 mph the vehicle becomes difficult to turn. The contact called the manufacturer and they informed the contact that the vehicle is out of warranty so there is nothing they can do. The contact has not taken the vehicle to the dealer at this. The contact stated the manufacturer should issue a recall because this is a major safety issue. The failure mileage was 47,052.

- Middleburg, PA, USA

problem #9

Mar 032010


  • 56,000 miles
Loss of power steering.

- Minier, IL, USA

problem #8

May 052009


  • 35,000 miles
Steering got hard, wouldn't return to center, nearly put truck into ditch after turning out of driveway.....thought power steering was inop...seems the coupli ng was seized said it happens all the time...I believe this is a serious safety was covered under an extended warranty, but still cost me the deductible, plus as it was failing, my driving probably seemed erratic to anyone viewing the struggle to get vehicle straightened out after a turn....I believe this is a recallable item.... steering defective.

- Marengo, IL, USA

problem #7

Apr 122009


  • 85,000 miles
2006 Ford F-150, when making a turn while driving, the steering wheel gets very stiff, then loosens up every half turn, occasionally binding up to the point of not being able to steer at all. Upon inspection, found the steer shaft universal binds up. Has been greased several times, works fine for a week, and then starts binding up again. Requires great force to turn and avoid accidents in turns. If universal breaks, all steering control will be lost while turning.

- Marion, OH, USA

problem #6

Nov 162007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. While driving 50-70 mph, the steering wheel began to shake. The dealer recommended that the tires be replaced. The contact changed the tires, but the failure continued. He feels that the vehicle is very unsafe and difficult to drive. The current mileage was 29,190 and failure mileage was 23,000. Updated 01/05/2009 lj the consumer stated over the past 5 months he has experienced an ongoing problem with a shaking and shimmy of the vehicle at speeds of 50 mph. The dealer replaced the front rotors which stopped the front of the vehicle from shaking. Updated 01/05/09.

- New Rochelle, NY, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?