Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,046 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford F-150 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Feb 262016

F-150

  • 72,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought new in April 2010, Ford xlt150. Now at 73K mi. Last two weeks. Could not start twice after filling up. Had to keep flooring vehicle to crank over.hi performance battery is two mths old. Died at red light three times. Died at yield sign twice.died at bank atm once. Lost steering control when engine died coming out of yield sign. Luckily hit no one.took it to Ford dealership, asked about recall notice or if others had similar problems. Negative response on both. Told them thousands of same problem posted on internet. They told me many people just post stuff. Many posters said Ford dealers computers showed no problem when truck is hooked up.taking it to an independent mechanic shop. Too dangerous to keep driving. Will injure someone and myself, or worse. Will be notifying Ford.

- Ponchatoula, LA, USA

problem #24

Feb 022016

F-150

  • 66,600 miles
2010 Ford F150 stalls when going slow, and turning left. The oil light came on and I lost all power I had to put in park and restart. Took about 5 tries for the truck to restart. It did the same thing again about five minutes later while making another left turn. Also, died when I was sitting at a light preparing to turn right.

- Buna, TX, USA

problem #23

May 212015

F-150

  • 102,000 miles
I live in a metropolitan area where there is always a high volume of traffic and losing power of a vehicle is a dangerous situation. Driving in 5:00 rush hour traffic and accelerating from a red light when my Ford truck entered into a "limp home" mode (wrench icon and oil lamp appeared) it stalled out. I was able to coast into a parking lot even though I had no power steering or brakes. Eventually, I was able to start my vehicle. My truck drove fine but now and then had a hesitation to start. About a week later, it stalled again; this time it did not start. I was a block from my office and we pushed it back. I had it towed to a local shop and was told it was the fuel pump. I work in outside sales and had to have it replaced $700. The truck drove ok for about a month, but still hesitated on starting. In June, once again it stalled. I took it back to the shop and they could find nothing wrong. July 9th, I was driving about 55 mph when I came to a signal light and stopped. The light turned green, I begin my left hand turn and the truck stalled. I had it towed to Ford dealer. They are saying that now it is the fuel pump battery junction box, another $2500 and it will take after labor day before I get my truck back because there are no parts available!!! rent a car for 2 months on top of that!!!

- Irving , TX, USA

problem #22

Mar 152015

F-150 8-cyl

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While slowing for a stop engine shut down. No engine lights or warnings were displayed. Steering locked up. Truck restarted with no problem. Very dangerous.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #21

Dec 122014

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Leaving red light, truck stalled. Oil light came on, lost power steering, brake. Was able to coast at an angle to the side. Could have caused an accident or traffic jam. Put truck in park, waited a minute, turned back on and gave it gas. Ran fine after that. Took to dealership next day. They said would not be any way to know what happened without pulling engine apart. Suggested multi point inspection and tune up. Did not mention this issue occurring previously or the numerous complaints of this issue online. They found a dusty air intake sensor that could have caused the problem. Changed spark plugs and performed tune up & oil change. Incident happened again leaving gas station pump on Dec 29, 2014. When restarted, it cranked several times but wouldn't fire up. Tried 3 times before successful start. Ran fine after that. Afraid a stall at high speed or when pulling my horse and trailer will cause major accident. Have seen complaints of fuel purge valve or throttle body butterfly valve causing this. Needs to be addressed by Ford.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #20

Sep 162014

F-150

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 35 mph and attempting to apply the brakes, the vehicle hesitated to stop and the power steering failed. The vehicle stalled, but was able to immediately be restarted. The failure occurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 49,000.

- West Palm Beach , FL, USA

problem #19

Mar 192013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I started my truck on a cold morning and no more then 10 seconds after I started it my power steering line exploded off and power steering fluid went every where. Since March of 2013 it has come off two more times December 2013 and January 2014. I've looked at other F-150 motors and we have the same set up, so I'm not sure why mine keep exploding off. Thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Madison, FL, USA

problem #18

Oct 162013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 24,986 miles
I was involved in a low-speed 45 miles a hour front end collision. I was in a Ford F-150 4 door 2-wheel drive. My seat belt worked great. The air bag went off but did not hit me in the face. The front of the truck was crushed badly but with no fluid leaks. After the wrecker pull my front bumper free from my front tires I was able to drive the truck back home about 100 miles. All system worked great. The truck showed that the Ford safety system worked well. I had no injuries except for my left hand. And that is the complaint. Why would Ford or ntsb allow a Ford design that not only can help save a life but for sure will injure the very person they are trying to save. Being a engineer myself I believe they could design the tear pattern, which is the problem, on the steering wheel air bag so that it did not fly open left & right and inflect a severe blunt force injury to my thumb by the Ford emblem. The injury is just like I was hit with a hammer on my thumb. It did not break my thumb but a severe skin break and bruise that took 2 weeks to heal. I have pictures if that would be of help. Have Ford engineering call me and I will show them how to fix the problem. I do not like to be injured while you are trying to save my life. Ford can do both. Save my life and not injure me at the same time. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Kilgore, TX, USA

problem #17

Feb 082011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 1,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated that he was experiencing a recurring failure with the rear doors. The warning light indicating that the rear doors were ajar was continuously illuminating without the contact engaging the doors. The rear doors were off track and the dealer replaced the doors four times in an attempt to correct the failure. In addition, the power steering fluid line was corroded and needed to be replaced. The contact also stated that the battery failed and needed to be replaced as well. All of the failures occurred within the first 20,000 miles driven on the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 1,500 and the current mileage was 20,000.

- Tanonsburg, PA, USA

problem #16

Nov 052012

F-150

  • 22,000 miles
While breaking to make right hand turn engine stalled. First indication was truck was impossible to steer. I was able to stop truck in the middle of the intersection. At a higher speed this would have been deadly. Ford dealer claimed to have never heard of the problem even though an internet search shows thousands of such incidents, many of them reported to this Agency. Dealer was unable to find a cause, although the manager said it was likely the throttle body but he could not replace a part under warranty unless it was positively known to be defective. I was sent on my way to risk my life in an unsafe vehicle.

- Crystal Lake, IL, USA

problem #15

Oct 152012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 38,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Discovered power steering out of fluid- refilled and noticed it runs out every day- took to dealer and discovered bad hose- on backorder for two months- have to refill every day and pray that it doesn't fail me going down the road- steering loss is not a good thing in my book- this is a two year old truck and the lack of parts is a serious problem to me as I have to drive the truck daily-

- Betahny, OK, USA

problem #14

Aug 042012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 92,150 miles
For no apparent reason power steering pump made laboring noise when wheel turned. Observed leaking power steering hose. Diagnosed by Ford dealer as such and could not repair due to a national backorder of the needed hose and neither Ford or dealer could say when the part would be available. Vehicle is under extended warranty however the third party warranty company wouldn't warrant repair using a locally fabricated hose because fabricator would not warrant part for 12 months therefore I am faced with paying for entire cost of repair by dealer. Neither dealer nor Ford would own up to paying for the repair or rental of a car while my truck is in shop.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #13

Apr 092012

F-150

  • 53,000 miles
This F-150 pick up truck was purchased in April 2010 as new. Everything was ok until April 2012. The truck stalled without warning when it slowed down or made turns. The engine died and no power, no steering. I was able to restart it and sent the truck to the dealer shop right away. On the way to the dealer, it stalled couple of more times. Luckily, no other cars were behind, otherwise I could not imagine what would happen. The dealer could not duplicate the problem or get a code. I checked online and noticed many 2010 F150 owners had same problems. Some of people mentioned to change throttle body, so I told the dealer shop and got throttle body changed. During the next 2 months, it did not happen again. However, on July 5th 2012, it stalled again when I made turns in the local. I sent the truck back to the dealer shop again and they still did not know how to fix the problem, since it happened intermittent. Now I am afraid of driving my truck. Absolutely no drive on highways. The people have already complained the 2010 model that the trucks stalled on the highway at >65 mph. It is a severe safety issue. I am very frustrated since the truck is not living to what it is suppose to be.

- Danbury, CT, USA

problem #12

May 212012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Engine stalls at low speeds causing loss of steering and braking. There was no check engine light or error code when this first occurred. After the engine had stalled for about 32-35 times, the check engine light finally came on. I took the truck to a local mechanic shop to read the code which indicated that the evap system was blocked. My dealer determined that a solenoid in the fuel evap. System had failed. As a result the fuel tank was collapsed by vacuum because there was no secondary tank vent. This is dangerous! there should be a secondary vent or a pressure/vacuum sensor to prevent the tank from being collapsed. Note: The tank was collapsed so much so, as to damage the pump/level sending unit assembly.

- Lake, MS, USA

problem #11

May 082012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
On May 8th 2012, my truck stalled while I was merging into traffic at approx. 55 mph. The vehicle was brand new when I purchased it in may of 2009 from gulf coast auto Ford in angleton, Texas. So, I had them tow it to their shop for repairs. The mass air flow sensor was replaced on May 9th, and I drove the vehicle until Friday, May 11th, when the same problem occurred. The vehicle stalled at traffic speeds, died, and then couldn't be restarted! this second incident also resulted in my having the vehicle towed to the dealership where I am told that they can't find the problem!! it now starts after the stalling, but not until a period of hours passes. What can I do" this is a serious safety issue" Ford is telling the dealership to put an on-board data recorder on my truck that they cannot even get from Ford! I only have 52000 miles on this vehicle and have cared for it meticulously.

- Lake Jackson, TX, USA

problem #10

Apr 112012

F-150

  • 28,600 miles
I was driving down the highway around February 6th 2011 and my 2010 F150 stalled on me. I was able to crank it back up and keeping moving. This was not the first time this happened. It was the worst one seeing has how I was doing maybe 60. I took it to the Ford dealership and they said they could find a problem while driving the truck, so downloaded some new software to my computer and said that should fix the issue. On April 11th the same thing happened again, I was driving in a parking lot and my truck stalled. I wasn't able to crank the truck back up for almost 30 minutes. When I was able to start it back up there are a burning smell coming from the truck. I this time had the truck towed to Ford and spoke to them today and they stated they again found nothing wrong and couldn't recreate the problem. The have contacted Ford hq for answers. My worry is that I am going to get in a crash because of this problem. I have done some looking around on the internet and found a lot of people having this issue, and nothing seems to be getting done.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #9

Feb 062012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 26,512 miles
I was driving down the highway around February 6th 2011 and my 2010 F150 stalled on me. I was able to crank it back up and keeping moving. This was not the first time this happened. It was the worst one seeing has how I was doing maybe 60. I took it to the Ford dealership and they said they could find a problem while driving the truck, so downloaded some new software to my computer and said that should fix the issue. On April 11th the same thing happened again, I was driving in a parking lot and my truck stalled. I wasn't able to crank the truck back up for almost 30 minutes. When I was able to start it back up there are a burning smell coming from the truck. I this time had the truck towed to Ford and spoke to them today and they stated they again found nothing wrong and couldn't recreate the problem. The have contacted Ford hq for answers. My worry is that I am going to get in a crash because of this problem. I have done some looking around on the internet and found a lot of people having this issue, and nothing seems to be getting done.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #8

Apr 052012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 29,600 miles
When declerating to a stop or stopped the engine will die. When I attempt a restart the engine will try to turn over for 10-15 seconds then stop. After 3 or 4 attemps and giving a little gas the truck will start. This has now happened 5 times to me in the past 2 weeks. I took the truck to Ford and they didnt return any codes so nothing repaired. They fit my truck with a recorder and I am suppose to press a button next time it dies. This seems to be a serious issue as I have seen dozens of posts with the same issue.

- Denton, TX, USA

problem #7

Aug 012011

F-150

  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated that on six or seven occasions, the steering wheel seized while driving at various speeds. The failure occurred on an intermittent basis. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 24,000.

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #6

Apr 052010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
I bought this car in March 2010. As soon I bought this I heard a sound when I make a turn. It's a sound when two metal make friction. I took the car for services in alberic colon Ford in December 2010. First they said that everything was good. After that ask for a supervisor that make a test drive with me he heard the sound and they keep a car for two weeks. After that as soon I took the car out I heard the sound. I didn't take the car back the car for services because I need a car to go to work. In August 2011 I took the car again to the service. Again they said that everything was good. I request another test drive with a supervisor and the mechanic they heard the sound and keep the car from September 6 2011 to October 6 2011. When the car was in the services sometime they call me and said that's they are making some test drive to know where it come from the sound. After a month they call me and said that Ford said that is something characteristic in this model. You donżżT have to be an engineer to know that when to metal make friction one of them going to fail. I hope when this happen I donżżT be driving at 65 mph, because I could get kill or kill somebody else. I hope you investigate this complaint and find what's wrong before anybody get kill. This is not normal I been driving for 28 years and I'm a 24 years experience state police here in puerto rico and I know when something go wrong the damage can made. Thanks in advance for this matter.

- San Juan, PR, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?