Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,075 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford F-150 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #192

Nov 012015

F-150 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While driving various speeds, the transmission made a strange noise and the vehicle jerked. When attempting to switch from reverse to forward, the front tires spun and the rear tires seemed to be locked. The vehicle failed to switch gears. The dealer was notified. The contact took the vehicle to a certified mechanic who diagnosed that the transmission sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000....updated 12/14/16 updated 12/20/16.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #191

Sep 162016

F-150

  • 111,000 miles
This vehicle was recalled recently for the following reason: Dearborn, Michigan Ford is recalling 201,900 vehicles in North America, including the 2011-'12 Ford F-150 and 2012 Ford Expedition to repair a transmission defect, the automaker said on Wednesday. The recall also includes the 2012 Ford mustang and Lincoln Navigator. The defect has been traced to an output speed sensor on the vehicle's transmission lead frame. "under certain conditions, the transmission controls could force a temporary downshift into first gear, " Ford said in a statement. "depending on the speed of the vehicle at the time of the downshift, the driver could experience an abrupt speed reduction that could cause the rear tires to slide or lock up. "this condition could result in loss of vehicle control, increasing the risk of a crash." Ford said it is aware of three accidents, but no reports of injuries, linked to the recall. Affected vehicles are equipped with a 6R80 transmission. The info above is copied from edmunds.com this problem happened to me this morning. Driving 68mph rear wheels locked up. Trucked fishtailed. Almost flipped it. A miracle I did not rollover, get rear ended or cause an accident. No recall fix available at this time per Ford. Are you kidding me? these vehicles should not be allowed to be driven until this issue is addressed and repaired. Almost kille D me and maybe others.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #190

Jul 112016

F-150

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V248000 (power train); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #189

Aug 202016

F-150

  • 163,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Experience an intermittent loss of the transmission output speed sensor (oss) signal to the powertrain control module, potentially resulting in a temporary, unintended downshift into first gear. An unintended downshift into first gear may occur causing the rear tires to slide or lock up. This has been going on since April 2011. Still no remedy. Too dangerous to drive.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #188

May 022016

F-150

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V248000 (power train) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 10/05/16

- Abington, VA, USA

problem #187

Aug 172016

F-150

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While driving, the tramsission downshifted to first gear from a higher gear. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V190000 (power train). The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #186

May 312016

F-150

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While driving various speed, the power control module suddenly downshifted from six to first gear. In addition, the rpms increased from seven to eight thousand rpms, which caused the rear wheels to lock up. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V248000 (power train) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 86,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bridgeton, NJ, USA

problem #185

Apr 012016

F-150

  • 85,000 miles
Vehicle has abrupt shift from 1st to second resulting in violet jerk, also from 6 to 5 or 5th to 4th. Numerous people online have same problem. Also using black stone labs fluid diagnostic has shown major wear in transmission. I'm seding in second test next week. Vehicle manufacturing date is 03/2011 this happens from 1st to second at very low speeds 5mph or less. And downshift bump at any speed but mostly between 40 to 30 mph. Jerk is enough to shake entire truck feels like someone hit you from behind.

- Joshua, TX, USA

problem #184

May 012016

F-150

  • 83,000 miles
We have several of the Ford F-150 with the recall of 16S19 but this one has experienced down shifting and coming to a complete stop in the middle of the road and almost causing a wreck several times to the point we have had to take it off the road for safety reasons. We have taken it to the dealership and was told that there is not a remedy for this problem and they do know when there will be one. We have called Ford customer service and was told the same thing mean while we have a truck that only has about 83,000 miles on it that cannot be driven and it was not bought to be yard art. If Ford cannot fix the problem they should at least give a loaner vehicle until they figure out how to fix it.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #183

Aug 102016

F-150

  • 61,300 miles
Since I've owned this vehicle new, I've had a number of problems related to acceleration. Vehicle would almost stall on hard acceleration when getting on the freeway. Dealer replaced spark plugs & boots, but condition was not completely resolved. Vehicle would still on occasion repeat the same problem. More recently when driving yesterday, the engine light started blinking, then became steady. Of greater concerned I got an engine light & poor acceleration. Took the vehicle to the dealer & dealer is telling me that the timing belt needs to be replaced at a cost of $2000+. vehicle had just turned 61000 miles. Dealer service agent tells me its not uncommon and could be caused by not getting the oil changed at recommended intervals. Vehicle has had regular oil changes at the dealer & other service facilities. Never heard of this & I think it's premature for a vehicle with 61000 miles to need the timing belt replaced. Never had this happen in 45+ years of driving.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #182

Jul 302016

F-150

  • 10 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on hwy when acceleration the vehicle looses power and I had to pull over and shut off the engine and re-start it, almost causing an accident. Then when driving on normal road conditions and accelerate the vehicle to pass, and the same thing happens, the engine miss fires, looses power and the check engine light is on since the first time it happened. Took the truck to the Ford dealer and they said it was "an ongoing problem with the ecoboost and the air charge cooler". they said the fix is to put a intercooler deflector (piece of plastic over the intercooler), change the spark plugs and do a vehicle software update witch is going to cost around $700 to fix. Outrageous cost for a tune up and a piece of plastic for something they know its a "ongoing problem" and don't want to have a recall. This is a safety issue, and they know about it but since the vehicle is out of warrantee I have to deal with it. Wonder how many others have this issue?! this is definitely the only and last Ford I will buy. This does not guarantees that its going to stop it from happening again. With this amount of money I could buy an aftermarket intercooler, do a complete tune up and still have money left.

- Byron, GA, USA

problem #181

Jun 082016

F-150

  • 99,000 miles
Trouble with the transmission gearing down while driving, I am sending in this complaint in case transmission goes out or causes me to have a wreck this will be on file. When I am running in regular speed the transmission will gear down without me doing anything, it does it itself.

- Milan, IN, USA

problem #180

Jul 192016

F-150

  • 60,128 miles
Truck will randomly shift from 5 gear to first gear while driving causing my wheels to lock up. Trucks has also ben shifting from 1st gear into 5th gear when starting up which will not allow the truck to accelerate.

- Genesee, PA, USA

problem #179

Jun 012016

F-150

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving at 60 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. In addition, the vehicle rolled backwards while the gear shifter was in the park position. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 16V248000 (power train). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle failure mileage was 70,000.

- Waynesboro, MS, USA

problem #178

Apr 052016

F-150

  • 51,250 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to reverse from the gear shifter several times, the instrument panel failed to illuminate for the gear in reverse, there was no illumination on the gear shifter, and the gear was difficult to change in reverse. Prior to the failure, the instrument panel lights illuminated for the gear shifter when changing gears. The failure continued to randomly progress. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 51,250.

- Falls Mills, VA, USA

problem #177

Oct 062015

F-150

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 50 mph, the transmission downshifted without warning. The intermittent failure became progressively worse over a period of time. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V248000 (power train). The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis but not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000......updated 08/11/16

- Waterloo, IL, USA

problem #176

Jun 302015

F-150

  • 56,000 miles
While driving down the highway about 55 mph the vehicle will down shift and the odometer will die and drop to zero, most of the indicators will have dashes instead of numbers. The truck will automatically slow down causing me to have to pull off the road to avoid an accident. I then have to turn the vehicle off and remove the key from ignition and restart the vehicle up again to reset all the gauges. This normally happens within the first 10 miles of driving the vehicle. This would only happen on a few occasions now it is happening more frequently. There was a recall issued around the 1st of July 2016 but I was told the software fix would not be ready until the 3 quarter of the year. Ford now wants to charge me $131 to diagnose the problem. I should not have to pay for it to be diagnosed if they already have a recall. I wonder how many lives will be in danger until the 3rd quarter update is available.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #175

Jul 022016

F-150

  • 100,000 miles
Truck would not start but had power. Paid for new starter and still would not start. When able to get truck started manually underneath the truck- wrench light was on dash and truck would not shift gears, no cruise control, and no lights on dash for R P N D M. trs code pulled on my truck when tested and this is part of a Ford recall but Ford stating my VIN is not part of the recall yet my truck is having this issue and they dont have to fix it.

- Waterloo, IA, USA

problem #174

Jun 302014

F-150

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle lost power, came to a complete stop, and the rear wheels locked up. In addition, when the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle failed to accelerate. In addition, the steering wheel completely seized and the rpms increased. Multiple warning lights illuminated. The failures recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V248000 (power train); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 40,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Coral Gables, FL, USA

problem #173

Jun 242016

F-150

  • miles
As I was pulling out of the yard the truck started shifting from 1st, 2nd, to 5th and then back to 1st gear. The transmission speed sensor was replaced today and it fixed the issue.

- Okeechobee, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?