Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,357 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #66

Jun 032012

F-150

  • 8,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During rain storm or high humidity driving conditions, while at a steady speed for a few minutes, I apply the gas pedal to pass or merge, my truck stutters and loss of engine power occurs. When this happened it caused truck to slow down to unsafe speeds rapidly while on highway, causing me to steer to the side of the road to avoid a crash. The truck is still on when this happens but accelerator peddle is useless until vehicle is stopped, after a few moments it will work again. This happened multiple times and on multiple dates. One particular trip from Pennsylvania to Florida and back, this above condition happened no less than 15 times. Had my truck in for multiple services and nothing, but a code for misfire I believe the tech said. Had all tsb's done as of August 2013. My truck is averaging very bad gas mileage between 8.5 mpg to 12mpg. My truck also stutters while in reverse while backing out of my driveway on cold days.

- Scranton, PA, USA

problem #65

Dec 272013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
This is a 2011 Ford F150 with ecoboost engine. 3.5 liter V6 dual turbo. I purchased the truck 12-7-13 and it failed on 12-27-13 having problems accelerating. It has no power and the turbos do not work at random. The loss of power all the time is a serious safety concern. Luckily I did not crash or cause a crash because of the issue. But the truck has been in for service since 1-30-14, has been out of commission for over 30 business days and no dealership can fix it. The truck is under multiple warranties, but the issue of the turbos failing at random / ingesting moisture from the inter cooler is still there. 3/31/14 the truck is still at a dealership.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #64

Feb 222014

F-150 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Ford F-150. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle unintended acceleration. The consumer stated the incident occurred while exiting a car wash. The vehicle accelerated on its own and would not stop, even with him standing on the brake. The vehicle stopped only after hitting a parked vehicle. The other vehicle sustained extensive damage.

- Mays Landing, NJ, USA

problem #63

Feb 122014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 85,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I should note that my truck has the 3.5L ecoboost engine. This occurred on a very cold morning (-15F) while attempting to pass a truck on a 2 lane highway, going up hill. I had been driving approximately 1 hour when this happened. As I pulled into the left lane and accelerated hard, the truck began to shutter and misfire, losing almost all power. The check engine light flashed 3 or 4 times then came on solid. I was able to drop back into the right lane behind the truck and avoid an oncoming vehicle. I limped the truck to an area where I could get off the road. After turning the truck off and restarting the engine, it ran better but not at what would be considered full power. I got to my destination about 20 minutes later, left the truck sit for about 2 hours and headed back towards home. The engine seemed to run normally at cruising speed. Since that occurance, I have noticed a drop in gas mileage and intermittent misfires or shuttering of the engine when accelerating hard. I believe this has the potential to create a significant safety hazard upon acceleration to pass or to merge into traffic. This truck basically died and lost all power. This is clearly not an isolated issue, as I have read numerous complaints on various Ford truck forum websites.

- Rural Valley, PA, USA

problem #62

Mar 142014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 62,150 miles
I was driving my Ford F150 ecoboost at highway speeds for about 1 hour, a light rain started with humid conditions. While traveling around 60 mph I attempted to pass another car but my truck would not accelerate. It began to shake and shudder when I tired to increase speed which almost resulted in a collision because I was unable to accelerate while passing. My truck has now returned to normal function but I have become aware that the issue I had has happened to several others. This is very dangerous because your truck is running just fine and all of sudden it will not accelerate.

- Tempe , AZ, USA

problem #61

Dec 192013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 99,500 miles
My family and I were on our way to disney world in orlando, Florida when my 2011 Ford 3.5 liter ecoboost F150 truck completely shut down on the interstate 10 highway in the middle of nowhere, probably 60 miles to the East of tallahassee Florida. At first I thought that we were not going to make it, as the truck completely died out. I pulled off to the side and finally got the vehicle started. We had been steady state cruising with the cruise set at 70 for atleast 2-2.5 hours. After doing some reading I see that it was probably condensation in the intercooler that entered the intake tract when I had accelerated to go around a big truck that was barely making it up a hill on interstate 10. This was a real bad experience, this has happened atleast 2 times since then. Luckily I have not had a wreck or crashed, but as I keep reading up, I see many people complaining about the ecoboost F150. Now, I have a truck in the shop with a blown motor, and I can only imagine that the water getting into the motor and the motor trying to compress that water was what caused my engine failure. I metal from the internal rotating assembly shoot through the side of my engine block last week. I believe that happened due to the water and the water bending the connecting rods. Please help.

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #60

Feb 102014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were driving in normal conditions, going about 40 mph, all of a sudden we lost power/acceleration and truck jerked, and brakes seemed to applied by their selves very hard. This seemed to happen sporadically until about a week ago. Its happening now at least 3 times a week. The truck is driven everyday on the interstate and my husband is very concerned that he is going to cause an accident. It happened yesterday and he said it was so bad, when the loss of power happened, the brakes locked so bad the tires just screeched. He took truck to the dealership on 3/4/14 and they could not find anything wrong with the truck. On the way home from the dealership (same day) it happened again. After the dealership told him that, I began searching on the internet and found the loss of power/brake problem. (moisture in cooler causing loss of power problem in F-150 echboost engines) he called the dealership back and he told them about the info on the internet that we had found, and that if had happened again that same day, they told him they were aware of the echboost problem, but can't do anything about it until a recall happens, so they did nothing to the truck.this is definitely a problem and it is going to cause a collision and possible death or injury when this happens. There definitely needs to be a recall on the F-150 ecoboost trucks. Please help everyone that owns this vehicle and issue a recall.

- Hueytown, AL, USA

problem #59

Feb 192014

F-150

  • 61,000 miles
While accelerating the truck hesitates, looses power and jerks violently, the check engine light flashes several times while passing a vehicle. When the truck jerks and looses power it feels like the engine is about to explode. Has almost caused several accidents because of the sudden lost of power. It appears to me that the truck is misfiring.

- Mount Aukum, CA, USA

problem #58

Dec 172013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
While driving my F150, V6 ecoboost engine, down the interstate, when I try to accelerate, the truck to pass vehicles and or move out of the way of on coming traffic, the engine gives me nothing and shutters, feels like it is missing. I originally started to feel this in 2013, took it to the dealership, cause I thought it could be a transmission issue, and the service rep only asked if a light came on and if none has come on, probably won't show anything. I am outside of my warranty now and the truck is shuttering very badly when I try to accelerate anywhere, besides my gas mileage has dropped significantly, which now can become a epa issue. I have read about a lot of issues concerning this year Ford with same engine with no outcomes. I have been told, once again that if I don't have a check engine light, then it probably wont show a code. I don't know where else to turn but to at least have a complaint filed where there is an issue with the 2011 Ford F150 V-6 ecoboost engine.

- Hoschton, GA, USA

problem #57

Feb 102014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
The vehicle lost power after accelerating to higher speed when entering the highway. This has happened multiple times when passing or entering highway at higher speeds.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #56

Feb 122014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 53,179 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was traveling on the interstate where I live and was trying to get up to speed to merge with traffic and when I accelerated my truck lost power and began to sputter and shake, and would not get up to speed, and the check engine light came on, when I took to the local dealer where I purchased it I was told number 2cylinder and number 4 cylinder was mis firing, that I needed new coil packs so I had them replaced and I am still having the same problem.

- Brookwood, AL, USA

problem #55

Jan 102014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
I was on the enter state two lane thank god. It was raining and I started to accelerate to get around a big truck and my truck started to shudder and lost power all power. My truck has the 3.5 liter ecoboost engine. This is the third time this has happened to me.

- Cabot, AR, USA

problem #54

May 012012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 39,250 miles
Truck started to shake violently when accelerating. Felt as if the wheels were loose or the U joint for the drive shaft was going bad. Had to let off the gas. Has been ongoing from the time I purchased the vehicle to present time.

- Cottage Grove, MN, USA

problem #53

Feb 112014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
While trying to merge onto the highway while under medium to heavy throttle my 2011 F-150 ecoboost lost all power while shuddering to the point it I had to abruptly get out of traffic and pull off the side of the road. As this was happening the check engine light started to flash and continued for a few minutes. After sitting for a few minutes the truck behaved almost normal as long as engine RPM was kept under 2500 above that it continued to miss and have a loss of power. By the time I got it home the cel was(is) on continuously. This all happened during rush hour on a very busy socal highway and could have been catastrophic.

- Milton, FL, USA

problem #52

Dec 292013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 22,543 miles
When I tried to accelerate the truck started to buck violently and lacked power. After releasing the gas pedal and coasting a bit I was able to slowly regain speed. It was raining at the time and had been raining most of the day on 12/29/14. We have not had a recurrence but have not had any rainy days either.

- Hobart, NY, USA

problem #51

Jan 182014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 44,632 miles
Under acceleration between 60-70 mph, trucks starts shuttering and decelerating. The check engine light starts blinking and will blink for about a minute before staying on. I was nearly rear ended by a semi entering the highway today as I was trying to accelerate up to highway speed and at approximately 65 mph, the truck started decelerating and shuttering down to 35 mph before I could get enough power to maintain that speed and get off to the side of the highway.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #50

Jan 072014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 42,505 miles
I was driving in highway traffic in the right hand lane at about 70-75 miles per hour. The weather was clear and the temperature was approximately 50 degrees. I encounter a slow moving vehicle and moved into the left hand lane and tried to promptly accelerate to pass a slower vehicle. When I attempted to accelerate the vehicle began to shake violently and go into a very rapid deceleration. The violent vibration of the entire vehicle and rapid deceleration made control a challenge. I moved to the right hand lane reduced speed to 50 mph and continued on to a Ford dealership to have the vehicle evaluated. The dealership found that 3 coils failed which caused the vehicle to vibrate and decelerate rapidly. I had the vehicle repaired.

- Aubrey, TX, USA

problem #49

Mar 012013

F-150

  • 35,000 miles
Under hard acceleration on the highway, the engine began to cut out and misfire, then the check engine light began to flash. I took the vehicle to the dealership and they said the innercooler had failed and needed to be replaced. Now, at roughly 55,000 miles it has begun to do it again, I had noticed it some before, but now it is worse. I took my 2011 F150 with the ecoboost to the dealership again and they said a tsb had been written and they changed the replaced the lower air deflector. This actually made the problem worse. At wide open throttle from a stop to about 80 mph, every gear will cut out and sometimes put the engine into a protection mode beginning around 4,000 RPM. If it shakes and shudders made enough the check engine light will flash, and now it has come on and stayed on. It has been very dangerous if I pull out to make a pass and then the engine shuts down and I can no longer accelerate. This has happened dozens of times, and has been addressed twice now by the dealership without any fix.

- Goshen , KY, USA

problem #48

Dec 292013

F-150

  • 40,000 miles
Going up a steep hill in Colorado on interstate I70 and the truck started hopping and lurching, dropping my speed from 60-40. The truck lost power almost causing me to be rear-ended on a busy highway. Due to the steepness of the climb, I had to pull over on the side of a busy highway. The dealership said this is a misfire common in the ecoboost trucks. This was the third time this happened going up a steep grade on a busy highway, causing power to decrease drastically. Truck had to be towed to a dealership. I was told it was cracked spark plugs, common in the ecoboost engine. I was very angry to find out I had to pay for the repairs as it is considered normal wear and tear and not under my extended warranty. I have read from other F150 ecoboost owners that this is a problem. Ford should cover this fix or reimburse those who have to pay for it. Regardless, this vehicle is not safe and should be fixed at no expense to the owner (especially when under warranty).

- Steamboat Springs, CO, USA

problem #47

Dec 202013

F-150

  • 48,000 miles
My truck has shuddering problems during acceleration to pass. The weather was rainy and very wet. This is not the first time I have experienced the problem. While visiting Louisiana in the summer of 2012 I experienced the same issue and while in san antonio, I had the catalytic converter replaced.

- Sandusky, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?