Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,331 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford F-150 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #148

Oct 062016


  • 135,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. After leaving an independent mechanic for an oil change, the advance track service warning indicator illuminated. The power steering and turn signals also failed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the rack and pinion failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V316000 (steering). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 135,000.

- La Porte, IN, USA

problem #147

Oct 062016


  • 34,000 miles
My 2011 Ford F-150 (with only 34,000 miles) indicated a power steering fault when I started it. The power steering was locked and took a lot of force to turn the steering wheel. Luckily this occurred in the driveway and not on a highway at 70 mph. It could have been a fatal accident at high speeds. I had to have my pickup taken to the local Ford dealer where they had to replace the power steering rack for over $2000!! after some investigation, I found that this epas system was new in 2011 and Ford has known about this problem for some time, but has not issued a recall.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #146

Sep 232016


  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. Thirty minutes after the vehicle was started, the steering wheel became hot and the vehicle lost power without warning. The vehicle was pulled over to the side of the road, cooled off, and restarted. The contact stated that the failure recurred at various driving speeds. The dealer diagnosed that the electronic power steering needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that there was no recall. The failure was not remedied. The failure mileage was 133,000.

- Dunnellon, FL, USA

problem #145

Aug 142016


  • 44,000 miles


Electronic power steering assist failure causes the steering to lock. Vehicle is impossible to control without extreme effort. Failure occurs in the middle of a turn. At only 44000 miles. This is a poorly engineered design, not a result of abuse or normal wear and tear.

- Montrgomery, TX, USA

problem #144

Sep 192016


  • 139,501 miles
Over the last week, four times the steering became stiff and while turning the steering wheel, it stayed locked in the same direction and I had to use force to return it to center. On one occasion while driving the truck in a strait line on an empty one-way city street at 35mph, the wheels veered left and right with the steering wheel not moving at all. If I had been driving 70mph I could have been killed. I took it to saginaw valley Ford where they found the epas sensor was sending out erratic data. Price to repair is $1617. What I find incredible is this not an unknown problem, and to which we have not received any recalls about. People will die from this defect, remember the Ford temple?

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #143

Sep 012012


  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While driving 25 mph, the service advance track system warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed. The failure recurred on several other occasions. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic power steering assist failed and needed to be repaired. There were no repairs made to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 25,000.

- Gregory, MI, USA

problem #142

Sep 072016


  • 30,050 miles


When making a left hand turn at higher speeds, the epas (electric power-assisted steering), would catch and lag momentarily and not respond when turning the steering wheel to the right back to center. This happens intermittently and not all the time. This first happened at approx. 21,000 miles in September, 2013. My Ford F150 while still under the factory 3 year 36,000 warranty was taken into corwin Ford in nampa Idaho for warranty repair for this issue (invoice 10763) on September 17, 2013. They said they could not duplicate and no fix was performed. This has been a continuing intermittent problem for the last 3 years. On August 31, 2016 with 30,050 miles on my F150, while driving in Idaho on a paved winding mountain road in a period of 30 minutes, this steering problem happened five times causing my F150 to cross the centerline at least twice, luckily their were no vehicles in the other lane at the time. I did research and found that this is not an isolated problem and many other F150's have the same issue with the steering. Ford issue a tsb 11-8-18 in August 2011 to replace the epas steering gear under standard warranty, my truck met this tsb as it was build May 23, 2011 at dearborn. I took my truck to corwin Ford again on September 7, 2016 and had the epas replaced at 30,223 miles (invoice 102627) due to this safety issue. Even though I had taken my F150 for warranty repair of this issue under the warranty time frame it was not repaired then, I was told that Ford would not warranty the part now due to the truck being out of warranty. I paid $1757.77 to have the part replaced. Numerous other F150's, including later year models seem to have this same issue and a recall needs to be implemented by Ford. This is a safety issue as it can cause your vehicle to veer into another lane or off the road. This is an update of 10903035 filed September 1, 2016.

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #141

Aug 312016


  • 30,050 miles
When turning steering wheel the epas (electronic power steering assist) catches and lags for a short time and does not respond. This happens intermittently and not all the time. It was taken in to corwin Ford in nampa, Idaho for this problem on September 17, 2013 while still under warranty at 21,310 miles (invoice number 10763). They could not duplicate the problem and no fix was done. This has been a continuing problem ever since and still happens occasionally. Yesterday, August 31, 2016 with 30,050 miles on my F150, this happened again. This is a safety issue when driving due to the fact that you are not expecting this problem with returning to center of the steering wheel when driving down the highway and can cause you to veer out of your lane or toward the side of the road.

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #140

Aug 142016


  • 64,000 miles
While driving and mostly turning left either on the highway or city streets, noticed the wheel will not return to the straight position, I seems "light" when turning left and kind of sticks, and will not return to the neutral postion.

- Ben Lomond, CA, USA

problem #139

Jan 012016


  • 110,000 miles
While driving, the steering wheel gets stuck to the left with any slight movement. Slight turn to the right and it gets stuck to the left when returning to the neutral position and when slightly turned to the left, it gets stuck when trying to return to the neutral position. It has happened at lower speeds on city roads and at high speed on the interstate and poses a very real safety risk!

- Immokalee, FL, USA

problem #138

Aug 102016


  • 108,255 miles


Steering sticks, slight turn to the left or right, let go of the wheel, and the wheel does not return to straight. Very hard to steer. Problem comes and goes but has become worse lately. I have to really concentrate when the condition is at its worst. It's an unsafe steering situation. Condition occurs at all speeds, on paved and on dirt roads.

- Big Bear Lake, CA, USA

problem #137

Jun 182015


  • 100,000 miles
The steering "sticks" when driving at highway speeds and becomes difficult to recenter the wheel. It causes difficulty staying in your lane. Problem seems to dissipate when driving at lower speeds. It is also erratic and will not do this consistently, but has become more frequent lately.

- Gulf Breeze, FL, USA

problem #136

Aug 012016


  • 62,700 miles
At various speeds on the highway or in a parking lot, the steering wheel locks up when you turn to the left and you have to manually bring it back. A real surprise! it has never happened turning to the right.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #135

Aug 022016


  • 60,000 miles
Primarily while turning left power steering goes hard. Usually recovers after turning to right. Intermittent total power steering failure. As yet, unable to determine reproducible sequence of events to demonstrate issue to dealer.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #134

Jul 272016


  • 39,882 miles
While in motion went to turn left the steering locked up made a squalling sound, traction light displayed and also, power steering assist displayed and, service advance track displayed and turn signals were not staying on, (had to hold them manually.took truck to dealership and told the problem was an epas failure. Laymen terminology is the steering gear has failed. Mileage on vehicle is 39,882, and will cost approximately $1450 to fix this problem. I do have a repair invoice but have no way to scan. Be happy to mail a copy and any thing else needed.

- Advance, MO, USA

problem #133

Jul 202016


  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 25 mph, the steering made an abnormal noise. In addition, the vehicle became difficult to steer and the service traction control warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 86,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Springfield, LA, USA

problem #132

Jul 022016


  • 53,700 miles
Without warning I came started by vehicle and the power steering was no longer working. The onboard computer advised of a power steering fault. This issue could have easily happened while driving on roads with sharp curves and/or while these vehicles were pulling a trailer ending in a potentially fatal collision.

- Huntingtown, MD, USA

problem #131

Jul 042016


  • 60,000 miles
I purchased my vehicle used. When turning to the left steering wheel locks up. Happens at highway speeds and at very slow speeds. Very dangerous especially if someone is driving it that isn't aware of the issue.

- Eunice, LA, USA

problem #130

Sep 272014


  • 46,400 miles
I have a 2011 F-150 cert. Preowned ( 9/22/2014), and from day one have had problems with the steering, from approximately 45mph and up, when going into left curve steering will try to continue to turn or track to the left, butt Ford cert. Tech. Can't seam to find the problem ?? imagine that !

- Bethlehem, GA, USA

problem #129

Jun 152016


  • 94,000 miles
Driving 70 mph on interstate 44 out of joplin, mo when I was driving around a slight curve. The steering locked up. I could not steer at all. I slammed on the brakes to avoid crashing into oncoming cars. If there was another vehicle close to me it would have been an accident of really bad consequences. I was lucky. I took the truck to the local Ford dealer and they said the steering gear was crushed. I called Ford for an explanation and was literally told there is nothing they have to do. I want others to know that this happened with no warning whatsoever. The dealership is charging me $1500 plus change to fix this. I can't see how I will ever trust that steering again.

- Shawnee, KS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?