Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,508 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #61

Oct 052013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While accelerating to enter highway the vehicle lurched and lost power and the engine started shaking violently.I pulled off the road and shut the engine off. I started it again and it seemed to run fine for a time. Later while under a load it would miss. The check engine light came on. This could have caused an accident in this heavy traffic. I took it to the dealer and they ordered parts, but didn't seem to confident of being able to fix the problem..

- Mount Morris, IL, USA

problem #60

Jun 282012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
When attempting to pass the vehicle loses power under hard acceleration. This has happened several times, usually at highway speed, wet/humid conditions, under hard acceleration. I have taken the truck into the dealership to have them perform the work outlined in a tech bulletin from Ford but the problem persists. Just yesterday (10/6/13 at about 12:25pm approx 65 degrees F) driving in light rain on I-96 near grand rapids, mi I accelerated hard from about 65mph to pass on the freeway and the vehicle lost power nearly causing an accident.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #59

Sep 022013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 9,500 miles
On 2 Sept 2013, in Florida, I was attempting to cross a two lane road into the median and merge into traffic going the opposite direction. When I attempted to accelerate the vehicle immediately started to sputter and had loss of power that barely allowed me to cross before traffic arrived. The rough running continued after I attempted to merge into traffic and continued for about a 1/4 mile before where I was able to exit. It started running correct shortly after that. The weather was clear and around mid 80's, mileage was around 9500, speed was 0-50 mph. The second incident occurred on 27 Sept 2013, in Missouri, as I was attempting to pass traffic on I-70. The vehicle again started to sputter with dramatic loss of power that didn't allow it to maintain traffic speeds. The check engine light started flashing and I continued to the next exit. I pulled over and shut the vehicle off and started it again. The engine light became steady and remained on for the remainder of the 900 mile trip. It is being taken in for service. The weather was rainy and in the 60's. mileage was around 11000 and speed was around 65-70 mph.

- Valdosta, GA, USA

problem #58

Sep 262013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While attempting to pass on interstate 85 in major traffic the engine unexpectedly had a sharp reductions in engine power during acceleration. This has occurred twice in the last month.

- Suwanee, GA, USA

problem #57

Sep 072012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
I purchased my F-150 ecoboost, on July 28, 2012. Almost immediately after purchasing it, I have had issues with the engine. Often when it rains, the truck will not start or when it does start, it refuses to go or when it is going, it will not accelerate. When I attempt to pass a slow vehicle, there is no power. The engine boggs down, to an idle. The truck has left me stranded numerous times. I took my family on a trip to miami, Florida, during the christmas holiday. On the open road the motor quit. I was able to limp it into a Ford dealer, who had to perform extensive engine repairs in able to get the truck running again. While I was driving it back to Tennessee, after 3 weeks of repairs, it happened several more times. When I attempt to pass slower vehicles, I try to accelerate and there is no power. It is dangerous, particular when traveling on 2 lane country roads with hills. Often, when I park and exit the truck, there is a strong odor of gas coming from somewhere under the hood of the vehicle. This is a fire hazard. On 2 occasions, the driver's seat has come unattached from the floor of the truck. This morning, I went to take my children to school I was driving and heard/felt thumping and the seat fell back, I was nearly laying on my back, while driving. This has happened twice. This is dangerous and scary, when it happens while driving down the road. The Ford customer care representative was very flipped and seemed to be more concerned with ensuring that I understood the terms of the warranty than the safety of my vehicle. I was insulted and humiliated, for suggesting they provide me with something to drive while they corrected the problem. The first time this happened, it took 3 weeks to fix. I bought this vehicle, I should not have to buy another vehicle to drive. To date the best fuel mileage I have gotten is 13.2 miles per gallon.

- Camden, TN, USA

problem #56

Sep 092013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 8,100 miles
This complaint pertains to the 3.5 liter ecoboost engine. I was driving on I-95 at approximately 70 mph with the cruise control activated. There were four lanes of traffic at this location. When I attempted to accelerate around a slower vehicle, the engine shuttered and went into limp mode. I had to drive onto the berm, nearly causing a crash. The engine returned to normal after several minutes and I was able to continue my trip from Pennsylvania to North Carolina. This engine shutter occurred three more times during my return to pa. The last time the service engine light remained activated. The loss of engine power on a busy multiple lane highway is an extreme hazard and could result in a serious vehicle crash. It is time for Ford to issue a recall for this known issue.

- Spring Mills, PA, USA

problem #55

Oct 132012

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had this problem several times. It seemed to start in October 2012. I was trying to merge into traffic and pushed the gas pedal down quickly and it did not move forward any faster. I I was almost rear-ended by another vehicle because I could not get any speed. It seems that when I push down the pedal very slowly, it will go faster. But when I need the response to be very quickly, it does not respond. I have had this problem when I pull my camper. It will be performing then all of a sudden, I will need to push down the pedal to get power up a hill and again, there is no power. I have taken this to the dealership and they keep saying that there is no problem. I bought this vehicle to pull my camper. It does not perform the way it was touted in their advertisements.

- Peyton, CO, USA

problem #54

Aug 182013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
When returning from cullowee, nc, I was on the entrance ramp of I-40 East. At approximately 45 mph, I pressed on the accelerator to increase to highway speed. The engine started sputtering and the entire vehicle started shaking violently. The vehicle never gained speed until I let of the accelerator completely and slowly applied pressure to the accelerator again. The violent shaking of the vehicle and the resulting dangerous merge into traffic terrified my wife, child and grandchild.

- Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #53

May 302012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 5,955 miles
While accelerating on an on-ramp to merge into traffic on I-90, the entire vehicle vibrated very hard, the engine then lost power, causing electric to shut down, and uncontrolled deceleration to occur. The check engine light started to flash. Once I released the pressure on the gas pedal, and pulled off the interstate to avoid oncoming traffic, the power returned and the engine responded again. The catalytic converter was determined to be the problem and was replaced. Notified Ford regional service manager about concerns that this was a safety issue, he responded that the car was under warranty, and nothing else could be done despite acknowledging that we could have been involved in a very serious accident due to the engine failure. About 2 months later, the same problem occurred, and apparently the computer system was not updated as required. After the update, it worked fine. In December 2012, similar symptoms occurred and the dealership determined it was the coil in engine 4 as the problem.

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #52

Aug 132013

F-150

  • 62,000 miles
I was traveling at 65mph and went to pass and at acceleration the truck stalled and almost died. I almost got rear ended by a semi I had to pull off on shoulder to a complete stop then accelerate again. My truck has the ecoboost engine and hope they can recall and fix problem before somebody gets killed.

- Lake Villa, IL, USA

problem #51

Jun 282013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 7,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The first incident 6/28/13, when accelerating to get onto a highway the vehicle stopped accelerating somewhere before 60 and lost all power. The speedometer pegged at 60 and the rpms jumped to redline, but there was no power being produced. The vehicle took at nose dive and would not allow fuel to the engine until the rpms settled to idle and I was able to feather the gas pedal in order to regain control of the engine. The second incident 8/9/13, when going to pass someone at highway speeds on I-95 the vehicle fell flat again, same scenario, this time the check engine light came on. Same actions as above, with feathering the gas pedal and able to regain control of the engine. I brought my vehicle to the dealership and the intercooler was replaced at 7600 miles. Thankfully there were no accidents in both scenarios, these events could've been catastrophic both being on heavily traveled highways. At 500 miles I had the check engine light come on and one of the catalytic converters needed to be replaced.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #50

Aug 102013

F-150

  • 6,400 miles
We were driving on I5 South in California with our cruise control set for 70 mph. We were coming into heavy traffic so hit the button to end cruise. It didn't work so my husband hit the brake and it didn't disengage the cruise control. If my husband would press the brake, it would slow down but when he took his foot off the brake, it would accelerate up to 90 mph. There were big trucks all around us and other vehicles and we couldn't make it to an off ramp for 5 miles. When we did, my husband slowed the truck enough to put it in park but the engine revved super high and we shut it off. We turned it back on a couple of times before we took off to finish our trip. We did not use the cruise control again for the rest of the trip. We took our Ford to the dealer that Monday and they said they could not find anything wrong with the cruise control. My question was what if it happens again or somebody dies and he didn't have an answer and said he would contact Ford.

- Paradise, CA, USA

problem #49

Aug 192012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
I was traveling at approx. 50 mph behind a slow vehicle and pulled in the oncoming lane to pass when the truck seem to miss fire. It would not accelerate and I had brake hard to pull back in behind the slow vehicle. It did this for about thirty seconds and cleared up. It has only happened once. 2012 F150 ecoboost

- Millville, NJ, USA

problem #48

Apr 022012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 1,200 miles
Almost got hit trying to pass a car. When I pulled out to pass and tried to accelerate the motor started missing badly. Ford supposedly did not have a fix until early this year. My eco bust now has 70,000 miles and Ford wants me to pay for part of the repair. They have never contacted me to inform me of the problem.

- Mount Vernon, IL, USA

problem #47

May 012013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 9,500 miles
While attempting to accelerate from a stop sign turning right my 2012 Ford F150 platinum 4X4 ecoboost stalled and would not accelerate for a few seconds. I thought the truck shifted into neutral but that was not the case. This has happened several times within the last 3 months and is getting more frequent.

- Colleyville, TX, USA

problem #46

Jul 202012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
On vacation to ga from md in July of 2012, during a heavy downpour and lost power several times traveling on I-95 towing a boat. Driving about 65-70 mph stopped at the Ford dealer on rt. 1 in fredericksburg va and they did a temporary fix, a piece of cardboard was installed to prevent the moisture from causing problems┐Žonly to be told to go back to our dealer for the part once it comes in all back ordered. We have since contacted sheehy and got nowhere never got a call either that the part was in. Truck gets the worst gas mileage and over the rain we had started to stall out again. Never called and never fixed.now with the rain again and the heat it is doing it again.....

- Sykesville, MD, USA

problem #45

Jul 162013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 10,800 miles
I switched lanes to pass a truck and there was another vehicle in the lane so I stepped on the throttle to the floor and it hesitated then started to die. Then the truck started to shake along with the steering wheel. The check engine light came on and it continued to sputter and shake for a mile or so then it started to come out of the problem. The check engine light is still lit and my aftermarket stereo can pull the check engine codes and they were P0300 P0304 P0306 P0306. It was about 75 outside and the road was dry. This is the 4th time this has happened. The truck now has 26,300 miles on it.

- Forney, TX, USA

problem #44

Jul 062013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 38,600 miles
Since I purchased my truck there has been seven different occasions where I have accelerated to enter an interstate or pass a vehicle and the engine lost power and I could not accelerate. I have taken the truck in and they have replaced parts and said it was repaired. This past weekend I was entering the interstate in a construction area where barriers were on both sides of the interstate. I accelerated to enter the interstate and there were cars and a semi approaching where I entered. I accelerated to get up to speed with traffic and the truck stalled and would not take fuel. The approaching semi could not stop in time and had to swerve to miss me. He missed hitting me by inches and almost hit another car. With the barriers in place I could not get off the interstate when the truck stalled. I have the eco-boost engine and the vehicle is currently at the dealer. They are telling me they can not find anything that is causing the failure. This failure could have caused multiple injuries or deaths had the semi not been able to avoid hitting me or the other cars. I personally feel this is a safety issue with this engine.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #43

Jul 042013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 13,980 miles
Myself and my wife was traveling on a short four lane road when I attempted to accelerate to pass a slower vehicle. My F150 engine shuddered, I let off the accelerator, the shudder stopped. I then tried to accelerate again and nothing. It was like I was coasting, I had no power from the engine to accelerate. I continued to try and accelerate but nothing. This lasted for 15-20 seconds then it started to accelerate normally. This same type of lost of power has happened 3 times since then. The first two times it was raining heavily, the last two it was not. I have read about the issues documented with the F150 eco boost engine and I am sure this is that problem. Unfortunately I read it after I bought the truck!!

- Wetumpka, AL, USA

problem #42

Jul 062013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 27,800 miles
I had the tsb (for known surging issue) performed on my truck (2012 super crew 4X4) in may at 25K miles. Everything seemed better, until... this past Saturday, I left the house at 5am for a 7.5 hour/ 350 mile drive from home. It was raining continuously for the first two hours. Sometimes hard rain, but it didn't stop for the first 2 hours. I was driving back country roads with mostly 55 mph limits and rolling hills. Given the weather, type of roads, time of day, etc. I drove gently for the trip, never put my foot in it. Then, when going up a steeper hill that required more throttle than the others to keep my speed up, the truck started hesitating. A lot. More than it ever had before the tsb. And then, just after the hesitation began, something extra occurred that had never happened to it before. The truck started to shudder. This shuddering was akin to driving over road shoulder rumble strips on steroids. As soon as I let off the gas, the shuddering stopped. I gently pushed the pedal, shuddering was back and just as bad. Let off again. It stopped. Pushed the pedal again. It came back. Pushed the throttle once more, and it had stopped. I slowly pushed further on the throttle and it didn't do it any longer. By this time I was down to about 35-40 mph going up the hill. So I pushed down the pedal almost to the floor. The truck kicked down and accelerated with only slight moments of hesitation. Not once did the check engine light come on.. thus, I had a textbook case of exactly what the tsb was supposed to solve, but didn't.

- Elizabethtown, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?