10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,100 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #84

Oct 012012

F-150 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2012 Ford F-150. Consumer writes in regards to acceleration problems. The consumer stated as he tried to merge into traffic on the interstate, he floored the accelerator pedal, but the engine shut down completely. He was able to get the truck off the main interstate and into the emergency lane. The engine light came on. He let the truck sit in the off position for approximately 10 minutes and then he re-started the truck. At that point, he was slowly able to accelerate while in the emergency lane, to a speed that allowed him to re-enter the interstate. All attempts to accelerate quickly failed and it would only accelerate gradually at slower then normal speeds. He continued his trip with the engine light on and at his first opportunity he took the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer returned the vehicle to the consumer saying they had fixed the problem. The truck performed well for the next year without any incidents, there were no occasions where quick acceleration was required. In October 2013, he made another trip, and the same incident happened. Then engine shut down again in December 2013. The dealer stated they made a different repair and they returned the truck to the consumer. The engine shut down again in April 2014. The dealer kept the vehicle, for two weeks, stating they were unable to find a problem.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #83

Jun 092014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Driving to work on June 9 at 8:00am after a hard rainstorm, on South memorial parkway just North of green cove road, traveling about 40 to 45, slowly accelerating, the rear end of the F150 locked up, tires squealing, began to fishtail to the right for a few seconds, then released. I thought I had been hit from the rear, no cars behind me. Temperature gauges were fine, the gear display on the dash board showed only gears 1, 2, and 3. gears 4, 5, and 6 were not displayed. I sped up and the transmission would not change, I slowed down and the transmission would not change, I eased the transmission into neutral and pull to the side of the road and put the transmission in park. The gears 4, 5, 6 were redisplayed. There were no fluids coming from the transmission under the truck. I eased back into drive and noticed a little bit of a shudder around 3rd gear. I took the vehicle to the Ford dealership and they have told me that there was no computer code and it was likely to be a computer glitch and there was nothing they could do. I asked if it would be recorded as a complaint and was told no, that unless they could witness the event or there was a computer code, the complaint would not be documented....I escalated to the service manager, we agreed to drive the truck for a bit and see if they could reproduce the problem, but, that there was nothing else T hat could be done. Obviously, if I had been doing 70 mph, the vehicle would have been much more difficult to control. If you have any questions, please ask.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #82

Aug 012013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
I was merging onto an interstate, accelerating from 20 mph to 65 mph to blend in with heavy traffic. The engine began to spit, sputter and shake and bogged down and wouldn't exceed 50mph. With a tractor trailer coming I had no other choice but to abort my merge and pull to the side of the road. I then waited for all traffic to subside before I made another attempt to pull onto the highway. I took the truck back to Ford. They could not duplicate the problem. I have had the truck in for many issues(slow speed shudder, high speed shudder, emergency brake issues, warped rotors, electronic problems, tire issues, acceleration hesitations, rough idle, failed brake pump, and more with less than 30, 000 miles) all of which Ford states are characteristics of the vehicle! this is my family vehicle that I Transport my 3 children and their friends. What will it take for Ford to resolve the problems they have with these trucks?! do people have to be killed before anything is done........ like with Chevy!!!!! Ford is covering up the issues they have with the #1 selling truck in America. It is a shame that people have a facebook page on the problems they have with their F150 because Ford covers up the problems because they don't know what to do to solve them. They told us it is a characteristic of the truck..........really!!!!!!!.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #81

Nov 302013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Traveling on interstate highway from St louis to memphis in right hand lane. Accelerated to pass slower traffic when truck begin to shake violently, lurching forward and back. All the while losing speed and made me fearful to attempt to try to pass or merge. This continued all the way back to memphis. I took the vehicle in for service and described the problem to the service tech. When I picked the truck up the service ticket said "could not duplicate the problem. Since then the problem has gotten worse. I never know when it will occur. It could be rain or shine and there doesn't seem to be a pattern. It is now a weekly/daily occurrence. It has contributed to several near miss accidents. I am afraid to drive anywhere except side streets and I avoid the interstate hwy. The problem is so bad and the vehicle shakes so violently I was looking in the mirror to see what I had ran over. It is a serious safety issue that my Ford dealer denies exists!

- Coldwater, MA, USA

problem #80

Feb 102014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 25,100 miles
I was driving my F150 2012 ecoboost on an onramp getting on to the freeway. It was raining, wet and about 50 degrees. I accelerated from about 35 to 65 mph to change lanes and get in line with traffic. The engine lost power and the truck started shaking. There was about a mile stretch where the vehicles power was completely unpredictable. When I let my foot off the gas the truck would stop shaking. This was very scary as cars were bearing down on me from behind and I had to get over to the far right lane incase I needed to come to a stop. The vehicle then seemed to function normally and I drove about 5 miles straight to the Ford dealership.

- Davis, CA, USA

problem #79

Aug 142013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
1st time happened when trying to pass a big truck, pick up lost engine power during acceleration that I barely made it, opposite traffic coming, vehicle lost all chances to made on time I was afraid not to pass on time this is a hazard issue if it happens again, I had to stop and shut down vehicle because I had a engine check massage at the main screen of dashboard with the wrench character image, after I restart vehicle everything was normal. 2nd time happen when made trip to Texas on December 2013, when trying to enter freeway I had to speed up and suddenly pick up again lost power and start shaking I could no gain any more speed over 50-55 mph I almost got rear end it by a car on the back that was already in the high speed stream. This time the check engine came on, ;later started to drive ok. When I came back to home town I took vehicle to check the check engine light at autozone and retrieve the P0430 code. I took vehicle to dealer because still under warranty and explain everything. They check vehicle and retrieve the same code, they replaced only the driver side catalytic converter. I was researching on forums and they commonly have to replace not only cat but have to change intercooler, change plugs and re-flash ECU and or place a deflection plate on current intercooler but home town dealer only replace cat, I don't think this will fix issue. Please push Ford to address this issue, for experience this needs to be classified as a recall because safety issue is involved when you lost power when is need it. The actual intercooler on pre 2013 is not good because tends to accumulate condensation and this is sucked under boost condition and probably causing multiple misfires that leads to unexpected power lost and vehicle shaking. My wife and I bought this F150 new on 2012 ecoobost engine re great but this issue needs to be addressed.

- Garden City, KS, USA

problem #78

Jun 192013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 14,522 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When passing and increasing speed, vehicle lost acceleration. No accident occurred but could have caused a head on or other accident.

- Aitkin, MN, USA

problem #77

Jan 172014

F-150

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle decelerated independently with a rapid increase in engine rpms. The brake pedal was engaged and the vehicle came to a stop. There were no warning indicators illuminated at the time of failure. The vehicle resumed normally upon restarting however, the failure recurred four times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis but the technician was unable to locate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Valleysprings, CA, USA

problem #76

Dec 212013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 38,300 miles
I was traveling on a 4-lane, 65mph highway when I floored the gas pedal. The truck failed to accelerate as it should have. Instead, it acted as if it was coasting. There was no power for several seconds even when I moved the gas pedal to different positions. When the truck finally seemed to resume power, it started to shake violently. The shocked passenger and I looked at each other, then I checked to see if there were parts strewn on the road behind me. Suddenly, it smoothed out and there were no more issues on that trip. I had been driving that truck for about 10 hours with various forms of precipitation at the time. This was December 21, 2013. The second incident was on December 28, 2013. Weather conditions were sunny and dry. I had been driving about 50 minutes. I floored the gas pedal again to overtake a vehicle and was barely able to overtake due to no power. Again, I worked the throttle to no avail. The truck finally recovered but started shaking violently again. As before, it smoothed out. I took my truck to a local Ford dealership where they told me it was showing no codes and that their techs could not reproduce the symptoms I had mentioned. I checked on NHTSA website and found this issue is under investigation. I do not agree with the service bulletins. My theory is that there is a computer programming problem specific to this direct-injection, turbo gasoline engine. I plan on trading for something other than an ecoboost engine, as this problem is dangerous.

- New Burnside, IL, USA

problem #75

Jan 102014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
Driving on highway went to accelerate to pass semi pulled beside him. Engine light began flashing truck lost power and began shaking had to hit brakes as car approached in opposite direction almost had head on collision. Made it to rear of semi and pulled over just I time to avoid accident.

- Regina, TN, USA

problem #74

Dec 292013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 20,574 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Attempted to pass a slow moving vehicle by accelerating quickly. My vehicle initially accelerated and then violently shook and stopped accelerating while alongside the vehicle I was attempting to pass. I was stuck next to the vehicle I was attempting to pass and almost struck by oncoming traffic. Engine light was flashing and then went off after about 2 miles. Everyday since, the engine light is lit solid at all times. Taking vehicle in for service tomorrow morning to see what they say. After reading complaints on-line related to the same issue, seems as though I will not be happy about what they are going to tell me.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #73

Jul 062013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 11,500 miles
Ecoboost engine: 7/06/13 first time after driving 90 miles on I-10, pulled off in rest area. When getting back on the interstate, went to accelerate to match traffic and engine fell on it's nose, felt like a stall then bucked, misfired, lost all power. When lifting off accelerator engine returned to normal. Attempting to accelerate again, engine lost power again. It felt like either bad gas or ignition failure. Was able to get truck up to speed using cruise control. With a light accelerator touch, was able to make in home from pensacola to winter haven, fl. Filled up with different fuel and problem seemed to go away, so I did not take it to dealer. Second occurrence 11/16/13 while heading to pensacola after driving several hours (70-75mph), when passing a semi going uphill on I-10, faster traffic was approaching from behind, so I attempted to accelerate to get around the semi to clear the left lane. Engine fell on it's nose once again, stalled, misfired, shook and lost power. The traffic was upon us in seconds. I was able to get truck back up to speed by gently using cruise. This time took truck back to dealer. They installed a "shield or partition" in the charge-air and did a reprogram. Current mileage is 14,800. Dealer did not seem confident that this was the fix. We will see.

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

problem #72

Aug 142012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 3,500 miles
On three different occasions was in the process of passing a vehicle, and all of a sudden lost engine acceleration, pick up began to vibrate, pulled over and called service center, was told to turn off and restart vehicle, proceeded to destination!

- Graham, TX, USA

problem #71

Oct 012013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I have a 2012 Ford F-150 with the ecoboost engine. While slowly accelerating at higher speeds (generally around 50 to 70 mph), the engine misses terribly on multiple cylinders and the truck jerks and lunges violently all while losing power and speed. It happens frequently, but most often when slowly accelerating to maintain speed up a hill or pass another vehicle. The loss of power is extremely dangerous, especially while passing other vehicles on a highway.

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #70

Oct 182013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
I was on a highway going 65 mph, the conditions were drizzle/very humid, roughly 90 degrees outside. There was a slow car in front of me so I got in the on coming traffics lane to pass the car, but when I stomped on the gas pedal there was no response. My truck wouldn't accelerate so I pushed it a few more times and still nothing. There was a car coming and I almost got hit head on because of this incident and probably would've been badly injured had I not gotten back in my lane just before the car passed. The engine returned to normal after about 20 seconds and I was able to accelerate and finally get around the car. This is only 1 of the 5 times it has happened in this specific vehicle, its happened to me three times, and twice when I've loaned the truck to my father. It only happens in humid or rainy conditions and I'm guessing has something to do with the intercooler. But I'm not an auto guy so I wouldn't know. I called Ford corporate and they said go to the dealer, the dealer didn't see any codes that were thrown during these incidents so they said they could not help me. It was [xxx], and Ford needs to step up and help us who have defected ecoboost engines. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #69

Nov 052013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
Loss of power during acceleration. Entire truck vibrating. Was in the passing lane in heavy traffic and bogged down. Vibration stopped when letting off gas pedal. Started right back as soon as I tried to speed up again. After a few times it went away.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #68

Nov 222013

F-150

  • 27,302 miles
I experienced a sudden loss of power in my 2012 Ford F150 super crew with ecoboost engine.. this happened 3 times on 11-22-13 at interstate speeds, I was unable to pass slower vehicles that were running below the posted speed limit. Each time I tried to accelerate past in the passing lane the vehicle shook violently and it was as though I had run out of fuel. As soon as I took my foot off the accelerator pedal the truck would run again. The 3rd time this happened a semi truck was barreling up behind me and there was a semi on the side of me, I noticed the semi beside me moving into my lane and tried to accelerate to get clear and the semi behind me almost ran me down as my vehicle lost power and I had to pull over. This time I had to shut off the engine and restart it for the vehicle to run right again. After the 3rd time my truck went from getting 18 mpg to 12.3 mpg and ran rough as though it was cutting out. The weather was rainy and the vehicles ahead of me were throwing up quite a bit of moisture. I took the truck to the Ford dealer the next day 11-23-13 and they kept the truck for repairs. I am concerned as I and my wife could have very easily been killed of maimed yesterday because of this engine failure. If this happens to some family, they could have a fatal accident and I don't want that on my conscience. If this is a recurring problem maybe there should be a recall to fix these trucks. Thank you for your consideration.

- St. Johns, AZ, USA

problem #67

Oct 272013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 12,500 miles
I was on a trip from Oklahoma to Florida. I stopped for gas in Louisiana. When I got on to the on ramp to return to the interstate I floored the gas pedal to get in front of a semi truck, and it lost all power almost being hit by semi truck. After my trip I took my pickup truck to my Ford dealer to have it checked out.they told me they can not find anything wrong with it. This is a very dangerous problem that needs to be fixed. Me and my wife could have been killed if the semi truck did not have room to move over to miss us.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #66

Nov 012013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
I live in lake geneva, wi. I was driving home from work in the rain and had a truck pull out in front of me when I was going 70 mph. I was unable to slow down, so I hit the gas pedal. The truck stalled completely and would not accelerate. It felt the truck missed the down shift and never went back into gear. It was raining at the time of the incident around 630 pm. Was just scary as I had a semi behind me and another vehicle to my right that I was trying to avoid. The truck is a 2012 F150 lariat with the ecoboost engine.

- Lake Geneva, WI, USA

problem #65

Nov 012013

F-150

  • 15,400 miles
When accelerating from a stop in a right hand turn, the truck lost power and began to sputter and misfire. This is the 4th time this has happened to this F-150 off road 4X4 with ecoboost since I purchased it brand new. After the second time it happened, the check engine light came on so I took it to the dealer. The fix was a deflector plate installed for the twin turbo. They did not replaced the cac (charge air cooler). I was told this would most definitely fix the issue. Clearly, this did not fix the issue since I experienced the same issue yesterday. This is a potentially dangerous situation as I was turning onto very busy M59 in howell. I turned in front of a semi. Thank goodness I had enough room since I had no acceleration after the turn. Had I not given myself enough room and chanced it, the semi may not have been able to slow down in time. This vehicle should be recalled and Ford should discontinue making the ecoboost engine until they get it right.

- Cheboygan, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?