Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,342 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford F-250 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford F-250:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford F-250 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Mar 092016

F-250

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at speeds above 50 mph on both city and highway roads the front end and steering wheel start to wobble and vibrate to a point where control of the vehicle is almost lost. The only way to remedy the wobble/vibration is to hit the brakes and slow the vehicle down. This only occurs when driving over uneven pavement, pot holes or washboard roads. My research has revealed that this is a very common problem with the F250S and is commonly referred to as the "death wobble". the 2 dealers I brought it to even agreed that it is a common problem that they have been dealing with. This problems occurs almost every highway trip I take.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #23

Aug 152016

F-250

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-250. While driving various speeds, the vehicle swayed from left to right. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing; however, the reason for the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000. The VIN was not available.

- Fenton, MI, USA

problem #22

Sep 012013

F-250 4WD 8-cyl

  • 45 miles
Since 2013 I have had my Ford F250 into the dealership numerous times with complaints of the front end just beginning to violently shake. The shaking will not stop until the truck is stopped, and during that time it's shaking so violently it's uncontrollable. The dealership has continuously told me it's the tires, but the tires are still in decent shape. It's happening again, and it's very scary, for me and mine, and others.

- Desert Hot Springs, CA, USA

problem #21

Feb 012016

F-250

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-250. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle suddenly began to violently shake and vibrate. In order to correct the failure, the speed needed to be reduced or the vehicle needed to be stopped. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who installed a shim to the passenger side front ball joints, but the failure continued to occur. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Mazon, IL, USA

problem #20

Feb 252016

F-250

  • 33,000 miles
Two different problems: First I was left stranded about 2 1/2 hours away from home because of a simple egt sensor defect shut down my truck. Had to pay a tower $350 to drive my truck to dealership and they tell me it was a little sensor that left me stranded. This type thing shouldn't happen when you pay $60,000 plus for a vehicle. Now months later I have another issue that from all the blogs say is a problem most 2012 models have called the "death wobble". it is now happening at least once on every drive I make. I have had over 8 situations where I have had to slam on breaks to make the vibration stop and the car behind me almost slam into the back of my truck. Because once the wobbling starts you have to come to almost a complete stop before the wobbling will stop. My wife now refuses to drive my truck because she is scared to death to drive it. I don't even like to drive it, but it's necessary because it is the only vehicle I have to drive. I am at the point of wanting to trade it, but what kind of trade in am I going to get with this problem happening. My 2012 just has a little more than 40,000 miles, not very much when you are talking about a diesel engine. It is happening more often now than before, and I fell it will just continue to happen more. No one in my family wants to drive or ride with me in my truck anymore. It seems as though Ford is refusing to admit that this is a problem on every online site I go too, I assume it will take a few people getting killed before they realize there is a problem. What are owners to due with this, because if we trade the truck know one is going to want to buy it. So once again the consumer gets shafted. NHTSA we are looking for you to help us with this problem before someone gets killed. Please help us with this problem! please!!!!!!

- Blackshear, GA, USA

problem #19

Jun 252012

F-250

  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-250. While driving 40 mph, the front end of the vehicle shook and became difficult to control. The failure occurred constantly. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the drag link and the ball joints needed to be replaced. The vehicle also needed a front end alignment. The repairs were done; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 3,000.

- Hellam, PA, USA

problem #18

Oct 252015

F-250

  • 36,172 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving at highway speeds of 55 - 65mph and hit a slight bump in the road the entire front end of the vehicle shakes uncontrollably. In order to get this to stop you must slam on the brakes to bring the speed down to 15 - 20 mph. Ford dealership service adviser and mechanic acknowledge this issue exists and has since 2005 but there isn't any resolution for the issue. My vehicle has been in the shop 3 different times for over a month in total time. Ford region customer service manager states the issue is the road. I find it odd there are may other Ford truck owners with the same issue.

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #17

Oct 222015

F-250

  • 28,000 miles
While driving down straight down the highway about 50 mph. I crossed a bridge expansion joint and the front of the pickup shook violently. I had to apply the brakes firmly and pull to the shoulder quickly. I thought the front end of the truck was coming apart and I was going to wreck. This had never happened before and there was no warning prior to the event. I had been driving about 20 miles before this occur. It happened again several days later. I only have 28K miles on it. My friend later told me this was the 'death wobble' and that he had it on his F250-2012. He said it required replacement of a suspension bar(track bar) on the front of the truck which I had done. No further problem have been noted since replaced..1 week ago. The shop where I had the work done said they have fixed about 70 trucks and it will occur again when the ball joint on the bar wears out again. I have a king ranch model with 20 inch tires that may be a contributing factor. Other people I know with F250S and 18 inch tires have not noticed this problem.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #16

Apr 152014

F-250

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-250. While driving approximately 60 mph, there was a bump in the road that caused the vehicle to wobble. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The mechanic stated that the steering box, stabilizer, and drag link needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Palm Bay , FL, USA

problem #15

Nov 032014

F-250 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-250. While depressing the brake pedal at low speeds, the rubber stopper struck the axle and created a loud banging noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000.MA 08/11/15 MA 10/8 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. The shock absorbers were replaced. Updated 8/14/15

- Ringtown, PA, USA

problem #14

Apr 012013

F-250

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-250. While driving approximately 40 mph and over a bump, the front of the vehicle began to shake violently without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the bushing bar on the front end of the vehicle needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The contact also stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the pull over safely now warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, who diagnosed that the egt sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Placerville, CA, USA

problem #13

Dec 162014

F-250 4WD 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The truck went into a wobbling front wheel situation when I hit an irregular pavement stretch. It has also happened when you go over an expansion joint on a bridge or hit a bump or pothole at freeway speeds.

- Merrimack, NH, USA

problem #12

Nov 212014

F-250 4WD 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I was driving the speed limit of 65 mph on the interstate, when the truck went over a rough spot in the road and began to shake uncontrollably. I could not steer do the steering wheel and the front of the truck shaking so violently. I managed to get the truck slowed down quickly and over onto the median. I stopped and got out to check around and under the vehicle and found nothing. As I attempted to get up to speed and merge back onto the highway the truck started shaking again. After getting up to about 50 mph it smoothed out. I took the truck to discount tire and had the wheels rebalanced and the front checked with no problems noted. The truck has done this about 4 or 5 more times since and it always after you go over a rough spot in the road. The vehicle shakes so bad that you cannot control it and you have to stand on the brake to slow it down enough to be able to steer it. This can result in a major accident or death!!! I have also had problems with the transmission since the truck was new. When it shifts from 1st to 2nd sometimes there is a long delay where the throttle is pushed down and the truck does nothing for approximately 5 seconds, this has occurred numerous times in intersections and can cause you to be struck in the side. I have had the truck to the shop 3 times and they changed the transmission body and the transmission pump and it still continues to have the problem...

- Crossroads, TX, USA

problem #11

Jan 172015

F-250 4WD 8-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
While driving on the 400 just East of augesta Kansas the truck suddenly developed a "death wobble". it is called by other names as well, the steering started shaking uncontrollable and have to bring the truck to a stop. This was the second it in three weeks it hardened. It is at the deals hip now and can not find the cause. This seems to be common with the model of truck. This is very dangerous and needs to be addressed. Ford must take action and not wait as long as Jeep took to admit their is the problem I order to fix.

- Leon, KS, USA

problem #10

Jun 302014

F-250 8-cyl Diesel

  • 26,865 miles
New 2012 Ford F250, Super Duty, 4X4, crew cab truck, purchased 11/2013. Approx. 1 month prior, the truck began having a vibration at highway speeds (75% highway driving, 25% city). The vibration got worse over the course of a day. The 2nd day the front passenger tire exhibited a large bulge (tread separation) on the inside two tread grooves. Ford replaced the tire, with another of the same brand and model. On 6/30/2014, the front driver tire, with no warning, developed the same issue, a large bulge in the inside tread grooves. The tires are Continental Contitrac LT275/65R18 123/120S tires, dot# A3B9 479B 2511. Both tires had very little tire wear and the wear was even across the tire surface, the tires showed no sign of potential failure. I did get to see the inside of the second failed tire, there did not appear to be any damage except the cord separation which was not visible from either the inside or outside of the tire; I did take photos. I contacted Ford┐'s corporate number and awaiting a call from the dealer┐'s service manager, and regional service manager in reference to this safety concern. Ford did state they would contact NHTSA; Ford reference number cas04645143-Z4T8T9. Each time I have to replace the Continental tire under warranty Ford has to locate the tire and it is not easy to locate. In addition, every new Ford F250 on the dealers lot has another name brand tire, which I believe indicates Ford has issue with the Continental tires. I searched the NHTSA data base and found almost the exact same incident; NHTSA id# 10568111. I also found numerous similar complaints about the tire model. I attempted to contact Continental, case #[xxx], the call taker read from a script and could offer no help. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Palm Springs, FL, USA

problem #9

Jun 142014

F-250 8-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
This incident occurred on Saturday, June 14, 2014: Road conditions were dry, temperature 75 degrees. Extremely dramatic wheel wobbling. Traveling on interstate, approximately 65 mph, drove over several small bumps in the road when the shaking and wobbling started. Truck started veering into left lane of interstate. We thought our wheels were coming off due how violent this action was. Gently applied brakes, and shaking/wobbling subsided around 30 mph and pulled off of the interstate. First thing accomplished was going around and checking each tire to see if they were loose. They were secure. Have an appointment tomorrow morning, June 17, 2014 at the Ford dealership where truck was purchased. To say we were terrified is an understatement.

- Elkview, WV, USA

problem #8

May 032014

F-250 8-cyl Diesel

  • 39,000 miles
2012 F250 with the death wobble in the front end. Driving truck down highway at 70 mph and the front end just start to shake and feel like the front end is coming out from under the truck. Had to almost come to a complete stop before it would stop shaking. Take truck to Ford to get fixed and I'm told that it will not be cover under warranty. The two front ball joints go out and the track bar at 39K miles. They tell me that it is not cover under the power train warranty. From what I'm told Ford know this is a problem and has not fixed it yet.

- Charlotte , NC, USA

problem #7

Dec 202013

F-250 8-cyl Diesel

  • 45,000 miles
I was safely operating my Ford F 250 on a concrete bridge in pine island Florida. I was traveling @ 63 mph and was making a slight left bend. The truck crossed an expansion joint and went into uncontrollable violent oscillation of suspension and steering. The oscillation was such that the steering wheel was difficult to hold on to and my first thought was multiple flat tires or a wheel came off the vehicle. Hard braking to under 30 mph was what was required to stabilize steering to "normal". that was the first time this occurred and I discussed with my service adviser at the Ford dealership that I purchased the truck from. I inspected vehicle and could see no damage of obvious problems. I monitor tire pressure regularly, have no modifications to suspension or steering on vehicle. The next time this occurred 12/26/13, I was traveling approx. 65 mph and again was in a slight left hand turn and crossed an expansion joint near birmingham Alabama on highway 65. I was surrounded by dense 65 mph traffic and the truck was uncontrollable. This time there was a near accident as I has a semi tractor trailer both close behind me and to the right side of me. Once again I had to brake rapidly to avoid crossing lanes putting my family at risk of serious accident. This is a hazardous condition and the dealer has no explanation. The force is violent enough that it could easily damage parts of the truck. As a side note, the fuel pump came apart and slung metal fragments throughout the fuel system in truck within one hour of the violent oscillation.

- Apalachicola, FL, USA

problem #6

Nov 242013

F-250 8-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Violent shaking of entire truck (requiring driver to pull off highway/roads - at risk) - speed approx ~45-70mph highway/or back roads. This incident (upon research) is known and called the 'death wobble'. this issue causes a full loss of control of the vehicle. There is a known issue here (search internet on Ford 250 death wobble for video evidence - many instances) Ford must take corrective action. I now have a 2012 vehicle which is not safe to drive. Issue is ongoing and occurred on many dates many times ex. Driving approximately 5-7 miles home from groton ct to niantic ct - forced to pull off to side of highway 3 out of the 4 times the 'death wobble' ensued.

- Niantic, CT, USA

problem #5

Jul 302013

F-250

  • 32,000 miles
I was driving down the road and hit a small seam in the road at approx. 60 mph after hitting the small seam my whole truck began shaking violently to a point where I had no control over the vehicle. Once this happened I began reducing speed and as the speed was reduced the shaking was reduced as well. I had to come to a complete stop in order to stop the shaking. Once stopped the truck drove fine for a week then did it again and since has done it in the two week following. The dealership looked at it and said they could see nothing wrong and that everything was tight.

- Tiffin, OH, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?