Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Welcome to North America, Ford Fiesta. Thanks for bringing your herky-jerky transmission, numerous interior quality complaints, and an engine that dies while driving.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,073 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fiesta engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

Feb 112015


  • 81,000 miles


On several occasions over the last winter I turned left from my driveway. As I attempted to accelerate the vehicle briefly slipped out of gear. The vehicle is controlled by an automatic transmission, but slipped from gear, leaving me in the road, unable to move forward. This has happened on several occasions. My transmission has also failed several times at red lights. I will step on the gas, and there are several seconds of hesitation, where my vehicle will not move. Then it lurches forward. Ford has sent a letter explaining there have been defects with the transmission, but I have called 3 different dealerships, and they refuse to fix the problem unless it occurs during a test drive by their technicians. If the problem does not occur during their test drive they will charge me over $100 for the diagnosis. This defect is known to Ford, yet they refuse to fix it until the problem is consistent enough that I can bring it in, knowing the problem will occur on that particular test drive. I have almost been in an accident because I was unable to get my vehicle out of the road, due to the transmission issue. I believe the problem has also caused other issues with my vehicle. My O2 sensor and catalytic converter wore out prematurely.

- Berkley , MI, USA

problem #43

May 292015


  • 100,400 miles
While parked with the vehicle running (about 30 minutes in 87 degree weather with the ac on), the transmission felt like it tried to go into drive and rocked forward slightly. I looked at the dash and the check engine light came on. I tested the vehicle and it seemed road worthy enough to try and get home. When driving home and stopped at a stop light, the car's display for park, neutral, reverse, drive, started quickly flashing between drive and park. I could not accelerate the vehicle while this was going on. I placed the vehicle in park, and then met fairly heavy resistance putting it back into drive. After a few seconds of flashing between drive and park, it stopped and I was able to drive again. The same thing happened a few minutes later while I was about to turn into the Ford dealership. This time I tried turning off the vehicle to see if that would remedy the issue. I was unable to start the vehicle for a minute or two after because it was acting as if I was in drive (or the fast park / drive flutter) and trying to start it. It's been two days, yet I haven't heard back from the dealership on what this problem is. I did receive a recall notice that spells out the exact symptoms that I had, yet the mechanic has twice said it is very unlikely that the recall part, the tcm or transmission control module (which is back ordered six weeks), is the actual problem.

- Kuna, ID, USA

problem #42

Jan 172015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • miles
I reported to sterling mccall on 8/18/14 at 5:50 P.M. the problems that I have been having with my 2011 Ford Fiesta. I also reported the customer satisfaction program 14M01.0N 8/20/14at 7:19 a.M. I brought my vehicle into sterling mccall. Sterling mccall refused to fix the problem. I reported to legacy Ford on 9/5/14at 4:05 P.M. to [xxx]. the problems that I have been having with MY2011 Ford Fiesta. I also reported the customer satisfaction program14M01. On 9/11/14at 6:59 P.M. I brought vehicle into legacy Ford. They gave me a rental car at 7:15 P.M. on 9/12/14 legacy Ford refused to fix the problem. I filed a case [xxx]-5211951 with the customer relationship center at 2:15P.M. I brought my 2011 Ford Fiesta to Firestone for a diagnostic on 12/4/14. The find was that the article supersedes tsb 11-9-2 to update the issue statement and service procedure. I brought it to legacy Ford again on 1/14/15. And legacy Ford refused to fix my 2011 Ford Fiesta again. Then on 1/17/15 my car was in a accident. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #41

Nov 172010

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 7,155 miles


Vehicle will not pull over 40 miles per hour.

- Hazelwood, MO, USA

problem #40

Feb 182015


  • 50,000 miles
I purchased my 2011 Ford Fiesta in August 2014 with 45,000 miles on it. Car ran fine for a week then I noticed when the ac is on the car jerks when I accelerate. It also does it daily when I drive speeds under 30 mph. The car stalled out as I pulled out leaving wal-mart and thank god it was during the day when everyone is at work and that there was not a lot of traffic!! this car makes me nervous driving it a distance longer than 30 minutes and no car should feel that unsafe. I took it to the Ford dealer this morning reporting of constant jerking and hesitation while I am driving and feeling the gears grinding when I brake. I was told I needed a new clutch and that it is a common problem with these cars and that since the part is on back order it would take minimum 2 weeks to get in!. how there is not a recall on this I do not understand. I have read complaint after complaint about the same problems.

- Junction City, KS, USA

problem #39

Oct 102011

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 6,300 miles
When taking off from a stop the engine shutters causing a delay in acceleration.this has almost cause many accidents. It is very startling when the whole vehicle starts to bounce and shake. Clutch parts have been replace 2 times now. Other work has been done to try and fix the problem with no luck.over 20 times in shop. I also have been told Ford has chosen to set guide lines now that they say shutter in the transmission is normal. Normal does not help when I'm trying to pull out on a highway and lose power. I would like to know if there has been other reported issues. This car is dangerous.

- Leavenworth, KS, USA

problem #38

Jul 232014


  • 59,936 miles


The car was making noises and sounding like it was having difficulty changing gears, took it in to a Ford dealer in charles town, wv (thomassen) and was told the car was ok, they reprogrammed it. A month later, same issue, took it back to them, they replaced the controller module and pronounced it fine. Three months later, same issue. Have been told was a recall on the transmission but now the Ford dealership it is at in weston, wv, toothman, is not wanting to perform the recall, and kept it on their lot for 1 month before they even put it on a rack and looked at it. They claim it was dry of transmission fluid. The day before leaving, oil change was done and fluid levels checked. When it broke down, my daughter and boyfriend checked the fluid first thing and it had plenty. Now, car is stranded and no one is wanting to help with this issue. Ford first gave a claim # and said recall would be performed. Now they say its not a recall, just a service.

- Williamson, WV, USA

problem #37

Dec 242014


  • 119,000 miles
2011 Ford Fiesta bought at garber used cars in saginaw Michigan. I have had my car worked on for the recall for T E transmission rings. They told me they needed to also change out the clutch. Prior to this I spent 1200 dollars on the transmission part they said wasn't covered by a recall. The engine light started coming on a few days ago. They told me it was the catalytic converter. 650 to replace, and yesterday my car refused to start...the safety won't unlock and my car can't go into any gear but park. I had to have it towed...still waiting for the clutch and converter to come in so it can be repaired. When it runs it is a good ride. But the car has cost me all sorts of money I really cant afford to pay out. I will say if Ford doesn't come through and take responsibility for this car and fix the issues the company will lose my business forever.I am angry and disappointed and tired of paying for something that is so undependable.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #36

Dec 132014


  • 17,200 miles
I was rear ended by a Ford F350 so hard that I hit the car in front of me, a Honda Accord. The back of my 2011 Ford Fiesta is smashed in and the front of the car, is smashed in. The back window is scattered, the sunroof slider fell back into the car, the front right wheel (passenger side) is bent, and the car does not turn on. I understand in rear end crashes the air bags usually do not go off, but when I hit the car in front of me, the air bags should have gone off.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #35

Oct 202014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
While driving the vehicle's transmission began to act up. I was not able to drive over 30 mph. The transmission would slip while driving.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #34

Dec 022014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles


For approx. 2 months, my car will not always start. I would have to crank it a few times before it would turn over. Replaced the battery and it still happened. One night, stopped at the store for a few minutes. Got in the car and it wouldn't start. Left for an hour, got back in and it started. Dropped it off at the Ford dealer and they replaced the starter. The next day went to the P.O., got back in and it wouldn't start again. Waited 1/2 hour and it started. Drove right back to the dealer and they replaced the tcm. (transmission control module). That was 12/5. I am hoping this does the trick. Have read about 2011 Fiesta transmissions problems and hope I have no more problems.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #33

Dec 042014


  • 68,000 miles
Drove car on highway this morning on way to work and car would not accelerate or go. The only thing moving was the RPM's. I had to pull over on the highway and turn the car off. After the restart, the car was able to accelerate but now it was shifting badly in and out of gears. My work was only right around the corner so I was able to make it in. I went on a lunch break to test drive it around the block and it was giving me the same problem. Shifting out of 4th gear into 3rd for no reason. It's not even drivable. I have already had this car in the shop 2 times for transmission issues. Both times took weeks to get my car back, and I've only owned this car for a year and a half. This will be the 3rd time it's going into the shop, and now it's starting to risk my safety in the process. I have a 1 year old as well so I am not happy about this! something needs to be done about the safety issues of these cars and their transmissions.

- Glenolden, PA, USA

problem #32

Sep 012014


  • 67,000 miles
I purchased a Ford Fiesta 2011 in July 2014. Within a few weeks I noticed problems with the car jerking and hesitating and lurching forward but as a check engine light was on, I assumed it was because of the faulty catalytic converter, which was later replaced in Sep 2014. Still, the grinding noise, jerks and hesitation continued. I travel on the garden state parkway which is always heavily congested during peak hours and the car jerking forward put me at risk for an accident. Also, the brakes sometimes acted too slow but I don't know if this is a result of the transmission issues or not. It wasn't until earlier last month that I read about the inherent design flaw in the transmission. Currently, my car is at the dealership awaiting repairs to the transmission.

- Mount Holly, NJ, USA

problem #31

Oct 012014


  • 41,000 miles
Under warranty and with very few miles on the car, the dealership fixed my Ford Fiesta after I reported the car stalling. This problem was happening within the first year. I could be in the middle of an intersection waiting to turn left, idling in traffic, stopped at a might stall. I dreaded being on a busy social highway stuck in traffic because the car might stall and often it did. I was told it had something to do with oxygen or lack thereof. Fast forward two years. My car started stalling again but this time it also seemed to hesitate, jerk, or not respond when I accelerated.then the engine light came on. (side note: During the last year the ac stopped working properly and was making a horrible noise. A mechanic quoted $1000 for a new condenser & compressor). Well, with these last two problems I am no longer under warranty. My car was diagnosed with a bad throttle body sensor ($880 repair). I have researched online and heard from others that this is all too common with Ford Fiesta's and other Ford models. I have called Ford Motor Company to report this and complain about these problems. They opened a case number and directed me to ask the dealership where I took it for repairs if they would help out. They did not help with the throttle body repair. I learned just yesterday that a family member with the same car with low miles - 2011 Ford Fiesta - is complaining of the same problems. Sounds very much like he may be faced with the same, expensive repairs. I hope there will be a recall for this throttle body sensor problem. This stalling and acceleration issue is a real safety hazard. It is not only very nerve wracking in traffic, but is dangerous as well because the car can stall at any moment.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #30

Dec 032010

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
We questioned the dealer salesperson about the erratic behavior the night we purchased the car. We were told the vehicle had a manual transmission that shifted automatically. The vehicle has been to the dealership and or the dealership has been questioned many times regarding the issue. Most recently there was a notice for a reprogramming of the transmission, this did not resolve the issue. The dealers still insist that the behavior is normal. This behavior has now created many close call situations from lunging when going forward and reverse. The shifting is very erratic and makes a lot of noise from 0 to 20 mph or so. I'm also concerned about the resale value of this vehicle since I just recently starting doing research on the issue and have found it's a widespread problem. Please advise.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #29

Sep 152014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
My Ford Fiestas transmission is officially broke. The car's trannie was officially looked at by three transmission specialists, all baffled to why this car is dealing with this with such few miles. I've talked with numerous representatives of Ford, who've assured me that bad things just happen and there's nothing they will do. This is a terrible problem that needs to be addressed.

- Danville, VA, USA

problem #28

Aug 012014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
While traveling to and from work, the vehicle suddenly stalls on me. It stalls even if I am just waiting on a stop sign or light. I have been on the hwy and it stalls. I am able to turn it back on but this is dangerous. It makes noise like the engine wants to fall off. My husband also has a Ford Fiesta and the same thing happens to him. What is wrong with these cars?

- Bronson, FL, USA

problem #27

Aug 212014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 33,700 miles
I was driving home from work in the early afternoon on August 21, 2014 when my car seemed to lose throttle. I had noticed it was sluggish to pick up speed around 5 miles before. Immediately before the car lost throttle, as if it were in neutral, the check engine light came on, an audible alert was made, and then most of the service lights came on. I managed to pull the car over in about 30 seconds, and once I was parked I could see flames coming out of the left side of the hood. I turned the car off at that point, got out, and called 911. Unfortunately the front of the vehicle was completely engaged by the time the fire crew arrived. The vehicle was a total loss.

- Camp Hill, PA, USA

problem #26

Jul 142014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
My car was sitting in a parked position on a hill side and drifted backward over the hill, hit a guideline and rolled over two times. The car had been in the dealership over 20 times. Ford and erie ins. Met in may of 2014 and both decided the problems were related to manufacturing issues. The Ford dealership replaced my 2011 Ford Fiesta's computer, water pump, reprogrammed the transmission replaced the flywheel between the motor and the transmission, entire engine (short block and heads were replaced, coils, and many other items were replaced trying to correct the problem.the transmission allowed the car to roll down the hill backwards instead of holding the car in a stopped position. I asked my car insurance company and Ford motor to meet and have the car assessed for mechanic failures after the crash several times. I was told by the representative at my local Ford dealership that Ford did not want to look into the problem because they did not want to open themselves up to liability.. erie insurance did not want to spend the money investigating the crash, it should be Ford Motor Company's responsibility to look into the crash. I ask erie insurance to hold the car at the savage yard until either party could investigate the problems the car had over the past year and subsequent failure resulting in the total loss of my vehicle. Ford motor and C harper Ford both knew my 2011 Ford Fiesta had issues over the past year while my car was attempting to get fix(it was at the dealership approximately 26 times) and continued to fail. The Ford service consultant tom/ mechanic at the dealership informed me the Ford Fiesta models we having multiple mechanical issue and the car was junk. However, upon the 26 times they attempted to fix the car they allowed me to drive it with both myself and my family in the car. Thus knowing they were putting us a risk.

- Connellsville, PA, USA

problem #25

Jun 102014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
2011 Ford Fiesta ses, manual transmission: Car started stalling about 3 or 4 mos ago when I would come to a stop. Yesterday, it stalled as I was driving!!! now I don't dare get behind the wheel! I bought this car in '11 brand new and have had no problems with it until now. And now all I want to do is dump it!

- Riverside, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?