If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 2
Average Mileage:
37,019 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2000 Ford Focus fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2000 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #74

Mar 172009

Focus

  • 145,150 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2000 Ford Focus. While driving between 55-60 mph, the vehicle hesitated and stalled. The contact pulled over and opened the gas cap, which was difficult to open. When the cap was finally opened, there was a popping sound coming from the gas tank. The contact noticed that the temperature in the vehicle was warmer than normal. Ford stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline). The current mileage was 146,000 and failure mileage was 145,150.

- Florence, CO, USA

problem #73

May 162007

Focus

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled and the failure was worsening by the day. The vehicle would completely shut off or surge before shutting off. It would restart immediately 80% of the time and have to be jumpstarted the remaining 20%. the vehicle would stall even when the vehicle was initially started. The failure occurred at all speeds. The contact would only make turns when no other vehicles were around in fear that the failure would recur. The dealer stated that they would not repair the vehicle according to NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline) and would charge $86 for a diagnostic. The manufacturer was not notified. The current mileage was approximately 101,000 and failure mileage was approximately 70,000.

- Seffner, FL, USA

problem #72

Nov 212008

Focus

  • 120,000 miles
I went to the gas station to buy gas. After filling the tank I got in and when I tried to start the car it would not turn. Not even to the acc position. I called for a tow truck and they came and got it. I called my local Ford dealer and asked them about it and they told me its becoming very common for this type of car and to repair it I would have to replace the ignition cylinder and have it programmed...

- Lorain, OH, USA

problem #71

Apr 242008

Focus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2000 Ford Focus. The vehicle would hesitate driving at any speed. There are times where the engine will rev and it will raise 2 or 4 rpms but the speed of the vehicle will remain the same. She took the vehicle into a shop and was told that there was a problem in the fuel line and that it needed to be repaired. But she decided to check for recalls before making repairs. She went online and founds recalls for her year make and model. She found a recall that explained her exact problems she called the dealership and was told that the recall did not affect her VIN. She believes that her VIN should be included in the recall. The current and failure mileages were unavailable. Updated 09/10/08 the consumer stated the vehicle hesitates and shuts off. Updated 09/11/08

- Lexington, NC, USA

problem #70

May 022008

Focus

  • 120,692 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Ford Focus. The contact could not accelerate over 20 mph, even after she shifted into third gear. She also noticed that the engine warning light illuminated on the instrument control panel. The dealer stated that her VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline). The manufacturer did not provide any assistance. The failure and current mileages were 120,692.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #69

Jul 152005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
I searched in your page and you already have a campaign. The official NHTSA page concerning recall is #03V48200 and the NHTSA campaign is #02V28900. The engine of my car already crashed and I want to know where I can searched for the car's serial number that are included in this recall.

- Barceloneta, PR, USA

problem #68

Nov 212007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 72,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2000 Ford Focus. While driving 50 mph, the contact depressed the accelerator pedal and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to be restarted a few seconds later. Ford stated that the failure was included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 (fuel system); however, the recall repair was previously performed. The failure mileage was 72,800 and current mileage was 73,000. Updated 01-15-08. Updated

- Prospect, ME, USA

problem #67

Aug 122007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Car would start stalling at lights or stop sign. Then started shaking and jumping at lights and stop signs. Would have to put in neutral which did not help much. While driving would RPM high would have to take foot of gas so it would change gears, at the same time no power. At 1/4 tank while driving just stalls/wait & start again.

- Galloway, OH, USA

problem #66

Aug 062007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,600 miles
Pertaining to NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 and Ford campaign number 03N01.

- Park Hill, PA, USA

problem #65

Jul 062007

Focus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Bought used 2000 Ford Focus for daughter on 6/19/07. Worked fine until about 3 weeks later (~7/6) when car would stall out on her for no reason while she was driving it. Taken to dealership we bought from who took it to local Ford store so they could look at it. They claim problem has not occurred with them. Talked to 800# for Ford and lady tells me that service dept has to "replicate" the problem before they will fix the known problem (fuel delivery module). Notification was suppose to be sent to owner. When I talked to previous owners, they said they never received any notifications of recalls, etc from Ford. When I spoke to Ford, she said owner information is not automatically updated with them...I had her update with my daughter's information. To date, 8/2/07, Ford refuses to fix a well-known problem with early Ford Focus.

- North Liberty, IA, USA

problem #64

Apr 192007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2000 Ford Focus. The vehicle was serviced at 99,000 miles for NHTSA recall # 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline). The engine continued to stall and shut off. The failure only occurred at start up and low speeds of 20 mph. The vehicle would restart after approximately 2-3 attempts. The current mileage is 101,000 and failure mileage was 99,000.

- Mobile , AL, USA

problem #63

Feb 022007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
There have been several problems regarding 2000 Ford Focus concerning gas mileage deterioration. All cars lost some form of mpg estimates over years of use, but the Focus had terrible deterioration.. I have spoken to many owners of 2000 Ford Focus' that have experienced the same problem. Estimated mpg had been from 15 to 22, with mine fluctuated from 10 to 20. No mechanical problems could be found through normal means. There was no explanation regarding the loss of good gas mileage, with the exception of a problem with the programming of the brain box. Also, this car suddenly developed cracks in the windshield - they weren't cracks that were formed from the outside surface or the inside surface. They actually formed in the glass, between the layers. They cannot be felt on the outside or the inside of the glass.

- Scranton, PA, USA

problem #62

Jan 052007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 123,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2000 Ford Focus. The contact called Ford manufacturer on 02/05/07, and they told her that the safety recall 03V482000 applied to the vehicle. The contact had the vehicle towed to the dealer, and was told that they were not doing recall repairs anymore. On certain passenger vehicles, contamination of the filter in the fuel delivery module (FDM) can reduce, and eventually block the flow of fuel to the engine. The contact was told that there was no recall even when she gave the dealer the recall number. The contact stated that this vehicle had the same failure as mentioned in the recall. On 2/5/07 the vehicle would not start. When merging onto the highway at 25 mph the vehicle lost power, sputtered and stalled. Someone almost hit the contact's vehicle several times because it stalled. She pulled over to the side of the road and turned off the ignition and restarted the vehicle. This has been going on since 2004 intermittently, and usually happened when she attempted to merge into traffic. Also, the this happened several times a week, and each time she has had to pull off the road and restart the engine.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #61

Jun 012006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 190,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 55 mph on dry asphalt, the engine stalled. The vehicle was able to be restarted after 15 minutes, and was taken to a service dealer who determined that the fuel pump had stopped functioning. The dealer replaced the pump on two separate occasions, however the problems persisted. The fron stabilizer bar and fuel filter were replaced. Updated 11/16/06.

- Freeman, MO, USA

problem #60

Jul 272006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Went to vets, when leaving my Ford Focus started acting up. Seemed like gas was not getting to engine, then it quit. Left vets to come home, drove about 5 blocks and car did the same thing. A Honda dealer was close by so we left car there and rented a car to get home. Phoned Ford and they said they would do nothing for me. Husband went back to penticton to get my car and it did the same thing on the way home, quit coming home 3 times. The Honda dealer said if it did it again it was something to do with the fuel system pump, and we would have to replace it. When I talked to Ford they said they would not cover the replacement.

- Kleowna, 00, USA

problem #59

Jun 192006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,463 miles
I purchased my 2000 Ford Focus in 2001 and feel as if I have spent more time in the shop for recalls and repairs than I have driving it. In March 2003, I was driving 65 mph on the highway when the car died without warning. I was barely able to make it safely to the shoulder and required a tow to the dealership. They fixed the problem which was apparently related to the recall for the fuel delivery module. The car ran fine until recently when it again began to hesitate, surge, and stall (especially if the air conditioner is on, which I now cannot run and I live in Tennessee where the temperatures are regularly in the 80's and 90's). I took the car to the Ford dealership yesterday and told them I am having the same problem I had before when the recall was apparently fixed. They said to come back the next day and they would look at it but it would not be covered under the recall or warranty because it was already fixed once and it's only guaranteed for 12 months. This car is a lemon if there ever was one. I will never again purchase an american-made car if they are able to get away with ripping off consumers the way they do.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #58

Jun 042006

Focus

  • miles
I took my vehicle to the local Ford dealer on March 2, 2006 after I was having trouble with it stalling and then it was hard to restart. They replaced the fuel pump and fuel filter. Then on May 19, I took the car in again to have a recall on the locks fixed and to assess the check engine light being on. I was told that their was an evap leak at the gas cap and one would be ordered for me. During this wait I experienced a strong gas smell surrounding the vehicle and coming up through the vents. Then on June 4 (the cap still not replaced), I was getting poor gas mileage. As I was backing out of a driveway I noticed a string of gas. As I was driving down the road I was losing gas. I went from half a gallon to E in less that 8 min. Until I arrived at my destination and the car died. I put it in neutral and rolled to safety. Then I had to have it towed to my local Ford dealer who is currently assessing the situation....please help!!! previous problems includes, but it is not limited to the following problems (cuts out, dies, hesitates{coil pack replaced}, the key not fitting into the ignition {jammed the key in & WD40}.

- Sullivan, IN, USA

problem #57

May 232006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,010 miles
My Ford VIN [xxx] is having the symptoms as per NHTSA campaign id number: 03V482000 and meets the specifications of this recall, but Ford says that my car doesn't qualify for recall 03N01 because they say the recall is not mandatory and is not a safety recall. I'm driving a 2000 Ford Focus zts and after running the tank low on fuel, the engine is now hesitating and has a loss of power. I reported to the service tech that my car was having these problems and the circumstances that preceded the change in the car's performance. They said their computer's diagnostic of the situation didn't indicate a problem with the fuel delivery module. Updated 07/16/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #56

Nov 102005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 82,000 miles
: the vehicle's check engine light illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer to be inspected. The dealer determined that there was a recall on the vehicle regarding the fuel tank assembly (NHTSA recall, #06V025000). The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed that the parts were not available. The fuel pump has been replaced twice. The ignition switch has been replaced three times. Updated 3/9/2006 -

- Farmersville, CA, USA

problem #55

Jan 262006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,900 miles
The day the problem began my car was idling very oddly. The RPM's would race up, like I was accelerating then the next second it seemed like the car was going to die. The car had over a 1/4 of a tank of gas in it. Then the car just quit while I was driving down the road. To find out it was completely out of gas even though the gas gage read 1/4.

- Vine Grove, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?