Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.5

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,454 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Focus brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Jul 272006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,562 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2001 Ford Focus ztech. My car was stalling at random in the middle of driving and finally wouldnt start at all. I took it to a dealership. They said my battery cables were melted, so they replaced them, rerouted them, along with my clips, etc. They couldn't figure out why my cables would be like that and said that is probably why my car doesn't start all the time, but they couldn't be positive so they recommended that I replace my starter as well. They charged me $998. This also happened to me in previous years. I went to the vehicle recall site and see that Ford started a recall in 2003 on this very same problem. Why didn't I receive recall information on my car? I've stalled before in the middle of traffic last year for the same problem and had my battery replaced. This happens too much. I have small children's safety to worry about. What bothers me in addition to that is that the Ford dealership that I used should have noticed this recall and related it to my vehicle's problem. I feel this is a terrible safety issue, and I can't afford to keep getting new batteries/cables and starters. Also, my key keeps getting stuck in the ignition, and Ford won't do anything about that either, even though my dealer said it's a very common problem with this product. They said it would cost me at least $400 to fix it. I've already gotten stuck at a store twice. It just works when it wants to.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #38

Oct 012003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The contact had to replace the brake pads, calipers and rotors at 30,000 miles in October 2003. Then at 47,000 miles on July 29. 2005. The brake pads wore out and the rotors rusted and pitted. The service dealer stated this was normal. The consumer has contacted the manufacturer.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #37

Apr 012005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles
2001 Ford Focus rotors (front driver and passenger side) were shredded. The brake pads were only half worn.

- Cambridge, NY, USA

problem #36

Nov 202003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was taken to the dealer for a routine inspection, and mechanic determined that the rotors and master cylinder needed to be replaced, and replaced them three times due to worn out parts.

- Fillmore, CA, USA

problem #35

Aug 112003

Focus 4-cyl

  • 37,700 miles
Front brake pads and rotors for my 2001 Ford Focus wagon need to be replaced after just 37,700 miles. The brakes on the car have squealed almost since day one (we purchased it new in August 2001), have had it in to the dealer for checking and repairs numerous times (mcmahon Ford, norwalk, ct) and they said it's normal for brakes to squeal, or that they can't replicate the problem, or that it's due to dust, or denied that they squealed at all. The repair place says the rotors cannot be turned and that the brakes were made to barely minimum standards. They are returning the worn parts. There was never any indication that the brakes were failing (for one thing, because of the permanent squeal) and the dealership did not find this problem the last time we had it in for a checkup before it went out of warranty, which is of the most concern to me.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #34

Aug 072004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
At a routine oil change/alignment I was informed that my front brakes were 95% worn and that they and the rotors needed replacing. At first I thought I was being had -- I've only put 24,000 miles on my car, all very gentle driving. Then I discovered that I'm one of the more fortunate -- many Ford Focus owners are replacing brakes and rotors at 15,000 miles! there wasn't an accident, but there certainly could have been a brake failure if my mechanics had not alerted me to the problem.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #33

Jul 192004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,550 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was making loud grinding sounds when brake was engaged, so I took it to dealer to have it checked and was told that brake pads and rotors were worn and would have to be replaced. Parts were not replaced because, according to Ford, this is normal wear. At 32,500 miles, rotor damage is not normal wear, especially when grinding sound begins once failure has occurred.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #32

May 282004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,975 miles
2001 Ford Focus front brakes and rotors severely worn after 25,000 miles. Rotor and brake pads had to be replaced on both front tires by Ford dealer.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #31

Jun 042004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
Left brake pad and rotor completely worn after 24000 miles of gentle driving. Ford refused to cover the pads and rotor under the warranty. Customer service was not helpful or flexible.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #30

Apr 302004

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
At around 36,000 miles I was told that my Ford Focus needs new rotors with the brake job. This is the first time I hear of rotors needing to be changed at this low milage. I had to pay for the new rotors.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #29

Apr 272004

Focus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Consumer complained about brake rotors problem. Rear brakes rotors were replaced on three separate occasions, but problem recurred.

- San Pedro, CA, USA

problem #28

Mar 012004

Focus

  • miles
Front brakes and rotors; I had 21K+ miles on my 2001 Ford Focus, the car would vibrate when braking, and specially downhill. I was informed by the dealer that I needed new brake pads, and "most likely rotors". that's ridiculous for such low miles. Fearing for my family safety I did replace the pads and rotors, but not with the dealer.

- Maineville, OH, USA

problem #27

Mar 052004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
I purchased a 2001 Ford Focus in Jan/2001. After 16000 miles my rotors cracked and had to be replaced along with other brake parts this repair was done on 10/15/02 and was covered by my warranty. After 30000 miles I began to hear a squeaking noise whenever I applied the brakes. At 30528 miles, on 03/05/04, I was informed by the oasis Ford dealership (old bridge, NJ) technician that my rotors had to be replaced along with other brake parts and because this was a wear problem, it was not covered by my very expensive warranty. I told him that the rotors were replaced only 14000 miles ago. He said that the problem was with the rotors provided by Ford Motor Company. He said they were too thin and could not be machined because that would reduce them below "specs". this repair would cost me $360 now and, presumably, any future brake repair. The rotors appear to be of inferior quality and perhaps a safety issue. Please investigate. I am available for any follow-up questions you may have. Thank you for your assistance. Regards, ed barry.

- Howell, NJ, USA

problem #26

Jan 012004

Focus

  • 27,000 miles
While braking, the consumer heard a loud squeaking noise coming from the brake rotors. The dealership informed the consumer that the front brake rotors were worn. The mechanic tried to repair the vehicle, but the problem continued.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #25

Oct 152003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 35,800 miles
I have had my certified preowned Ford Focus ZX3 for 10 months now. I have run it under normal driving conditions. I started having a a noise coming from the engine compartment and noticed a slight vibration on the steering wheel. I continued to drive it for a week, thinking that it may be a hard spot in the brak pad. I took it to a dealership a week later to have them inspect it, while it was still under new car warranty, and they stated that I needed new pads and rotors, service charge :$10. I checked them myself and noticed that the pads were still at 50%. I replaced the pads and rotors. The noise is still persistent, but the noise, according to Ford is normal. I wish there would be an investigation brought forward and a recall for all Ford Focus trim levels to service brake issues, such as premature wear (states on ordfocusbrakeproblems.com).

- West Lafayette , IN, USA

problem #24

Oct 282003

Focus

  • 22,300 miles
2001 Ford Focus serious brake problems. I bought a new 2001 Ford Focus SE in May 2001. About 6 months after purchase I noticed a grinding noise. Ford replaced "cracked brake shoes" on the car and said it was covered under warranty. Its now October 2003, my air conditioning suddenly stopped working. Also my car was again making little squeaking noises when braking. So, I took it to a local Ford dealer who told me that at 22,000 miles my car brakes were totally shot, that it was completely unsafe to drive, I needed all new brakes and rotors immediately, and that I should not drive anywhere. There are several websites all with hundreds of other Ford Focus owners having the same problems. Some brakes are totally failing on cars! www.fordfocusbrakeproblems.com for one with links to several others. This needs to be investigated fast! thanks in advance for your time!

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #23

Oct 222003

(reported on)

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving a grinding noise was heard when depressing the brake pedal. Dealer replaced front brakes and rotors. The problem occurred again, and the dealer determined that vehicle needed new front wheel bearings.

- Christiansburg, VA, USA

problem #22

May 132003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,411 miles
On 11-12-2001 I purchased a new Ford Focus at a Ford dealership. On 5-13-03, the front wheels began to make a loud grinding noise and the brakes failed to operate normally. The car had only 18411 miles on it and when taken to the dealership where it was purchased, they said the brake pads and rotors were shot and needed to be replaced. I complained that no vehicle brake systems should fail that early at that low mileage but the dealership would not assist me in any way, instead charging me $469.57. The vehicle was not misused and was driven under normal conditions by mature drivers. This year/model Ford Focus was manufactured poorly and I have read of numerous other complaints about this vehicle. There was a problem when Ford built the car and they should be held responsible for correcting the problem.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #21

Oct 072003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 18,000 miles
Brake rotors needed to be turned at 18000 miles and failed at 23,300 miles. At 23,300 miles the rotors were below the minimum thickness requirement. The brake pads, however, showed only minimal wear. The dealer refused to award warranty to the brake components.

- Helena, AL, USA

problem #20

Aug 272003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,600 miles
Premature brake pad and rotor replacements on front of Ford Focus sedan. Brakes replaced at 21,000 miles. I have never had to replace rotors on any car this early. Ford owners of Focus have listed this problem hundreds of times. Yet I know of no recall for this problem. Some have had it in less than 10,000 miles. This really needs to be looked into.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?