Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,794 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Focus fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #54

Jun 272008

Focus

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the engine hesitated, and the vehicle lost power, surged, and experienced other similar symptoms. The failure has occurred twice while driving. The vehicle became sluggish and stalled at any speed. After waiting 20 to 40 minutes, the contact restarted the vehicle and took it to the local service station for a diagnostic. The dealer stated that his VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline). The failure mileage was 89,000 and current mileage was 90,000. Updated 07/29/08 updated 08/07/08 the dealer lowered the fuel tank, removed the old fuel pump and found the screen in the bottom of the tank. The dealer replaced the fuel pump. Updated 08/07/08

- North Wales, PA, USA

problem #53

Jun 012006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle would vibrate and the engine stalled. The vehicle would restart and backfire before accelerating. There were no prior warning indicators. The dealer diagnosed the failure as the fuel system, but the contact was unsure about what they said needed to be repaired. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline). The failure mileage was 40,000 and current mileage was 79,000. Updated 05/07/08 updated 05/07/08.

- St. Petersburg , FL, USA

problem #52

Dec 152007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. The engine warning indicator light illuminated intermittently and the vehicle surged forward. While idling at a stop light, the engine shut off. The dealer stated that the fuel delivery module malfunctioned and they made the replacement. Prior to the contact owning the vehicle, it was previously serviced in 2004 under NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline). The failure mileage was 100,000 and current mileage was 103,000.

- Milwaukee , OR, USA

problem #51

Nov 112003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. Approximately two years ago, the contact noticed that her gas mileage was significantly lower than other 2001 vehicles of the same model. The dealer stated that recalls were issued for the Ford Focus, however, the manufacturer stated that there were no recalls regarding gas mileage. The speed was unknown. The current mileage was 98,000 and failure mileage was 30,000. *updated 12/27/07 updated 12/12/07

- Daoton, GA, USA

problem #50

Sep 282006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle began hesitating and shaking and shut completely off when turning. The failure only occurred once. The contact has not taken the vehicle to the dealer. NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 (fuel system) was referenced. The purchase date was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 105,000. Updated 12/12/07

- Burlington, NC, USA

problem #49

Aug 052007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 158,000 miles
Initially the problem seemed to be hesitation in the transmission at high speed on the highway. However, it gradually worsened and resulted in surging and loss of power. The throttle because totally unresponsive and I had to coast to a stop on the side of a busy highway. The car is in the shop presently. Given the amount of data out there to show this is a common defect for the 2001 Focus, I expect Ford to cover the repair.

- Hillsboro, MO, USA

problem #48

Jun 042006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus SE. The contact stated that the vehicle would hesitate and loose power while driving. The failure occurred without warning. The dealer replaced the fuel filter, but the failure persists. The contact stated that the failure has been ongoing and resulted in a vehicle crash. The manufacturer stated that her vehicle was not included as part of any recalls. A valid VIN, the engine size, and powertrain were unknown. The current mileage is 110,000 and failure mileage was 90,000.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #47

May 112007

Focus

  • Manual transmission
  • 53,800 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. The current and failure mileage were 53800. While driving at 35 mph under normal driving conditions, the engine stalled without warning. The contact was able to roll the vehicle into a parking lot. After about five minutes the contact was able to start the vehicle again. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the fuel pump failed. Same problem as NHTSA recall # 03V482000.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #46

Apr 172007

(reported on)

Focus

  • miles
2001 Ford Focus customer states that the fuel pump and fuel filter are bad an needs to be recalled* after the repairs were made in late summer of 2004, the consumer experienced the same problems in March 2007 the pump was replaced again. The manufacturer referred to the problem as a safety and customer satisfaction issue not a recall. Updated 06/26/07.

- New Cumberland, PA, USA

problem #45

Sep 012006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,676 miles
: the contact stated when the vehicle was started, the engine stalled completely. The vehicle was restarted, and stalled a second time. The vehicle was shifted into park, and would not start back up for 3 days. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer, where it was determined that the fuel pump had failed. There was a NHTSA recall# 03V482000 which pertained to the gasoline fuel system. The fuel delivery module had previously been replaced 3 times with no success. The manufacturer was also notified, who informed the contact that there was nothing that could be done.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #44

Mar 312006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving 65mph uphill, the vehicle hesitated and operated at a reduced speed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for inspection. The dealership determined the fuel delivery module was blocking the flow of fuel to the engine. There is a NHTSA recall, # 03V482000, regarding the fuel system. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it is not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #43

Mar 122006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving at any speed and without warning the vehicle stalls. After one hour the vehicle restarts. The dealer replaced the fuel pump, fuel filter, cam, oxygen sensor, fuel sensor, fuel line, coil tech, and vacuum hose; however this did not remedy the problem.

- Carthage, MO, USA

problem #42

Mar 032006

(reported on)

Focus

  • miles
2001 Focus faulty FDM was replaced. This caused vehicle to hesitate, surge, stutter, and lose power during acceleration. ***** the consumer discovered a recall had been issued, but was told his vehicle was not included. The consumer later discovered his vehicle was manufactured at the exact plant that was included in the recall.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #41

Sep 102005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 112,000 miles
There is a recall program on the 2001 Ford Focus that I own which I was notified of in writing by letter. (03N01) the letter states that the fuel pump is faulty and needs to be replaced if the car is exhibiting stalling, sputtering, cutting off, etc. My car did all of those things. The letter also states that the repair should take 1/2 day. When I took the car to be repaired the dealership did not acknowledge that there is a problem and repaired something totally different at my expense despite the fact that I have a letter. The repair they did also took 4 days. I was out of pocket for the repair. The car is now stalling and cutting off constantly putting my family and myself in a great deal of danger. I called the number on the letter I received about the recall. The representative named mohammed was of no assistance telling me that I needed to have the problem diagnosed at the dealership. I explained to him that I did already take the car and have it diagnosed with the symptoms described on the letter paid for the repair that was done though the dealership refused to replace the fuel pump. I am afraid that if the car is not repaired soon, at Ford's expense there is the possibility of danger to my family or myself. Lyndon, mohammed's supervisor also spoke with me and repeated the same things I told him over and over offering no assistance.

- Brandywine, MD, USA

problem #40

Jun 012004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
Similar description with NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000, but no match on VIN [xxx]. updated 07/19/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Mundelein, IL, USA

problem #39

Jun 282005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,259 miles
I have a 2001 Ford Focus. Over the past 1 1/4 years, my car has experienced intermittent engine problems. The car experiences a loss of power, "bucks like a Bronco", and eventually stalls within a matter of moments. This has occurred three times on hilly state highways where the speed limit is 65 mph. If the car is allowed to sit, it will typically restart after a hour or so. Last week this occured on flat terrain with the air conditioner running and the car going approximately 40mph. I had the car towed to the dealership, however they did not look at the vehcile until the next day and advised me that it was most likely the fuel pump however, they were unable to guarantee that replacement would correct the problem. I advised the dealership of NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 and was advised that it did not pertain to my car. I contacted Ford and was advised that unless the dealership could duplicate the problem, the FDM would not be replaced under the program.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #38

Aug 012004

Focus

  • miles
The 2001 Ford Focus had five recall notices. The vehicle would not start. The consumer needed a new fuel pump. The vehicle displayed a strong fuel smell. The fuel cap light had come on. The replacement fuel pump was defective. Refer to recall campaign# 03V482000.

- Mount Laurel, NJ, USA

problem #37

Aug 012003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
The fuel filter gets clogged which blocks the flow of fuel to the engine, causing stalling. This is the third time that the fuel filter had to be replaced. A recall was issued regarding this problem. Recall campaign # 03V482000. There was brake pulsation, the front end creaks really bad and the vehicle would have no power and or stall while going 40-45 mph.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #36

Dec 162004

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
My 2001 Ford Focus has stalled again. This is about the 4th time. Local mechanic found problem to be fuel injector pump. Dealership claims that is only battery replacement. I have all old parts from recent service at dealership. I would like to see this vehicle recalled. Found internet article that states that this is not an uncommon problem with this make/model. www.theautochannel.com/F/mania/repair/news.html?mania.

- Spring Grove, IL, USA

problem #35

Nov 202004

Focus

  • miles
After the fuel delivery module recall 03V482000 was performed the replacement part failed. This was verified by the dealership after inspection.

- Humble, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?