Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,906 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Focus fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Focus Owner Comments

problem #16

Oct 262006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle hesitates, stalls, and has to be restarted each time. The vehicle was taken to Ford at least 12 times; however, they could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic and he discovered that the fuel pump failed. His VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V482000 (fuel system, gasoline). The vehicle was returned to the dealer and they stated that the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The current mileage was 72,000 and failure mileage was 42,000.

- Peakin, IN, USA

problem #15

Jan 242007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 140,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus with a current and failure mileage of 140,000. The contact stated that she was driving 55 mph on a hot day and the vehicle would sputter and lose acceleration, then lost power. The contact stated that the engine would stall, but the car would still be driving until the contact applied the brakes. The contact had the mechanic changed the spark plugs, wires, and fuel filter, but the problem persisted. The contact called the manufacturer, and they told him to take it to the Ford dealer to get it diagnosed. The mechanic stated that it was a failure in the fuel distribution system, but the parts were on nationwide back order.

- Tappahannock , VA, USA

problem #14

Apr 042007

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Focus. The contact stated that this vehicle is performed similar to the information found in NHTSA recallm campaign # 03V482000. The Ford manufacturer stated that this vehicle was excluded from the recall. The current and failure mileage were 61,000.

- Kailua Kona, HI, USA

problem #13

Jun 302006

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Vehicle stalls underway due to clogged fuel filter. I have replaced the fuel filter three time in the last 10,000 miles. Appears to be clogged with black material. Believe this could be related to EA02022. This last time my 17 yr old was the driver.

- Mt Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #12

Mar 082004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 41,880 miles
History of fuel system problem: 11/25/03: Engine hesitation, loss of power, engine stall (pd repair cost- diagnostic test; no problems found). 2/04: Received recall letter from Ford regarding fuel pump in my vehicle. 3/8/04: Recall work performed(replaced fuel delivery module - N/C). 3/9/04: Same problem re-occurred(replace dpfe sensor and clear dtcs - N/C). 6/04: Same problem re-occurred (diff. Dealer - replaced fuel filter- pd repair cost). 8/5/04: Same problem re-occurred (broke down in Ohio - replaced vacuum hose - pd repair cost). Vehicle has stalled at least 20 times while operating. 2 close-calls: 8/5/04 in Ohio- stalled in busy intersection while turning. 9/04: Almost hit child on bike in neighborhood due to vehicle stall and loss of assisted steering.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #11

Jun 252004


  • 50,000 miles
Recall 03V482000 concerning stalling. Vehicle experienced a hesitation/stalling problem, and loss of power. Dealer was notified, and informed the consumer that this vehicle was not included in the recall due to VIN.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #10

Apr 302004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,300 miles


My car stalled after coming around a sharp right hand turn. I restarted the engine and carried on a few more yards when the engine stalled again. I tried to start the car several more times because I was stuck at the entrance to the freeway on-ramp in very busy traffic. I could not get the car started and had to get it towed away. The mechanic at the repair outfit replaced the fuel filter and said that the old one was clogged up with dirt. This has never happened to me before. I did some research on the internet and found that I am not the only Focus owner with this problem. I think this relates to recall #03V482000.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #9

Jan 162004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer received a recall letter NHTSA: #03V482000 concerning fuel delivery problem. The vehicle was taken tot he dealer but the dealer refused to honor the recall indicating there was not recall at this moment. The consumer was asked to bring the vehicle to the dealer for a diagnostic test which would cost $90.

- Jacksonville Beach, FL, USA

problem #8

Nov 092003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 46,000 miles
I have a 2001 Ford Focus ZX3. Around approximately 36,000 miles I started noticing the engine missing. Shortly after when the gas tank would be 1/4 full and below the car would experience what felt like fuel starvation, frequently in coordination with a sharp turn. The car would spit and sputter for a few seconds and then it would clear up and be fine. This usually occurred when accelerating on an interstate on ramp and was (and still is) potentially dangerous. The severity and frequency of the car stalling gradually became worse over a few months time. Now the car has approximately 46,000 miles on it. On November 9, 2003 while on the interstate traveling at 65 mph with 1/2 tank of gas the car started going through fuel starvation. It last a few seconds and then cleared up. This is a major safety hazard. Before the last incident, I thought that if I made sure the gas tank was not low the car would be okay. I did some research on this incident after the last incident. I searched the NHTSA site and focaljet. I saw that many people were suffering this problem and learned what the probable cause was. I believe the problem is the lining of the gas tank coming loose and keeping the fuel delivery module from taking up as much gas as the car needs to keep running. I contacted the local Ford dealership on November 11, 2003. The service manager told me he had heard of the problem, but had never had a customer that had a problem with it. I am taking the car in on November 18, 2003 to get repaired. To be clear, the car has not totally stalled due to this problem. It acts like it is going to die and the rpms go down. Pushing in the accelerator pedal does not make the rpms go up. The car runs very rough for several seconds (spitting and sputtering is how I describe it) and then clears out.

- Arlington, WI, USA

problem #7

Mar 082003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Fuel system, gasoline: Delivery problem.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #6

Sep 152003

(reported on)

Focus 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles


When the vehicle was in reverse and the brake pedal was depressed, the vehicle stalled. The dealership refused to evaluate the problem because the vehicle started after being towed. All three incidents occurred when the gas tank was 1/4 full or less. All three incidents occurred when the vehicle sat overnight and was started in the morning.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #5

Jul 222003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Problem is ongoing.when the gas tank is less than 1/4 tank full, the engine hesitates, as if it's not getting enough fuel, when I try to resume speed after dropping from highway speed of 40+ to anything below that and then try to accelerate again. Problem typically occurs when merging onto a thruway from an access ramp. My mechanic speculates that fuel pump in gas tank doesn't get enough fuel because what fuel is left sloshes away from pump. Problem is long-standing, fuel filter has been replaced but didn't help. I chose to keep the tank full rather than spend $100S of dollars investigating problem. Special note: Model is a station wagon with a manual transmission.

- West Falls, NY, USA

problem #4

Jul 052003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles
Car lost fuel pressure and would not drive. After waiting until car cooled down car will start and drive. Car only has this problem when the tempature is above 90 degrees.

- Wyomong, MN, USA

problem #3

May 192003

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 37,950 miles
Related to NHTSA action #EA02022 2001 Ford Focus with 38,000 miles; fuel starvation, sometimes to the point of stalling. Occurs when making long right turns (interstate on & off-ramps) - prevents me from merging safely into traffic. Problem is most severe with less than 1/2 a tank of gas.

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #2

Dec 302002

Focus 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 19,360 miles
Engine stalls at any speed, during any weather conditions. A engine light with an 'exclamation point' comes on, the red light near the hazards button comes on, and the fuel light comes on while this stalling happens. About two weeks prior to the car beginning to stall, the check engine light had come on. I took it to the dealership and they replaced a valve (rtc, I think) in the fuel system and said I needed a new fuel filter and the fuel infectors cleaned, all for about $200. I had the fuel filter replaced at an independent garage and used techron fuel injector cleaner in the gas tank. The da I left the dealership, however, the car began to stall and it cotinues to do so.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #1

May 212002


  • miles
No summary listed for above vehicle.

- Novi, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?