Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,629 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Ford Focus seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Aug 012011

Focus

  • 180,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 8/1/2011, going 40mph I hit a deer. The whole hood of my car is pushed in, my radiator is pushed in, I cannot open the hood, the deer is dead and both of the airbags failed to deploy. However my airbag deployment light did come on. What a defect. At 10 mph I could possible understand but at 40 mph, I bought the car brand new in 2003 for safety, now even if it were fixed I would be scared to drive it.

- Centralia, WA, USA

problem #21

May 292010

Focus

  • 82,567 miles
2003 Ford Focus involved in front end collision car was totaled and air bags did not deploy.

- Moon Township, PA, USA

problem #20

Mar 242009

Focus

  • 98,000 miles
2003 Focus SE com. Was involved in head on accident front end damaged both air bags did not deploy until after impact.

- Lewes, DE, USA

problem #19

Mar 242008

Focus

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Ford Focus SE com was involved in head on whole front end damaged air bags did not deploy until after impact.

- Lewes, DE, USA

problem #18

Mar 012009

Focus

  • 172,000 miles
Vehicle involved in serious frontal crash and airbags failed to deploy.

- Morganton, NC, USA

problem #17

Jul 152008

Focus

  • 55,000 miles
Until a week ago, I was the happy owner of an '03 ZX3 Focus. On 7/15, I had to swerve to avoid a car drifting into my lane and hit the concrete retaining wall at about 60 mph. The shock was enough to crush most of the front and engine block and break the axle. Yet the airbags did not deploy. Shame on you Ford.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #16

Jun 012006

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while stopped at a red light both frontal airbags deployed without warning causing the vehicle to rear end the vehicle in front. A police report was filed at the scene and seat belts were in use; no injuries were sustained. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop. The mechanic was unable to duplicate the problem. The dealership was alerted. On a separate occasion, the hatch back failed to close, vehicle failed to start, the interior lighting failed and the motor made a knocking sound. This occurred intermittently. The manufacturer was alerted.

- Trenton, MO, USA

problem #15

Feb 272006

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,765 miles
: the contact stated the air bags did not deploy during a frontal impact collision. While driving 35 mph, a vehicle ran a stop sign and the contact's vehicle hit the side of the other vehicle. There was braking before impact. A police report was taken at the scene. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop. The entire front end was damaged and the insurance company deemed the vehicle a total loss. The seat belt was worn and there were no injuries. Updated 3/20/2006 -

- Exton, PA, USA

problem #14

Sep 292005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
The contact's vehicle collided on 9-29-05 with an automobile that came across the medium at a stop sign. The automobile was going approximately 60 mph when it went through the stop sign. The contact's vehicle hit the other car while going between 48-50 mph. It hit the right side panel immediately in the middle of the car. Upon impact, the air bags did not deploy. He did not notice any lights illuminating on the dash prior to this incident. The dealer told the contact that they would give him a statement in writing explaining why the air bags did not deploy. The contact wanted a statement from Ford headquarters in dearborn, Michigan, but Ford refused. Initially, told him to have the car towed to a dealership and the dealer would turn this incident into their legal department. The dealership has since then indicated that they could not turn over the accident case to their legal department. They would turn it over to the complaints department. Updated 11/15/05.

- Faber, VA, USA

problem #13

Aug 112005

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
2003 Ford Focus - August 11, 2005 the vehicle was involved in accident, the air bags did not deploy. The car was totaled. Ford dealership requested that the manufacturer to investigate the accident. On September 6, 2005 the manufacturer said they would not investigate the accident. Consumer called the Ford manufacture five times with no results, could get the manufacturer to colloborate on this matter. While driving lost control of vehicle and went into the ditch, hit two rocks, a tre, and came to rest at the third rock. This was a frontal impact. There were no indicator lights on before the accident indicating the airbags were not working. The dealership could not tell the consumer why the airbags did not deploy. A police report was taken. There was one injury.

- Bowler, WI, USA

problem #12

Sep 152005

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had a car accident on 9-15-2005 my airbag did not deploy and I believe it should have.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #11

Aug 072005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer has a 2003 Ford Focus which was involved in a head on collision on August 7, 2005 while traveling 10 mph. Upon impact, the airbags did not deploy. Vehicle was totaled. Consumer's son was driving and applied brakes before impact, when the other vehicle hit the front end vehicle went out of gear and was knocked backwards. Road was dry and clear of debris. Consumer, son and, daughter sustained injuries.. consumer sustained lower back and neck injuries, . son and daughter sustained neck injuries. Police at scene were shocked that the airbags did not deploy. All occupants were wearing seat belts.

- Milwaulkee, WI, USA

problem #10

Dec 202004

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On December 20, 2004 I was driving home from work in my Ford Focus zts. The roads were very icy, and near my home, I slid on a patch of ice, went over a small bank, and hit 2 trees in someone's yard. While I was sliding I was headed to hit one tree head on, but I was able to steer away to where I hit both trees at exactly the same time, but only from the side. However, neither my front nor side air bags deployed. The impact of the crash was enough to total my car, even though I was only going 25 M.P.H. it was brand new, only 20,000 miles. My mechanic said that the air bags should definitely have deployed.

- Princeton, WV, USA

problem #9

Mar 042005

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,500 miles
While driving 60 mph the consumer was involved in a frontal collision. Upon impact, both frontal air bags failed to deploy. The driver sustained minor injuries, and was transported to a hospital. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for inspection. The cause of the collision had not been determined. The vehicle was totaled.

- Cana, VA, USA

problem #8

Jan 222005

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
While driving 35 mph consumer's vehicle was involved in a head on collision. Upon impact, dual airbags did not deploy. Driver sustained broken ribs and a concussion. Also, passenger sustained a concussion. Vehicle was considered a total loss.

- Grafton, WV, USA

problem #7

Dec 282004

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
After colliding with another vehicle consumer's vehicle struck a tree head on. Upon impact, the air bags did not deploy. Vehicle was totaled.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #6

Dec 102004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving 40 mph consumer lost control of the vehicle and it crashed into a guard rail. Upon impact, both frontal air bags failed to deploy. Driver sustained minor injuries, and was transported to a hospital. Vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection......

- Calexico, CA, USA

problem #5

Sep 052004

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
While driving approximately 35 mph consumer was involved in a collision, and the frontal air bags did not deploy.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #4

Jul 212004

Focus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The vehicle was parked and not running. Then, the vehicle jumped out of gear without warning and collided into a building. Both front air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection. The mechanic informed the driver that the problem could not be duplicated. Please fill in additional information.

- Princeton, WV, USA

problem #3

Nov 242003

Focus

  • miles
Consumer stated while driving, the passenger side air bag deployed. She stated she was the only one in the vehicle, so no one was injured. She stated there was no warning.

- Syracuse, UT, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?