Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,234 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Ford Focus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Oct 202014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is getting absolutely ridiculous! I am on my sixth set of tires!! they wear uneven after less than 20K miles making a more than annoying wobble. I have gotten numerous alignments and new sway arm links. Dealership said I needed new bearings another alignment and another set of tires! at this point I have spent over $6000 on repairs to this vehicle all related to the same issue!!! there's obviously something wrong that Ford needs to fix! I have seen tons of complaints on here involving the same issue, so this is obviously not related to my driving. A recall needs to be made and this needs to be addressed! I did not buy this car brand new off the lot for 26K to have to keep dumping money into it! the fact that Ford will not own up to this being a horrible assembly/planning/product is appalling and I will never buy a Ford product again!!

- Grand Ledge, MI, USA

problem #22

Oct 032014

Focus

  • 45,000 miles
Wear and tear on wheels. Purchased the car brand new, 2 years after buying the car with only 21000 miles the original tires need to be replaced. Replaced tires and did a wheel alignment. 3 years later and only 23000 more miles and new tires again. Lug nuts were stripped and the tires were worn. The original tires were suppose to last 45,000 miles. The second set the same. Now the set I just purchased are Goodyear with a 60000 mile tread. I also purchased a warranty. My car only has about 45000 miles on it and my original tires should have just recently been replaced not on my 3rd set.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #21

Jul 132010

Focus 4-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle in December 2008. Since then there is only 28000 miles on it. Counting the original set of tires I am on my fourth set of tires. They wear uneven or entirely to quick. The rear tires seem to wear much more than the fronts probably at least 7 alignments over the last 3 to 4 years. There is a problem here and Ford needs to own up to it.

- Pgh, PA, USA

problem #20

Apr 152014

Focus 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has much greater tire wear than normal on rear tires. This is a result of the wrong camber on the rear wheels of this car!! Ford manufactured it this way!!! the only way to correct the problem is with new control arms, which Ford refuses to replace at their cost. With the wrong camber, each rear tire acquires cupping either on the inside or outside of the tread on the tire. I have severe cupping on the inside lr and moderate cupping on the outside of the tread on the rr. This wear pattern produces an out of balance condition and as such a safety hazard. These vehicles should be recalled and corrected, I feel that I've been sold a defective product !!

- Port Clinton, OH, USA

problem #19

Jan 012014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
Motor and transmission mounts need replacing on 2009 Ford Focus with only highway miles on it.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #18

Nov 052013

Focus

  • 78,343 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while the vehicle was being serviced for unrelated repairs, the contact was informed that the rear tires were cupping. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where it was confirmed that the tires were cupping and the shocks possibly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 78,343.

- Agora Hills, CA, USA

problem #17

Feb 072013

Focus

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased vehicle less than a year ago, from a dealership. New tires were put on at that time. Mileage when purchased was 29000. While driving on snow and icy roads it would wobble and get squirrelly, which I attributed it to the lightness of the vehicle. There was no reason for me to suspect the tires as I have them rotated according to manufacturer specs, and no abnormalities have been mentioned to me by the dealer. However, last week I had an accident as a result of a worn out tire blowing out on a snowy road. Inspection determined that all the tires were unevenly worn, and that the cause was that the arms which maintain tire alignment were physically incapable of doing so. This is not a manufacturing defect, it is a *design flaw*, which resulted in personal injury (broken arm, facial contusions).

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #16

Jun 152012

Focus

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Focus. While driving approximately 55 mph, the contact noticed a humming sound coming from the rear of the vehicle. Additionally, the contact noticed a vibration in the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the driver and passenger rear tires would have to be replaced and an alignment would have to be performed. After the repair, the failure continued. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer but the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The rear tires were replaced twice. The contact stated that the tires were wearing excessively from the inside. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000.

- Wellignton, OH, USA

problem #15

Mar 132012

Focus

  • 35,000 miles
It first started when I was driving down the highway and I started to feel my steering wheel shake. Nothing major, I just thought it was out of alignment. Days later, I had my front windows rolled down when I was pulling out of my drive way and I could hear my front and rear suspension creaking really bad. And now even when the cars turned off and not moving at all its still making a high pitched screeching noise coming from the suspension noise...no clue how that's even possible. I know its not coming from the engine cause the cars turned completely off, and I've tested it out with the hood open to see if I could possibly hear it better but im still hearing it from the front and rear suspension area. I've googled "Ford Focus suspension problems" and tons of other people have had similar problems with their suspension from focuses from 2000-2011.I did more reading and peoples camber will start to change to the point where they're buying new tires every year...im just saying I don't want a front suspension part to break apart down the highway when im driving 70 and have me crash into a ditch or a truck or something like that. Definitely something to check out.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #14

Dec 082009

Focus

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Focus. While driving approximately 65 mph, the steering wheel and front end of the vehicle began to vibrate excessively. In addition, there was a strong burning odor inside of the vehicle. The speed was reduced and the vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road. The contact noticed the front passenger's side tire completely deflated. There was no flames present. The roadside assistance replaced the defective tire with a spare. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer three times for the similar. The technician stated the defect was related to faulty suspension. The repairs were performed on different occasions which consisted of replacing the front lower control arm, front rack and pinion. In addition, a four wheel alignment and camber kit installation was performed. The failure recurred after the repairs. There were a total of six set of tires replaced on the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Talladega, AL, USA

problem #13

Jun 252010

Focus 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have changed tires on this car 3 times since I bought it April 5, 2010. I have taken the car in to our local Ford dealer and they informed me the last time I put tires on the car that the Focus cars have this type of problem. I asked how they could fix it and they informed me that they would have to remove the rear control arms and replace them, because they can't adjust the arms to align the car properly and it would continue to have this problem if we don't change the control arms on the car, the cost of repair quoted was $600. After putting $600 worth of tires on I couldn't afford to have the control arms changed. I was told it was a manufactures problem.

- Princeton, MO, USA

problem #12

Jan 162009

Focus 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
Took my 2009 Ford Focus to dealer for oil change; told dealer I had lumpy left rear tire; was told I didn't rotate my tires; asked how often I should rotate; dealer said whenever oil changed; dealer cost was $25 for tire rotation; I did it myself; next day put car up on hoist, rotated the tires, and drove; front end shook and was uncontrollable; went back to shop and put tires back as they were; vibration was minor in left rear corner; at 12000 miles took car to dealer for oil change; was told I needed tire rotation; told them I tried @ 6000 miles and front of car shook so had to put tires back where they were; dealer said too much in car and was throwing alignment off; that needed to buy new tires & would take care of shaking in back; since purchase, car was new I have to drive with white knuckles at a very slow speed if the road is wet or has snow on the road. After 1/4" of dry powdery snow the car is all over the road and can't drive over 25mph without the back of the car swaying back and forth. I have never drove any car in my life I am so afraid to drive in any amount of snow or rain. At 20000 miles I had to put on 4 new tires. The salesman told me that they were excellent on snow and rain. I took off for home and they were the same. At 30000 miles I complained again and they said I needed to rotate the tires more often because the left rear tire was cupping. At 40000 I bought 2 tires and put the front tires on the rear and threw the left rear tire away. I took to dealer and insisted it check alignment with whatever was in the car; technician checked & said left rear control arm must have been damaged by hitting curb which was not true; told needed to spend $530 to correct (warranty had run out); could not find problem when under warranty.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #11

Feb 012011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 6,500 miles
My 2009 Ford Focus has had obvious suspension issues since 6000 miles. Rear tires always slip in wet conditions from a stopped position during a normal initial acceleration. Furthermore at speeds greater than (>) 60 mph the steering wheel vibrates and the car shakes. I am a fairly good driver and in countless "normal" driving conditions my car has gotten into an "out of control state" luckily I was able to recover. I had taken the car to a Ford dealership to be told the tires were causing the problem. I replaced tires, had an alignment performed and again in short order (less than 6000 miles driven) the issues came up again. This is an extremely dangerous safety issue. First of all the need to accelerate without your back tires and rear of vehicle sliding/shifting side to side is essential. Furthermore, a car should not vibrate and rattle violently at speeds of only 55 mph. I fear that if I continue driving this car in it's current state, I run the risk of getting into an accident.

- Preston, WA, USA

problem #10

Sep 172011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Car purchased new from out of area dealer in December 2008 - no accidents or pothole contact. At 10090 miles, had right rear tire blowout, tire was replaced. Six months later, replaced both rear tires due to uneven wear, competed alignment at quality provider with no problems noted. Did not use dealer for the alignment because of local dealer's poor customer service and integrity reputation. December 2010, noticed same problem - severe diagonal cupping of rear tires. This time we took to different tire place and was told they could not do 4 wheel alignment due to a rear suspension componant issue. Immediately took the car to dealer where purchased, got excellent service however, they said they could not allign either, probably because we ran something over, which we knew we did not. We were not satisfied so they kept the car close to a week for testing, measuring, calibration etc. They finally said upper rear control arms were wrong size (I think they said too short), which they replaced at no charge for the parts, and said they were able to do the alignment, which cost $240. Now September 2011, 41000 miles, and again there is severe diagonal cupping of the rear tires, which have to be replaced. We will take the car to the dealer purchased from and update this complaint later.

- Barstow, CA, USA

problem #9

Aug 032009

Focus 4-cyl

  • 10,090 miles
Car purchased new from out of area dealer in December 2008 - no accidents or pothole contact. At 10090 miles in August 2009, had right rear tire blowout, tire was replaced. Six months later, replaced both rear tires due to uneven wear, competed alignment at quality provider with no problemsidentified. Did not use dealer for the alignment because of local dealer's poor customer service and integrity reputation. December 2010, noticed same problem - severe diagonal cupping of rear tires. This time we took to different tire place and was told they could not do 4 wheel alignment due to a rear suspension componant issue. Immediately took the car to dealer where purchased, got excellent service however, they said they could not allign either, probably because we ran something over, which we knew we did not. We were not satisfied so they kept the car close to a week for testing, measuring, calibration etc. They finally said upper rear control arms were wrong size (I think they said too short), which they replaced at no charge for the parts, and said they were able to do the alignment, which cost $240. Now September 2011, 41000 miles, and again there is severe diagonal cupping of the rear tires, which have to be replaced. We will take the car to the dealer purchased from and update this complaint later. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Barstow, CA, USA

problem #8

Dec 142010

Focus 4-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
Car purchased new from out of area dealer in December 2008 - no accidents or pothole contact. At 10090 miles, had right rear tire blowout, tire was replaced. Six months later, replaced both rear tires due to uneven wear, competed alignment at quality provider with no problems noted. Did not use dealer for the alignment because of local ( dealer's poor customer service and integrity reputation. December 2010, noticed same problem - severe diagonal cupping of rear tires. This time we took to different tire place and was told they could not do 4 wheel alignment due to a rear suspension componant issue. Immediately took the car to dealer where purchased, got excellent service however, they said they could not allign either, probably because we ran something over, which we knew we did not. We were not satisfied so they kept the car close to a week for testing, measuring, calibration etc. They finally said upper rear control arms were wrong size (I think they said too short), which they replaced at no charge for the parts, and said they were able to do the alignment, which cost $240. Now September 2011, 41000 miles, and again there is severe diagonal cupping of the rear tires, which have to be replaced. We will take the car to the dealer purchased from and update this complaint later. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Barstow, CA, USA

problem #7

Jun 182011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 41,050 miles
Vehicle was purchased used with 34,000 mi. Vehicle was brought to local dealer for recommended maintenance at 41,050 mi. And a complaint of wheel vibration. Dealer inspected and found severe cupping on inside of left rear tire and recommended 2 new tires and 4 point alignment. We had 2 rear tires replaced and 4 wheel alignment by local tire dealer. Front toe-in was corrected. The vibration continued at highway speeds. Two front tires were replaced about 2 weeks later. We now have 4 new tires and the same vibration. The vibration feels like a tire is out of balance.

- Middletown, IN, USA

problem #6

Jul 172011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
2009 Focus left rear tire has severe cupping after only 26000 miles. Suspension defect per discount tire mechanics. Had to replace all the tires because the fronts also worn down to the steel plies. Sbn: TB-21399, NHTSA item no. 10034585. Big problem!

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #5

Jul 172011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
2009 Ford Focus excessive tire wear. Front tires are completely down to the steel belts on the insides only and the rear tires (driver side in particular) have severe cupping and this is only at 26000 miles of easy driving since we bought it new.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #4

Apr 152010

Focus 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Pre mature tire wear, right rear tire wore out at 25,000 mi. Wore out in 3 areas diagonally across tire face. Excessive vibration at highway speeds. Tires have been balanced 3 different times. New tires rebalanced twice. 45,000 mi. On vehicle now.

- Beecher, IL, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?