Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,348 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Focus drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #9

May 302013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 46,220 miles


While driving at around 15 mph, my car started to accelerate even though my foot wasn't on the gas. I looked at my dash to confirm cruise control was not on (it wasn't) and noticed the service engine light was on. If I didn't touch the gas or brake the car would accelerate up to 30 mph and stay constant at that speed. I rode the brakes to the local Ford dealer. They inspected the car and determined the issue was the throttle body sensor, and said I had to replace the entire throttle body. Cost was $400 for the part and $230 for labor. This was not covered on the powertrain warranty I still have.

- Midland, MI, USA

problem #8

Apr 102013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
I was driving with cruise control on at about 60 mph when the car suddenly began to lose speed and a wrench light came on. When I tried to accelerate, the car did not respond. I put on the hazard lights and the care "coasted" at 20 mph for 2 to 3 miles until I was able to pull off at a convenience store. I turned off the engine, was about ready to call a tow truck, and thought to restart the care again to see what would happen. The wrench light was off and I was able to make it to work with no problem. I am taking it into the Ford dealership tomorrow; however, I have ready many on-line complaints about this same type of incident and I am skeptical that they will be able to solve the problem. Needless to say, this will be the last Ford product I purchase (I bought the car new).

- Oxford, NY, USA

problem #7

Mar 052013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
On March 5th, 2013 I was traveling home at 65 mph and the car jerked for a brief moment and no warning lights came on. Traveled another 20 miles and again it jerked this time the control module/transmission light (wrench icon) came on and the car began to go into limp mode. I was able to pull off the freeway and shut the car off. After a few second started it back up and reset the computer. Was able to get back on the freeway and make it the next 30 miles home and another 10 miles the next day to the dealership with no issues. I was informed on March 6th that the throttle body was bad and has to be replaced. This seems to be an issue with the 2010 Ford Focus her in reading the other complaints. Current mileage on the car is 78,000 but entire engine was replaced at 58,000 miles (under warranty do to a timing failure at 65mph destroying the motor!!!

- Delafield, WI, USA

problem #6

Jan 012013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 780 miles


I am wondering why the transmission light is coming on. I only have 780 miles on the car eventhough I bought the car Jan 2010. I am retired and only need the car to go food shopping and go on a few errands. I was sick in May 2011 and just started driving my car again to the store in Nov 2012. In Jan 2013 the transmission light comes on and I have not had any accidents or stalled on the road as of today. I am wondering if there is a recall for Ford Focus 2010. I received mail for recall on 2011-2013--but I have a 2010 Ford Focus. The car dealer told me to bring the car in--it's due for inspection in April and I plan on taking the car to the dealer in April unless I stall or find out that there is a recall. The wrench light comes on and I only drive at the most 25 city speed limit.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #5

Nov 252012

Focus 4-cyl

  • 33,600 miles
Engine speed began to climb while decelerating/coasting in 2nd gear between signaled intersections on hwy 25 in monticello, mn at about 4.30pm this afternoon. A minor collision was avoided by quickly shifting into neutral and firmly depressing the brake. The engine speed remained elevated (above 2000 rpms) for a few seconds after the vehicle came to a stop. Ford customer care was last notified after a similar instance occurred with the vehicle about 4 weeks ago; I requested a return call from a customer service manager at that time but have yet to receive a response from the manufacturer.

- Hutchinson, MN, USA

problem #4

Oct 262012

Focus 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
After continued operation in rush hour traffic, the vehicle failed to return to idle speed after coming to a complete stop (manual transmission/not in gear). This occurred twice during a commute home on a signaled highway 10/26/12. I pulled off the roadway and immediately contacted Ford customer care. [xxx], the representative with whom I spoke, stated he would log the concern. Ford has already attempted repair for the problem but the vehicle continues to have idle speed/throttle issues. I question whether the vehicle is safe to operate in close traffic. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hutchinson, MN, USA

problem #3

Oct 132012

Focus 4-cyl

  • 25,600 miles


Bought Focus new with 49 miles on it on Dec 1, 2010. I have had premature tire wear, and issues with stalling/ jumping. I was driving home from an event this past weekend and had been on the road 45 minutes when the car started acting like it was going to stall, then started making a high pitched squeal noise. I managed to make it home, and after arriving home the car kept wanting to jump while parked. The idle would jump to 3000rpm then back down to 1000rpm, then rise slowly holding steady at 2000rpm for about 5 seconds and then relax. After all of this the car had a strong coolant smell, as well as high condensation dripping out of the tailpipe. Had car towed to dealer, and after 3 days they could not find a problem. After reading the 105 complaints about 2010 Focus I know I am not alone, and now have just decided to ditch the Focus.

- Brown City, MI, USA

problem #2

Jun 222012


  • 28,000 miles
On June 22, the mechanic's wrench appeared in the dashboard while sitting in idle with the gear shift in park. The Ford manual states that the warning sign is related to the throttle/transmission. I turned the motor off and restarted the car and the mechanic's wrench went away. On June 25th, the mechanic's wrench appeared again while driving at about 30 mph and the car started to jerk. It was hard to keep it in the road. I dropped it off at the dealership and they said they could not find any codes registered in the computer system. They stated they could not find anything wrong and even checked on the Ford website but could not find anything. I was told to bring it back if it happens again. This does not help because I know something is wrong or the light would not come on and the car would not act the way it had. I am afraid to drive the car in fear of having an accident. Ford is not concerned about this safety issue. There should be a recall on this problem since I have seen many online complaints about this same issue. Please don't wait until someone dies like the issue that loomed around the Ford pinto that caught fire on impact due to where the gas tank was located.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #1

Aug 042010


  • miles
The steering wheel and front wheels lock if the contact key is in the off position as described in my owner's Focus 2010(manual transmission) booklet if we want to pull the Focus behind my 1998 30 foot winnebago adventurer. So I turned the key in position 2, accessories, and drove more than 500 miles after adequate wiring was performed. The Focus battery was dead. A Ford dealer could not solve this mystery. Just in case my eml is [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Laval, Qc. Canada, 00, USA

Not what you are looking for?