Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,206 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Fusion wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Fusion Owner Comments

problem #18

Nov 062012

Fusion

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Fusion equipped with Goodyear dunlop signature tires, size 255/50/R17. The contact stated that the tires were wearing prematurely. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who stated that the tires were working up to standards. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The tires were replaced. The dot number and VIN were unavailable. The tire failure mileage was 18,000. The vehicle failure and current mileage was 84,000.

- Brownsdale , MN, USA

problem #17

Jun 012011

Fusion

  • miles
SE V6, tires: When I inflate the tires to the pressure recommended by Ford on the door sticker, the result is rapid tire wear on the outsides of the tires (under inflated). When I inflate the tires according to the tire manufacturers recommendation on the sidewall, the tires do not wear out on the outside (under inflated), nor in the middle (over inflated). Ford recommends a tire pressure that is 9 psi lower than the tire manufacturer recommends. Apparently they did not learn from Firestone that the tires can fail due to overheating when they are under inflated, resulting in blow outs at freeway speed and deaths due to the resulting accidents. Nor did they change their ways as a result of damage awards for lawsuits due to under inflated Firestone tire failures. Perhaps the damage awards were too small.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #16

Mar 142011

Fusion

  • 43,379 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Fusion with Michelin weatherwise rear tires, line size P205/60/T16, serial numbers wea28Z and wea28X. The contact stated that the tires would wobble excessively when driving any speed. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who examined the tires and discovered that the tire belts were failing and causing the tires to become out of round. The rear tires were replaced. The tire failure mileage was 19,000. The vehicle failure and current mileage was 43,379. The VIN was not available.

- Hollsopple, PA, USA

problem #15

Jan 012010

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We own a 2007 Ford Fusion with apxm. 40 K miles. It was sold with Michelin tires that I believe to be defected and dangerous. We have just replace the third out of four tires. Each tire was blown out the sidewall. I have contacted Ford and Michelin and gotten no help with the replacement of these tire from either. I have read on other website complaints about these same tires. Something needs to be done before somebody dies from this.

- Killen, AL, USA

problem #14

Aug 042010

Fusion

  • 22,554 miles
In Feb 2008 I bought a new 2007 Ford Fusion. The problem I'm having is with Michelin tires (225/50R17). Three of the four tires have developed bubbles and had to be replaced within the past year. The first was July 19, 2009, the second was July 2, 2010 and the third was August 4, 2010. I contacted Michelin who gave me the run-around but no solution. I took the last tire to a Michelin dealer and was told that Michelin wouldn't give me anything because an authorized dealer didn't replace the tire. How can I go around finding a particular dealer when I'm setting on the interstate with a flat tire? I went to the first place I found who could replace the tire. Each time I was out of town when the failure happened, the first two times I was ever out of state so it's not like being at home where you can look in the yellow pages or surf the net and find an authorized dealer. The authorized dealer that I contacted after the 3rd failure said it was due to impact from potholes. Duh! it's summertime. Potholes have been repaired. I feel that Michelin (and representatives) have failed me as a consumer. They claim to stand behind their product and that's exactly what they do - stand behind because they sure don't step up to the plate and handle the problem. I feel that I had 4 defective tires either manufacturer's defect or dry rot or something. I have never in the history of driving (40+ yrs) have I replaced a tire for a bubble in it and now 3 in less than a year"???" no more Michelin for me.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #13

Jul 022010

Fusion

  • 22,695 miles
Our 20 year old son was driving home from college when his left front tire blew out. He was able to maintain control and get to the side of the road and call roadside assistance. The rim was damaged in the process. After ordering a new rim and wheel, I was going to drive it to the dealership when we noticed that the left rear tire was now flat. Once we were able to get enough air in it to drive to the dealership, we did. At the dealership it was discovered that all the valve stems were either cracked or leaking, so they all had to be replaced. We were unaware that the 2007 Ford had faulty valve stems, had we known this, we would have replaced them for safety concerns. We were lucky, only one valve stem broke while our son was driving and he maintained control, the 2nd valve stem lost air while parked in our drive. This could have been much worse and I shudder to think of what might have happened.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #12

Jun 012009

Fusion

  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2007 Ford Fusion equipped with Continental conti pro contact P205/60R16 tires. The contact stated that she noticed a bubble on the side wall of the front passenger side tire. The vehicle was taken to a tire center and the failed tire was replaced with a tire of a different make. The tires were rotated frequently to reduce the risk of failure but the failure would still occur intermittently to three out of the four original tires. Each time the failed tire was replaced with a tire of a different make. Only the Continental tires experienced the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 26,000. The current mileage was approximately 37,500.

- Lakeside, CA, USA

problem #11

Jan 012009

Fusion

  • 26,000 miles
We have a 2007 Ford Fusion. Since January 1st we have had 4 tire failures, or so we thought. The problem seems to be faulty chinese valve stems. Each time. It was an immediate loss of air. First three replaced at Ford dealers, who made no comment about the investigation. The fourth at a tire store who's mechanic explained to me what was really going on. Our problems began on Jan. 1st and continued until May 23rd, approx. One every 6 weeks!

- Lake Geneva, WI, USA

problem #10

Apr 062009

Fusion

  • 39,583 miles
07 Ford Fusion required two leaking stems to be replaced since Jan 09. 4/6/09 traveling on I-4 outside of tampa at 70 mph when the right front tire went flat, no pop or anything, just noticed a change in the road noise so I touched the break and it got louder. I did not lose control of the vehicle and got safely to the breakdown lane when the tread part of wheel continued to roll/bounce down the breakdown lane. A road Ranger stopped and changed my tire for me, asked where I was going and told me to buy a new tire. Purchased new tire for $278 from a Ford dealer who told me to contact tire manufacturer for warranty. There are no obvious punctures in the tread, impossible to tell if any damage to the sidewall as there wasn't much left on the rim and couldn't tell on the tread part. I have the pieces in my possession. It would seem to me that after 2 tires going flat and stems having to be replaced the stem (which had not been replaced) failed and caused the flat tire. On 4/10/09 drove to work, came out for lunch left rear was flat and another stem had to be replaced. I'm not sure if when I purchased the new tire, they put on a new stem but according to the local Ford dealer they all look ok as of today. Unfortunately, I do not have the old stems.

- Oldsmar, FL, USA

problem #9

Mar 182009

Fusion

  • miles
On 3/18/09, I had a tire fail on my 2007 Ford Fusion because of a re-called dill # 414 valve stem. I had to replace the Michelin tire that had 10,487 miles on it. I also replaced the other three valve stems that were cracked (also dill #414). I am six weeks away from traveling from Michigan to Florida at interstate speeds of 70 mph. If this tire had failed at those speeds, I don't think I would have been able to control my vehicle to a safe stop. Ford Motor Co. (gorno Ford dealership in woodhaven, mi.) has no information about this problem. When I called tech international (clay johnson at 740-967-9015), he said that Ford Motor Co. Dearborn is well aware of this problem. This is a serious safety problem that could have resulted in a fatal injury. I have the defective valve stems in my custody.

- Trenton, MI, USA

problem #8

Jan 052009

Fusion

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have an incident to report related to PE08060. After getting my tires rotated I had a flat the next day. The cause was a bad valve stem. Since I had read a news article about this potential problem I had all 4 replaced. 2 of the stems have cracking similar to that described in the article. The part is TR414.

- Rogers, MN, USA

problem #7

Nov 122008

Fusion

  • 31,000 miles
On 11-12-08 I parked my 20007 Ford Fusion in the garage at 7:00 pm. On the morning of 11-13 08 at 6;00 am the front right tire was flat. I changed the tire and took it to the Ford dealer for repair. They found that the valve stem was defective and replaced same. I feel this should not have happened as the tires were properly inflated. When I inquired if this was covered by warranty, I was told it wasn't. the vehicle is still under warranty.

- Brown Deer, WI, USA

problem #6

Nov 012008

Fusion

  • 41,005 miles
Total tread separation on left front tire causing blowout @ highway speed had to drive on rim to get to safe area to replace destroyed tire with spare.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #5

Sep 162008

Fusion

  • miles
Decreased tire inflation which has ed to the replacement of two of my tires.

- Onsted, MI, USA

problem #4

Jun 122008

Fusion

  • miles
A valve stem on my 2007 Ford Fusion leaked and need to be replaced.

- Urbandale, IA, USA

problem #3

Oct 212008

Fusion

  • 17,000 miles
I had a flat tire and when I got it repaired was told it was a valve stem...my car only has 17,000 miles on it and was told this should not have happened...2 days later, another flat tire on a different tire while I was driving to work...I stopped and got a can of 'fix-A-flat- and when putting it in the tire, noticed it was leaking at the valve stem...I had 8 more miles to drive to work...to make a long story short, I had to replace the tire due to a side wall bubble from driving it without proper inflation.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #2

Aug 292008

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 10,500 miles
Sudden deflation and sidewall separation of a tire sidewall. Vehicle E model 2007 Ford Fusion sel, 4cyl, tire Michelin Pilot sport mxm4 all season 225/50vr17 93V 10500 miles total on vehicle and tires. Right front tire experiences a sudden deflation while driving on a city street at roughly 25-30 mph. The vehicle was stopped and the tire removed. The outer sidewall of the tire was fully separated and the sidewall cord structure was separated as well. The vehicle wheel rim was undamaged on the outer and inner faces. The tires had been checked recently for proper inflation and were in good condition. An inspection of the tread area did not show any signs of puncture that would facilitate rapid deflation. The vehicle has been used on paved streets almost exclusively and the streets in the areas of use are in reasonably good condition. No damage to the vehicle is apparent from the tire failure due to the low speed. No other property damage besides the loss of the tire. Web search reveals other owners of Ford Fusion with this size tire have been experiencing rapid deflation failures and tread separations.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #1

Aug 142007

Fusion

  • miles
Vehicle pulls to the right, brakes are working correctly windows are beginning to mold, cd has eaten up cd's, tires do not grip road well.

- Clewiston, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?