Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
92,161 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Fusion electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Fusion Owner Comments

problem #20

Sep 092015

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When attempting to brake weather on highway/gravel/city streets or bumps this vehicles brakes are not working properly. They are very soft to push as if there was air in lines, you always have the brake peddel to the floor to stop and pray that you do stop. I have spent $$$ trying to fix this problem... one day im not going to stop in time my kids or myself and anyone kr anuthing involved is going to be hurt. This problem is worse if the road is wet but it is still a constant problem on an every day basis. I have had workers from Ford and other shopes tell me I need to get it fixed, as I have tried and spent $400+ and still wont fix it. I have been doing research and seems like it is the ABS module from other complaints.

- Braymer, MO, USA

problem #19

Jul 042016

Fusion

  • 63,000 miles
I have replaced the broken bolt on the idler pulley for the second time in 6 months. This is an annoying issue with this engine. Fortunately it happened on statrt up so we were in the driveway. Had it happened on the highway, the loss of power steering could have easily resulted in a fatal crash. The bolt is poorly designed and needs to be larger and or harder. If this is not fixed someone will eventually be killed. How many deaths does it take to warrant attention by Ford"?"

- Port Ornge, FL, USA

problem #18

Sep 192015

Fusion

  • 1,114 miles
I don't have a clue. It's just bust to flame

- Milledgeville, GA, USA

problem #17

Sep 012010

Fusion

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Many times after this initial incident, my 2008 Ford Fusion would again not start upon first full turning of ignition key. Then upon second attempt it starts. The first key turning results in crank but no turnover of engine, long crank. This happens at least once a month, sometimes 2-3 times a month. Invoice [xxx], dated 3/1/2011 and odometer reading 53088, from fluorescent garage & radiator; 549 St. Ferdinand; fluorescent, mo, describes my attempt to solve puzzling long crank. Their invoice description of work, related to the problem: "hard to start some times long crank, no codes stored, scan data normal. Cleaned electric throttle plate. Fuel pump marginal on scope. Possible ECM update/ flash per/ identifix.". this did not solve the problem. So few days later, had my 2008 Ford Fusion checked out for problem at dave sinclair auto, Ford dealer in St. Peters, Missouri, since car was within 100,000 miles warranty, invoice [xxx], odometer reading 53195, dated 3/4/2011. Invoice description: "a cranks. Wont start. Suspects fuel pump. Cause: 06 eec test found pats codes, none related to fuel pump. Reprogrammed PCM. All tests pass. 97233 cp $95 parts: 0.00 labor: $95 5.70 environmental fee. Total chg $101.13 w sales tax. Technician said they replaced fuel pump and I had to sign statement that they were not liable for further work if fuel pump was replaced. This annoyed me. My dad, [xxx], worked at the hazelwood, Missouri Lincoln-Mercury-Ford plant for many years. It was difficult to make the problem evident as it occurred randomly. This did not solve problem either. Problem continues today, all else ok on car. I am wondering if original key bobs sometimes don't allow the start, just as sometimes they don't open the doors. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #16

Apr 252015

Fusion 4WD 4-cyl

  • 95,739 miles
Car parked at the driveway, started the car, see an engine light and wrench light in the dashboard, tried to accelerate gas pedal, it appears there's no accelerating power. RPM unstable, engine shaking. Called aaa roadside assistance, aaa technician checked and started the car its the same issue. He recommended to disconnect the positive battery cable to reset computer system. Disconnected wait for 10 seconds and re-start the engine, then everything worked. Took the car to a Ford dealer, service advisor believe to be the electronic throttle body problem. Verified in the computer if there's a recall for 2008 Ford Fusion, however nothing reported at this time.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #15

Sep 102014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 142,000 miles
Belt idler pulley attachment bolt broke off while negotiating a corner, detaching the pulley from the front of the motor causing sudden loss of power steering assist, alternator charging, and engine cooling. Ford Fusion equipped with the 2.3L motor. This issue has now happened multiple times, with multiple parts replaced each time in an attempt to fix the underlying issue. A quick search online reveals this to be a very common problem with the Ford/Mazda 2.3L 4 cylinder.

- North Branch, MI, USA

problem #14

Aug 122014

Fusion

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After I purchase my vehicle about 2 1/2 years ago I contacted my dealer multiple times in the past and I let them know it felt like my car was not accelerating properly and I was told that's just how Ford's drive. Eventually the dealer ended up having to replace the coil stating that it had been burned out in the llama problem should be fixed. Now back in August it just got completely worse. I was driving and attempted to accelerate at a green light and my car would not proceed, at that point I continued to press on the gas and eventually my car slowly picked up and begin to go now every time I accelerate my car feels as if it is stalling.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #13

Jun 142014

Fusion

  • 134,000 miles
I was driving down the street and my car would not go pass 20 mph. I hadn't previous had any problems from my vehicle. The car shut off and I got it towed to the dealership. The mechanic told me that I would need a new computer and my current computer was burning out my ignition coils. It turned out to be about ~$1800 worth of work. I was told that this problem is becoming more common and that there should be a recall on the computer and ignition coils soon if it's not already in the works. Of course, the only recall I noticed for this vehicle is the floor mats. This same problem occurred approximately 2 weeks after the car was fixed.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #12

Jul 252012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Ford Fusion. Consumer writes in regards to all weather floor mat issues with accelerator pedal recall notice. The consumer stated she did not use rubber floor mats in her vehicle. However, on July 25, 2012 she experienced a frightening sudden acceleration when she shifted from park to reverse and then to drive. She noticed some unusual movement as she shifted into reverse and then to drive, there was definitely unwanted acceleration. She was in a parking lot and managed to get the vehicle stopped and turned it off. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The floor mats were not in the way of the accelerator when the incident occurred. The dealer replaced the battery, due to low voltage codes and it was explained to her, the battery was the cause of the problem.

- Kingsport, TN, USA

problem #11

Aug 182014

Fusion

  • 82,000 miles
My car wouldn't accelerate, then my check engine light comes on. Within 20 my car completely shuts off. Had to tow it to a mechanic, to tell me the computer system in my is burning up the coils in my engine. I called the dealership to see if there was a recall on this, and there was not. In fact as I look on the internet I have similar stories about the exact same problem. I told the dealership that and there was nothing they could do. Also on this site I reading how some of them the dashboard curls up, mine is also doing that. I bought this car brand new, just paid it off and this happens. I even finance through Ford, you think they would try to help.

- Saint Charles , MO, USA

problem #10

May 232014

Fusion

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the front driver side power locks failed. In addition, the rear drivers and passengers side power locks failed. The contact also mentioned that the window had to be opened manually and the doors would have to be opened from the outside. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired.. the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000.

- Temple, TX, USA

problem #9

Feb 122014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 60,971 miles
Traveled from ct to marathon, fl, arriving after noon. Within sight of the hotel destination the engine began to break down and run rough. I also smelled smoke. I managed to get to the hotel parking lot before the engine quit altogether. A local shop diagnosed the problem as two cylinder misfires and failed ignition coils. 57 mi from the dealer in key West and over 100 mi from miami, I elected to have a local ase certified shop replace the coils. Reflashing the PCM showed a new set of codes and that the PCM was failed and needed to be replaced. According to machado Ford in miami, there were no pcms in Ford's inventory in all of the us. Searched for remanufactured pcms was fruitless as well. Finally contacted armstrong Ford in homestead and they said they could fix the car. $996.56 to the shop in big pine key. Transported the car to homestead on fri 2/21. Monday the dealer had located a PCM and replacement was completed under warranty Tuesday afternoon. I picked up the car on Wednesday and left for jacksonville in the afternoon. 120 mi North in jupitor, the engine failed again. We sat on the side of the fl turnpike's 70 mph traffic until we could have the car transported to mullinax Ford in West palm, arriving after the service dept had closed. The next day I learned that all three catalytic converters were plugged and needed replacement. Two converters were available and were replaced on 2/28. The third converter was back ordered with an expected availability of 3/31. Since the remaining unit had discharged its contents into the tailpipe and was discarded, I was able to drive back to ct. Tasca Ford in berlin ct is still waiting for the replacement converter after numerous extensions of delivery dates from Ford. The Ford customer serv rep refused to return my calls. My total out of pocket expenses exceed $4000 to date.

- Wethersfield, CT, USA

problem #8

Mar 242014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Ford Fusion. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle ignition key switch failure. The consumer stated after returning to his vehicle, with the keys in his hand, he opened the door, put the key in the ignition to turn it, but nothing happened. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. A diagnosis revealed a failed chip in the key went bad. The key fob had to be replaced and a new key had to be made.

- Clarkson, KY, USA

problem #7

Aug 012013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Driver door lock jams and gets stuck leaving you locked inside the vehicle. In the event of a need to disembark the vehicle you have to power down the windows and pull the latch from the outside of sedan. I've complained to dealership and even they are surprised that Ford has not announced a recall on a common issue that they have witnessed. Many complaint on the internet as well regarding the same issue. Please help get this recalled. Please help before more people are trapped in this vehicle.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #6

Sep 162013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
On Monday September 16, 2013 I began to hear knocking from my engine on my way home from work. When I arrived home, I checked the oil dipstick and it was dry. I put two quarts of oil in it and the knocking persisted. On Tuesday I took the vehicle in to a local mechanic to tell me what the knocking was. He checked the dipstick and it was again dry and told me I needed a new engine. I then had the vehicle towed to the Ford dealership where I purchased it. They told me the oil drain plug was only held in be three threads and that's why there was no oil in the car, thus causing the engine failure. At no time did any warning lights illuminate on the dashboard. The dealership doesn't want to cover the repair under my extended warranty because they say a "negligent repair" caused the engine failure. However, no one has an explanation as to why no warning lights ever alerted me that there may be a problem. The repair shop that changed the oil last says the oil was drained from the car quickly, and there was not a gradual leak because the "bottom of the vehicle is dry." Assuming this was vandalism, no warning lights ever illuminated in the car saying that the oil was low or empty, and the check engine light never illuminated either. I'm still trying to get the engine repair paid for.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #5

Jun 122013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
1. engine started running poorly at startup after work. 2. check engine light was flashing. 3.made it home with not much power available. Check engine light on constant now. 4. noticed a burning smell. 5.took it to a shop to check the next day. They replaced one of the rear plug packs. It had burned up. 6. they said to take it to the dealer for a complete fix. Car still running poorly. 7. took it to the dealer the next day. 6/13/2103. They said the plug pack burned up again and I would need that replaced again plus a new computer which burned up the plug pack. 8. they said the next day that the parts were on back-order and it would take a few days. 9. the parts are still on back order. (almost a month now). Car still at the dealer. Using my backup car as dealer has no loaner. 7/6/2013.

- Milford, CT, USA

problem #4

Jun 142013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 720,150 miles
I noticed the dash board around the airbag is separating about 2 months ago I tried to push the seam back down but it still puckers. Yesterday I tried to start my car and there was a continuous clicking sound coming from the dashboard and the security lock light and airbag light were flashing very fast. I just parked the car about 1 hour before and there was no problems until I came back to start it. I tried for about 1 hour but could not get it started. I have noticed there are a lot of complaints on this car and the same issues. This does seem like a recall issue. I wanted to support american made products from one of the oldest american auto makers. I am hoping you can fix this issue because I need to get the work and this is my only transportation. I live in an area where there is no public transportation. Thanking you in advance.

- Lake City, SC, USA

problem #3

Mar 242013

Fusion

  • 96,242 miles
While on a trip to new buffalo, Michigan, my 2008 Ford Fusion began to sputter and limp (as if it were running out of gas). The vehicle continued to shake violently, as I pulled over to the side of the road. I then turned off the car and waited a few minutes. When I turned it on again, the car seemed to have miraculously recovered. As I pulled out onto the highway, however, the engine light started flashing and the car began to whine and sputter. Since it was late on a Sunday night and there were no repair shops open, I was forced to park the car at a nearby parking lot and was later picked up by a relative of mine, who drove nearly 200 miles to get me back home. The following day, my insurance company towed the car to a local auto shop where I spoke with a mechanic and service representative. To my dismay, both gentlemen relayed that this was a common occurrence with Ford Fusion, and that the technician, himself had repaired 8-12 such issues in the last year. He also mentioned that there were several tsbs (technical service bulletins) related to this issue, due to a faulty design in the PCM and injection coils which caused them to short to one another. I asked if there had been a recall or if customers were forced to pay to replace these flawed parts. He kindly explained that recalls are for safety issues, ťand that if we wanted the car fixed, we would need to pay for new parts. As the service representative provided me with a quote for the repair cost, a princely sum of $3,010, my reaction resembled that of an individual watching a rather terrible horror movie. I could not help but feel aggrieved as a large portion of the cost (nearly $2,200) was attributed to the faulty parts that needed to be replaced. Note, a similar complaint was also filed on Feb 06, 2012, by an individual in St marys, pa.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #2

May 092011

Fusion

  • miles
After my car was running for about ten minutes all the lights on the instrument cluster came on and stayed on. This was just the beginning, after shutting the car off and starting it back up it began to do the same thing so we took it up to a mechanic to run a computer on it and it did come up for the cluster. Then when we were going to unload it off the trailer my car would completely not crank up because of the cluster. Then once again after being replaced only seven months ago it has started messing up again!! this car has been a complete disappointment so I began to call around and found out there has been many other problems similar to mine other people have reported but still there have been absolutely no recalls for any of the problems occurring on these cars!!!

- Walterboro, SC, USA

problem #1

Mar 092009

Fusion

  • 13,000 miles
Customer was traveling on roadway when he noticed smoke. Pulled over and opened hood to have smoke billow out. Inspection of vehicle by independent appraiser shows there is a defective ground strap that caused loss. This appraiser has seen 2 of these losses in the past week with same ignition source. Ford Motor Co customer service would not provide any assistance in reporting this problem so that this can be avoided for other people.

- Rome, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?