Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Has the power steering started to show signs of failure in the 2014? Yeah, a little. Am I confident it will become a bigger problem over time? Yeah, a lot.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,271 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford Fusion drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford Fusion Owner Comments

problem #14

Sep 252016


  • 35,000 miles


I bought a used 2014 Ford Fusion from our local Ford dealership with 34,000 miles on it, one owner, no history of any issues. As soon as I drove off the lot I could feel a hard shift between 2nd and 3rd and the engine revs up to 4500 before falling back down to around 2000. Then it's worse going from 3rd to 2nd when applying the brakes, the car jolts forward and the engine revs high as you apply the brakes. I've had the car for 3 days now and it has the worst transmission I've ever experienced. It's a very uncomfortable drive and I don't feel safe driving it when I know my car is going to shift so hard that the whole jerks forward. I've never been more unhappy with a car in my life.

- Mukilteo, WA, USA

problem #13

May 022016


  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle was slow to accelerate and also stalled several times without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and diagnostic testing. The contact was uncertain of the specific repair solution that was provided, but the failure continued. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer for further inspection, diagnostic testing, and repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #12

Mar 032016


  • 27,600 miles
I was driving around when on three separate occasions the car lost power to the engine and there were no rpms and pressing gas pedal did not help. The only way to get the power back in the engine was to put car in neutral then back in drive at which point the car stuttered but at least I regained power to accelerator. This was especially dangerous as it happened while driving at normal speed and the car was no longer in my control

- West Orange, NJ, USA

problem #11

Jan 052016


  • 12,500 miles


Transmission violently engages into gear thrusting the driver forward and causing excessive wear on transmission, as well as safety issues by stopping the car between gears then shooting forward. I was getting onto the highway and when the car upshifted, I almost got hit by the car behind me because it was as if the car first downshifts, then slams up into the higher gear.

- Danbury, CT, USA

problem #10

Sep 222014


  • 250 miles
Transmission slips. Shudders and shakes shifting into gear from a stop.

- Harrison, OH, USA

problem #9

Dec 132015


  • 14,900 miles
I started to experience harsh gear shift on December 13, 2015 every time I put the car in reverse. Also, when I reached 20mph and 40mph I felt the harsh gear shift and the car would jerk forward. I took my car to the dealership on December 14, 2015 and they said the mount for the transmission was broken. The technician wasn't there to check out the car in order to determine if it was mechanical or not, but they did the work on the car anyway and on December 16, 2015, the dealer called to say the car was ready. It was very obvious they did not test drive the car after supposedly repairing the mount because my car was doing the same thing, except worse. When I took it back the next day, the technician was there and said it is a mechanical problem. I asked for a loan since they said a part had to be ordered and they would need to keep my car for a few days and I was told I couldn't get a loaner. Instead, the dealer said my car was drivable and did deliver good customer service. It felt as though he was trying to take advantage and not take care of the customer. Then he proceeded to tell me there might be a further problem, but could not tell me what it was. I am extremely dissatisfied with Ford. I had the car since March 2014 and shouldn't be experiencing a transmission problem less than 2 years later. There was also a recall on the steering bolts and I didn't receive notification of the recall.

- Homestead, FL, USA

problem #8

Sep 252015


  • 22,080 miles


Engine or transmission knock. Steering knock from turning wheels all the way to the left and right. When in park, reverse, or neutral the knock behind the firewall is not heard. When it is in drive and stopped at a light or with the electronic ebrake on while the car is in drive there is a knock behind the firewall around the transmission area (location is close to the lower front of the center console area; where it is predominantly heard). It is not heard until you are in the car with the doors closed (no music on just the odd knock when stopped while in drive or in drive with the ebrake on). I had the engine checked for noise; mechanics at opelika Ford al stated it may be my fuel rail and fuel filter which may be causing cabling behind the firewall to rattle. If that is the case I should hear the hard knock while in reverse or park. They stated they tied both down including the cables to see if the noise subsided (took them ten minutes to do this which is quiet fast to access the fuel rail and filter when the area is tight to access in order to tie cables down). I also had the transmission checked; they stated nothing is wrong with transmission. I got it checked because of the knock and the transmission jerked hard into second and third gear. Also started to idle hard (this is around 21000 miles). They may have re-flashed the transmission but no mechanic came and spoke to me about it. I also asked for the transmission software to be updated. Not sure if they did that either. The car still idles a bit rough from time to time. The issue is still on going and I am in search of a "Ford certified mechanic" to actually show me what is wrong so it can be covered by warranty. Ford hq stated they do not keep track of information done on the cars it is local to the dealerships which is stupid. So how are their recalls done if they aren't required to keep track of problems?

- Smith Station , AL, USA

problem #7

Jun 042015


  • 25,172 miles
On 6/4/2015 at 7am I had just dropped my son off at his daycare facility. While trying to pull out of facility parking lot and onto the main road, my car completely lost power almost causing a horrific accident with oncoming traffic on a two way road. After the horrible scare and many people honking and angry at me as if I had done it purposely, I was able to mostly pull over on the side road. I turned off the car and then turned it back on and I was able to move the car again but by pushing gas pedal all the way down and getting past 2000rpm. Every time I came to a stop it was the same scenario. Since the dealership was not yet open, I managed to make it to work and called them immediately at 8 am to tell them what I had experienced. Informed them of the power train fault my car was giving me and asked if they believed it was safe to drive it to the dealer when I got off of work. The service advisor told me that I should be fine and to drop off the car as soon as I got off. While getting in my car that afternoon, I noticed that it got considerably worse. My car started bucking forcefully when coming to a stop and at this point the check engine light also came on. I have only had this car for a little over year and it has 25K miles on it. There is no reason to be experiencing such trouble with a brand new car. Slowly but surely I made it to the dealer and almost immediately the technician knew that it was the transmission. A few days at the shop turned into a week, then a week turned into two weeks, and now two weeks has turned into three weeks and the car is still not fixed. Im told of the many parts ordered one is on national back order which makes me extremely concerned and unfortunately extremely unsafe to even drive the car again. Terrified something more serious can happen next time. Very unsatisfied with Ford and the safety of their vehicles.

- Monroe, NC, USA

problem #6

Jan 032015


  • 2,300 miles
My daughters car was parked approx. 12-14 hours before she went to use it again. She tried to remote start it but the engine shook violently and shut off saying it wasn't in park. She turned remote off & tried to start it by key. Same thing happened. Took emergency break off & tried again, it immediately went backwards about 2 ft., did the same thing & shut off, saying not in park. I checked online for help & saw that a recall is in progress starting 1-5-15 for this. Called roadside assistance & had it towed to a dealer. She is 700 miles from home, supposed to start a new job, had the car for 4 months and it only has 2300 miles on it. I am very disappointed with the lack of safety in this brand new car and much more uncomfortable that it happened so far from home. Of course it happened on Saturday, after hours. This is a brand new car. Who'd think it wouldn't be dependable?. always been a Ford fan, but I had a huge issue not to long ago as well!!! don't know what's going on.

- Allen Park, MI, USA

problem #5

Jan 292014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 200 miles
First I would like to state that this vehicle has a 6 speed manual transmission. I have had acceleration/ deceleration issues since I took delivery of the vehicle in January 2014, the issues are intermittent and happen at various RPM and various speeds. Ive had the vehicle at the dealership 3 times for the same issue they have told me 3 times that there is nothing wrong with the vehicle. The problems are as follows....when shifting gears the accelerator will occasionally stick and hold that higher RPM for 5 or 6 seconds before decelerating, this happens approx. 50% of the time while shifting. The dealer tells me that this is supposed to happen this way. My response is... if it is supposed to perform this way then why doesn't it perform this way all the time rather than 50% of the time? the second acceleration/ deceleration issue is....the car will randomly accelerate to 5500- 6000 RPM, this has happened while driving 40 mph in 6th gear it has also happened while shifting between gears. When this happens it will maintain that high RPM for 5 or 6 seconds then decelerate. On one occasion I was driving in traffic at approx. 15 mph my car accelerated and this almost caused an accident, fortunately I was able to quickly depress the clutch and brake to avoid a collision. The issues listed above have happened multiple times and are random.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #4

Aug 302014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 5,130 miles


I was exiting a freeway when I experienced my first problem. In the middle of traffic, my car shut off and I lost most functionality of the vehicle. The dashboard displayed an alert transmission not in park. I was driving normally and did not press any buttons or make any adjustments to the gears. He only thing that was functioning was the brakes and steering wheel, I had no control over the gas. The problem happened again the next day. I was speeding up to get on to the freeway when my car shut off again, displaying the same message. However, this time, because it was night, the lights powered off and it was difficult to see what was ahead of me. I turned on my hazards and was forced to pull over to the side, place the car in park and restart the ignition and continue on. I called about the issue as soon as the Ford dealership opened the next day. They told me to bring it right in. However, the problem happened again before I had a chance to bring it in. I was driving on the freeway when I was trying to pass an 18 wheeler. I successfully passed the truck, but after I did, the power shut off again and I was sandwiched between two 18 wheelers.the next day, I brought the vehicle into the dealership. They took it off my hands for about a week while they tested it for problems. I received a call and the representative said that they fixed a cable that appeared to be loose that might have led to the problem, and also gave the car a software update. I was pleased with the response.a week later I was driving back home when the car shut off again. I immediately drove the car to the dealership. I called the Ford care team and they said they would open a case for a buyback.on Sept 23, I received a voicemail from the dealership saying that they could not fix the vehicle because when they tested it was functioning as it should. They can and will not fix or replace the vehicle.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #3

Jul 112014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 8,330 miles
I had my 2014 Ford Fusion brought to walmart for an oil change on July 11, 2014. The technicians comment on the service order/receipt stated transmission is leaking. The technician invited to their work area and showed me the leak. I called the dealership I bought my car from to schedule an appointment. I dropped off the car to them on July 28, 2014 around 5:00 pm. On the following day, I received a call from them telling me that the car was fixed. The problem was the ? left front axle seal leaks. Researching on the internet, I found out this is not really an isolated case. For some reason, I now have a feeling that this may not be the last time I will be dealing with this problem since only the seal was replaced.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #2

Jun 232014


  • 4,300 miles
While driving 35 mph the car stalled and I got a warning message stating 'transmission is in park'. I was able to coast to the side of the road. Put on my flashers, put the car in park and turned it off. I turned it back on and the message was gone and it got me home. Took it to bowen scarff Ford on 6/26, they kept it overnight and said nothing showed up on their diagnostic tests and gave it back saying nothing is wrong with it. The car stalled. Had I been on a highway or a middle lane I most likely would have been hit. I do not feel safe driving this brand new car. And the Ford dealer just gave it back to me.

- Des Moines, WA, USA

problem #1

Oct 182013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Fusion. The contact stated while parking the vehicle it surged forward across the parking medium and crashed into a parked vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer; however, the diagnostic test did not determine the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The front end of the vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was 29. Updated 01/07/2014 updated 1/14/2014

- Port Charlette, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?