CarComplaints.com Notes: Has the power steering started to show signs of failure in the 2014? Yeah, a little. Am I confident it will become a bigger problem over time? Yeah, a lot.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,526 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford Fusion suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford Fusion Owner Comments

problem #7

Jan 142017

Fusion

  • 31,890 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"new rack and pinion system ordered for vehicle. Scheduled maintenance to install new Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion is set to take place at river town Ford columbus, ga on the date of 21 Jan 2017. Current health report was done 10 Jan. 2017. Customer was informed on 7 Jan. 2017 that the car is still safe to drive after the dealer's diagnoses. After a week and after the customer scheduled appointment date, 7 Jan 2017, for initial diagnoses more failures occurred; on the date of 14 Jan 2017, driving with the faulty Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion still installed has caused further malfunction of the traction control, it fails to turn on, and the forward collision warning system has also failed. The customer fears that the malfunctioning of the traction control system will be used to place fault on the customer for the failure of the 2014 Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion even though the car is still under warranty at 31991 miles. Safety features traction control and collision warning system failure indicates the Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion maybe faulty after 30,000 plus miles; this is a road safety issue and the failure of the Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion places the vehicle out of compliance with 571.126 standard no. 126; electronic stability control systems for light vehicles ("NHTSA 33-12" standards (https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/fr-2015-06-23/pdf/2015-14127.pdf) ). suggest recall or further testing of malfunctioning Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion, part handles steering and control over the vehicle by operating occupant of the vehicle." "customer reports traction control and collision warning system failed on the 14 Jan 2017 while driving on hwy 280 at 70mph. The customer also stated during the time of failure the steering felt awkward and kept locking while turning the steering wheel."

- Smith Station, AL, USA

problem #6

Jan 062017

Fusion

  • 31,200 miles
"suspension knock while turning the wheel; the wheels sticks during sharp turn ins to the left and right while in motion." "the knock is also happening while the car is stationary turning the wheels to either side left or right; the wheels stick." "at highway speeds the sound can not be heard but the car does handle oddly as a result from the suspension issues." "at low speeds the sound can be heard when truing the wheel all the way to the left and right, the wheels will stick during this process." "also, the steering is loose and has some play; stability control may need to be inspected due to the odd driving habits at low to highway speeds. This all took place today 6 Jan 2017, due to the customers fear the vehicle was unsafe, it was inspected by a near by mechanic "tire engineers" the car is at 31,200+ miles and having mechanical issues with the suspension. "this is one of many times the car has had a "front end suspension issue"; attempts to fix the vehicle at a dealer (opelika Ford) have ended in failure to provide warranty parts to replace faulty parts in the past. Since opelika Ford did not inspect the vehicle, 2014 Ford Fusion AWD sedan, on 6 Jan 2017 an appoint was made for 11 Jan 2017 to inspect the vehicle at that dealer, no walk-ins allowed; unclear if the car was safe the customer drove the vehicle to another dealer in columbus, ga. Another appointment was set for Saturday 7 Jan 2017 to diagnoses suspension issues. There is a 36,000 miles manufacture warranty. This issue has been on going with no resolution but a back and forth between the dealer (opelika Ford) and customer's home, placing 40 miles to drive to the dealer and from dealer's location, as a result the mechanical issues have worsen." "the drive is placing the car out of manufacturers warranty soon." "part cost assessment is $2226.37 to replace if out of warranty."

- Smith Station, AL, USA

problem #5

Jan 292016

Fusion

  • 51,000 miles
Ball joint/front left lower control arm defect @ 51,000 miles caused vehicle to fail state inspection. Confirmed by independent mechanic and Ford dealer. Potentially dangerous defect in states where there is no annual inspection requirement. Replacement part is on backorder possibly indicating higher than expected failures.

- Arundel, ME, USA

problem #4

Jan 012015

Fusion

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Difficult to control at highway speeds; the car seems to wobble/over correct frequently. The car is difficult to keep between the lines when it encounters even minor bumps in the road. I've brought these concerns to Ford and have been met with highly antagonistic responses. Ford neglects to acknowledge the issue and told me they test drove the car and were unable to replicate the issue. I don't feel safe driving my new car on the highway. Please help!

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #3

Jul 072015

Fusion

  • 18,000 miles
On 7/7/15 while on the 99 grand-parkway freeway my Ford Fusion suddenly started drifting and wasn't allowing me to turn back in the lane causing my car to spin out and lose control and crash into a barrier. Shortly after I filed a claim with my insurance and with Ford customer service on 7/11/15 claiming the power steering went out and a mechanical failure. Ford motor mentioned the general counsel would reach out in 15 business days and there were no current recalls on file. However, shortly after I filed that complaint Ford sent a vehicle recall regarding power steering corrosion (interesting timing). I have escalated multiple times to customer service and customer relations and still no luck or clarification of why I have not received a letter from general counsel.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #2

Nov 142014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 21,600 miles
Friday, November 14, 2014, I was going between 25 and 35 miles per hour when I side swiped a curb on the driver's side. The control arm on the front drivers? side broke into. There was a about a six (6) inch abrasion on the front left wheel edge and the tire at first glance appeared undamaged. My thought is that there was a flaw in the manufacture of the control arm. The car is currently at Ford of ventura, 3440 East main street, ventura, ca.

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #1

Sep 202014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 5,990 miles
Raining: The highest speed setting was not fast enough to clear the windshield I was driving on the highway, city and had to pull over due to the high speed for the wiper is no different then being on low speed. Very dangerous. Definitely not enough to clear the windshield in moderate rain let alone when heavy rain will come. Front end: Every time you turn the steering wheel I get a clunking noise and you can feel it in the gas pedal. This has been a ongoing problem.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?