Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,823 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda CR-V engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda CR-V Owner Comments

problem #19

Jun 012009

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ac compressor seized and broke apart while driving on the highway.

- Snohomish, WA, USA

problem #18

Apr 292008

CR-V

  • 106,101 miles
The A/C compressor has failed twice. The first time at 106101 miles in 2008 and the second time at 135567 miles on May 3, 2012. So it lasted just 29466 miles. This is unacceptable and upsetting. The new one is already starting to act up but at least it's under warranty since it has only been 3 weeks since it was installed. Honda needs to redesign the compressor so people can at least get a reliable replacement part. Honda should lose their reputation for building quality cars and I will never buy another one because of this.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #17

Aug 192011

CR-V

  • 45,000 miles
CRV with 45,000 miles made loud grinding noise and A/C stopped working. Occupants could have suffocated due to lack of air conditioning in car as medical conditions prevented occupants from opening windows.

- Stevens Point, WI, USA

problem #16

Mar 202011

CR-V

  • 176,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the air conditioner compressor failed causing the serpentine belt to become faulty. While driving 45 mph, the contact stated that the vehicle suddenly stalled without warning. In 2005, the contact replaced the entire air condition system however, the vehicle continued to stall. The dealer advised the contact to bring the vehicle in for diagnostic testing but informed her that she would be responsible for payment. The manufacturer informed the contact that they would not be able to provide her with any additional assistance since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The current and failure mileages were 176,000.

- Newman, GA, USA

problem #15

Jul 182010

CR-V

  • 98,000 miles
2002 Honda CR-V with 98,000 miles. Driving down interstate with ac on. Stopped for gas. Got back on interstate and ac would not blow cold air; only hot air. Dealer says compressor blew apart and sent shards of metal through entire ac system. They say whole ac system needs replacing now for $3,800.

- Nicholasville, KY, USA

problem #14

Jun 142010

CR-V

  • 75,000 miles
A/C compressor exploded braking the shaft off of the compressor and sending shards of metal throughout the ac system.

- Hudson, NH, USA

problem #13

Oct 012009

CR-V

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Failure of the air conditioner compressor.

- Scarsdale, NY, USA

problem #12

May 252009

CR-V

  • 136,200 miles
Add me to the list of owners who suffered a catastrophic Honda CR-V air compressor failure. It's a 2002 with 136K miles. It's in beautiful condition, well kept by previous owners. I was driving to work and I heard a tinny grinding sound. I pulled over and lifted the hood. Didn't see anything wrong. Continued driving, but noticed the ac was blowing warm air. I called bankston Honda (the closest dealer to me in coppell, tx), who diagnosed the problem. They told me it would cost $3,100 to repair, but that I should call american Honda and open a case with them, since they may agree to cover some of the cost. Apparently this is a widespread issue, one that Honda appears to be ignoring for the time being (at least until they're hit with a class action lawsuit). With 100 degree weather, a wife and two children, there is no way we can survive with a car that doesn't have ac. We chose a 2002 Honda CR-V based on incredibly consistent positive feedback (safety, reliability, value retention, etc.). so far this has been the only issue. Our family can't afford to pay $3,100 to repair the ac. We really need american Honda to step up and at least pay for the parts. American Honda have given me a case number (N012009-05-2601731) and asked that I write them to explain what happened so they can make a determination as to whether they'll cover any of the cost. I hope they at least pay for the necessary parts. If they come through, they'll cement their reputation and I'll continue to recommend Honda to my friends and family. If they can't offer any help, I'll need to join the class action lawsuit to try to recoup some of the cost. This is clearly a wide spread problem, one that Honda will eventually need to own up to. I encourage everyone to go to this url and file their info, if only to pressure american Honda to do the right thing: www.Honda-lawsuit.com/ thanks, don montalvo coppell, tx 2002 Honda CR-V (136K miles).

- Coppell, TX, USA

problem #11

Jan 212009

CR-V

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. while driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer and they stated that the timing chain was the cause of the failure, thus the engine needed to be replaced. Secondly, because the contact did not follow the warranty agreement, they would not assume financial responsibility for any repairs. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 95,000.

- Oil City, PA, USA

problem #10

Dec 122008

CR-V

  • 158,000 miles
I am filing a report due to oil that was leaked onto the exhaust system of my car and resulted in my car catching on fire. This damage has been attributed to oil filter gaskets that have not been properly removed. I have contacted Honda, and they have only offered to provide me with a letter explaining that it is best to have my oil change at their dealership. I feel it is a manufacture defect to have a car model that is prone to oil filter gaskets sticking, only to result in oil leakages and finally car fires. Such practices are not only dangerous, but it is unethical to market a product to the public that poses such danger. Furthermore, not all Honda buyers are notified. I bought my Honda used, and never receive and such letters or updates, being unknowingly exposed to harm. I'm outraged.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #9

Jun 012008

CR-V

  • 141,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have a 2002 Honda CRV. The 1st air compressor locked up/blew up at approximately 70K miles. The extended warranty covered the replacement. Now the 2nd compressor has done the same thing. Extended warranty has expired. Cost is $2300. Have read that this year of CRV has defective compressors. Honda America offered to pay 25% ($408) which is not adequate since this is our 2nd compressor and the product appears to be defective (as opposed to regular wear and tear).

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #8

Jun 252008

CR-V

  • miles
I have a 2002 CRV now with 139,000 this is the 4th time my air compressor has gone out on this car and Honda refuses to take full responsibility. The first time it went out was in July 2003 at 31842 mls, July 2004 at 46,997 mls, May 2006 at 99,384 and now June 2008 at 139,000. The first 2 times it went out it was under warranty the 3rd time Honda said they would fix it because it was still under 100K and now they are saying that I should be responsible even know they know they are having issues with the compressors in 2002 and 2003 CRV.

- Locust, NC, USA

problem #7

Aug 252007

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,900 miles
Strange noise from engine then A/C blowing only hot air. Took car to nearby Goodyear service facility to check system. Compressor had blown apart-several sizable chunks were recovered. Apparently Honda uses substandard metals in the compressors since this is a recurring problem.

- Warwick, RI, USA

problem #6

Aug 212007

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Air compressor in my 2002 Honda CRV exploded spreading debris throughout the system causing major damage. Honda paid for the parts. I had to pay $600 for labor.

- Tucker, GA, USA

problem #5

Jul 182007

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,825 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the air conditioning unit dispenses hot air. The dealer stated that the clutch on the air conditioning was burned. The contact also stated that the driver's seat is wobbly and not attached tightly and the air bag light automatically illuminates when it is bumped against. The dealer stated that a switch may be needed. The contact stated that when she removes the key from the ignition, the vehicle continues to move. She stated that none of the failures have been repaired by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 71,825.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #4

Oct 182005

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
Driver side airbag light on. Was told need to replace the airbag. When ac was on, engine gave strange noise and went dead completely. Restarted the engine, and turned ac off, things were ok.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #3

Sep 132004

CR-V

  • miles
Consumer complained that Honda, CRV dripped oil after the first oil change. There was a recall of a warning that after the first oil change there might be some oil leak, it was not for a 2002 model, ,but for a previous year. After last oil change consumer noticed a puddle of oil in driveway. He purchased this vehicle in may, 2002 and never received a recall notice on it.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #2

May 062004

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,945 miles
I referred what to me was burning brake smell to my dealer during 15,000 mile service; upon pick up of vehicle, service person informed me that origin of smell was actually oil leaking from filter onto exhaust system.

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #1

Jun 152003

CR-V

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,661 miles
Engine light keeps coming on & then car will drive rough. I have taken it in 3 times already for same problem, they told me to make sure gas cap is on tight and not to over/under fill with gas I have been doing as told and the problem is still present for the 4th time. Car was purchased on August 2002.

- Indio, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?