Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
105,752 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Honda CR-V lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Honda CR-V Owner Comments

problem #8

Jan 162012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. while the vehicle was parked the contact turned on the headlights and they began to flicker and shut off. The day time running lights continued to illuminate. The contact inspected the vehicle and noticed the headlight bracket was corroded; however, the high beam lights continued to function. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000. The consumer stated the assumption was that both headlights went out simultaneously, whereas, upon further review, it appeared that both headlights burned out independently, well before their time. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer where they confirmed that the headlights were burned out and the electrical connection was in good shape. The consumer would like to withdraw the complaint. Updated 02/10/12

- Charels Town, WV, USA

problem #7

Oct 052011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the headlights would unexpectedly shut off at night while driving. The dealer replaced the headlights as well as the connector in October 2011, however the failure continued to occur. The manufacturer had not been notified. The failure mileage was 130,000 and the current mileage was 135,000. Updated 12/12/11 the consumer stated on October 5, 2011 the head light connectors were replaced. On December 7, 2011 the headlight circuit was replaced. Updated 05/10/12

- Intervale, NH, USA

problem #6

Oct 252011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Both low beam headlights failed/shut off simultaneously during night driving requiring that we pull off the road. Updated 11/25/11 the consumer stated the headlights only worked on high beam. Updated IVOQ 02/28/12

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #5

Apr 152011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Headlight switch and wiring harness damaged by overheating/melting on 2003 Honda CRV. Updated 06/13/11 received invoice. Updated 08/18/11

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #4

Nov 242010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 68,298 miles
Both low beam headlights stopped working at the same time. Took car to dealer, they replaced wire plug at head light switch and replaced head light switch. They said plastic part had melted. Updated 05/02/11 updated IVOQ 05/04/11

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #3

Sep 302010

CR-V

  • 126,720 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. while driving 55 mph, the low beam headlights failed suddenly; the lights would not turn back on and the contact had to use the high beams to continue driving. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed tha the low beam terminal overheated and damaged the switch. The contact was told that he would be responsible for repair costs. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 126,720.

- Downing Town, PA, USA

problem #2

Dec 252009

CR-V

  • 121,000 miles
Low beam headlights went in unison while driving at night on a major highway. Exact similar problem was the reason for a recall on the 2002 Honda civic. See below for 2002 recall. 002 Honda civic recall id from NHTSA: 04V086000 auto recall date: 02/24/2004 vehicle component: Exterior lighting:headlights estimated vehicles affected: 440000 2002 Honda civic defect summary: On certain passenger vehicles, the low-beam terminal on the head light wire harness can overheat and could cause the low beams to fail without warning. Defect consequence: An unexpected loss of low beams could result in a crash. Remedy: Dealers will inspect the head light switch and coupler for signs of heat damage. If heat damage is present, the dealer will replace the switch and coupler. If no heat damage is present, the dealer will replace the head light switch and one mating pin in the coupler. Owner notification began on April 5, 2004. Owners should contact Honda at 1-800-999-1009. Notes: Honda (american Honda motor co.), P23 not an easy fix. If dealer did not have harness and correct coupler from past repair work, consumer would have to pay for a complete dash harness (over $500) and labor to re-install entire dash electrical (over $1000). Honda would not recognize 2002 recall as same concern and would not warranty the work. Out of pocket for a design defect and safety hazard to the tune of $222. Updated 06/13/11 updated 12/29/2011

- Trumbull, CT, USA

problem #1

Jul 242004

CR-V

  • miles
I noticed that the most recently built Honda CRV's seem to have poorly focused headlights. I drive once a week and last night I drove 100 miles and experienced a problem with headlights reflected in the driver side rear view mirror, the vehicle was late model CRV with the tall tail lights. Driving back home I experienced the same problem again a late model CRV. I though it might of been high beams but after the second incident I thought it might be the headlight design. Shortly after the second CRV, I noticed the third vehicle with blinding headlights and again it was a late model CRV. I observed a couple of other CRV's pass without a problem, they were the older CRV's with the shorter tail light assemblies. I believe that this could be a badly designed headlight assembly on the latest CRV's. brian blum former summer intern in the office of technology assessment 1980.

- Berkeley, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?