Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,456 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda CR-V seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #86

Jun 012016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata inflator - I have scheduled an appointment twice with williamsburg Honda to have my airbag defect repaired. The first appointment was 8/2/16, the second 8/16/16, both were cancelled by Honda due to them not having the parts. I need this repaired asap. This is a safety issue, I Transport my grandchildren in my car. The NHTSA recall number is 16V-344, dated June 2016. It is now November 2016.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #85

Jul 012016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Horseshoe Bend, AR, USA

problem #84

May 232016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags). However, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #83

Jun 012016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #82

Oct 222016

CR-V

  • miles
Tamara recall. Dealer made appointment. Dealer cancelled appointment for lack of part. Dealer stated when parts arrived it would notify and reschedule. Dealer never rescheduled appointment. It has been over 90 days.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #81

Jul 072016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Gainesville, GA, USA

problem #80

Oct 052016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. I received a recall letter for the passenger frontal airbag in the mail. On July 9, 2016, I called the airport marina Honda dealer (5850 w centinela ave, los angeles, ca 90045) to make an appointment to have the recall fixed. They still have not fixed the recall. I called the dealer a couple of times to check on the status. They do not know when they can fix the recall even though it has already been three months later.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #79

Feb 012016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags). The part for the repair was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair for over six months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Pearl River, NY, USA

problem #78

Sep 152016

CR-V

  • 144,000 miles
Takata airbag inflator. Received notice of recall in July. We called the dealer, Honda of annapolis, to schedule it but were told the part was not in and we should call back in 2 weeks. Called 5 more times over the next 2 months and were put off every time. Finally today they have the part but can't install it for over a week and the repair will take 3 to 4 hours. We contacted american Honda for a loaner as advertised but were told by rosa that because we have a back seat, she could not authorize it. This seems to be in direct conflict with the terms of the recall posted at hondaairbaginfo.com where notice is given that loaner vehicles are available in cases of delays.

- Edgewater, MD, USA

problem #77

May 242016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pearl, MS, USA

problem #76

Jul 122016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 11/08/16 updated 11/17/16.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #75

Sep 072016

CR-V

  • 119,304 miles
Dashboard airbag light comes on intermittenly following passenger side airbag inflator recall replacement.

- South Natick, MA, USA

problem #74

Sep 092016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall: I took my car in to get the airbag replaced per the recall notice. My airbag malfunction light came on just after the replacement. I took the car back and they wanted $125 just to diagnose the problem. A garage said it was the seat belt buckle causing the problem. In the manual it clearly states that "Honda will repair or replace, at its option, any Honda seat belt component that fails to function properly during its normal use. This includes all parts and labor charges." My greenwich, ct Honda said they had never heard of this warranty and they would not honor it. I called Honda America, 2 people said it was covered, the final person said no. I have read forums and talked to many others, as you can see that have this problem. It is a safety issue and my airbags will not deploy in an accident. If it is the sensor, that is a component of the seat belt. It is clearly faulty on these cars. On forums many people have had this problem and some Honda have fixed it free of charge, and others will not. My garage gave me a quote of $282 for part and $95 labor.

- Mamaroneck, NY, USA

problem #73

Jul 222016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Wallkill, NY, USA

problem #72

Sep 072016

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 11/01/16

- Bossier City, LA, USA

problem #71

Jun 302016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
We have waited over 60 days for the passenger air bag part to arrive at the dealer. The recall notice says we may file a complaint after 60 days. The recall notice says we should not occupy the front seat. Seems like a long time to be waiting with this restriction on driving. Thank you for your help.

- Yardley, PA, USA

problem #70

Sep 012016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. Front passenger airbag not fixed due to unavailability of product from Honda per dealership.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #69

Aug 302016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. My 2005 Honda CRV has a recall out on it for the passenger airbag. I received my notice June 2016 and Honda cars of katy has yet to replace my part despite multiple attempts to schedule an appointment. I am unable to carry passengers in my car because of this.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #68

Aug 292016

CR-V

  • 93,592 miles
Takata recall: I took my car in to get the airbag replaced per the recall notice. My airbag malfunction light came on just after the replacement. It comes in when the seat belt if not on and car is started. It does not come on when the seat belt is already strapped in. I took my car back in today to address the passenger side recall and asked the dealer to look into this. The dealership wanted a $132 diagnostic fee to do that and mentioned that this was not covered by the recall. However, the light conveniently came on right after the previous recall service was done.

- Oak Hill, VA, USA

problem #67

Jun 012016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?